DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/26/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fang (Pub No 20240349319).
Regarding claim 1, 14, and 27,
Applicant argues that Chu provisional does not teach the limitations of claim 1, 14, and 27.
The examiner relies on newly cited Fang to teach the limitations
Regarding claim 26,
Applicant argues that there are different limitations than claim 1.
The examiner separates the grouping with claim 1 and relies on newly cited Fang to teach the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 19-20, 22, 26-27, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang (Pub No 20240349319)
Regarding claim 1,
Fang teaches a first wireless communication device, comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: (see processor and memory para [0078])
receive, from a second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit that indicates an allocation of a first resource unit for a preemption indication associated with low latency data, wherein the allocation of the first resource unit is within a transmission opportunity associated with the second wireless communication device; (interpreted as To differentiate which time gap within the TXOP is preemptable or not, a preemption indication is used which may be a field in a PPDU preceding the time gap. In some embodiments, one bit in a universal signal (U-SIG) field or ultra-high reliability SIG (UHR) field of the preceding PPDU will indicate whether preemption is allowed TP 934, 938, 942 after the end of the preceding PPDU, DL PPDU 916, DL PPDU 920, DL PPDU 924, respectively, see para [0132]. Also see One or more LL transmitters can indicate that it has LL packet to send by sending NDP Feedback Report (NFR), NFR 1004, NFR 1006, NFR 1008, over the assigned tone set during the time gaps when the preemption is allowed. The tone sets can be assigned in a previous frame such as trigger frame, beacon, NFR trigger frame, a preceding PPDU, or another frame, see para [0130])
transmit, via the first resource unit indicated by the first physical layer protocol data unit, the preemption indication associated with low latency data based at least in part on low latency data information at the first wireless communication device, wherein transmission of the preemption indication is after an end of the first physical layer protocol data unit and before a scheduled start time for a second physical layer protocol data unit (see UORA 1536 after DL PPDU 1516 and before DL PPDU 1524 fig. 15) from the second wireless communication device; and (interpreted as in response to a determination that a medium is idle during the preemption duration and that the STA has pending low-latency (LL) data to send to the AP. For example, the STA 904 transmits PR 936, 940, 944, NFR 1004, 1006, 1008, 1118, 1136, 1218, 1234, or UORA 1536, 1540, 1618, 1718, 1734, see para [0159])
transmit, in accordance with the preemption indication, a third physical layer protocol data unit comprising the low latency data information, wherein the third physical layer protocol data unit preempts the second physical layer protocol data unit within the transmission opportunity. (interpreted as Upon the reception of the common PR 936, 940, 944, AP 502 may use the following different methods to support the subsequent LL packet transmission…. In some embodiments, the AP 902 may interrupt the TXOP 908 and then continue the TXOP 908 after accommodate the LL packets, see para [0127])
Regarding claim 14,
Fang teaches a second wireless communication device, comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: (see processor and memory para [0078])
transmit a first physical layer protocol data unit comprising a broadcast resource unit and one or more dedicated resource units, wherein a trigger frame transmitted via the broadcast resource unit indicates an allocation of a first resource unit for a preemption indication associated with low latency data, and wherein the allocation of the first resource unit is within a transmission opportunity associated with the second wireless communication device; (interpreted as To differentiate which time gap within the TXOP is preemptable or not, a preemption indication is used which may be a field in a PPDU preceding the time gap. In some embodiments, one bit in a universal signal (U-SIG) field or ultra-high reliability SIG (UHR) field of the preceding PPDU will indicate whether preemption is allowed TP 934, 938, 942 after the end of the preceding PPDU, DL PPDU 916, DL PPDU 920, DL PPDU 924, respectively, see para [0132]. Also see One or more LL transmitters can indicate that it has LL packet to send by sending NDP Feedback Report (NFR), NFR 1004, NFR 1006, NFR 1008, over the assigned tone set during the time gaps when the preemption is allowed. The tone sets can be assigned in a previous frame such as trigger frame, beacon, NFR trigger frame, a preceding PPDU, or another frame, see para [0130])
