DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the prior art reference Ossmer et al. does not disclose the claimed “frame portion”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that given the claims the broadest reasonable interpretation the term “portion” merely limits the claim language to a part or share of a larger whole. Examiner previously cited Figure 6 as the “frame portion” since Figure 6 illustrated an assembled portion of the interpreted “frame portion” which appears to have confused applicant to interpret the citation of Figure 6 to equate the citation 23, to clarify Examiner cites Figures 2 and 6-10 that illustrate the assembly of the interpreted “frame portion” which includes the components in between the housing 7 and fluidic unit 5. Applicant’s arguments directed at the “reset element” are considered moot.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the prior art reference Ossmer et al. does not disclose the claimed electronic circuit board, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously cited paragraph 94 of Ossmer et al. does disclose an electronic circuit board as the common core element 2, which has at least one of a circuit path and connector to external power supply as disclosed in paragraphs 93 and 94. Paragraph 106 further discloses a microcontroller 25 connected to the conductor tracks of the core element 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 14-19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ossmer et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0353269).
Regarding claim 1, Ossmer et al. disclose an actuation unit (Figs. 1-11) for a multi valve device (paragraph 94), the multivalve device comprising a fluidic unit (5) comprising at least one fluid channel (inlet 35 to outlet 36) and a plurality of valves (Fig. 11), wherein the valves are configured to selectively at least partially block or open the fluid channel (paragraphs 101-102), wherein the actuation unit comprises a housing (housing of lid 7, paragraphs 57-59) and at least one actuator module (1), wherein the housing (7) is configured to receive a plurality of actuator modules (paragraph 94), wherein the number of actuator modules (1) received in the housing (7) depends on the respective application of the actuation unit (inherent functional language), wherein the at least one actuator module (1) is received (Figs. 6-10) within the housing (7), wherein the actuator module (1) comprises at least one actuator made at least partially of a shape memory material (paragraph 85), and at least one valve actuation member (8), wherein the actuator (1) is configured to move the at least one valve actuation member (8) such that at least one of the valves selectively at least partially blocks or opens the fluid channel (paragraphs 101-102), wherein the actuation unit (1) is connectable (paragraphs 109-114) to the fluidic unit (5), wherein the actuation module (1) comprises a frame portion (components in between the housing 7 and fluidic unit 5 as illustrated in Figs. 2 and 6-10), wherein the frame portion (Figs. 2 and 6-10) comprises a front surface (Figs. 2 and 6-10), wherein the valve actuation member (8) is linearly moveable (paragraphs 71-72) at least between an inner position (Figs. 9-10), in which the valve actuation member (8) is at least partially retracted into the frame portion (paragraphs 86-87) with respect to the front surface (Figs. 9-10), and an outer position (Figs. 9-10), in which the valve actuation member (8) at least partially protrudes from the frame portion with respect to the front surface (Figs. 9-10), wherein the actuation unit further comprises an electronic circuit board (2, paragraphs 93-94), wherein the electronic circuit board (2) comprises at least one of the elements selected from the group consisting of: at least one power source (paragraph 93), at least one interface device configured to communicate with an external electronic device (paragraph 106), at least one button, at least one screen, a connector to external power supply, and at least one circuit path mounted thereon (paragraphs 102-106).
Regarding claim 2, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuation unit is releasably connectable (paragraph 114) to the fluidic unit (5).
Regarding claim 3, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuator module (1) is releasably received (paragraphs 57-59) within the housing (7).
Regarding claim 4, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuator (1) is formed planar (Fig. 6) and/or wherein the actuator (1) is formed flat (paragraph 116).
Regarding claim 6, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the valve actuation member (8) has a cylindrical, spherical (Figs. 8-10) or wedge shape.
Regarding claim 9, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), the actuator module further comprising at least two (Fig. 8) valve actuation members (8), wherein the actuator (1) is configured to selectively move (paragraphs 99-104) at least one of the two valve actuation members (8).
Regarding claim 14, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein each of the actuators of the actuator modules (1) is electrically connected (paragraphs 93-94) to the electronic circuit board (2), wherein the electrical connection is configured to allow a relative movement (movement of the shape memory material) of the actuator modules (1) and the electronic circuit board (2) to each other.
Regarding claim 15, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), further comprising at least one spring mechanism (9, 23, or 64, paragraphs 109-113) configured to bias the at least one actuator module (1) towards a stop position within the housing (7) and/or further comprising a position sensor (paragraph 104) configured to detect a position of the valve actuation, or the actuator is formed as a position sensor (paragraph 104-106).
Regarding claim 16, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein a plurality of actuator modules (1) are connected as a cascade by means of a predetermined number of electrical lines (paragraphs 93-94), wherein each actuator module (1) is capable of receiving commands as well as sending commands/information by means of a digital communication protocol (paragraph 94, and 103-106).
Regarding claim 17, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), further comprising a plurality of actuators (1) arranged in at least one series (paragraph 94), wherein each actuator (1) is bypassed by an electronic switch (25, paragraph 104) configured to allow to selectively supply current to one or more of the actuators (1) and to bypass one or more of the actuators with current (paragraphs 94-105).
Regarding claim 18, Ossmer et al. disclose a multi valve device (paragraph 94), comprising a fluidic unit (5) comprising at least one fluid channel (inlet 35 to outlet 36) and a plurality of valves (Fig. 11), wherein the valves are configured to selectively block or open (paragraphs 101-102) an opening (38) to the fluid channel, and at least one actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuation unit is connected (paragraph 114) to the fluidic unit (5).
Regarding claim 19, Ossmer et al. disclose the multi valve device (Figs. 1-11), further comprising at least one sealing member (4), wherein each of the valves is covered (paragraph 61) by the sealing member (4).
Regarding claim 22, Ossmer et al. disclose a fluid handling device (Figs. 1-11) comprising a multi valve device (paragraph 94), and at least one fluid source (disclosed media, paragraph 56), wherein the fluidic unit (5) is in fluid communication with the at least one fluid source (paragraphs 98-102).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753