DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “linear drive unit” corresponding to reference numeral “23” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Reference numeral “23” is not in the drawings.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-22, Examiner suggest removing the reference numerals and letters from the claims as these reference numerals and letters may be changed during prosecution. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucher et al US9874439 (hereinafter “Bucher”) in view of Brenner et al US10794678 (hereinafter “Brenner”).
Regarding claim 1, Bucher discloses a measurement device (measurement insert-M) for measurement of a measurement value on an object surface of an object (workpiece-O, Fig 3-5), comprising:
a connection body (See Fig 1-2 and 11) that is arranged on a support (See Figs 3 and 11) and that is configured to be exchangeably arranged in a machine side holder of a machine tool (Col 16 line 61- Col 17 line 55),
a probe tip (heads-40, 41) that is movably supported in a probing direction and that is configured to be brought into contact with the object surface (See Figs 3-5A, Col 16 line 15-60),
a measurement control unit (processing unit-130) comprising a wireless communication interface (radio module-140) that is configured to establish a wireless communication connection with a machine controller (CNC controller shown in Figs 3 and 11, Col 16 line 65-Col 17 line 8), and
a sensor unit (measurement unit-120) that is communicatively connected with the measurement control unit (See Figs 3 and 11) and that is configured to detect a sensor value (Col 16 line 65-Col 17 line 46) describing a position of the probe tip in the probing direction and to provide the sensor value to the measurement control unit (Col 17 line 1-55).
However, Bucher fails to disclose a linear drive unit that is configured to linearly move the probe tip during measurement in a movement direction oriented orthogonally with respect to the probing direction. Brenner discloses a linear drive unit (advance unit-52 includes a drive unit-54) that is configured to linearly move the probe tip (probe-58 includes sensing element-60 connected with skid-61) during measurement in a movement direction oriented orthogonally with respect to the probing direction. (Col 5 61 – Col 6 line 18)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Brenner into Buchner for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for rotating/pivoting the device in multiple directions during operational use which increases efficiency in testing.
Regarding claim 4, Bucher discloses the device according to claim 1.
However, Bucher fails to disclose at least one additional drive configured to move the probe tip relative to the connection body, wherein the at least one additional drive is a rotary or a translational drive. Brenner discloses at least one additional drive configured to move the probe tip relative to the connection body, wherein the at least one additional drive is a rotary or a translational drive. (Col 5 line 19 – Col 7 line 7, See Fig 2-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Brenner into Buchner for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for rotating/pivoting the device in multiple directions during operational use which increases efficiency in testing.
Regarding claim 5, Bucher discloses the device according to claim 4.
However, Bucher fails to disclose the at least one additional drive is configured to move the probe tip between a measurement position for measurement of the object surface and at least one additional position. Brenner discloses disclose the at least one additional drive is configured to move the probe tip between a measurement position for measurement of the object surface and at least one additional position. (Col 5 line 19 – Col 7 line 7, See Fig 2-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Brenner into Buchner for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for rotating/pivoting the device in multiple directions during operational use which increases efficiency in testing.
Regarding claim 7, Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bucher discloses a protective enclosure (housing parts-12 and 16) having an opening (See Fig 1-2, and 11) through which the probe tip projects out of the protective enclosure at least when the probe tip is in a measurement position. (Col 13 line 60- Col 14 line 49)
Regarding claim 8, Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bucher discloses the opening (See Figs -1-2 and 11) of the protective enclosure (housing parts-12 and 16) is configured to be opened and closed by a movable cover (body-26 is shown being a moveable cover held in place by spring seat-44).
Regarding claim 9, Bucher discloses the device according to claim 1.
However, Bucher fails to disclose at least one support body that abuts against the object surface an object holder adjacent to a measurement location in an operation position of the measurement device. Brenner discloses at least one support body (skid-61) that abuts against the object surface (workpiece), or an object holder (plate-16) adjacent to a measurement location in an operation position of the measurement device. (Col 6 line 8-18)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Brenner into Buchner for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for ensuring the workpiece does not move during testing to ensure measurement results are accurate.
Regarding claim 10, Bucher discloses the device according to claim 9.
However, Bucher fails to disclose the at least one support body is elastically deformable. Brenner discloses the at least one support body (skid-61) is elastically deformable. (Col 6 line 8-18)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Brenner into Buchner for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for ensuring the workpiece does not move during testing to ensure measurement results are accurate.
Regarding claim 11, Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 9.
Furthermore, Bucher discloses the a position sensor (PSD-50) that is communicatively connected with the measurement control unit (unit-130) and that is configured to detect a reaching the operation position relative to the object surface and to provide a position signal for the measurement control unit. (Col 14 line 1-63)
Regarding claim 12, Bucher discloses the device according to claim 11.