receive, from a first wireless communication device via the first resource unit indicated by the trigger frame, a preemption indication associated with low latency data, wherein reception of the preemption indication is after an end of the first physical layer protocol data unit and before a scheduled start time for a second physical layer protocol data unit from the second wireless communication device; and (interpreted as in response to a determination that a medium is idle during the preemption duration and that the STA has pending low-latency (LL) data to send to the AP. For example, the STA 904 transmits PR 936, 940, 944, NFR 1004, 1006, 1008, 1118, 1136, 1218, 1234, or UORA 1536, 1540, 1618, 1718, 1734, see para [0159])
receive, from the first wireless communication device and in accordance with the preemption indication, a third physical layer protocol data unit, wherein the third physical layer protocol data unit preempts the second physical layer protocol data unit within the transmission opportunity. (interpreted as Upon the reception of the common PR 936, 940, 944, AP 502 may use the following different methods to support the subsequent LL packet transmission…. In some embodiments, the AP 902 may interrupt the TXOP 908 and then continue the TXOP 908 after accommodate the LL packets, see para [0127])
Regarding claim 26,
Fang teaches A first wireless communication device, comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
receive, from a second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit within a transmission opportunity associated with the second wireless communication device; (interpreted as To differentiate which time gap within the TXOP is preemptable or not, a preemption indication is used which may be a field in a PPDU preceding the time gap. In some embodiments, one bit in a universal signal (U-SIG) field or ultra-high reliability SIG (UHR) field of the preceding PPDU will indicate whether preemption is allowed TP 934, 938, 942 after the end of the preceding PPDU, DL PPDU 916, DL PPDU 920, DL PPDU 924, respectively, see para [0132]. Also see One or more LL transmitters can indicate that it has LL packet to send by sending NDP Feedback Report (NFR), NFR 1004, NFR 1006, NFR 1008, over the assigned tone set during the time gaps when the preemption is allowed. The tone sets can be assigned in a previous frame such as trigger frame, beacon, NFR trigger frame, a preceding PPDU, or another frame, see para [0130])
transmit a preemption indication associated with low latency data in an interframe space Also see interframe space Xifs/Sifs fig. 9-11)after an end time of a block acknowledgment(see BA 1124 fig. 11) to the first physical layer protocol data unit (DL PPDU 1112 with PI fig. 11. Also see o differentiate which time gap within the TXOP is preemptable or not a preemption indications (PI) such as PI 933, PI 935, and PI 937 are used in the PPDU, DL PPDU 916, DL PPDU 920, and DL PPDU 924, respectively, preceding the time gap, see para [0123]) and before a scheduled start time for a second physical layer protocol data unit from the second wireless communication device based at least in part on a fixed size of the block acknowledgment to the first physical layer protocol data unit; and (interpreted as One or more LL transmitters can indicate that it has LL packet to send by sending NDP Feedback Report (NFR), NFR 1004, NFR 1006, NFR 1008, over the assigned tone set during the time gaps when the preemption is allowed, see para [0130]. See NFR 1136)
transmit, in accordance with the preemption indication, a third physical layer protocol data unit, wherein the third physical layer protocol data unit preempts the second physical layer protocol data unit within the transmission opportunity. (interpreted as Upon detection of the preamble of LL packet, e.g., UORA 1536, 1540, 1618, 1718, and 1734, the AP 902 will suspend the following transmission, e.g., DL PPDU 1520, DL PPDU 1524, MU-BAR 1620, TF 1720, and TF 1736, respectively, and resume the TXOP transmission after receiving the LL packet and then transmitting an LL-BA exchange, see para [0151])
Regarding claim 27,
Fang teaches a first wireless communication device, comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: (see processor and memory para [0078])
