Objection to the Specification
1. Applicant is requested to cancel non-elected claims 8-20 in the next correspondence.
Art Rejection
3. Claims 1-7 and 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shivanna, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0154184, in view of Chang, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0003956.
Per claim 1, Shivanna discloses a computer implemented method comprising:
a) loading data from a storage device, e.g., accessing firmware image (see par 0014, 0017);
b) loading secure identifying data (SID) associated with the data from a write-protected region of the storage device, the SID including a digest, e.g., digital signature, and at least one other metadata field, e.g., version number (see par 0026);
c) comparing the at least one metadata field in the SID to a corresponding metadata field of the data (see par 0018);
d) determining whether the at least one metadata in the SID matches the corresponding metadata field of the data (see par 0018);
e) computing a current digest of the data, e.g., computing digital signature using key (see par 0026);
f) comparing the current digest to the digest in the SID (see par 0026); and
g) validating the data when the at least one metadata field in the SID matches the corresponding metadata field of the data and/or the current digest matches the digest in the SID (see par 0018, 0026).
Shivanna does not explicitly teach validating the data only when the at least one metadata field in the SID matches the corresponding metadata field of the data and the current digest matches the digest in the SID. However, Chang discloses a method of validating a firmware replacement, wherein the validation would require at least two separate comparisons that yield a match. A first comparison of a metadata (e.g., version) is to ensure a correct version of firmware is used (see Chang, par 0085), whereas a second comparison of the digest data is to ensure the firmware is authorized (see Chang, par 0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize such use of both signature/digest comparison and at least one other metadata comparison in Shivanna because would have ensured the deployed firmware comprises a correct version and is authorized.
Per claims 2-3, Shivanna teaches storing/loading executable codes (firmware) from a writeable portion of the storage device (see par 0014-0015).
Per claims 4 and 6, Shivanna teaches that metadata comprises at least name, size, version, build, etc., (see par 0026).
Per claim 5, Shivanna teaches using metadata as a key to compute the current signature/digest (see par 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any metadata or combination of metadata including file name and size of data as the key to generate the signature/digest.
Per claim 7, Shivanna teaches generating the digest using a one-way function , e.g., a key (see par 0026).
Claims 21-33 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-7.
Response to Amendment
4. Applicant's arguments filed on December 5, 2025 with respect to claims 1-7 and 21-33 have been fully considered but are deemed moot in view of new ground of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
12/23/25