DETAILED ACTION
The instant office action is in response to communication filed on 11/10/2022.
Claims 1-30 are pending of which claims 1, 16, 27, and 29 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 01/27/2025 is being considered and relevant prior arts are identified. The most relevant prior art from IDS, US 2022/0078735 A1 to Saggar et al, is applied in the international office action in rejecting the independent claims. The examiner has made the rejection of independent claim 1 based on Saggar disclosure to be part of the instant office action to show the independent claims are broad and to allow Applicant to address Saggar disclosure and amend the independent claims accordingly to enhance prosecution of the Application.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 11,12, 13, 15, 16, 23, 24, 25, 27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Si et al (US 20250063475 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Si discloses a user equipment (UE) (i.e. Figs. 1 and 3 UE 116) , comprising: one or more memories (i.e. Memory 360 in Fig. 3) storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors (Fig. 3 Processor 340) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive control signaling (i.e. Fig 10 block 1001 UE receives a control signal for a set of configurations for on-demand SSB(s) – see paragraph 234) that configures an on-demand transmission scheme for a first synchronization signal block (see paragraphs 8, 10, and 57 that configuration involves a first SS/PBCH that is periodic and a second SS/PBCH that is on-demand. In particular paragraphs 86 and 153-155 configuration for on-demand SSB transmission scheme) for a cell via one or more of a plurality of transmission opportunities of an operating bandwidth of the UE (see Figs. 6 and 7 transmission opportunities for on-demand SS transmission – see paragraphs 68-71), wherein the cell is associated with a carrier bandwidth that includes the operating bandwidth of the UE (See paragraph 86 showing the carrier bandwidth of the cell is associated with the bandwidth of the UE and the bandwidth of the UE and the on-demand SSB bandwidth part are all included in the carrier bandwidth of the cell as shown in Figs. 6 and 7);
transmit, in accordance with the on-demand transmission scheme (See paragraphs 10, 75 and 86 where the BS as part of the configuration message sent to the UE shows frequency location of the on-demand SSB defining the on-demand transmission scheme) , a message (i.e. the message is an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB in Fig. 7) requesting transmission of one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block (See Fig. 7 where the UE transmits an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB based on the frequency location of the on-demand SSB defining the on-demand transmission scheme. See paragraph 70 indicating the uplink request for on-demand SSB occurs prior to getting the downlink trigger for the on-demand SSB at Fig. 10 block 1002 and before the reception of the on-demand SSB Fig. 10 block 1003 ) ; and
receive, based at least in part on the message(i.e. the message is an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB in Fig. 7), the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block in the operating bandwidth of the UE via at least one transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities.(See Fig. 7 in response to the UE transmitting the message of uplink request to get the on-demand SSB and in response receives on-demand SSB at the corresponding transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities in the long periodicity shown in Fig. 7 and in Fig. 10 block 1003 the UE receives the set of transmitted on-demand SSB(s). See paragraphs 69, 70, and 234.)