transmit, to a second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit within a transmission opportunity associated with the first wireless communication device, wherein the first physical layer protocol data unit includes an indication that preemption for low latency data is enabled; and (interpreted as To differentiate which time gap within the TXOP is preemptable or not, a preemption indication is used which may be a field in a PPDU preceding the time gap. In some embodiments, one bit in a universal signal (U-SIG) field or ultra-high reliability SIG (UHR) field of the preceding PPDU will indicate whether preemption is allowed TP 934, 938, 942 after the end of the preceding PPDU, DL PPDU 916, DL PPDU 920, DL PPDU 924, respectively, see para [0132]. Also see One or more LL transmitters can indicate that it has LL packet to send by sending NDP Feedback Report (NFR), NFR 1004, NFR 1006, NFR 1008, over the assigned tone set during the time gaps when the preemption is allowed. The tone sets can be assigned in a previous frame such as trigger frame, beacon, NFR trigger frame, a preceding PPDU, or another frame, see para [0130])
receive an acknowledgment in response to the first physical layer protocol data unit, wherein the acknowledgment includes a preemption indication associated with low latency data based at least in part on the indication that preemption for low latency data is enabled. (interpreted as Upon the reception of the common PR 936, 940, 944, AP 502 may use the following different methods to support the subsequent LL packet transmission…. In some embodiments, the AP 902 may interrupt the TXOP 908 and then continue the TXOP 908 after accommodate the LL packets, see para [0127])
Regarding claim 5 and 22,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the preemption indication, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a signaling frame comprising the preemption indication, wherein transmitting the third physical layer protocol data unit is based at least in part on transmitting the signaling frame. (interpreted as Upon detection of the preamble of LL packet, e.g., UORA 1536, 1540, 1618, 1718, and 1734, the AP 902 will suspend the following transmission, e.g., DL PPDU 1520, DL PPDU 1524, MU-BAR 1620, TF 1720, and TF 1736, respectively, and resume the TXOP transmission after receiving the LL packet and then transmitting an LL-BA exchange, see para [0151])
Regarding claim 7,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: generate the preemption indication based at least in part on information indicated by the first physical layer protocol data unit. (interpreted as Upon the reception of the common PR 936, 940, 944, AP 502 may use the following different methods to support the subsequent LL packet transmission…. In some embodiments, the AP 902 may interrupt the TXOP 908 and then continue the TXOP 908 after accommodate the LL packets, see para [0127])
Regarding claim 11,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the first resource unit is a random access resource unit. (interpreted as AP 902 can trigger the LL STAs to send LL packets with uplink OFDMA-based random-access resource unit. The AP 902 can terminate the TXOP 1340 or TXOP 1438 early. The AP 902 may complete the TXOP 1438 and then support the LL packet transmissions. The AP 902 may support the LL packet transmissions and then continue the TXOP 1340 or TXOP 1438, see para [0143])
Regarding claim 12,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 11, wherein the random access resource unit is associated with a traffic category. (interpreted as AP 902 can trigger the LL STAs to send LL packets with uplink OFDMA-based random-access resource unit. The AP 902 can terminate the TXOP 1340 or TXOP 1438 early. The AP 902 may complete the TXOP 1438 and then support the LL packet transmissions. The AP 902 may support the LL packet transmissions and then continue the TXOP 1340 or TXOP 1438, see para [0143])
Regarding claim 15,
Fang teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 14, however does not teach wherein, to transmit the first physical layer protocol data unit, the processing system is configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: transmit, via the one or more dedicated resource units, one or more frames to a third wireless communication device, wherein the one or more frames indicates a second allocation of a second resource unit for an acknowledgment to the first physical layer protocol data unit. (interpreted as in response to a determination that a medium is idle during the preemption duration and that the STA has pending low-latency (LL) data to send to the AP. For example, the STA 904 transmits PR 936, 940, 944, NFR 1004, 1006, 1008, 1118, 1136, 1218, 1234, or UORA 1536, 1540, 1618, 1718, 1734, see para [0159]. Also see plurality of LL STAs, para [0118] and fig. 5)
Regarding claim 19,
