DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 11-19 in the reply filed on April 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Group II, Claim 20 has been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Missing word “one”.
Claim 13 recites: “…wherein a temperature sensor is/are arranged on or in the gas outlet and/or a flow velocity sensor is/are arranged in or on the at least gas inlet or the pollutant gas inlet.” The word “one” is missing after the word “least”.
For purposes of examination, examiner will interpret claim 13 as reciting “…wherein a temperature sensor is/are arranged on or in the gas outlet and/or a flow velocity sensor is/are arranged in or on the at least one gas inlet or the pollutant gas inlet.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: a device for setting a volumetric flow before it is introduced into the reactor vessel in claim 12.
Applicant discloses on paragraph [0034] of published specification that: “Ideally, the pollutant gas reacts completely inside the reactor vessel until shortly before exhaust 11. By regulating and adjusting the volume flow rates, which can be done by valve control of valves at the gas inlet and the pollutant gas inlet 8 by a device (not shown for overview reasons) for adjusting a volumetric flow rate, for example a computer, this exothermic reaction is ideally controlled. For this purpose, a temperature sensor 13 can also be arranged centrally in the exhaust flow, which continuously measures the temperature and transmits it as a control or regulating parameter to this device for setting a volumetric flow. In addition, in the embodiment example shown in FIG. 1, it can also be provided that the flow velocity or the volumetric flow in at least one inlet pipe is measured and also transmitted to said device as a control or regulating parameter. Preferably, this measurement is made via a Pitot tube or a pitot head in the direction of flow.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-2 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR10-1519553B1, relied on machine translation, hereinafter Kim).
In regards to Claim 11, Kim discloses an apparatus (#100) for purifying a process gas containing at least one pollutant gas, comprising:
a reactor vessel (#110) which is designed as a centrifugal separator and which has a cylindrical region (#111) and a tapering region (#118) and into which oxygen or an oxygen-containing gas can be introduced as a reaction gas into at least one gas inlet (#113 air inlet pipes) arranged on the cylindrical region (#111) and can be discharged through at least one gas outlet (outlet end of discharge pipe #116) arranged on the tapering region (#118) (see figures 2a-2c and figure 5b below and paragraphs [0041] and [0045]), wherein
the at least one gas inlet (#113) is arranged and formed to introduce a defined volumetric flow of the reaction gas into the reactor vessel (#110) tangentially to a circumferential surface of the cylindrical region (#111) (see figures 2a-2c and 5b below and paragraphs [0041] and [0045]), and
a pollutant gas inlet (#112) which is arranged on the cylindrical region (#111) and is designed to introduce a defined volumetric flow of the process gas containing at least one pollutant gas into the reactor vessel (#110) (see figures 2a-2c and 5b below and paragraphs [0041] and [0043]), so that
the at least one pollutant gas and the reaction gas are mixed with each other in the direction of the gas outlet and chemically react with each other on their way through the reactor vessel (see figures 2a-2c and figure 5b below and paragraphs [0041], [0043] and [0045]-[0047]), and
the gas outlet (outlet end of discharge pipe #116) is arranged and designed to discharge process gas not reacted in the chemical reaction and reaction products of the chemical reaction from the reactor vessel (#110) (see figure 2a-2c and figure 5b below and paragraphs [0048] and [0051]; Kim shows in figure 5b wherein the discharge pipe #116 has an outlet end arranged on the tapering region #118, i.e. at least one gas outlet arranged on the tapering region.).
In regards to Claim 12, Kim discloses wherein the defined volumetric flow of the process gas containing at least one pollutant gas and/or the defined volumetric flow of the reaction gas can be set by a device for setting a volumetric flow before it is introduced into the reactor vessel (see paragraph [0044]; Kim discloses a valve (#112a) is installed in the semiconductor waste gas inlet pipe (#112) so as to regulate the supply amount of semiconductor waste gas or to bypass it. Furthermore, a blower (#112b) may be installed in the semiconductor waste gas inlet pipe (#112) to blow semiconductor waste gas. This is considered equivalent to the defined volumetric flow of the process gas containing at least one pollutant gas can be set by a device for setting a volumetric flow before it is introduced into the reactor vessel, as claimed by the applicant.).
