DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2024, 04/24/2025, and 01/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 2, “the dynamic adjustment” and “the energy manager” lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daniel et al. [US 2021/0221247].
With respect to claim 1, Daniel discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of solar cells [solar 31, Figs 1 and 4], wherein each of the plurality of solar cells is configured to deliver energy in response to received sunlight [implicit function of a solar cell]; a stationary battery configured to store energy generated by the plurality of solar cells [battery 32]; and an energy controller configured to dynamically determine a charging rate of the stationary battery and a charging rate of an electric vehicle based on a state-of-charge level of the stationary battery and an amount of energy presently being received from the plurality of solar cells [par 0014, 0022, 0050, 0127, 0130 and 0200-0201; algorithms 12 used at EV charger 34, vehicle 35 connected to power grid 23 or solar 31 or battery 32].
With respect to claim 2, Daniel further discloses comprising delivering energy to the stationary battery or the electric vehicle based on a dynamic adjustment by an energy manager [par. 0050,0127; algorithms are implicitly ran by controllers with instructions].
With respect to claim 3, Daniel further discloses wherein the energy controller is further configured to dynamically adjust the charging rate of the stationary battery and the charging rate of the electric vehicle based on at least one of a sunlight forecast of future light to be received for an area proximate the plurality of solar cells or the sunlight presently being received [par. 0019, 0047].
With respect to claim 4, Daniel further discloses wherein the energy controller is further configured to dynamically adjust the charging rate of the electric vehicle based on at least one of an electric vehicle charging level request, an amount of energy available in the stationary battery, or sunlight presently being received [par. 0050, 0133, i.e. local solar production and solar generation].
With respect to claim 5, Daniel further discloses wherein the energy controller is further configured to dynamically adjust the charging rate of the electric vehicle based on at least one anticipated future event [par. 0019, 0023, i.e. a forecast is a future prediction].
With respect to claim 6, Daniel further discloses wherein the energy controller is further configured to dynamically adjust the charging rate of a plurality of electric vehicles [Fig. 1 illustrate multiple vehicles 35].
With respect to claim 7, Daniel further discloses wherein the energy controller is further configured to dynamically adjust the charging rate of the stationary battery and the charging rate of the electric vehicle based on an updated state-of-charge level of the stationary battery and an updated amount of energy presently received from the plurality of solar cells [par. 0011,0069,0127; i.e. the data is up-to-date].
With respect to claim 8, Daniel further discloses wherein the plurality of solar cells, the stationary battery, and the energy manager are not connected to the electric utility grid [par. 0199; i.e. “off-grid”; further note solar and battery section do not require active grid connection to function].
With respect to claim 9, Daniel further discloses an inverter coupled to the plurality of solar cells, the stationary battery, and the energy controller, wherein the inverter is configured to manage power signals received from the plurality of solar cells [an inverter is an inherent feature as solar and batteries produce DC power and the grid AC, therefore the only way to convert the power generated from the solar cell to the grid is with an inverter technology, Daniel hints at this with the end devices].
With respect to claim 10, Daniel further discloses wherein the energy controller is coupled to a data communication network to access at least one of a weather monitoring service, a weather forecasting service, a service that monitors available vehicle charging stations in a particular area, or an electric vehicle tracking service [i.e. weather forecasting, par. 0016,0019].
With respect to claims 11-12, Daniel further discloses wherein the energy controller is further configured to operate in a first mode or a second mode, wherein: the first mode causes the energy controller to direct all energy received from the plurality of solar cells to the electric vehicle for charging the electric vehicle; and the second mode causes the energy controller to direct a first portion of the energy received from the plurality of solar cells to the electric vehicle and direct a second portion of the energy received from the plurality of solar cells to the stationary battery, wherein the energy controller is further configured to operate in a third mode, wherein the third mode causes the energy controller to direct all energy received from the plurality of solar cells to the stationary battery for charging the stationary battery [par. 0050, maximizing consumption of solar resources is inclusive of directing all energy from the solar cells to be used].
With respect to claim 13, Daniel further discloses wherein the energy controller is further configured to limit the amount of energy directed to the electric vehicle when operating in the second mode [as the second mode was recited in the “or” format above, and the first mode was selected, the prior art further reads on the limitations in the sense that the instant claim cannot further limit a non-selected optional limitation].
With respect to claim 14, Daniel further discloses a method comprising: determining an amount of energy presently received from at least one solar cell [par. 0047, 0133, 0142]; identifying a present state-of-charge level of a stationary battery [battery 23, par. 0050], wherein the stationary battery is capable of storing energy from the at least one solar cell [implicit function of a battery]; determining a charging rate for an electric vehicle based on at least one of the present state-of-charge level of the stationary battery or the amount of energy presently received by at least one solar cell [par. 0127, 0210]; and delivering at least a portion of the energy presently received from the at least one solar cell to the electric vehicle based on the determined charging rate for the electric vehicle [implicit function of a charging operation, see also par. 0018-0019, par. 0047-0052].
With respect to claim 15, Daniel further discloses comprising delivering at least a second portion of the energy presently received from the at least one solar cell to the stationary battery [Fig. 1; i.e. the solar cell is connected to the system including both the EV stations and the stationary batteries].
With respect to claim 16, Daniel further discloses dynamically adjusting a charging rate of the electric vehicle based on a sunlight forecast for an area proximate the at least one solar cell [i.e. weather forecasting, par. 0016,0019, 0047, 0052-0053].
With respect to claim 17, Daniel further discloses dynamically adjusting a charging rate of the electric vehicle based on an amount of energy available in the stationary battery [par. 0130, 0200-0202].
With respect to claim 18, Daniel further discloses comprising dynamically adjusting a charging rate of the electric vehicle based on at least one anticipated future event [par. 0019, 0023, i.e. a forecast is a future prediction].
With respect to claim 19, Daniel further discloses accessing at least one of a weather monitoring service, a weather forecasting service, a service that monitors available vehicle charging stations in a particular area, or an electric vehicle tracking service [.e. weather forecasting, par. 0016,0019].
With respect to claim 20, Daniel further discloses wherein the method is implemented by a vehicle charging system that is not connected to the electric utility grid [par. 0199; i.e. “off-grid”; further note solar and battery section do not require active grid connection to function].
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859