Fang teaches second wireless communication device of claim 15, wherein, to transmit the first physical layer protocol data unit, the processing system is configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: transmit, via the one or more dedicated resource units, a second one or more frames to a fourth wireless communication device, wherein the second one or more frames indicates a third allocation of a third resource unit for an acknowledgment to the first physical layer protocol data unit. (interpreted as in response to a determination that a medium is idle during the preemption duration and that the STA has pending low-latency (LL) data to send to the AP. For example, the STA 904 transmits PR 936, 940, 944, NFR 1004, 1006, 1008, 1118, 1136, 1218, 1234, or UORA 1536, 1540, 1618, 1718, 1734, see para [0159]. Also see plurality of LL STAs, para [0118] and fig. 5)
Regarding claim 20,
Fang teaches second wireless communication device of claim 14, wherein, to receive the preemption indication associated with low latency data, the processing system is configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: receive a plurality of preemption indications associated with low latency data, wherein each preemption indication of the plurality of preemption indications comprises a same content. (interpreted as This can avoid collision between multiple LL transmitters and also avoid reserving time slots periodically within TXOP for LL traffic. The PR 936, 940, 944, frames can be a short control frames with a receiver address of the AP 902. For example, PR 936, PR 940, and PR 944 may be similar to a CTS frame or a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within TG before the next PPDU. TG 918, 922, 926, is an XIFS duration, which may be one of several different durations, in accordance with some examples see para [0122])
Regarding claim 29,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 27, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, in accordance with the preemption indication, a second physical layer protocol data unit from the second wireless communication device within the transmission opportunity associated with the first wireless communication device. (interpreted as in response to a determination that a medium is idle during the preemption duration and that the STA has pending low-latency (LL) data to send to the AP. For example, the STA 904 transmits PR 936, 940, 944, NFR 1004, 1006, 1008, 1118, 1136, 1218, 1234, or UORA 1536, 1540, 1618, 1718, 1734, see para [0159])
Regarding claim 30,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 27, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: defer a remainder of the transmission opportunity associated with the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device in accordance with the preemption indication. (interpreted as n some embodiments, the first control frame, such as the RTS 910 frame of the TXOP 908 will indicate whether preemption is allowed or not within the TXOP 908, see para [0128]. Wherein it is implicit that if not allowed then the rest of the txop is deferred, see para [0128])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (Pub No 20240349319) further in view of Patil (Pub No 20190191451)
Regarding claim 2,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to receive the first physical layer protocol data unit, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, via a resource unit, a trigger frame that indicates the allocation of the first resource unit for the preemption indication associated with low latency data, wherein the first physical layer protocol data unit comprises the resource unit and one or more dedicated resource units. (interpreted as interpreted as One or more LL transmitters can indicate that it has LL packet to send by sending NDP Feedback Report (NFR), NFR 1004, NFR 1006, NFR 1008, over the assigned tone set during the time gaps when the preemption is allowed. The tone sets can be assigned in a previous frame such as trigger frame, beacon, NFR trigger frame, a preceding PPDU, or another frame, see para [0130])
However, Fang does not teach the resource unit being a broadcast resource unit.
Patil teaches broadcast resource unit (interpreted as In some implementations, the first frame (such as a BlockAck BA frame) may be included in an RU (such as a broadcast RU) of a DL MU PPDU having a STA ID field set to a value that indicates a broadcast communication with one or more unassociated wireless communication devices, see para [0105])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the broadcast resource unit as taught by Patil with the motivation being to use the specific type of resource to perform the same function of communication information.
Regarding claim 3,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 2, however does not teach wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: decode signaling on the broadcast resource unit of the first physical layer protocol data unit based at least in part on a wireless station identifier of the broadcast resource unit.
