DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed June 25, 2026 (6/25/2026).
Claims 1-30 are currently pending with claims 1, 18, 25, and 29 amended.
No claims were canceled.
No new claims were added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ianev et al. (WO 2025/089126).
Regarding Claim 1, Ianev teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; (Fig. 16, See 55 “Memory” and Par. [0462] “The methods or algorithms described in connection with the examples disclosed herein may be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module may reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of storage medium known in the art”),
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to: (Fig. 16, See 54 “Controller” and Par. [0455] “Each controller may comprise any suitable form of processing circuitry including (but not limited to), for example: one or more hardware implemented computer processors; microprocessors; central processing units (CPUs)”),
receive, from a core network entity, an energy usage monitoring configuration associated with energy consumed by the network node in service of a user equipment (UE); (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”),
transmit to the UE, or receive from the UE, one or more transmissions; (See Fig. 17 and Pg. 52, Par. [0176] “For example, the gNB 5 monitors and evaluates the energy usage and efficiency in the network, possibly per granularity level if required in the subscription by the AF, e.g., per RAN level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, PDU session level, UE level and etc”),
and transmit, to the core network entity and based at least in part on the one or more transmissions, an energy usage report associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Pg. 52, Par. [0177] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB 5 sends the Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the AMF 70 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 2, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: receive a threshold indication of an energy usage threshold associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 3, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 2, and further teaches the energy usage threshold is specific to the UE (Pg. 26, Par. [0073] “Energy usage entity - this is the network entity for which the energy usage or energy usage levels report is required. The Energy usage entity may have different granularity. It may be the entire network, one or more Network Functions, one or more S-NSSAIs or one or more PDU Sessions or one or more UEs” and Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 4, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 2, and further teaches the energy usage threshold is specific to a network slice that is associated with the UE (Pg. 26, Par. [0073] “Energy usage entity - this is the network entity for which the energy usage or energy usage levels report is required. The Energy usage entity may have different granularity. It may be the entire network, one or more Network Functions, one or more S-NSSAIs or one or more PDU Sessions or one or more UEs” and Pg. 51 Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 5, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 2, and further teaches the energy usage threshold is specific to a protocol data unit (PDU) session (Pg. 26, Par. [0073] “Energy usage entity - this is the network entity for which the energy usage or energy usage levels report is required. The Energy usage entity may have different granularity. It may be the entire network, one or more Network Functions, one or more S-NSSAIs or one or more PDU Sessions or one or more UEs” and Pg. 51 Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 6, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 2, and further teaches the energy usage threshold is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow (Pg. 26, Par. [0073] “Energy usage entity - this is the network entity for which the energy usage or energy usage levels report is required. The Energy usage entity may have different granularity. It may be the entire network, one or more Network Functions, one or more S-NSSAIs or one or more PDU Sessions or one or more UEs” and Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 7, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the energy usage report indicates one or more of a level of granularity associated with the energy usage report, a time associated with the energy usage report, or a triggering event associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs” and Par. [0176] “For example, the gNB 5 monitors and evaluates the energy usage and efficiency in the network, possibly per granularity level if required in the subscription by the AF, e.g., per RAN level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, PDU session level, UE level and etc”).
Regarding Claim 8, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: transmit, by a central unit (CU) of the network node to a distributed unit (DU) of the network node, downstream information based at least in part on the energy usage monitoring configuration; (See Fig. 7 Pg. 53, Par. [0189] “Steps 1, 2 and 3 in Fig. 6 take place with replacing gNB 5 with gNB CU-CP 6201” and Pg. 53 Par. [0190] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 sends the F1 Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB DU 61 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”),
and receive, by the CU from the DU, upstream information associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 54, Par. [0197] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB DU 61 sends F1 Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the gNB CU-CP 6201 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 9, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the network node is a master node (MN), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: transmit, to a secondary node (SN), downstream information based at least in part on the energy usage monitoring configuration; (Pg. 53, Par. [0189] “Steps 1, 2 and 3 in Fig. 6 take place with replacing gNB 5 with gNB CU-CP 6201” and Pg. 53, Par. [0192] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 may send multiple Energy Usage reporting control messages to the gNB DU 61 in case one of the following conditions met…” and Pg. 54, Par. [0192] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 receives the PDU Session IDs and UEs while the UE configures the multi connectivity, and the gNB CU-CP 6201 sends one Energy Usage reporting control message for a gNB DU 61 as MN and another Energy Usage reporting control message for the other gNB DU 61 as SN”),
and receive, from the SN, upstream information associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 54, Par. [0197] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB DU 61 sends F1 Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the gNB CU-CP 6201 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 10, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the energy usage report indicates an energy usage of the UE over a time window (Pg. 27, Par. [0073] “Reporting mode - the reporting mode defines whether the energy usage or energy usage levels for a network or for a network entity or a network slice are to be reported event based (e.g. threshold based) or periodically” and Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs” and Pg. 61, Par. [0249] “The energy consumption report or the energy efficiency report consists of at least one of the following: - Energy consumed by the UE 3 over of a period of time”).
