DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-35 and 41-44 are pending. Claims 1-20 and 36-40 are canceled. This is in response to Applicant’s arguments filed on September 8, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21, 28, 33 and 41 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further search, a new rejection is presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-32 and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub 20210258793 (hereinafter Rohini)
Regarding claim 21, Rohini discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a first terminal device, a first identifier from a core network element, wherein the first identifier is used to modify a security protection policy of a terminal device (par. [0008] disclose a first terminal for performing vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication with a second terminal via one or more PC5 unicast links. The first terminal receives from a core network information on one or more security policies respectively corresponding to the one or more PC5 unicast links, wherein each of the one or more PC5 unicast links is associated with one or more V2X services; transmit to the second terminal a direct communication request message including the one or more security policies);
in a process in which the first terminal device establishes a connection to a second terminal device for a service, determining, by the first terminal device based on the first identifier, whether to enable, by the first terminal device, security protection for the connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (same citation above discloses the policy is sent to a second or any other EU to let the receiver know which policy is applied for direction communication. Also, Fig. 1D, par. [0057]-[0058] discloses different policies are used for different applications on an EU and some applications may not require any security for protection at all); and
sending, by the first terminal device, first information to the second terminal device, wherein the first information indicates by the second terminal device whether to enable, by the second terminal device, security protection for the connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (see above reasonings).
Regarding claim 22, Rohini discloses wherein the first identifier a new security protection policy, a new security protection enabling manner, or first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates that the security protection policy of a terminal device is allowed to be forcibly modified (Fig. 11 and related text discloses a policy can be a new security policy).
Regarding claim 23, Rohini discloses wherein the first identifier is the first indication information, and determining, by the first terminal device based on the first identifier, whether to enable security protection for the connection comprises:
determining, by the first terminal device based on the first indication information and according to a first security protection policy, whether to enable security protection for the connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device, wherein the first security protection policy is a security protection policy applied by the first terminal device in the service (as presented above, a security policy can be a new security policy and the security policy may not require security protection).
Regarding claim 24, Rohini discloses wherein the first identifier is the new security protection enabling manner, and determining, by the first terminal device based on the first identifier, whether to enable security protection for the connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device comprises:
determining, by the first terminal device based on the new security protection enabling manner, whether to enable security protection for the connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (see claim 23 rejection).
Regarding claim 25, Rohini discloses wherein determining, by the first terminal device based on the first identifier, whether to enable security protection for the connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device comprises:
determining, by the first terminal device, based on a service discovery parameter sent by the second terminal device or a first message sent by the second terminal device whether the second terminal device supports forcible modification of a security protection policy of the second terminal device (Rohini’s invention is for a V2X communication which is a wireless communication in a prose discovery mode. Fig. 10 and particularly par. [0210]-[0211] disclose the ProSe Key Management Function checks whether the encryption/integrity algorithm is supported by the first UE according to the UE security capabilities, then provides a Key Response message to first UE where the Key Response Message includes a group member identity and a security algorithm identifier, that the first UE 202a has to use while sending or receiving protected data for the respective group. This teaches when a UE sends a direct communication to another UE, it already knows the other UE can accept the security policy sent. See Fig. 11 for the UE-2 accepting new security protection provided by the UE-1): and
in response to determining that the second terminal device supports forcible modification of a security protection policy of the second terminal device, determining, by the first terminal device based on the first identifier, whether to enable security protection for the connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (Fig. 11 related text discloses at step 1103a when the UE-1 receives the Direct Security Mode Command it knows the UE-2 uses security parameters sent in the request at step 1101a to establish the security protection communication session).
Regarding claim 26, Rohini discloses wherein determining, by the first terminal device, based on a service discovery parameter sent by the second terminal device or a first message sent by the second terminal device whether the second terminal device supports forcible modification of a security protection policy of the second terminal device comprises:
receiving, by the first terminal device, the service discovery parameter from the second terminal device in a discovery procedure of the service, service, wherein the service discovery parameter is a service discovery code; and determining, by the first terminal device based on the service discovery code, whether the second terminal device supports forcible modification of the security protection policy of the second terminal device based on whether the service discovery code corresponds to
the first identifier (Fig. 11 and related text discloses the messages exchanged between the two UEs where all data such as a Nonce_2 and other information sent from the UE-2 are based on data parameters sent in the Direct Communication message in step 1101a from the UE-1).
Regarding claim 27, Rohini discloses wherein determining, by the first terminal device, based on a service discovery parameter sent by the second terminal device or a first message sent by the second terminal device whether the second terminal device supports forcible modification of a security protection policy of the second terminal device comprises:
receiving, by the first terminal device, the first message from the second terminal device in the process of establishing the connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device; and determining whether the second terminal device supports forcible modification of the security protection policy of the second terminal device (see claims 25-26 rejections).
Regarding claims 28-29, the claims are rejected in view of claims 21 and 26-27 rejections for interaction between the first device and second device using discovery mode for communication.
Regarding claim 30, Rohini discloses receiving a request message from a second network element serving the second terminal, wherein the request message requests the service discovery parameter of the first service; and returning a response message to the second network element, wherein the response message comprises the service discovery parameter and the security protection policy (Figs. 1C, 2 and related text discloses different applications on an EU can communicate to more than one UE or the same UE. Hence, a second application on the second UE can perform a similar request to the first UE in the same manner for different application).
Regarding claims 31-32, Rohini discloses wherein the first service is a neighborhood service Prose service, and the service discovery parameter of the first service is a neighborhood service code Prose code, wherein the Prose code comprises: a ProSe application code, a ProSe discovery code, a ProSe query code, or a ProSe response code (as presented above, Rohini’s invention applies in V2X Prose communication environment).
Claims 41-44 are rejected in view of claims 21-24 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohini in view of Pub 20170237747 (hereinafter Quinn)
Regarding claim 33, the claim is rejected in view of claims 21 and 26-27. Note that each service requires a different policy. Reznik discloses the advertising message comprises an IP address value but does not discuss whether wherein the plurality of security protection policies comprise different security protection policies of a first service at different geographical locations. Quin discloses accessing protected data asset based on user device’s specific location enforcing by a policy (par. [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Rohini with Quinn to teach the aforementioned feature. One would have done so to for secure access based on policy for the improvement as discussed by Quinn.
Regarding claim 34, Rohini discloses sending, by the first terminal, a second discovery request to the first network element, wherein the second discovery request requests to obtain the service discovery parameter; receiving, by the first terminal, a second discovery response from the first network element, wherein the second discovery response comprises the service discovery parameter; and establishing, by the first terminal, the security connection of the first service to the second terminal according to one of a plurality of security protection policies (as illustrated in Rohini’s invention, both the first and second devices can discover each other but the request for communication for services with different policies assigned by the core network element).
Regarding claim 35, Rohini discloses wherein the service discovery parameter corresponds to the security protection policy corresponding to the first service in the first discovery response (see claim 21 rejection for the first UE obtained security policies from the network element based on applications/services then use in Prose communication to other UEs).
Inquiry communication
/TRI M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432