Patil teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: decode signaling on the broadcast resource unit of the first physical layer protocol data unit based at least in part on a wireless station identifier of the broadcast resource unit. (interpreted as In some implementations, the first frame (such as a BlockAck BA frame) may be included in an RU (such as a broadcast RU) of a DL MU PPDU having a STA ID field set to a value that indicates a broadcast communication with one or more unassociated wireless communication devices, see para [0105])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the broadcast resource unit as taught by Patil with the motivation being to use the specific type of resource to perform the same function of communication information.
Claim(s) 4, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (Pub No 20240349319) further in view of Wang (Pub No 20220225323)
Regarding claim 4 and 21,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: decode the first physical layer protocol data unit based at least in part on an association identifier associated with low latency data.
Wang teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: decode the first physical layer protocol data unit based at least in part on an association identifier associated with low latency data (interpreted as A low latency ID may be an ID that is assigned to an STA. Alternatively or in addition, the AP may assign a low latency ID to each low latency data stream indicated by the STA. Alternatively or in addition, the AP may allocate a separate section of the AID space to the low latency IDs or low latency IDs for certain type of application(s), such as virtual reality, see para [0119])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the broadcast resource unit as taught by Wang with the motivation being to use identifiers for conveying information about the communication data type.
Claim(s) 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (Pub No 20240349319) further in view of Guo (Pub No 20260006646)
Regarding claim 10,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the first physical layer protocol data unit indicates a second allocation of a second resource unit for a second preemption indication associated with a second type of traffic, and the first physical layer protocol data unit comprises a traffic identifier, an access category, or a stream classification service identifier for the second type of traffic.
Guo teaches wherein the first physical layer protocol data unit indicates a second allocation of a second resource unit for a second preemption indication associated with a second type of traffic, and the first physical layer protocol data unit comprises a traffic identifier, an access category, or a stream classification service identifier for the second type of traffic (interpreted as the first communication device may send the data of the low-latency service to the second communication device through preemption transmission, where the fourth traffic identifier information is a traffic identifier of a non-low-latency service for which the second communication device allows transmission to be interrupted, see para [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the traffic id as taught by Guo with the motivation being to use identifiers for conveying information about the communication data type.
Regarding claim 13,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the preemption indication, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit the preemption indication without performing a resource unit countdown, a listen before talk procedure, or a channel access countdown, or any combination thereof. (interpreted as in response to a determination that a medium is idle during the preemption duration and that the STA has pending low-latency (LL) data to send to the AP. For example, the STA 904 transmits PR 936, 940, 944, NFR 1004, 1006, 1008, 1118, 1136, 1218, 1234, or UORA 1536, 1540, 1618, 1718, 1734, see para [0159])
Claim(s) 6, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (Pub No 20240349319) further in view of Sundaravardhan (Pub No 20230239743)
Regarding claim 6 and 23,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the preemption indication, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a trigger-based physical layer protocol data unit (interpreted as To differentiate which time gap within the TXOP is preemptable or not, a preemption indication is used which may be a field in a PPDU preceding the time gap. In some embodiments, one bit in a universal signal (U-SIG) field or ultra-high reliability SIG (UHR) field of the preceding PPDU will indicate whether preemption is allowed TP 934, 938, 942 after the end of the preceding PPDU, DL PPDU 916, DL PPDU 920, DL PPDU 924, respectively, see para [0132]. Also see One or more LL transmitters can indicate that it has LL packet to send by sending NDP Feedback Report (NFR), NFR 1004, NFR 1006, NFR 1008, over the assigned tone set during the time gaps when the preemption is allowed. The tone sets can be assigned in a previous frame such as trigger frame, beacon, NFR trigger frame, a preceding PPDU, or another frame, see para [0130])
However, Fang does not teach comprising null aggregate Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol data unit delimiters, wherein transmitting the third physical layer protocol data unit is based at least in part on the trigger-based physical layer protocol data unit.
