DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 8/07/25 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 8/07/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative argues that “Hu fails to disclose the above limitation: receiving, by a first device, a first packet from a second device, wherein the second device and the first device are different network devices”. However, Hu clearly teaches “one or more input devices” and “one or more output device”. Furthermore, the claimed language recite the function of determining and forwarding only by the first device.
Hu doesn't mention a cycle mapping relationship between a first cycle and a second cycle in the full text. However, HU clearly teaches wherein “branch prediction arrangement using both a 0-cycle target predictor 301 and an n-cycle (2-cycle in this example) direction predictor 305” (See paragraph [0046]). Furthermore, Hu clearly teaches wherein “Like the n-cycle predictor, the 1-cycle predictor also has a target predictor and a direction predictor (See paragraph [0049] and The 0-cycle predictor 401 can make predictions for a set of instruction that they have frequently executed recently. The n-cycle (2-cycle in this embodiment) direction predictor 405 and target predictor 403 again provide the final branch decision at cycle N+2 (See paragraph [0050]). One with ordinary skill in the art can confidently conclude that Hu clearly teaches a mapping relation between the first cycle and the second cycle since the final branch decision is made at cycle the second cycle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2019/0317769 to Hu et al.
a. As per claim 1, Hu et al teaches a packet forwarding method, comprising: receiving, by a first device, a first packet from a second device (See paragraph [0034, 0080]), wherein the second device and the first device are different network devices (See paragraph [0034], the computer system 100 includes a computer 105, one or more input devices 101 and one or more output devices 103 ); determining, by the first device, a target cycle corresponding to the first packet based on cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet and a cycle mapping relationship (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]) , comprising a mapping relationship between a first cycle and a second cycle, the first cycle represents a forwarding cycle determined based on the cycle mapping relationship, and the second cycle represents a cycle in which the second device sends the first packet; and forwarding, by the first device, the first packet in the target cycle corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0050-0052]).
b. As per claim 11, Hu et al teaches a packet forwarding method (See paragraph [0080]), comprising: obtaining, by a target device, cycle modification information corresponding to a first packet, wherein the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet is used to determine a target cycle corresponding to the first packet together with a cycle mapping relationship (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]), wherein the target cycle corresponding to the first packet is a cycle in which a first device forwards the first packet, the cycle mapping relationship represents a mapping relationship between a first cycle and a second cycle, relationship (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052])that represents a cycle in which a second device sends the first packet to the first device, and the first cycle represents a forwarding cycle determined based on the cycle mapping relationship (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]), wherein the second device and the first device are different network devices (See paragraph [0034], the computer system 100 includes a computer 105, one or more input devices 101 and one or more output devices 103 ); and sending, by the target device, the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]).
c. As per claim 18, Hu et al teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor (See paragraph [0082]); a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: receive a first packet from a second (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]) device, wherein the second device and the communication apparatus are different network devices (See paragraph [0034], the computer system 100 includes a computer 105, one or more input devices 101 and one or more output devices 103 ); determine a target cycle corresponding to the first packet based on cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet and a cycle mapping relationship comprising a mapping relationship between a first cycle and a second cycle, the first cycle represents a forwarding cycle determined based on the cycle mapping relationship (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0050-0052]), and the second cycle represents a cycle in which the second device sends the first packet; and forward the first packet in the target cycle corresponding to the first packet relationship (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0050-0052]).
d. AS per claims 2 and 19, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches further comprising: receiving, by the first device, a second packet sent by the second device in the second cycle (See paragraph [0080]); and forwarding, by the first device, the second packet in a target cycle corresponding to the second packet, wherein the target cycle corresponding to the second packet is different from the target cycle corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]).
e. As per claims 3 and , Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the first packet received by the first device from the second device carries the second cycle, or carries the second cycle and the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]).
f. As per claims 4 and 20, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet comprises an offset cycle quantity corresponding to the first packet, and the offset cycle quantity corresponding to the first packet is a quantity of cycles by which the target cycle corresponding to the first packet is offset relative to the first cycle (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]).
g. AS per claims 5 and 21, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the target cycle corresponding to the first packet is determined according to: Y=X+A+O, wherein Y represents the target cycle corresponding to the first packet, X represents the second cycle, A represents a constant related to the cycle mapping relationship, and 0 represents an offset cycle difference corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0047 and 0050]).
h. AS per claims 6 and 22, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet is determined based on the one or more pieces of the following information: a latency difference between a plurality of paths used to transmit the first packet, a preset range
i. As per claims 7 and 23, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein locally reading, by the first device, the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0045-0047]).
j. As per claims 8 and 24, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein there is a correspondence between one or more flows and cycle modification information, and the one or more flows comprise a flow in which the first packet is located; or there is a correspondence between each device on the plurality of paths used to transmit the first packet and cycle modification information (See paragraph [0015-0017]).
k. As per claims 9 and 25, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches receiving, by the first device, the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0047-0048]).
2l. AS per claim 27, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor [0082]); a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which, when executed by the processor (See paragraph [0082]), cause the apparatus to: obtain cycle modification information corresponding to a first packet, wherein the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet is used to determine a target cycle corresponding to the first packet together with a cycle mapping relationship (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]), wherein the first packet is a cycle in which a first device forwards the first packet, the cycle mapping relationship represents a mapping relationship between a first cycle and a second cycle (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]), the second cycle represents a cycle in which a second device sends the first packet to the first device (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]), and the first cycle represents a forwarding cycle determined based on the cycle mapping relationship; and send the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]).
m. As per claims 10 and 26, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet comprises: cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet on the first device, or cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet on the first device and one or more downstream devices of the first device (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]); and the determining
n. As per claims 12 and 28, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches (:obtaining, by the target device, cycle modification information corresponding to a second packet, wherein the cycle modification information corresponding to the second packet is different from the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet, and both the second packet and the first packet are packets sent by the second device to the first device in the second cycle (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]).
o. As per claims 13 and 29, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet comprises an offset cycle quantity corresponding to the first packet, and the offset cycle quantity corresponding to the first packet is a quantity of cycles by which the target cycle corresponding to the first packet is offset relative to the first cycle (See paragraph [0060-0062]).
16. (Original) The method according to claim 15, wherein the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet comprises: cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet on the first device, or cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet on the first device and one or more downstream devices of the first device (See paragraph [0015, 0032, 0046, 0051-0052]).
p. As per claims 14 and 30, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the obtainingA second prediction of a second accuracy lower than the first accuracy and a second latency lower than the first latency is performed for a second branch to be selected for each of the predicted branch/target pairs when executing the first set of instructions.).
q. As per claim 15, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the target device is the second device, and the method further comprises: sending, by the second device, the first packet to the first device, wherein the first packet carries the second cycle, or the first packet carries the second cycle and the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet (See paragraph [0046-0047]).
r. As per claim 17, Hu et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Hu et al teaches wherein the target device is a control plane device, and the sending
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444