Regarding Claim 11, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the energy usage report indicates an energy usage, associated with a mode of service, of the UE over a time window (Pg. 26, Par. [0073] “When the Energy usage entity indicates one or more UEs, the Energy usage/efficiency report request is about the amount of the energy used by the network to provide a service or services to the indicated UE(s)” and Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs” ” and Pg. 61, Par. [0249] “The energy consumption report or the energy efficiency report consists of at least one of the following: - Energy consumed by the UE 3 over of a period of time”).
Regarding Claim 12, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the energy usage report indicates a quantity of bits, associated with a mode of service, transmitted to or from the UE over a time window (Pg. 26, Par. [0073] “The energy usage/efficiency report request may be expressed in 'energy units' or 'energy credits', Watt, Joule, bit/Joule or in any other expression for energy usage/efficiency in order to indicate the level of the used energy or the level of the remaining energy for the whole network or for a network entity” and Pg. 61, Par. [0249] “The energy consumption report or the energy efficiency report consists of at least one of the following: - Energy consumed by the UE 3 over of a period of time”).
Regarding Claim 13, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the energy usage report indicates an energy usage, associated with a quality of service (QoS) flow, of the UE over a time window (Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs” and Pg. 61, Par. [0249] “The energy consumption report or the energy efficiency report consists of at least one of the following: - Energy consumed by the UE 3 over of a period of time”).
Regarding Claim 14, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the one or more processors, to transmit the energy usage report, are configured, individually or in any combination, to transmit the energy usage report based at least in part on one or more of a start of a mode of service, or an energy usage associated with the UE satisfying an energy usage threshold (Pg. 27, Par. [0073] “Reporting mode - the reporting mode defines whether the energy usage or energy usage levels for a network or for a network entity or a network slice are to be reported event based (e.g. threshold based) or periodically” and Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 15, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the energy usage report is specific to the UE, a network slice associated with the UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the UE, or a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the UE (Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs” and Par. [0177] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB 5 sends the Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the AMF 70 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 16, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: receive an energy usage report configuration associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 51, and Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 17, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 1, and further teaches the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: transmit an indication associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 18, Ianev teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: receiving, from a core network entity, an energy usage monitoring configuration associated with energy consumed by the network node in service of a user equipment (UE); (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”),
transmitting to the UE, or receiving from the UE, one or more transmissions; (See Fig. 17 and Pg. 52, Par. [0176] “For example, the gNB 5 monitors and evaluates the energy usage and efficiency in the network, possibly per granularity level if required in the subscription by the AF, e.g., per RAN level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, PDU session level, UE level and etc”),
and transmitting, to the core network entity and based at least in part on the one or more transmissions, an energy usage report associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Pg. 52, Par. [0177] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB 5 sends the Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the AMF 70 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 19, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 18, and further teaches receiving a threshold indication of an energy usage threshold associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 20, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 18, further teaches the energy usage report indicates one or more of a level of granularity associated with the energy usage report, a time associated with the energy usage report, or a triggering event associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs” and Par. [0176] “For example, the gNB 5 monitors and evaluates the energy usage and efficiency in the network, possibly per granularity level if required in the subscription by the AF, e.g., per RAN level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, PDU session level, UE level and etc”).
Regarding Claim 21, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 18, and further teaches transmitting, by a central unit (CU) of the network node to a distributed unit (DU) of the network node, downstream information based at least in part on the energy usage monitoring configuration; (See Fig. 7 Pg. 53, Par. [0189] “Steps 1, 2 and 3 in Fig. 6 take place with replacing gNB 5 with gNB CU-CP 6201” and Pg. 53 Par. [0190] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 sends the F1 Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB DU 61 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”),
and receiving, by the CU from the DU, upstream information associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 54, Par. [0197] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB DU 61 sends F1 Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the gNB CU-CP 6201 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 22, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 18, and further teaches the network node is a master node (MN), the method further comprising: transmitting, to a secondary node (SN), downstream information based at least in part on the energy usage monitoring configuration; (Pg. 53, Par. [0189] “Steps 1, 2 and 3 in Fig. 6 take place with replacing gNB 5 with gNB CU-CP 6201” and Pg. 53, Par. [0192] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 may send multiple Energy Usage reporting control messages to the gNB DU 61 in case one of the following conditions met…” and Pg. 54, Par. [0192] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 receives the PDU Session IDs and UEs while the UE configures the multi connectivity, and the gNB CU-CP 6201 sends one Energy Usage reporting control message for a gNB DU 61 as MN and another Energy Usage reporting control message for the other gNB DU 61 as SN”),