Sundaravardhan teaches comprising null aggregate Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol data unit delimiters, wherein transmitting the third physical layer protocol data unit is based at least in part on the trigger-based physical layer protocol data unit. (interpreted as In some embodiments, in lieu of padding the BSRP or another frame that initiates a channel-switch (e.g., by channel switching module 218), an AP may use a “filler PPDU” SIFS after the BSRP, that consists of a QoS-null MPDU and padding MPDU delimiters. The filler PPDU allows for checking FCS before switching channels, see para [0104])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the null MPDU as taught by Sundaravaradhan with the motivation being to monitor the switching channels with padding and null data.
Claim(s) 8-9, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (Pub No 20240349319) further in view of Yu (Pub No 20250081034)
Regarding claim 8 and 24,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the first physical layer protocol data unit sets a first network allocation vector (NAV) for a first set of wireless communication devices comprising at least the first wireless communication device, and the third physical layer protocol data unit sets a second NAV for a second set of wireless communication devices that are not associated with low latency data.
Yu teaches wherein the first physical layer protocol data unit sets a first network allocation vector (NAV) for a first set of wireless communication devices comprising at least the first wireless communication device, and the third physical layer protocol data unit sets a second NAV for a second set of wireless communication devices that are not associated with low latency data. (interpreted as When the station STA3 receives the RTS frame, it may set a NAV timer of the station STA3 for a transmission duration of subsequently transmitted frames (for example, a duration of SIFS+CTS frame duration+SIFS+data frame duration+SIFS+ACK frame duration) using duration information included in the RTS frame. When the station STA3 receives the CTS frame, it may set the NAV timer of the station STA3 for a transmission duration of subsequently transmitted frames using duration information included in the CTS frame. Upon receiving a new frame before the NAV timer expires, the station STA3 may update the NAV timer of the station STA3 by using duration information included in the new frame. The station STA3 does not attempt to access the channel until the NAV timer expires, see para [0082])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the NAVs taught by Lu with the motivation being to determine channel occupancy.
Regarding claim 9,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the first physical layer protocol data unit sets a first network allocation vector (NAV), and the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: set a second NAV based at least in part on transmission of the third physical layer protocol data unit.
Yu teaches wherein the first physical layer protocol data unit sets a first network allocation vector (NAV), and the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: set a second NAV based at least in part on transmission of the third physical layer protocol data unit. (interpreted as When the station STA3 receives the RTS frame, it may set a NAV timer of the station STA3 for a transmission duration of subsequently transmitted frames (for example, a duration of SIFS+CTS frame duration+SIFS+data frame duration+SIFS+ACK frame duration) using duration information included in the RTS frame. When the station STA3 receives the CTS frame, it may set the NAV timer of the station STA3 for a transmission duration of subsequently transmitted frames using duration information included in the CTS frame. Upon receiving a new frame before the NAV timer expires, the station STA3 may update the NAV timer of the station STA3 by using duration information included in the new frame. The station STA3 does not attempt to access the channel until the NAV timer expires, see para [0082])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the NAVs taught by Yu with the motivation being to determine channel occupancy.
Regarding claim 25,
Fang teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 14, however does not teach wherein, to transmit the first physical layer protocol data unit, the processing system is configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: set a first network allocation vector (NAV) until after the first resource unit, wherein the third physical layer protocol data unit sets a second NAV.
Lu teaches wherein, to transmit the first physical layer protocol data unit, the processing system is configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: set a first network allocation vector (NAV) until after the first resource unit, wherein the third physical layer protocol data unit sets a second NAV. (interpreted as When the station STA3 receives the RTS frame, it may set a NAV timer of the station STA3 for a transmission duration of subsequently transmitted frames (for example, a duration of SIFS+CTS frame duration+SIFS+data frame duration+SIFS+ACK frame duration) using duration information included in the RTS frame. When the station STA3 receives the CTS frame, it may set the NAV timer of the station STA3 for a transmission duration of subsequently transmitted frames using duration information included in the CTS frame. Upon receiving a new frame before the NAV timer expires, the station STA3 may update the NAV timer of the station STA3 by using duration information included in the new frame. The station STA3 does not attempt to access the channel until the NAV timer expires, see para [0082])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the Navs taught by Yu with the motivation being to determine channel occupancy.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (Pub No 20240349319) further in view of Shafin (Pub No 20250126562)
Regarding claim 16,
Fang teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 15, however does not teach wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: receive the acknowledgment to the first physical layer protocol data unit via the second resource unit.
