Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent Claims 1, 14, 27, and 29:
Applicant submitted that Hamidi does not disclose that "a total length of the first symbol of the plurality of symbols is the same as a total length of the second symbol of the plurality of symbols," as recited in amended independent claim 1. See Remarks 11. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hamidi states that "for SCS=120 KHz, the OFDM symbol duration is kept the same, while the CP duration for DL-PRS signal can be configured depending on the sensing detection range requirements." Hamidi [0114], and
“for SCSs>120 KHz, CP can be configured from a predefined set including the CP duration used for communication, as well as other larger value(s), while the total OFDM symbol duration is kept the same for all different CP durations.” Hamidi [0116].
Hamidi describes that symbols with configurable CP length may have a same total length. Thus, Hamidi discloses that "a total length of the first symbol of the plurality of symbols is the same as a total length of the second symbol of the plurality of symbols," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 13, 14, 21, 26, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamidi et al. (US 20240014976).
Regarding claim 1, Hamidi discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (UE 1502; Fig. 15) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
establish a connection with a network entity (UE 1502 may be communicatively coupled with the AN 1504 via connection 1506; [0219]);
receive control information indicating that a plurality of symbols of a slot used for communication of a downlink message are associated with non-uniform cyclic prefix lengths (DL-PRS configuration supports configuring CP duration, for each SCS=>60 KHz, such that the overall OFDM symbol duration also varies based on the CP duration. For 60 KHz, the set of the CP durations can include NR normal CP and NR ECP, or any other values; [0119]); and
receive the downlink message during the slot based at least in part on the non-uniform cyclic prefix lengths associated with the plurality of symbols of the slot (DL PRS configuration supports configuring special DL PRS resource sets, which occupy back-to-back DL PRS resources/symbols over one or multiple slots and the symbols within the special sets (except the first symbol), can have a configurable or predefined CP duration smaller than the CP duration of the first symbol which can also be a part of the PRS configuration; [0163]),
wherein a first cyclic prefix applied to a first symbol of the plurality of symbols is shorter than a second cyclic prefix applied to a second symbol of the plurality of symbols (when each slot duration contains even number of symbols with normal CP (i.e., 14) and even number of symbols with extended CP (i.e., 12), half of the slot can be filled with ECP symbols, and half with NCP symbols (while the NCP and the ECP symbols may not necessarily be all adjacent to each other; [0140].
if a set of consecutive symbols are to be used for transmission of radio signal for sensing (e.g., to be used for transmission of DL PRS signal, etc.), from the processing point of view, it is also feasible to consider a larger CP for the first symbol used for sensing (i.e., as large as the CP required for the prior communication symbol), while other subsequent sensing symbols can have shorter CP duration compared to the first symbol; [0163]), and
wherein a total length of the first symbol of the plurality of symbols is the same as a total length of the second symbol of the plurality of symbols (for SCS=120 KHz, the OFDM symbol duration is kept the same, while the CP duration for DL-PRS signal can be configured depending on the sensing detection range requirements.
for SCSs>120 KHz, CP can be configured from a predefined set including the CP duration used for communication, as well as other larger value(s), while the total OFDM symbol duration is kept the same for all different CP durations; [0114, 0116]).
Regarding claim 8, Hamidi discloses wherein, to receive the control information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a control message indicating a plurality of symbol groups of the slot, wherein the first symbol is in a first symbol group of the plurality of symbol groups and wherein the second symbol is in a second symbol group of the plurality of symbol groups (slots containing symbols with different CP duration is also supported. Especially when each slot duration contains even number of symbols with normal CP (i.e., 14) and even number of symbols with extended CP (i.e., 12), half of the slot can be filled with ECP symbols, and half with NCP symbols (while the NCP and the ECP symbols may not necessarily be all adjacent to each other, but if each half slot contains similar CP type, it avoids additional complexity in processing); [0140]).
Regarding claim 13, Hamidi discloses wherein the UE is configured to increase a cyclic prefix length based at least in part on the first symbol being associated with a first transmission type and the second symbol being associated with a second transmission type (for SCS=120 KHz, the OFDM symbol duration is kept the same, e.g., it equals 8.92 us as the current value in NR or other values, while the CP duration for DL-PRS signal can be configured depending on the sensing detection range requirements. For example, a set of CP durations including the legacy value of 0.59 us, and one or more larger values (e.g., 0.69 us (for ˜100 m range detection), 0.79 us (for ˜118 m range detection), or any other value) can be defined, and the configuration can indicate one of the predefined values per PRS resource or per PRS resource set; [0114]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 13.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 9, 15-20, 22, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamidi et al. (US 20240014976) in view of Weng et al. (US 20130022090).
Regarding claim 2, Hamidi does not expressly disclose measure one or more channel state information reference signals via a channel between the UE and the network entity; and calculate, based at least in part on the measuring, a cyclic prefix length for the downlink message associated with a channel impulse response of the channel between the UE and the network entity.
