DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8 and 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “mod-ule” appears to be in error for - - “module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the final phrase “and at least one circuit path mounted thereon, wherein the actuation unit” it is unclear what the applicant is referring to with “wherein the actuation unit”, as it is unclear what the applicant is further limiting of the “actuation unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 13-19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ossmer et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0353269).
Regarding claim 1, Ossmer et al. disclose an actuation unit (Figs. 1-11) for a multi valve device (paragraph 94), the multivalve device comprising a fluidic unit (5) comprising at least one fluid channel (inlet 35 to outlet 36) and a plurality of valves (Fig. 11), wherein the valves are configured to selectively at least partially block or open the fluid channel (paragraphs 101-102), wherein the actuation unit comprises a housing (housing of lid 7, paragraphs 57-59) and at least one actuator module (1), wherein the housing (7) is configured to receive a plurality of actuator modules (paragraph 94), wherein the at least one actuator module (1) is received (Figs. 6-10) within the housing (7), wherein the actuator module (1) comprises at least one actuator made at least partially of a shape memory material (paragraph 85), and at least one valve actuation member (8), wherein the actuator (1) is configured to move at least one valve actuation member (8) such that at least one of the valves selectively at least partially blocks or opens the fluid channel (paragraphs 101-102), wherein the actuation unit (1) is connectable (paragraphs 109-114) to the fluidic unit (5).
Regarding claim 2, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuation unit is releasably connectable (paragraph 114) to the fluidic unit (5).
Regarding claim 3, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuator module (1) is releasably received (paragraphs 57-59) within the housing (7).
Regarding claim 4, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuator (1) is formed substantially planar (Fig. 6) and/or wherein the actuator (1) is formed substantially flat (paragraph 116).
Regarding claim 5, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuation module (1) comprises a frame portion (Fig. 6, paragraph 113), wherein the frame portion comprises a front surface (Fig. 6), wherein the valve actuation member (8) is linearly moveable (paragraphs 71-72) at least between an inner position (Figs. 9-10), in which the valve actuation member (8) is at least partially retracted into the frame portion (paragraphs 86-87) with respect to the front surface (Figs. 9-10), and an outer position (Figs. 9-10), in which the valve actuation member (8) at least partially protrudes from the frame portion with respect to the front surface (Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 6, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the valve actuation member (8) has a cylindrical, spherical (Figs. 8-10) or wedge shape.
Regarding claim 9, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), the actuator module further comprises at least two (Fig. 8) valve actuation members (8), wherein the actuator (1) is configured to selectively move (paragraphs 99-104) at least one of the two valve actuation members (8).
Regarding claim 13, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), further comprising an electronic circuit board (102, paragraph 94), wherein the electronic circuit board (102) comprises at least one of the elements selected from the group consisting of: at least one power source (paragraph 93), at least one interface device configured to communicate with an external electronic device (paragraph 106), at least one button, at least one screen, a connector to external power supply, and at least one circuit path mounted thereon (paragraphs 102-106), wherein the actuation unit.
Regarding claim 14, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein each of the actuators of the actuator modules (1) is electrically connected (paragraphs 93-94) to the electronic circuit board (102), wherein the electrical connection is configured to allow a relative movement of the actuator modules (1) and the electronic circuit board (102) to each other.
Regarding claim 15, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), further comprising at least one spring mechanism (9, 23, or 64, paragraphs 109-113) configured to bias the at least one actuator module (1) towards a stop position within the housing (7) and/or further comprising a position sensor (paragraph 104) configured to detect a position of the valve actuation, or the actuator is formed as a position sensor (paragraph 104-106).
Regarding claim 16, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein a plurality of actuator modules (1) are connected as a cascade by means of a predetermined number of electrical lines (paragraphs 93-94), wherein each actuator module (1) is capable of receiving commands as well as sending commands/information by means of a digital communication protocol (paragraph 94, and 103-106).
Regarding claim 17, Ossmer et al. disclose the actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), further comprising a plurality of actuators (1) arranged in at least one series (paragraph 94), wherein each actuator (1) is bypassed by an electronic switch (25, paragraph 104) configured to allow to selectively supply current to one or more of the actuators (1) and to bypass one or more of the actuators with current (paragraphs 94-105).
Regarding claim 18, Ossmer et al. disclose a multi valve device (paragraph 94), comprising a fluidic unit (5) comprising at least one fluid channel (inlet 35 to outlet 36) and a plurality of valves (Fig. 11), wherein the valves are configured to selectively block or open (paragraphs 101-102) an opening (38) to the fluid channel, and at least one actuation unit (Figs. 1-11), wherein the actuation unit is connected (paragraph 114) to the fluidic unit (5).
Regarding claim 19, Ossmer et al. disclose the multi valve device (Figs. 1-11), further comprising at least one sealing member (4), wherein each of the valves is covered (paragraph 61) by the sealing member (4).
Regarding claim 22, Ossmer et al. disclose a fluid handling device (Figs. 1-11) comprising a multi valve device (paragraph 94), and at least one fluid source (disclosed media, paragraph 56), wherein the fluidic unit (5) is in fluid communication with the at least one fluid source (paragraphs 98-102).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nicola et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0205551) disclose an actuation unit for a multi valve device having a plurality of actuators made of shape memory material actuating a valve.
Obmer et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0347834) disclose an actuation unit comprising a similar housing and shape memory alloy actuator.
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753