DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Li does not teach first index identifies plurality of frequency resources with the cell and second index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within one of the plurality of frequency resource groups. However, examiner disagrees. Li teaches identifying and configuring first BWP, which can be uplink or downlink BWP, which is identifying frequency resources in the cell. Li further teaches identifying BWP groups which are frequency resource groups and identifying which BWP are included in each of the BWP groups. Thus, Li teaches identifying frequency resources and frequency resources in the frequency resource groups.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US-PGPUB 2021/0119745).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a wireless communication method comprising: determining, by a network for a cell, a plurality of frequency resources and a plurality of frequency resource groups, each of the plurality of frequency resource groups comprises one or more of the plurality of frequency resources, wherein each of the plurality of frequency resources is identified by at least one of a first frequency resource index and a second frequency resource index, the first frequency resource index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within the cell, and the second frequency resource index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within one of the plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 201 and 206, a plurality of frequency resources are BWP and frequency resource groups are BWP groups which are identified by an index or an identifier where BWP is part of BWP group, this can be uplink or downlink BWP]; and communicating, by the network with a wireless communication device, using an active frequency resource group of the plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 201, communication is done using at least one-to-be-activated BWP group which is an active frequency resource group].
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Li teaches a Bandwidth Part (BWP) [Para 201, bandwidth part is a frequency resource]; and each of the plurality of frequency resource groups is a BWP group [Para 201, BWP groups are composed of BWP which are frequency resource group].
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Li teaches sending/receiving, by the network to the wireless communication device/by the wireless communication device from the network, a frequency resource group indicator indicating switching from the active frequency resource group to an indicated frequency resource group [Para 201, switches to the active frequency group after receiving indication to activate the frequency resource group]; and switching, by the network/by the wireless communication device, from the active frequency resource group to the indicated frequency resource group for communicating with the wireless communication device [Para 201, switches to the active frequency resource group].
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Li teaches the frequency resource group indicator is in a frequency resource group indicator field of Downlink Control Information (DCI) [Para 218, activation indicator is received in DCI].
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Li teaches the DCI schedules data in at least one of uplink or downlink [Para 218-219, uplink and downlink data is scheduled]; and communicating, by the network with the wireless communication device, the data using a default frequency resource in the indicated frequency resource group [Para 219, data is communicated in the indicated frequency resource group].
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Li teaches the DCI schedules data in at least one of uplink or downlink [Para 218 and 220, uplink and downlink data is scheduled]; and communicating, by the network/by the wireless communication device with the wireless communication device/network, the data using a frequency resource in the indicated frequency resource group as indicated by a frequency resource indicator field of the DCI [Para 218 and 220, data is communicated in the frequency resource as indicated by DCI].
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Li teaches sending/receiving, by the network to the wireless communication device/by the wireless communication device from the network, configuration information identifying an indicated frequency resource group of the plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 206-207, configuration message is sent for indicating frequency resource groups]; and switching, by the network/by the wireless communication device, from the active frequency resource group to the indicated frequency resource group after RRC configuration or RRC reconfiguration [Para 206-207, switching is done based on the RRC message].
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Li teaches the active frequency resource group is identified by a first frequency resource group index [Para 206, BWP which is frequency resource group is identified by an identifies or an index]; the indicated frequency resource group is identified by a second frequency resource group index [Para 206, BWP which is frequency resource group is identified by an identifies or an index]; and the configuration information comprises the second frequency resource group index [Para 206-207, configuration information is identified by an identifier or an index].
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches a network node, comprising: at least processor configured to: determine, for a cell, a plurality of frequency resources and a plurality of frequency resource groups, each of the plurality of frequency resource groups comprises one or more of the plurality of frequency resources, wherein each of the plurality of frequency resources is identified by at least one of a first frequency resource index and a second frequency resource index, the first frequency resource index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within the cell, and the second frequency resource index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within one of the plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 201 and 206, a plurality of frequency resources are BWP and frequency resource groups are BWP groups which are identified by an index or an identifier where BWP is part of BWP group, this can be uplink or downlink BWP]; and communicate, via an interface with a wireless communication device, using an active frequency resource group of the plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 201, communication is done using at least one-to-be-activated BWP group which is an active frequency resource group].
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: at least processor configured to: communicating, via an interface, with a network of a cell, using an active frequency resource group of a plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 201, communication is done using at least one-to-be-activated BWP group which is an active frequency resource group], wherein each of the plurality of frequency resource groups comprises one or more of a plurality of frequency resources, wherein each of the plurality of frequency resources is identified by at least one of a first frequency resource index and a second frequency resource index, the first frequency resource index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within the cell, and the second frequency resource index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within one of the plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 201 and 206, a plurality of frequency resources are BWP and frequency resource groups are BWP groups which are identified by an index or an identifier where BWP is part of BWP group, this can be uplink or downlink BWP].
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: communicating, by a wireless communication device with a network of a cell, using an active frequency resource group of a plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 201, communication is done using at least one-to-be-activated BWP group which is an active frequency resource group], wherein each of the plurality of frequency resource groups comprises one or more of a plurality of frequency resources, wherein each of the plurality of frequency resources is identified by at least one of a first frequency resource index and a second frequency resource index, the first frequency resource index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within the cell, and the second frequency resource index identifies each of the plurality of frequency resources within one of the plurality of frequency resource groups [Para 201 and 206, a plurality of frequency resources are BWP and frequency resource groups are BWP groups which are identified by an index or an identifier where BWP is part of BWP group, this can be uplink or downlink BWP].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US-PGPUB 2021/0119745) in view of Watts et al. (USPN 12,426,099).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a method as discussed in rejection of claim 1.
However, Li does not teach sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, a frequency resource group inactivity timer for the active frequency resource group; and switching, by the network, from the active frequency resource group to a default frequency resource group for communicating with the wireless communication device in response to the frequency resource group inactivity timer expiring.
Watts teaches sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, a frequency resource group inactivity timer for the active frequency resource group [Col. 27, line 46 – Col. 28, line 19]; and switching, by the network, from the active frequency resource group to a default frequency resource group for communicating with the wireless communication device in response to the frequency resource group inactivity timer expiring [Col. 27, line 46 – Col. 28, line 19].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch to default frequency resource group when the timer expires so that wireless unit can reset and reconnect to the default connection.
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches a method as discussed in rejection of claim 1.
However, Li does not teach sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, a frequency resource inactivity timer for each of at least one frequency resource of the active frequency resource group; and switching, by the network, from the active frequency resource group to a default frequency resource group for communicating with the wireless communication device in response to the frequency resource inactivity timers for all of the at least one frequency resource of the active frequency resource group expiring.
Watts teaches sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, a frequency resource inactivity timer for each of at least one frequency resource of the active frequency resource group [Col. 27, line 46 – Col. 28, line 19]; and switching, by the network, from the active frequency resource group to a default frequency resource group for communicating with the wireless communication device in response to the frequency resource inactivity timers for all of the at least one frequency resource of the active frequency resource group expiring [Col. 27, line 46 – Col. 28, line 19].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch to default frequency resource group when the timer expires so that wireless unit can reset and reconnect to the default connection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464