DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10, 14-16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grinstead (US 2016/0235878) in view of Childers (US 5,173,258) and Hill et al. (US 2005/0084431; hereinafter “Hill”).
In regard to claims 1, 8-10 and 24, Grinstead discloses a system for disinfecting an enclosed chamber (“system for treating an enclosed area” for the purpose of disinfecting the area; see abstract and [0002]) comprising: a housing (housing 32); an inlet (one or more air intakes 40) and an outlet (outlet of the atomizing nozzle 35) carried by the housing; a blower (compressor 34) carried by the housing and connected to the airflow path between the inlet and outlet and capable of circulating air through the airflow path; a fog generator (atomizing nozzle 35) carried by the housing capable of introducing a disinfectant fog into the airflow path at room temperature (the fogger 31 does not include structure for heating or cooling the fluid in reservoir 33) from a treatment fluid (not explicitly recited but fluid reservoir 33 is connected to the nozzle 35 and is disclosed to be capable of containing a disinfectant solution; see [0025]-[0026]); and a controller (processor 37) configured to operate the fog generator (the processor 37 is capable of controlling movement of the nozzle 35 and through treatment schedules and/or parameters; see [0031] and [0040]) and control dehumidification of air within the airflow path during a treatment phase (processor 37 controls operation of outlet 42 which is capable of selectively powering a dehumidifier which meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation; see [0033], [0050] and [0053]). See Figures 1-4, 7 and 12.
Grinstead is silent in regard to wherein the housing is positioned outside of the enclosed chamber, wherein the housing has an inlet port and an outlet port, to wherein a first tubing and a second tubing are coupled between the ports and the enclosed chamber for forming a closed-loop airflow path, and to wherein a dehumidifier is carried by the housing and configured to dehumidify air within the closed-loop airflow path responsive to the controller as recited in claims 10 and 24.
Childers discloses a recirculation/drying unit 10 comprising a housing (implied by the box of numeral 10) position outside of the enclosed chamber (sealed enclosure 12) having an inlet (14) and an outlet (18). Childers discloses a first tubing (fluid flow line 21) coupled between the outlet port (24) and the inlet (14) of the enclosed chamber, and second tubing (fluid flow line 25) coupled between the inlet port (22) and the outlet (18) of the enclosed chamber to define a closed-loop airflow path between the housing and the enclosed chamber. Childers further discloses a dehumidifier (air drier 40) carried by the housing and configured to dehumidify air within the closed-loop airflow path responsive to the operation of an airflow valve (three-way by-pass valve 110; recited in claim 8). The air drier of 40 is taught to be a desiccation cartridge (“dessicant column” (sic); col. 5, lines 18-19) as recited in claim 8 and further include an electric heater 42 which is viewed to be tantamount to the “evaporator” recited in claim 9 as the heater functions to regenerate the desiccant by evaporating the captured water. See col. 4, line 6 through col. 5, line 51; col. 7, lines 63-68 and Figure 2.
Childers is silent to wherein the dehumidifier is responsive to a controller.
Hill discloses a vapor decontamination system (10) which includes a dehumidifier (air drier 94) which is controlled responsive to a controller (210) as the controller operates an airflow valve (valve 122) in order to flow air within the closed-loop system through flow path A or flow path B. See paragraphs [0019]-[0024] and Figures 1-2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the housing, ports, tubing, airflow valve and dehumidifier of Childers and the controller control of the valve of Hill with the fogging system of Grinstead for the purpose of providing a self-contained fogging system for external enclosures which can function to dry air within a closed-loop system as desired for process control.
In regard to claims 5 and 14, Grinstead discloses wherein the disinfectant fog generator comprises an atomizing nozzle 35. See Figure 1 and [0026].
In regard to claims 6 and 15, Grinstead discloses wherein the controller is configured to operate the blower non-continuously (equivalent to the disclosed “pulse phase”) during the treatment phase. See [0006] and [0039]-[0042].
In regard to claims 7 and 16, Grinstead discloses wherein the controller is configured to operate the disinfectant fog generator continuously during a first portion (“continuous mode;” see [0040]) of the treatment phase, and non-continuously during a second portion (“pulse phase”) of the treatment phase. See [0006] and [0039]-[0042].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774