Regarding claim 16, Si discloses a network entity (i.e. Figs. 1 and 2 BS 102), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (i.e. Fig. 2 Memory 230); and one or more processors (i.e. Fig. 2 Processor 225) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
transmit control signaling (i.e. Fig 10 block 1001 BS transmits a control signal for a set of configurations for on-demand SSB(s) to the UE– see paragraph 234) that configures an on-demand transmission scheme for a first synchronization signal block (see paragraphs 8, 10, and 57+ that configuration involves a first SS/PBCH that is periodic and a second SS/PBCH that is on-demand. In particular paragraphs 86 and 153-155 configuration for on-demand SSB transmission scheme) for a cell via one or more of a plurality of transmission opportunities of an operating bandwidth of a user equipment (UE) (see Figs. 6 and 7 transmission opportunities for on-demand SS transmission – see paragraphs 68-71), wherein the cell is associated with a carrier bandwidth that includes the operating bandwidth of the UE (See paragraph 86 showing the carrier bandwidth of the cell is associated with the bandwidth of the UE and the bandwidth of the UE and the on-demand SSB bandwidth part are all included in the carrier bandwidth of the cell as shown in Figs. 6 and 7);
receive, in accordance with the on-demand transmission scheme (See paragraphs 10, 75 and 86 where the BS as part of the configuration message sent to the UE shows frequency location of the on-demand SSB defining the on-demand transmission scheme), a message (i.e. the message is an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB in Fig. 7) requesting transmission of one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block (See Fig. 7 where the BS receives from the UE an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB based on the frequency location of the on-demand SSB defining the on-demand transmission scheme. See paragraph 70 indicating the uplink request for on-demand SSB occurs prior to getting the downlink trigger for the on-demand SSB at Fig. 10 block 1002 and before the reception of the on-demand SSB Fig. 10 block 1003 ) ; and
transmit, based at least in part on the message(i.e. the message is an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB in Fig. 7), the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block in the operating bandwidth of the UE via at least one transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities.(See Fig. 7 in response to the UE transmitting the message of uplink request to get the on-demand SSB and the BS transmits to the UE on-demand SSB at the corresponding transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities in the long periodicity shown in Fig. 7 and in Fig. 10 block 1003 the UE receives the set of transmitted on-demand SSB(s). See paragraphs 69, 70, and 234.)
Regarding claim 27, Si discloses a method for a wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (i.e. Figs. 1 and 3 UE 116) , comprising:
receiving control signaling (i.e. Fig 10 block 1001 UE receives a control signal for a set of configurations for on-demand SSB(s) – see paragraph 234) that configures an on-demand transmission scheme for a first synchronization signal block (see paragraphs 8, 10, and 57 that configuration involves a first SS/PBCH that is periodic and a second SS/PBCH that is on-demand. In particular paragraphs 86 and 153-155 configuration for on-demand SSB transmission scheme) for a cell via one or more of a plurality of transmission opportunities of an operating bandwidth of the UE (see Figs. 6 and 7 transmission opportunities for on-demand SS transmission – see paragraphs 68-71), wherein the cell is associated with a carrier bandwidth that includes the operating bandwidth of the UE (See paragraph 86 showing the carrier bandwidth of the cell is associated with the bandwidth of the UE and the bandwidth of the UE and the on-demand SSB bandwidth part are all included in the carrier bandwidth of the cell as shown in Figs. 6 and 7);
transmitting, in accordance with the on-demand transmission scheme (See paragraphs 10, 75 and 86 where the BS as part of the configuration message sent to the UE shows frequency location of the on-demand SSB defining the on-demand transmission scheme) , a message (i.e. the message is an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB in Fig. 7) requesting transmission of one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block (See Fig. 7 where the UE transmits an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB based on the frequency location of the on-demand SSB defining the on-demand transmission scheme. See paragraph 70 indicating the uplink request for on-demand SSB occurs prior to getting the downlink trigger for the on-demand SSB at Fig. 10 block 1002 and before the reception of the on-demand SSB Fig. 10 block 1003 ) ; and
receiving, based at least in part on the message(i.e. the message is an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB in Fig. 7), the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block in the operating bandwidth of the UE via at least one transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities.(See Fig. 7 in response to the UE transmitting the message of uplink request to get the on-demand SSB and in response receives on-demand SSB at the corresponding transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities in the long periodicity shown in Fig. 7 and in Fig. 10 block 1003 the UE receives the set of transmitted on-demand SSB(s). See paragraphs 69, 70, and 234.)