In an analogous art, Weng discloses measure one or more channel state information reference signals via a channel between the UE and the network entity (eNB can estimate the uplink channel of a UE based on an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) or an uplink demodulation reference signal (DMRS) from the UE; [0038]); and
calculate, based at least in part on the measuring, a cyclic prefix length for the downlink message associated with a channel impulse response of the channel between the UE and the network entity (the eNB determines the desired CP mode for each UE. The desired CP mode for a UE may be determined based on comparing the estimated multipath delay spread of the uplink channel from the UE with the normal CP duration. If the estimated channel multipath delay spread of a UE is less than the normal CP duration, the desired CP mode for the UE can be set to "Normal". Otherwise, it can be set to "Extended". In the estimation, the eNB takes into consideration of the pre-equalizer coefficients being used by the UE. The multipath delay spread may be estimated by calculating the auto-correlation of one or more estimates of the composite channel impulse response; [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Weng into the system of Hamidi in order to adopt shorter cyclic prefix length which may result in less overhead in utilizing uplink radio resources and a higher spectrum efficiency (Weng; [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Hamidi does not expressly disclose transmit one or more sounding reference signals via a channel between the UE and the network entity; and receive, from the network entity, an indication of a cyclic prefix length for the downlink message associated with a channel impulse response of the channel between the UE and the network entity.
In an analogous art, Weng discloses transmit one or more sounding reference signals via a channel between the UE and the network entity (eNB can estimate the uplink channel of a UE based on an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) or an uplink demodulation reference signal (DMRS) from the UE; [0038]); and
receive, from the network entity, an indication of a cyclic prefix length for the downlink message associated with a channel impulse response of the channel between the UE and the network entity (the eNB determines the desired CP mode for each UE. The desired CP mode for a UE may be determined based on comparing the estimated multipath delay spread of the uplink channel from the UE with the normal CP duration. If the estimated channel multipath delay spread of a UE is less than the normal CP duration, the desired CP mode for the UE can be set to "Normal". Otherwise, it can be set to "Extended". In the estimation, the eNB takes into consideration of the pre-equalizer coefficients being used by the UE. The multipath delay spread may be estimated by calculating the auto-correlation of one or more estimates of the composite channel impulse response; [0038].
Once an eNB determines the desired uplink CP mode for a UE and schedules an uplink transmission for the UE, the eNB can send information including an uplink grant message identifying uplink radio resources, and an uplink CP mode to be used by the UE to transmit uplink signals; [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Weng into the system of Hamidi in order to adopt shorter cyclic prefix length which may result in less overhead in utilizing uplink radio resources and a higher spectrum efficiency (Weng; [0015]).
Regarding claim 4, Hamidi does not expressly disclose wherein, to receive the control information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control message indicating one or more nonuniform cyclic prefix templates, wherein each of the one or more non-uniform cyclic prefix templates is associated with a respective slot configuration of a plurality of slot configurations.
In an analogous art, Weng discloses wherein, to receive the control information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control message indicating one or more nonuniform cyclic prefix templates, wherein each of the one or more non-uniform cyclic prefix templates is associated with a respective slot configuration of a plurality of slot configurations (Once an eNB determines the desired uplink CP mode for a UE and schedules an uplink transmission for the UE, the eNB can send information including an uplink grant message identifying uplink radio resources, and an uplink CP mode to be used by the UE to transmit uplink signals. In some implementations, the transmission of uplink CP mode to the UE can have at least one of the following example options: UE specific RRC message. In some implementations, the CP mode for a UE may not change rapidly. As a result, it may be possible for an eNB to toggle the desired uplink CP mode bit to the UE via a UE specific RRC message; [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Weng into the system of Hamidi in order to adopt shorter cyclic prefix length which may result in less overhead in utilizing uplink radio resources and a higher spectrum efficiency (Weng; [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hamidi and Weng, particularly Weng discloses receive a control message indicating a non-uniform cyclic prefix template of the one or more non-uniform cyclic prefix templates (Predefined normal CP mode or extended CP mode associated with a particular uplink subframe in N radio frames, where N is an integer. This CP mode configuration can be changed semi-statically through a broadcasting message. For example, a common uplink CP mode bit in each downlink subframe, e.g., subframe n, can indicate the CP mode to be used in the uplink subframe n+4, since UEs sharing the same uplink subframe are using the same CP mode, and for any UE, an uplink grant received at downlink subframe n is for the radio resource at uplink subframe n+4. Accordingly, a message identifying the predefined normal CP mode or extended CP mode associate with a particular downlink subframe may be broadcasted in N radio frames; [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Weng into the system of Hamidi in order to adopt shorter cyclic prefix length which may result in less overhead in utilizing uplink radio resources and a higher spectrum efficiency (Weng; [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hamidi and Weng, particularly Weng discloses wherein the control message is a medium access control control element or a downlink control information message (a new DCI format may be used to support the UE specific CP mode bit; [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Weng into the system of Hamidi in order to adopt shorter cyclic prefix length which may result in less overhead in utilizing uplink radio resources and a higher spectrum efficiency (Weng; [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hamidi and Weng, particularly Hamidi discloses wherein the plurality of slot configurations comprises a slot comprising one or more physical downlink shared channel symbols and one or more channel state information reference signal symbols, a slot comprising one or more physical downlink shared channel symbols and one or more synchronization signal block symbols, a slot comprising one or more channel state information reference signal symbols and one or more synchronization signal block symbols, a special slot, or some combination thereof (the DL PRS configuration supports configuring special DL PRS resource sets, which occupy back-to-back DL PRS resources/symbols over one or multiple slots (may not necessarily occupy integer number of slots) and the symbols within the special sets (except the first symbol), can have a configurable or predefined CP duration smaller than the CP duration of the first symbol which can also be a part of the PRS configuration. The indication of the special set can be part of the PRS resource set or frequency layer configuration (explicit or implicit); [0303]).