and receiving, from the SN, upstream information associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 54, Par. [0197] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB DU 61 sends F1 Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the gNB CU-CP 6201 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 23, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 18, and further teaches transmitting the energy usage report includes transmitting the energy usage report based at least in part on one or more of a start of a mode of service, or an energy usage associated with the UE satisfying an energy usage threshold (Pg. 27, Par. [0073] “Reporting mode - the reporting mode defines whether the energy usage or energy usage levels for a network or for a network entity or a network slice are to be reported event based (e.g. threshold based) or periodically” and Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 24, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 18, and further teaches the energy usage report is specific to the UE, a network slice associated with the UE, a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with the UE, or a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the UE (Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 25, Ianev teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: (Fig. 16, See 55 “Memory” and Par. [0462] “The methods or algorithms described in connection with the examples disclosed herein may be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module may reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of storage medium known in the art”),
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network node, cause the network node to: (Fig. 16, See 54 “Controller” and Par. [0455] “Each controller may comprise any suitable form of processing circuitry including (but not limited to), for example: one or more hardware implemented computer processors; microprocessors; central processing units (CPUs)”),
receive, from a core network entity, an energy usage monitoring configuration associated with energy consumed by the network node in service of a user equipment (UE); (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”),
transmit to the UE, or receive from the UE, one or more transmissions; (See Fig. 17 and Pg. 52, Par. [0176] “For example, the gNB 5 monitors and evaluates the energy usage and efficiency in the network, possibly per granularity level if required in the subscription by the AF, e.g., per RAN level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, PDU session level, UE level and etc”),
and transmit, to the core network entity and based at least in part on the one or more transmissions, an energy usage report associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Pg. 52, Par. [0177] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB 5 sends the Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the AMF 70 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 26, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 25, and further teaches wherein the one or more instructions further cause the network node to: receive a threshold indication of an energy usage threshold associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Pg. 51, Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Regarding Claim 27, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 25, further teaches wherein the one or more instructions further cause the network node to: transmit, by a central unit (CU) of the network node to a distributed unit (DU) of the network node, downstream information based at least in part on the energy usage monitoring configuration; (See Fig. 7, Pg. 53 Par. [0190] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 sends the F1 Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB DU 61 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”),
and receive, by the CU from the DU, upstream information associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 54, Par. [0197] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB DU 61 sends F1 Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the gNB CU-CP 6201 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 28, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 25, and further teaches wherein the network node is a master node (MN), and wherein the one or more instructions further cause the network node to: transmit, to a secondary node (SN), downstream information based at least in part on the energy usage monitoring configuration; (Pg. 53, Par. [0192] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 may send multiple Energy Usage reporting control messages to the gNB DU 61 in case one of the following conditions met…” and Pg. 54, Par. [0192] “The gNB CU-CP 6201 receives the PDU Session IDs and UEs while the UE configures the multi connectivity, and the gNB CU-CP 6201 sends one Energy Usage reporting control message for a gNB DU 61 as MN and another Energy Usage reporting control message for the other gNB DU 61 as SN”).
and receive, from the SN, upstream information associated with the energy usage report (Pg. 54, Par. [0197] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB DU 61 sends F1 Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the gNB CU-CP 6201 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 29, Ianev teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: (Fig. 16)
means for receiving, from a core network entity, an energy usage monitoring configuration associated with energy consumed by a network node in service of a user equipment (UE); (Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”),
means for transmitting to the UE, or means for receiving from the UE, one or more transmissions; (Pg. 52, See Fig. 17 and Par. [0176] “For example, the gNB 5 monitors and evaluates the energy usage and efficiency in the network, possibly per granularity level if required in the subscription by the AF, e.g., per RAN level, NF level, S-NSSAI level, PDU session level, UE level and etc”),
and means for transmitting, to the core network entity and based at least in part on the one or more transmissions, an energy usage report associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Par. [0177] “When the Reporting period is met for the energy usage and energy efficiency monitoring, the gNB 5 sends the Energy Usage reporting Notify message to the AMF 70 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report, energy usage entity and location”).
Regarding Claim 30, Ianev teaches the invention of Claim 29, and further teaches a means for receiving a threshold indication of an energy usage threshold associated with the energy usage monitoring configuration (Par. [0171] “The AMF 70 sends the Energy Usage reporting control message to the gNB 5 including Energy usage request reference ID, energy usage report required, energy usage entity, reporting mode, reporting threshold, reporting period, location, PDU session IDs, QoS IDs, S-NSSAIs and UEs”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ang et al. (US 2015/150334653) discloses “At 520, the method 500 includes configuring a transmission between the base station and the mobile device based at least in part on the energy metric. Configuring the transmission may include determining a first energy consumption for the transmission between the base station and the mobile device based at least in part on the energy metric” (Par. [0119]).
Islam et al. (US 2020/0260376) discloses “The update(s) may cause changes in the energy metrics information 420 associated with the mobile device 440. The energy metrics information 420 associated with the mobile device 440 may be updated to reflect the changes caused by the update(s)” (Par. [0109]).
Ma et al. (US 2022/0225126) discloses “the type of prediction information requested, including but not limited to at least one of the following information: uplink and downlink rate of UE, uplink and downlink rate of PDU session, uplink and downlink rate of network slice, uplink and downlink rate of QoS flow, QoE report, location information, state of access node, quality of service information, abnormal event information and QoS duration information” (Par [0213]).
/J.N.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641