DETAILED ACTION
2. The election without traverse filed 09/09/2026 in response to the Office Action of 07/15/2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Applicant has elected Group I, claims 30-38, drawn to a polypeptide chain comprising: (a) a first ligand binding fragment of human NKG2D; (b) a second ligand binding fragment of human NKG2D; and (c) an Fc domain of a human immunoglobulin comprising: (i) a CH2 domain; and (ii) a CH3 domain.
3. Claims 30-49 are pending in the application. Claims 39-49 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/09/2026.
4. Claims 30-38 are currently under prosecution.
Priority
5. Applicant’s claim under 35 U.S.C. §§ 119(e), 121 and 365(c) for benefit of the earlier filing date of applications, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 30-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dranoff et al. (US 20110311535, December 22, 2011, IDS).
Claims 30-38 are herein drawn to a polypeptide chain comprising: (a) a first ligand binding fragment of human NKG2D; (b) a second ligand binding fragment of human NKG2D; and (c) an Fc domain of a human immunoglobulin comprising: (i) a CH2 domain; and (ii) a CH3 domain.
Dranoff et al. teach a composition comprising a NKG2D-Fc chimera and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, wherein the NKG2D-Fc chimera binds to one or more NKG2D ligands; see entire document, e.g. claims 1-11, abstract, [0007-0012], Fig. 1. Dranoff et al. teach that a recombinant NKG2D-Fc molecule can form a dimer by virtue of the hinge region of the Fc fragment that mediates dimer formation by disulfide bonding (see [0035], [0078]), which would be the same as the instant invention of Fig. 1.
For claim 31, Dranoff et al. teach that the NKG2D-Fc chimera comprises an NKG2D extracellular domain; see [0010], claim 5.
For claim 34, Dranoff et al. teach the ligand-binding domain of human NKG2D coupled to the Fc region of human IgG1; see [0030].
For claims 35-37, Dranoff et al. teach that the NKG2D-Fc chimera comprises a linking molecule, wherein the linker is a flexible peptide linker, wherein the linker comprises two or more of the following amino acids: glycine, serine, alanine, and threonine; see claims 2-4, [0066-0067].
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
10. Claims 30-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,865,232. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for the following reasons:
Claims 30-38 are herein drawn to a polypeptide chain comprising: (a) a first ligand binding fragment of human NKG2D; (b) a second ligand binding fragment of human NKG2D; and (c) an Fc domain of a human immunoglobulin comprising: (i) a CH2 domain; and (ii) a CH3 domain.
Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,865,232 are drawn to a dimeric NKG2D-Fc chimera including two distinct NKG2D ligand binding sites, each NKG2D ligand binding site attached to an Fc fragment, wherein: each NKG2D ligand binding site comprises NKG2D or a ligand binding portion of NKG2D; and the Fc fragment comprises a fragment crystallizable region (Fc) of an immunoglobulin.
Conclusion
11. No claim is allowed.
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642