In regards to Claim 14, Kim discloses wherein a heating device (#114) is arranged in or on the reactor vessel (#110) for supporting the chemical reaction (see figures 2a-2c and 5b and paragraphs [0040]-[0041] and [0046]).
In regards to Claim 15, Kim discloses wherein the pollutant gas inlet (#112) is arranged at an end face of the cylindrical region (#111) of the reactor vessel (#110 (see figures 2a-2c and 5b and [0043]).
In regards to Claim 16, Kim discloses wherein the tapering region (#118) of the reactor vessel (#110) is formed as a conically tapering region (see figures 2a-2c and 5b and paragraphs [0041] and [0051]).
In regards to Claim 17, Kim discloses wherein the gas outlet is curved in an arcuate manner by 90º (see figure 5b below).
In regards to Claim 18, Kim discloses wherein the pollutant gas inlet (#112) is arranged opposite the gas outlet (outlet end of discharge pipe #116) and is formed to introduce the pollutant gas into the reactor vessel rotationally symmetrically with respect to a longitudinal axis of the gas outlet (see figures 2a-2b and 5b and paragraphs [0041]-[0042] and [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
In regards to Claim 19, Kim discloses wherein a filter element, a scrubber (#130) and/or a collecting container for reaction products is attached to the gas outlet (see figure 5b and paragraphs [0047]-[0048]).
Examiner notes that although Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the scrubber is removably attachable to the gas outlet, making the scrubber separable is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for ease of maintenance and/or replacement, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Smith, J. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0071548, hereinafter Smith).
In regards to Claim 13, Kim discloses the apparatus as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a temperature sensor is/are arranged on or in the gas outlet and/or a flow velocity sensor is/are arranged in or on the at least one gas inlet or the pollutant gas inlet.
However, Smith teaches an apparatus and method for treating a gas exhausted from a process chamber. The apparatus comprises an abatement device, i.e. reactor vessel, which receives exhaust gas, i.e. pollutant gas inlet, from a process chamber. The exhaust gas is pumped to the abatement device and a purge gas is added to the exhaust gas to optimize the abatement of the exhaust gas. The amount of purge gas added is adjusted in response to the reception of data from a sensor located between the process chamber and the pump. A controller may receive date indicative of the variation of the gas composition obtained by monitoring one or more variable flow control devices used to supply gas to the process chamber. The opening and closing of one or more valves for supplying gases to the process chamber may be detected and/or the conductance of one or more mass flow controllers for controlling the rate at which gases are supplied to the process chamber may be detected, for example by monitoring signals supplied to these devices (see paragraphs [0009] and [0028]). This is considered equivalent to a flow velocity sensor arranged in or on the at least one pollutant gas inlet, as claimed by the applicant.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Kim by further having a flow velocity sensor arranged in or on the pollutant gas inlet, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Smith teaches an apparatus and method for treating a gas exhausted from a process chamber, wherein the apparatus comprises an abatement device, i.e. reactor vessel, which receives exhaust gas, i.e. pollutant gas inlet, from a process chamber, wherein the exhaust gas is pumped to the abatement device and a purge gas is added to the exhaust gas to optimize the abatement of the exhaust gas, whereby the amount of purge gas added is adjusted in response to the reception of data from a sensor located between the process chamber and the pump, and a controller may receive date indicative of the variation of the gas composition obtained by monitoring one or more variable flow control devices used to supply gas to the process chamber, wherein the opening and closing of one or more valves for supplying gases to the process chamber may be detected and/or the conductance of one or more mass flow controllers for controlling the rate at which gases are supplied to the process chamber may be detected, for example by monitoring signals supplied to these devices, thereby maintaining process efficiency within the apparatus (see paragraphs [0009] and [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shiban, S. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2011/0195001)-apparatus and methods for dynamic oxidation of combustible gases by auto ignition at elevated temperatures. The apparatus comprises a reactor vessel designed as a centrifugal separator having a cylindrical region (#61) and a tapering region (#180), wherein an oxygen containing gas is introduced into at least one gas inlet (#80) arranged on a cylindrical region and at least one gas outlet (#101) arranged on the tapering region (#180) (see figure 29 and paragraph [0086]).
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774