Regarding claim 29, Si disclose a network entity (i.e. Figs. 1 and 2 BS 102), comprising:
transmitting control signaling (i.e. Fig 10 block 1001 BS transmits a control signal for a set of configurations for on-demand SSB(s) to the UE– see paragraph 234) that configures an on-demand transmission scheme for a first synchronization signal block (see paragraphs 8, 10, and 57+ that configuration involves a first SS/PBCH that is periodic and a second SS/PBCH that is on-demand. In particular paragraphs 86 and 153-155 configuration for on-demand SSB transmission scheme) for a cell via one or more of a plurality of transmission opportunities of an operating bandwidth of a user equipment (UE) (see Figs. 6 and 7 transmission opportunities for on-demand SS transmission – see paragraphs 68-71), wherein the cell is associated with a carrier bandwidth that includes the operating bandwidth of the UE (See paragraph 86 showing the carrier bandwidth of the cell is associated with the bandwidth of the UE and the bandwidth of the UE and the on-demand SSB bandwidth part are all included in the carrier bandwidth of the cell as shown in Figs. 6 and 7);
receiving, in accordance with the on-demand transmission scheme (See paragraphs 10, 75 and 86 where the BS as part of the configuration message sent to the UE shows frequency location of the on-demand SSB defining the on-demand transmission scheme), a message (i.e. the message is an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB in Fig. 7) requesting transmission of one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block (See Fig. 7 where the BS receives from the UE an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB based on the frequency location of the on-demand SSB defining the on-demand transmission scheme. See paragraph 70 indicating the uplink request for on-demand SSB occurs prior to getting the downlink trigger for the on-demand SSB at Fig. 10 block 1002 and before the reception of the on-demand SSB Fig. 10 block 1003 ) ; and
transmitting, based at least in part on the message(i.e. the message is an uplink request to get the on-demand SSB in Fig. 7), the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block in the operating bandwidth of the UE via at least one transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities.(See Fig. 7 in response to the UE transmitting the message of uplink request to get the on-demand SSB and the BS transmits to the UE on-demand SSB at the corresponding transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities in the long periodicity shown in Fig. 7 and in Fig. 10 block 1003 the UE receives the set of transmitted on-demand SSB(s). See paragraphs 69, 70, and 234.)
Regarding claim 8, Si discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: periodically monitor a second frequency in the carrier bandwidth for a second synchronization signal block that is associated with system information of the cell (See Fig. 7 second Synchronization signal SSB being monitored and is associated with the system information the cell- see paragraphs 71-72- second synchronization block is the legacy SSB ), the second frequency external to the operating bandwidth of the UE(i.e. second frequency is legacy SSB and is broadcast on the entire carrier outside the UE operating frequency), wherein transmitting the message is based at least in part on a change in one or more conditions associated with the second synchronization signal block.(i.e. the changed condition is the periodicity – see paragraphs 70-72. See paragraph 87 on SIB1 and on-demand SSB is non-cell defining like Applicant’s definition)
Regarding claim 10, Si discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: evaluate one or more communication metrics during a first time period based at least in part on monitoring the second frequency for the second synchronization signal block(i.e. per Fig. 7 and paragraphs 70-72 and 87 – the second synchronization is the on-demand SSB SIB1 and is used by the UE for a specific purpose); and evaluate the one or more communication metrics during a second time period based at least in part on receiving the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block, wherein the second time period is longer than the first time period. (i.e. per Fig. 7 and paragraphs 70-72 and 87 – the first synchronization is the legacy SSB and is used by the UE for a specific purpose. Fig.7 shows the legacy SSB/first synchronization block has longer periodicity than On-Demand SSB/first SSB)
Regarding claim 11, Si discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: periodically monitor, after receiving the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block (See Fig. 7 after receiving first SSB/On-Demand SSB then second SSB/Legacy SSB is monitored and received based on periodicity - paragraphs 70-72 and 87), a second frequency in the carrier bandwidth for a second synchronization signal block (i.e. second SSB being legacy SSB is for the entire cell and received in the carrier bandwidth when broadcast) that is associated with system information of the cell (per paragraph 87 on-demand SSB is non-cel defining SSB like applicant definition is specific to the UE transmitted and received in the UE operating frequency band), the second frequency external to the operating bandwidth of the UE.(i.e. the second frequency where the legacy second SSB is received is for all UEs on the cell and is external to the UE unique specific operating bandwidth – see paragraphs 70-72 and 87)
