Claim(s) 1-2, 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Volterrani et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0252537.
Volterrani discloses a synthetic turf structure having a mat, a plurality of grass strands extending from the mass, and infill arranged among the blades. See abstract and figures. The infill can comprise a sand layer and another layer on top of the sand layer which includes rachis of expandable corn cobs. See paragraph 0024-0025. Note that the rachis of corn cob is ligneous. The corn cob includes ligneous belt . The rachis of corn cobs has a size of 0.3-5 mm. See paragraph 0034. The bottom layer next to the mat can be sand. See paragraph 0037. The infill absorbs water which is equated with wetting with water. See paragraph 0026. The structure can include a sand layer, a layer of rachis of corn cobs and a mixed layer of sand and rachis of corn cobs. Since the water makes the corn expand, it is considered to be a performance modifying solute.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volterrani et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0252537.
Volterrani discloses a structure as set forth above.
VOlterrani does not teach the claimed amounts of water.
However, with regard to the amount of water provided and absorbed, it would have been obvious to have applied sufficient water to swell the particles in order to allow the particles to absorb and then release water to plants. Further, with regard to the limitation “wherein the at least one layer of particles is compressed in production”, this limitation is a process limitation and therefore, the burden is shifted to Applicant to show that any process differences result in an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. Since Volterrani taches selecting a suitable density for the particles, it would have been obvious to have provided the desired density which provided a suitably stable and hydrating infill material.
Claim(s) 5-8, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volterrani et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0252537 in view of Caggiano et al, WO2022/125953.
Volterrani discloses a synthetic turf structure having a mat, a plurality of grass strands extending from the mass, and infill arranged among the blades. See abstract and figures. The infill can comprise a sand layer and another layer on top of the sand layer which includes rachis of expandable corn cobs. See paragraph 0024-0025. Note that the rachis of corn cob is ligneous. The corn cob includes ligneous belt. The rachis of corn cobs has a size of 0.3-5 mm. See paragraph 0034. The bottom layer next to the mat can be sand. See paragraph 0037. The infill absorbs water which is equated with wetting with water. See paragraph 0026. The structure can include a sand layer, a layer of rachis of corn cobs and a mixed layer of sand and rachis of corn cobs. The mixed layer can correspond to one of the first or second layers of particles. Since the water makes the corn expand, it is considered to be a performance modifying solute.
Volterrani differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the particularly claimed coating or the claimed performance modifying solute if water is not considered to be a performance modifying solute.
However, Caggiano discloses incorporating pigments or dyes, UV stabilizers and antimicrobial agents into coatings used for infill materials. See paragraph 0013-0016.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated the particular components taught by Caggiano into the water of Volterrani in order to provide additional properties to the infill such as resistance to fungus and microbes as well providing the desired color to the infill so that the infill had a pleasing appearance in combination with the turf. The antimicrobial coatings can include silver, zinc, copper or combinations thereof. See paragraph 0248.
Claim(s) 3-4, 9-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volterrani et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0252537.
Volterrani discloses a synthetic turf structure having a mat, a plurality of grass strands extending from the mass, and infill arranged among the blades. See abstract and figures. The infill can comprise a sand layer and another layer on top of the sand layer which includes rachis of expandable corn cobs. See paragraph 0024-0025. Note that the rachis of corn cob is ligneous. The rachis of corn cobs has a size of 0.3-5 mm. See paragraph 0034. The bottom layer next to the mat can be sand. See paragraph 0037. The infill absorbs water which is equated with wetting with water. See paragraph 0026. The water can be rain. The particles expand when wet and contract when dry. The structure can include a sand layer, a layer of rachis of corn cobs and a mixed layer of sand and rachis of corn cobs.
Volterrani does not teach the claimed amounts of water.
However, with regard to the amount of water provided and absorbed, it would have been obvious to have applied sufficient water to swell the particles in order to allow the particles to absorb and then release water to plants. Further, with regard to the limitation “wherein the at least one layer of particles is compressed in production”, this limitation is a process limitation and therefore, the burden is shifted to Applicant to show that any process differences result in an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. Since Volterrani taches selecting a suitable density for the particles, it would have been obvious to have provided the desired density which provided a suitably stable and hydrating infill material.
Volterrani discloses the claimed size of the corn cob particles but does not disclose the size to which they swell after wetting or the claimed shock absorption or vertical deformation.
However, since Volterrani does disclose the claimed initial size, it is reasonable to expect that they would swell to the same size, since like materials must have like properties. Similarly, it would have been expected that the structure of Volterrani would either possess the claimed shock absorption and vertical deformation, or else, in the alternative, it would have been obvious to have selected the proportions of each component which provided a structure having the desired shock absorption and vertical deformation to produce the desired physical properties in the turf structure.
With regard to the method claims, Volterrani discloses providing the layers and wetting the infill. With regard to compacting and decompacting, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have formed the structure so that it had the desired dimensions, density and smoothness to provide a turf surface with the desired physical properties and to have chosen suitable amounts of water to sufficiently expand the particles, depending on the amount of particles present in an area.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that ligneous belt and rachis are distinct terms describing different corn anatomy and are not equivalents or obvious variants of each other. However, the rejection does not suggest using one in place of another but states that corn cobs include ligneous belt. The claims as currently written do not require that the particles consist of ligneous belt. That the corn cob can include other components does not mean it does not include ligneous belt which is sufficient to meet the claim limitations as written.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the 112 rejection.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789