DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9-11, 15, 19, 20, 24, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahjourian et al. (US 2022/0301182).
Regarding claim 1, Mahjourian et al. discloses an apparatus for processing image data, the apparatus comprising:
a memory for storing the image data (“one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data” at paragraph 0125, line 8); and
processing circuitry in communication with the memory (“a central processing unit will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory” at paragraph 0125, line 4), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
extract features from a respective image from each camera (“Each group of camera sensor measurements can be represented as an image patch, e.g., an RGB image patch” at paragraph 0029, last sentence; “Once the sensor subsystems 130 classify one or more groups of raw sensor measurements as being measures of respective other agents, the sensor subsystems 130 can compile the raw sensor measurements into a set of raw data 132, and send the raw data 132 to a data representation system 140” at paragraph 0030) of a plurality of cameras (“The on-board system 110 includes one or more sensor subsystems 130. The sensor subsystems 130 include a combination of components that receive reflections of electromagnetic radiation, e.g., lidar systems that detect reflections of laser light, radar systems that detect reflections of radio waves, and camera systems that detect reflections of visible light” at paragraph 0027); and
fuse the features into a fused image having a grid structure (“The motion prediction system 150 processes the scene data 142 to generate features of a top-down representation of the environment. The top-down representation of the environment is a grid that includes a plurality of grid cells that each represent a region of the scene in the environment” at paragraph 0034, line 1), wherein to fuse the features, the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine a contribution of the respective image from each of the plurality of cameras to a respective cell of the grid structure (“The system can then interpolate between the occupancy values by performing an interpolation, e.g., a bilinear sampling (bilinear interpolation), based on the position and the coordinates of each of the neighbor grid cells to generate a respective weight for each neighbor grid cell.” at paragraph 0117, line 1), and
aggregate, based on the contribution to the respective cell and a respective set of learnable parameters for each cell, the features from each of the respective images to each respective cell of the fused image to generate aggregated features (“The system can then compute the occupancy value for the grid cell as a weighted sum of the occupancy values for the neighbor grid cells in the preceding flow-warped occupancy, i.e., weighted by the weight for the corresponding neighbor grid cell” at paragraph 0117, line 5).
Regarding claim 11, Mahjourian et al. discloses a method for processing image data, the method comprising:
extracting features from a respective image from each camera (“Each group of camera sensor measurements can be represented as an image patch, e.g., an RGB image patch” at paragraph 0029, last sentence; “Once the sensor subsystems 130 classify one or more groups of raw sensor measurements as being measures of respective other agents, the sensor subsystems 130 can compile the raw sensor measurements into a set of raw data 132, and send the raw data 132 to a data representation system 140” at paragraph 0030) of a plurality of cameras (“The on-board system 110 includes one or more sensor subsystems 130. The sensor subsystems 130 include a combination of components that receive reflections of electromagnetic radiation, e.g., lidar systems that detect reflections of laser light, radar systems that detect reflections of radio waves, and camera systems that detect reflections of visible light” at paragraph 0027); and
fusing the features into a fused image having a grid structure (“The motion prediction system 150 processes the scene data 142 to generate features of a top-down representation of the environment. The top-down representation of the environment is a grid that includes a plurality of grid cells that each represent a region of the scene in the environment” at paragraph 0034, line 1), wherein fusing the features comprises:
determining a contribution of the respective image from each of the plurality of cameras to a respective cell of the grid structure (“The system can then interpolate between the occupancy values by performing an interpolation, e.g., a bilinear sampling (bilinear interpolation), based on the position and the coordinates of each of the neighbor grid cells to generate a respective weight for each neighbor grid cell.” at paragraph 0117, line 1), and
aggregating, based on the contribution to the respective cell and a respective set of learnable parameters for each cell, the features from each of the respective images to each respective cell of the fused image to generate aggregated features (“The system can then compute the occupancy value for the grid cell as a weighted sum of the occupancy values for the neighbor grid cells in the preceding flow-warped occupancy, i.e., weighted by the weight for the corresponding neighbor grid cell” at paragraph 0117, line 5).