Regarding claim 12, Si discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein, to receive the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, via the control signaling, an indication of a frequency associated with the first synchronization signal block, a periodicity associated with the first synchronization signal block, a time offset associated with the first synchronization signal block, or any combination thereof, wherein the frequency is within the operating bandwidth of the UE. (See at least paragraph 86 indicating the control message sent by the gNB/network to the UE includes the frequency location of the on-demand SSB can be indicated to the UE by a gNB, e.g., by an absolute frequency value (such as a ARFCN), or an offset comparing to the starting point of the common resource grid (such as an offset to Point A), or an offset comparing to the starting point of the BWP (such as the BWP including the on-demand SSB), or an offset comparing to the starting point of the carrier (such as the carrier including the on-demand SSB). For a further consideration, the indication can be a higher layer parameter, which is different from the one for the legacy SSB. See also paragraph 75)
Regarding claim 13, Si discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein a logical channel identifier of the message indicates a request for transmission of the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block.(i.e. per paragraph 179 the cell id of the SSB is used as a logical channel id in the request)
Regarding claim 15, Si discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the first synchronization signal block is different from a second synchronization signal block that is associated with system information of the cell, the first synchronization signal block comprising a non-cell defining synchronization signal block and the second synchronization signal block comprising a cell defining synchronization signal block.(See paragraphs 75 and 79 distinguishing between first SSB/legacy SSB and second SSB/On-demand SSB and in paragraph 87 it is disclosed that the legacy SSB is cell based and On-Demand SSB is a non-cell defining SSB just like Applicant’s disclosure.)
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected in the same scope as claim 11.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is rejected in the same scope as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 26, Si discloses the network entity of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity(i.e. Fig. 7 gNB) to: refrain from transmitting the first synchronization signal block before receiving the message based at least in part on the control signaling enabling the on-demand transmission scheme for the first synchronization signal block. (i.e. Per Paragraphs 70-72 and Fig. 7 gNB will not transmit/refrains the on-demand SSB/SIB1 until it receives the message UL request message requesting on-demand SSB from the UE)
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saggar et al (US 2022/0078735 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saggar discloses a user equipment (UE) (UE in Figs. 21 and 27), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code(Fig. 27 Memory 2705 and paragraph 329); and one or more processors (Fig. 27 Processor 2704) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive control signaling (i.e. Fig. 21 pre-configuration message 2114 as detailed in paragraphs 184-185 and 244 provides transmission pattern for a lean Synchronization Block (SSB)) that configures an on-demand transmission scheme for a first synchronization signal block for a cell (i.e. Fig. 21 shows transmission on- demand/request transmission for a lean synchronization signal block as a first synchronization signal block) via one or more of a plurality of transmission opportunities(i.e. see Figs. 8-10 for transmission opportunities for Lean SSB on different slots) of an operating bandwidth of the UE (i.e. see paragraphs 184-185 and 244 wherein configuration transmitted by BS to UE as shown in Fig. 21 step 2114), wherein the cell (See paragraphs 75-76 in Fig. 3 cells associated in BS) is associated with a carrier bandwidth (i.e. see paragraph 189 on carrier bandwidth) that includes the operating bandwidth of the UE (see paragraphs 118 and 144 on operating bandwidth being used by the UE to receive the lean SS/the first SS) ; transmit, in accordance with the on-demand transmission scheme (i.e. the on demand transmission scheme requesting lean SSB is defined in pre-configuration message 2114 as detailed in paragraphs 244 and 184-185) and , a message requesting transmission of one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block (i.e. message requesting the first synchronization signal block is message 2118 requesting for lean SS as detailed in paragraph 245. See also paragraphs 252 and 254 in relation to Fig. 21. See also paragraphs 160 and 185); and receive, based at least in part on the message (based on message 2118 requesting for lean SS as detailed in paragraph 245 ), the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block (i.e. the UE 2102 receives the first lean SS 2126 as the first synchronization signal block from the BS 2104 in Fig. 21 )in the operating bandwidth of the UE (i.e. see paragraphs 118 and 144 on operating bandwidth being used by the UE to receive the lean SS/the first SS) via at least one transmission opportunity of the plurality of transmission opportunities. (i.e. see Figs. 8-10 for transmission opportunities for Lean SSB on different slots)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7, 14, 17, 18, 22, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si in view of Cheng (US 20250112715 A1).