Regarding claim 9, Hamidi does not expressly disclose wherein, to receive the control information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control message indicating a plurality of cyclic prefix length patterns, wherein the control message indicates a cyclic prefix length pattern of the plurality of cyclic prefix length patterns.
In an analogous art, Weng discloses wherein, to receive the control information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control message indicating a plurality of cyclic prefix length patterns, wherein the control message indicates a cyclic prefix length pattern of the plurality of cyclic prefix length patterns (eNB transmits the determined desired CP mode and/or uplink scheduling information. Once an eNB determines the desired uplink CP mode for a UE and schedules an uplink transmission for the UE, the eNB can send information including an uplink grant message identifying uplink radio resources, and an uplink CP mode to be used by the UE to transmit uplink signals. In some implementations, the transmission of uplink CP mode to the UE can have at least one of the following example options: UE specific RRC message. In some implementations, the CP mode for a UE may not change rapidly. As a result, it may be possible for an eNB to toggle the desired uplink CP mode bit to the UE via a UE specific RRC message; [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Weng into the system of Hamidi in order to adopt shorter cyclic prefix length which may result in less overhead in utilizing uplink radio resources and a higher spectrum efficiency (Weng; [0015]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Claim(s) 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamidi et al. (US 20240014976) in view of Li et al. (US 20200052861).
Regarding claim 10, Hamidi does not expressly disclose wherein the first symbol is a physical downlink shared channel symbol and the second symbol is one of a channel state information reference signal symbol or a synchronization signal block symbol.
In an analogous art, Li discloses wherein the first symbol is a physical downlink shared channel symbol and the second symbol is one of a channel state information reference signal symbol or a synchronization signal block symbol (CSI reference resource could take into account the number of available PDSCH symbols in a slot or the average number of configured PDSCH symbols in a slot, where the average is taken over a time period such as a frame or a set of multiple frames (e.g., corresponding to the periodicity of the semi-static slot format indication, e.g., 40 milliseconds (ms), 80 ms, etc.); [0180]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Li into the system of Hamidi in order to improve date rate, latency, and/or power consumption and thereby provide benefits such as, e.g., reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness, and/or extended battery lifetime (Li; [0223]).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 10.
Claim(s) 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamidi et al. (US 20240014976) in view of Li et al. (US 20200052861) and in view of Grant et al. (US 20220231751).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hamidi and Li does not expressly disclose wherein a length of the second cyclic prefix is based at least in part on a beam configuration time for one or more channel state information reference signals.
In an analogous art, Grant discloses wherein a length of the second cyclic prefix is based at least in part on a beam configuration time for one or more channel state information reference signals (the UE implements beam switching such that it occurs during the cyclic prefix (CP) duration prior to each OFDM symbol. For the maximum subcarrier spacing supported in Rel-15/16 (120 kHz), the cyclic prefix duration is roughly 586 ns. This provides sufficient margin for beam switching, since according the worst-case beam switching time is assumed to be based on the analogue implementation and is estimated as <100 ns; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Grant into the system of Hamidi and Li in order to ensure improved handling of reference signaling, in particular when symbols have short symbol durations, with associated short cyclic prefixes (Grant; [0003]).
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 11.
Claim(s) 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamidi et al. (US 20240014976) in view of Bachu et al. (US 20200137745).
Regarding claim 12, Hamidi discloses wherein an initial symbol of the slot is associated with a longer cyclic prefix than the first symbol (DL-PRS configuration supports configuring CP duration, e.g., from a few options, for each SCS=120 KHz, such that the overall OFDM symbol duration also varies based on the CP duration. The set of the CP durations can include NR normal CP and NR ECP as defined above, or any other values; [0124]).
Hamidi does not expressly disclose wherein a length of the initial symbol is based at least in part on a beam configuration time for one or more physical downlink shared channel transmissions.
In an analogous art, Bachu discloses wherein a length of the initial symbol is based at least in part on a beam configuration time for one or more physical downlink shared channel transmissions (PDSCH command may include information about a QAM modulation order, information about PDSCH DMRS, an indication of the location in time of the DMRS among the symbols of the PDSCH, PDSCH allocation information, a starting symbol for PDSCH, a symbol length for the PDSCH; [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Bachu into the system of Hamidi in order to reduce look ups in L1, e.g., which may already be known by L2, while avoiding an undesirable increase in the size of the dynamic messages (Bachu; [0050]).
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 20230028826), “TECHNIQUES FOR A COMBINED CYCLIC PREFIX AND GUARD INTERVAL-BASED WAVEFORM.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413