However, Bucher fails to disclose the position sensor is assigned to the at least one support body and detects a force acting on the at least one support body. Brenner discloses the position sensor (positioning device-20) is assigned to the at least one support body (skid-61 connected to bracket-64) and detects a force acting on the at least one support body. (Col 5 line 8-Col 7 line 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Brenner into Buchner for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for ensuring the workpiece does not move during testing to ensure measurement results are accurate.
Regarding claim 13, Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 11.
Furthermore, Bucher discloses the measurement control unit (unit-130) is configured to indicate the reaching the operation position to the machine controller (CNC controller). Col 16 line 65-Col 17 line 8)
Regarding claim 14, Bucher discloses the device according to claim 11.
However, Bucher fails to disclose at least one additional drive configured to move the probe tip relative to the connection body, wherein the at least one additional drive is a rotary or a translational drive, wherein the measurement control unit is configured to control the at least one additional drive after reaching the operation position in order to move the probe tip into a measurement position on the object surface. Brenner discloses at least one additional drive configured to move the probe tip relative to the connection body (Col 5 line 19- Col 7 line 7, see Figs 2-4), wherein the at least one additional drive is a rotary or a translational drive, wherein the measurement control unit (measuring apparatus-22 connected with device-38) is configured to control the at least one additional drive after reaching the operation position in order to move the probe tip into a measurement position on the object surface (Col 5 line 4-Col 7 line 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Brenner into Buchner for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for ensuring the probe tip is in the correct orientation during operational use.
Regarding claim 17, Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 11.
Furthermore, Bucher discloses a damper (spring seat-42 includes helical springs-46 as dampers), which is arranged between the connection body (See Figs 1-2) and the probe tip (heads-40,41).
Regarding claim 19, Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Bucher discloses a measurement system (see Figs 3 and 11) comprising: a measurement device (insert-M) according to claim 1, and an additional control (processing unit shown in fig 3 and interface-150 include a user interface for control and analysis), the measurement system being configured for use in the machine tool comprising the machine side holder (Col 16 line 61- Col 17 line 55).
Regarding claim 20, Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 19.
Furthermore, Bucher discloses the additional control and the measurement control unit (24) cooperate in order to control a measurement progress. (Col 16 line 61- Col 17 line 55).
Claims 2, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucher et al US9874439 (hereinafter “Bucher”) in view of Brenner et al US10794678 (hereinafter “Brenner”) in further view of Nikon Weights & Measures Co LTD. CN1812868 (hereinafter “Nikon”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 1.
However, the combination fails to disclose a rechargeable battery for energy supply of the measurement device. Nikon discloses a rechargeable battery (battery-163, 170) for energy supply of the measurement device (Arm-1). (Fig 2, 10-11A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Nikon into the combination for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for providing a power source that would not need to be replaced after operational usage.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose an adapter for electrical connection of the rechargeable battery with a charging device. Nikon discloses an adapter (See Fig 11A) for electrical connection of the rechargeable battery (battery-163, 170) with a charging device (Power supply unit-171). (Fig 2, 10-11A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Nikon into the combination for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for providing a power source that would not need to be replaced after operational usage.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 4.
However, the combination fails to disclose the at least one additional drive is configured to move the probe tip between a measurement position for measurement of the object surface and a calibration position and/or between the measurement position and a rest position. Nikon disclose the at least one additional drive is configured to move the probe tip between a measurement position for measurement of the object surface and a calibration position and/or between the measurement position and a rest position. (Nikon discloses the use of various measurement positions, rest operations in one position and multiple calibration modes/positions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Nikon into the combination for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for ensuring the device accuracy and safety of device before, during and after operational use.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucher et al US9874439 (hereinafter “Bucher”) in view of Brenner et al US10794678 (hereinafter “Brenner”) in further view of Stoll US20060269376 (hereinafter “Stoll”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 1.
However, the combination fails to disclose a cleaning unit that is configured to be controlled by the measurement control unit and that is configured to clean a measurement location on the object surface prior to measurement. Stoll discloses a cleaning unit (cleaning apparatus-30) that is configured to be controlled by the measurement control unit (CNC unit, paragraph 0044) and that is configured to clean a measurement location on the object surface (paragraph 0055) prior to measurement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Stoll into the combination for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for ensuring the surface is clear of debris that can cause measurement errors.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bucher in view of Brenner discloses the device according to claim 15.
However, the combination fails the cleaning unit (cleaning apparatus-30) comprises an electrically drivable fan and/or a fluid nozzle (fluid source-80) (Paragraph 0053 and 0063, Figs 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Stoll into the combination for the purpose of creating a more efficient device. The modification would allow for ensuring the surface is clear of debris that can cause measurement errors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art made available do not teach, or fairly suggest, a measurement standard that is arranged on the support for carrying out a calibration method or that the measurement standard is releasably attached in an operation area of the machine tool as recited in claims 18 and 21-22 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/ /Eric S. McCall/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855