Regarding claim2, Si discloses the UE of claim 1 including the control signal but fails to disclose, wherein, to receive the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, via the control signaling, an indication of a quantity of slots between the message and a first instance of the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block, wherein the first instance is received at least the quantity of slots after the message is transmitted.
Cheng, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein, to receive the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, via the control signaling (i.e. On-Demand SSB configuration in SIB received from the Network Node in Fig. 5 and Pre-Defined On-Demand SSB configurations in Fig. 7 are examples of the control signal.) , an indication of a quantity of slots (See paragraph 58 on receiving slots and offset) between the message and a first instance of the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block, wherein the first instance is received at least the quantity of slots after the message is transmitted. (Per paragraphs 54, 56, 58 and 61 in relation to Fig. 7 the Network specifies a quantity of slots, offsets, and start position in the Pre-defined On-Demand SSB configuration control message by the network and the UE in return sends the request as a preferred configuration at the right slot – see in particular paragraph 58)
In view of the above, having Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme and given the well- established teaching of Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception using offset and slot number, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme as taught by Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception using offset and slot number, since Chen states in paragraphs 6 and 36 that the modification results in reducing network energy consumption and improve energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, Si discloses the UE of claim 1 including transmitting the message (See Si’s Figs. 3 and 7 ) but fails to disclose, wherein, to transmit the message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, via the message, an indication of a quantity of instances requested by the UE, wherein the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block comprise the quantity of instances based at least in part on the message.
Cheng, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein, to transmit the message(i.e. Fig.3 On-Demand SSB Request is the message and is equivalent to Preferred Configuration Message in Fig. 7) , the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, via the message, an indication of a quantity of instances requested by the UE, wherein the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block comprise the quantity of instances based at least in part on the message. (see Paragraphs 55 and 56 the UE transmits the message requesting for a specific quantity of SSB including maximum SSB based on the request the network delivers/sends the specified quantity of SSBs)
In view of the above, having Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme and given the well- established teaching of Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception specifying SSB quantity, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme as taught by Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception using specifying SSB quantity, since Chen states in paragraphs 6 and 36 that the modification results in reducing network energy consumption and improve energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Si discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: but fails to disclose transmit a capability message that indicates a capability of the UE to support on-demand synchronization signal block communications, wherein receiving the control signaling is based at least in part on the capability message.
Cheng, in the same endeavor, discloses transmit a capability message that indicates a capability of the UE to support on-demand synchronization signal block communications, wherein receiving the control signaling is based at least in part on the capability message. (See Fig. 14 network node enquiring UE capabilities and UE sending a UE capabilities report. See Paragraph 73 on the UE capability message that indicates a capability of the UE to support on-demand synchronization signal block communications. See paragraph 54 with respect to Fig. 4 and Fig. 8 if the UE sends a request beyond the UE and Network capabilities it gets denied)
In view of the above, having Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme and given the well- established teaching of Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception based on UE capabilities, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme as taught by Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception based on UE capabilities, since Chen states in paragraphs 6 and 36 that the modification results in reducing network energy consumption and improve energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Si discloses the UE of claim 1,
Regarding claim 14, Si discloses the UE of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the control signaling comprises radio resource control signaling and the message comprises a medium access control-control element.