Regarding claim 20, Mahjourian et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (“a central processing unit will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory” at paragraph 0125, line 4) that, when executed, cause one or more processors to:
extract features from a respective image from each camera (“Each group of camera sensor measurements can be represented as an image patch, e.g., an RGB image patch” at paragraph 0029, last sentence; “Once the sensor subsystems 130 classify one or more groups of raw sensor measurements as being measures of respective other agents, the sensor subsystems 130 can compile the raw sensor measurements into a set of raw data 132, and send the raw data 132 to a data representation system 140” at paragraph 0030) of a plurality of cameras (“The on-board system 110 includes one or more sensor subsystems 130. The sensor subsystems 130 include a combination of components that receive reflections of electromagnetic radiation, e.g., lidar systems that detect reflections of laser light, radar systems that detect reflections of radio waves, and camera systems that detect reflections of visible light” at paragraph 0027); and
fuse the features into a fused image having a grid structure (“The motion prediction system 150 processes the scene data 142 to generate features of a top-down representation of the environment. The top-down representation of the environment is a grid that includes a plurality of grid cells that each represent a region of the scene in the environment” at paragraph 0034, line 1), wherein to fuse the features, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to:
determine a contribution of the respective image from each of the plurality of cameras to a respective cell of the grid structure (“The system can then interpolate between the occupancy values by performing an interpolation, e.g., a bilinear sampling (bilinear interpolation), based on the position and the coordinates of each of the neighbor grid cells to generate a respective weight for each neighbor grid cell.” at paragraph 0117, line 1), and
aggregate, based on the contribution to the respective cell and a respective set of learnable parameters for each cell, the features from each of the respective images to each respective cell of the fused image to generate aggregated features (“The system can then compute the occupancy value for the grid cell as a weighted sum of the occupancy values for the neighbor grid cells in the preceding flow-warped occupancy, i.e., weighted by the weight for the corresponding neighbor grid cell” at paragraph 0117, line 5).
Regarding claim 26, Mahjourian et al. discloses an apparatus for processing image data, the apparatus comprising:
means for extracting features from a respective image from each camera (“Each group of camera sensor measurements can be represented as an image patch, e.g., an RGB image patch” at paragraph 0029, last sentence; “Once the sensor subsystems 130 classify one or more groups of raw sensor measurements as being measures of respective other agents, the sensor subsystems 130 can compile the raw sensor measurements into a set of raw data 132, and send the raw data 132 to a data representation system 140” at paragraph 0030) of a plurality of cameras (“The on-board system 110 includes one or more sensor subsystems 130. The sensor subsystems 130 include a combination of components that receive reflections of electromagnetic radiation, e.g., lidar systems that detect reflections of laser light, radar systems that detect reflections of radio waves, and camera systems that detect reflections of visible light” at paragraph 0027); and
means for fusing the features into a fused image having a grid structure (“The motion prediction system 150 processes the scene data 142 to generate features of a top-down representation of the environment. The top-down representation of the environment is a grid that includes a plurality of grid cells that each represent a region of the scene in the environment” at paragraph 0034, line 1), wherein the means for fusing the features comprises:
means for determining a contribution of the respective image from each of the plurality of cameras to a respective cell of the grid structure (“The system can then interpolate between the occupancy values by performing an interpolation, e.g., a bilinear sampling (bilinear interpolation), based on the position and the coordinates of each of the neighbor grid cells to generate a respective weight for each neighbor grid cell.” at paragraph 0117, line 1), and
means for aggregating, based on the contribution to the respective cell and a respective set of learnable parameters for each cell, the features from each of the respective images to each respective cell of the fused image to generate aggregated features (“The system can then compute the occupancy value for the grid cell as a weighted sum of the occupancy values for the neighbor grid cells in the preceding flow-warped occupancy, i.e., weighted by the weight for the corresponding neighbor grid cell” at paragraph 0117, line 5).
Regarding claims 5, 15, 24 and 29, Mahjourian et al. discloses an apparatus, method and medium wherein, for each respective cell of the grid structure, the respective set of learnable parameters includes a weight for each of the plurality of cameras that contribute to the respective cell (“The system can then compute the occupancy value for the grid cell as a weighted sum of the occupancy values for the neighbor grid cells in the preceding flow-warped occupancy, i.e., weighted by the weight for the corresponding neighbor grid cell” at paragraph 0117, line 5).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Mahjourian et al. discloses an apparatus and method wherein the processing circuitry and the memory are part of an advanced driver assistance system (“the vehicle 102 can have an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) that assists a human driver of the vehicle 102 in driving the vehicle 102 by detecting potentially unsafe situations and alerting the human driver or otherwise responding to the unsafe situation” at paragraph 0026, second to last sentence).
Regarding claim 10, Mahjourian et al. discloses an apparatus wherein the apparatus further comprises: the plurality of cameras (“The on-board system 110 includes one or more sensor subsystems 130. The sensor subsystems 130 include a combination of components that receive reflections of electromagnetic radiation, e.g., lidar systems that detect reflections of laser light, radar systems that detect reflections of radio waves, and camera systems that detect reflections of visible light” at paragraph 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 12-14, 21-23, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mahjourian et al. and Mueller et al. (US 2020/0388005).
Regarding claims 2, 12, 21 and 27, Mahjourian et al. discloses an apparatus, method and medium as described above.