Shafin teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: receive the acknowledgment to the first physical layer protocol data unit via the second resource unit. (interpreted as by simultaneous transmission, it can mean that the non-AP MLD cannot transmit a frame, e.g., physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), MAC protocol data unit (MPDU), Aggregated-MPDU (A-MPDU), physical layer service data unit (PSDU), to the AP MLD over more than one link where the frame transmitted over those multiple links overlaps in time, or their corresponding acknowledgement frame (ack or block ack) overlaps in time, or the frame in one link overlaps in time with an acknowledgement frame (ack/block-ack) over another link, see para [0079])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the acknowledgement as taught by Safin with the motivation being to send confirmations for packets received.
Regarding claim 17,
Fang teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 15, however does not teach wherein: the first resource unit and the second resource unit overlap in time.
Shafin teaches wherein: the first resource unit and the second resource unit overlap in time. (interpreted as by simultaneous transmission, it can mean that the non-AP MLD cannot transmit a frame, e.g., physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), MAC protocol data unit (MPDU), Aggregated-MPDU (A-MPDU), physical layer service data unit (PSDU), to the AP MLD over more than one link where the frame transmitted over those multiple links overlaps in time, or their corresponding acknowledgement frame (ack or block ack) overlaps in time, or the frame in one link overlaps in time with an acknowledgement frame (ack/block-ack) over another link, see para [0079])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the acknowledgement as taught by Safin with the motivation being to send confirmations for packets received.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (Pub No 20240349319) further in view of Ko (Pub No 20240008083)
Regarding claim 18,
Fang teaches the second wireless communication device of claim 15, however does not teach wherein a triggered response scheduling control field control field in a medium access control header of a frame of the one or more frames indicates the second allocation of the second resource unit.
Ko teaches wherein a triggered response scheduling control field control field in a medium access control header of a frame of the one or more frames indicates the second allocation of the second resource unit. (interpreted as In addition, a triggering frame may be a frame including trigger information in a MAC header. The trigger information may be triggered response scheduling (TRS) included in an HT control field, a control subfield, or an A-control subfield of a MAC header. In addition, trigger information may be information causing transmission of a TB PPDU, see para [0209]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Fang with the allocation as taught by Ko with the motivation being to send allocation information for determining resources.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (Pub No 20240349319) further in view of Chu (Pub No 20140092797)
Regarding claim 28,
Fang teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 27, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit, to the second wireless communication device, a third physical layer protocol data unit within the transmission opportunity associated with the first wireless communication device, wherein the third physical layer protocol data unit includes a second indication that preemption for low latency data is enabled; and (interpreted as One or more LL transmitters can indicate that it has LL packet to send by sending NDP Feedback Report (NFR), NFR 1004, NFR 1006, NFR 1008, over the assigned tone set during the time gaps when the preemption is allowed. The tone sets can be assigned in a previous frame such as trigger frame, beacon, NFR trigger frame, a preceding PPDU, or another frame, see para [0130])
However, Fang does not teach receive a second acknowledgment in response to the third physical layer protocol data unit, wherein the second acknowledgment includes an indication that the second wireless communication device does not have low latency data.
Chu teaches receive a second acknowledgment in response to the third physical layer protocol data unit, wherein the second acknowledgment includes an indication that the second wireless communication device does not have low latency data. (interpreted as the AP determines whether the respective enhanced LPMA STA has data buffered at the AP and transmits on the downlink an acknowledgement frame (ACK) with or without the DATA flag (BU) set as appropriate (step 906), see para [0040])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the indicating of indicating of transmissions taught by Fang with the indicating of downlink transmissions as taught by Chu with the motivation being to send allocation information for determining resources.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461