Chen, in the same endeavor discloses wherein the control signaling comprises radio resource control signaling (See paragraphs 47 and 50) and the message comprises a medium access control-control element (See Paragraph 52 on RRC and MA C CE and Fig. 5)
In view of the above, having Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme and given the well- established teaching of Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception based on RRC/MAC CE signaling, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme as taught by Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception based on RRC/MAC CE signaling, since Chen states in paragraphs 6 and 36 that the modification results in reducing network energy consumption and improve energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, Si discloses the network of claim 16, including the control signal but fails to disclose wherein, to transmit the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, via the control signaling, an indication of a threshold quantity of slots between the message and a first instance of the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block, wherein the first instance is transmitted at least the threshold quantity of slots after the message is received.
Chen in the same endeavor discloses wherein, to transmit the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, via the control signaling, an indication of a threshold quantity of slots between the message and a first instance of the one or more instances of the first synchronization signal block (i.e. paragraphs 55, 56, and 60 – maximum number SSBs and slots ), wherein the first instance is transmitted at least the threshold quantity of slots after the message is received. (Per paragraph 58 The field of SSB periodicity and offset may indicate a recommended periodicity of on-demand SSB allocation in slots and the slot offset with respect to system frame number (SFN) 0 and slot number 0 and the recommended number slot is the threshold quantity of slots)
In view of the above, having Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme and given the well- established teaching of Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception based on threshold of quantity of slots, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme as taught by Chen’s On-Demand SSB reception based on threshold of quantity of slots, since Chen states in paragraphs 6 and 36 that the modification results in reducing network energy consumption and improve energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected in the same scope as claim 17
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si in view of Si (US 20210076341 A1, hereinafter referred to as Si-2).
Regarding claim 4, Si discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to as set forth above but fails to disclose transmit, via the message, a selection request that requests for a network entity to select a default quantity of the one or more instances, wherein the one or more instances comprise the default quantity of instances based at least in part on the selection request.
Si-2, in the same endeavor, discloses transmit, via the message, a selection request that requests for a network entity to select a default quantity of the one or more instances, wherein the one or more instances comprise the default quantity of instances based at least in part on the selection request. (see in particular Tables 4 and 5 using default number of SSBs and periodicity in the request. See paragraphs 177 and 180-183)
In view of the above, having Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme and given the well- established teaching of Si-2’s On-Demand SSB reception specifying default SSB quantity, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme as taught by Si-2’s On-Demand SSB reception using specifying default SSB quantity, since Si-2 states in paragraphs 5 and 309 that the modification results in effectively steering the outgoing signals in a desired direction.
Regarding claim 5, Si modified by Si-2 discloses the UE of claim 4 to disclose wherein, to receive the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: but fails to disclose receive, via the control signaling, an indication of the default quantity of instances of the first synchronization signal block.
Si-2 in the same endeavor discloses receive, via the control signaling, an indication of the default quantity of instances of the first synchronization signal block. . (see in particular Tables 4 and 5 using default number of SSBs and periodicity in the request and receiving the default SSB in response as detailed in paragraphs 177 and 180-183)
In view of the above, having Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme and given the well- established teaching of Si-2’s On-Demand SSB reception specifying default SSB quantity, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme as taught by Si-2’s On-Demand SSB reception using specifying default SSB quantity, since Si-2 states in paragraphs 5 and 309 that the modification results in effectively steering the outgoing signals in a desired direction.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si in view of Wang et al (US 20220312355 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Si discloses the UE of claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the change in the one or more conditions comprises a timing drift of beams associated with the second synchronization signal block, or a change in a beam pair link, or both.
Wang, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein the change in the one or more conditions comprises a timing drift of beams associated with the second synchronization signal block, or a change in a beam pair link, or both. (See paragraph 81 disclosing when there is a change in a beam pair link SSB is monitored to identify a pair of optimal beam pairs.)
In view of the above, having Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme and given the well- established teaching of Wang’s monitoring SSB for specific times like when beam pair change is needed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Si’s On-Demand SSB reception scheme as taught by Wang’s monitoring SSB for specific times like when beam pair change is needed, since Wang states in paragraphs 4-5 that the modification results in reducing resource overheads of broadcasting signaling by sending apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474