Mahjourian et al. does not explicitly disclose means for determining, from a lookup table, the contribution of the respective image from each of the plurality of cameras to the respective cell of the grid structure.
Mueller et al. teaches an apparatus, method and medium in the same field of endeavor of surrounding vehicle image fusion, comprising means for determining, from a lookup table, the contribution of the respective image from each of the plurality of cameras to the respective cell of the grid structure (“The conceptual blending table has the weights given to the camera images and tells the synthesizer 411 how much each frame in the image data 915 may be associated with the surround view image 908” at paragraph 0105, second to last sentence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a lookup table as taught by Mueller et al. to store the weight parameters in Mahjourian et al. to provide a simple data structure from which to reference the proper image fusion parameters without needing to calculate these parameters every time.
Regarding claims 3, 13, 22 and 28, the Mahjourian et al. and Mueller et al. combination discloses an apparatus, method and medium wherein the lookup table indicates contribution of the respective image from each of the plurality of cameras to the respective cell of the grid structure based on one or more of a configuration of the plurality of cameras (“The calibrated viewpoint look-up table 902 and the conceptual blending look-up table 904 may be associated with a single camera and saved as a set with respect to a virtual viewpoint” Mueller et al. at paragraph 0105, line 13; therefore the associated weight for each frame from each camera is established by where the camera is in relation to the overall configuration to generate the surrounding image) or a type of the plurality of cameras.
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 23, the Mahjourian et al. and Mueller et al. combination discloses an apparatus, method and medium wherein the processing is circuitry is further configured to: generate the lookup table based on one or more of a configuration of the plurality of cameras (“The calibrated viewpoint look-up table 902 and the conceptual blending look-up table 904 may be associated with a single camera and saved as a set with respect to a virtual viewpoint” Mueller et al. at paragraph 0105, line 13; therefore the associated weight for each frame from each camera is established by where the camera is in relation to the overall configuration to generate the surrounding image) or a type of the plurality of cameras.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mahjourian et al. and Singh et al. (US 2024/0127596).
Mahjourian et al. discloses the elements of claims 1 and 11 as described above.
Mahjourian et al. does not explicitly disclose applying, to the fused image, object detection decoder to generate a set of bounding boxes that indicate a location of one or more objects within the fused image.
Singh et al. teaches an apparatus and method in the same field of endeavor of surrounding vehicle image fusion wherein the processing is circuitry is further configured to: apply, to the fused image (see paragraph 0197 that describes the enriched object queries that result from fusion of the sensor data), object detection decoder to generate a set of bounding boxes that indicate a location of one or more objects within the fused image (“At block 812, the perception system 402 generates at least one bounding box based on the enriched object queries. As described herein, the perception system 402 may use one or more decoders to identify bounding boxes for objects in an image based on the enriched object queries. In some cases, the perception system 402 may use a feed forward network to process the enriched object queries. The perception system may generate an object classification associated with the bounding box” at paragraph 0198, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the bounding box generation as taught by Singh et al. on the fused data of Mahjourian et al. to “improve the autonomous vehicle's ability to identify objects within the autonomous vehicle's scene” (Singh et al. at paragraph 0024, line 7).
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mahjourian et al. and Boyraz et al. (US 2021/0405638).
Mahjourian et al. discloses the elements of claims 1 and 11 as described above.
Mahjourian et al. does not explicitly disclose applying, to the fused image, a segmentation decoder to identify types of objects in the fused image.
Boyraz et al. teaches an apparatus and method in the same field of endeavor of vehicle obstacle detection, wherein the processing is circuitry is further configured to: apply, to the fused image, a segmentation decoder to identify types of objects in the fused image (“In a multi-resolution setup, encoder features from both RGB sensor and LIDAR sensor modalities at different resolutions may be pulled and combined together before being passed to the decoder network of the segmentation module 312” at paragraph 0061, last sentence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a segmentation module as taught by Boyraz et al. on the fused data of Mahjourian et al. as a way to incorporate the fused sensor data to better determine where true obstacles are.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 16, 25 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not teach or disclose calculate the aggregated features according to a function:
,
wherein i is the respective cell, aggregated_features.sub.i are the aggregated features at cell i, W.sub.i[1] is the weight of a first camera of the plurality of cameras that contributes to cell i, F.sub.i1 is the respective features of the first camera of the plurality of cameras at cell i, W.sub.i[2] is the weight of a second camera of the plurality of cameras that contributes to cell i, F.sub.i2 is the respective features of the second camera of the plurality of cameras at cell i, W.sub.i[N.sub.i] is the weight of an Nth camera of the plurality of cameras that contributes to cell i, and F.sub.iNi is the respective features of the Nth camera of the plurality of cameras at cell i as required by claims 6, 16, 25 and 30.
Conclusion
/KATRINA R FUJITA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672