Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As regarding claim 1, the word "substantially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the word "substantially" is a required by the Applicant as part of the claimed invention or not.
Claims 2, 4-6, 8-15 and 19 depend on claim 1; and hence are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ribeiro et al (US 20220145836; hereinafter Ribeiro).
As regarding claim 1, Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention for a filter system (4a) for filtering a fluid, the filter system comprising: a filter housing (15) comprising a housing top part and a housing bottom part, wherein the housing top part and the housing bottom part extend along a housing axis; a filter pack configured to be arranged in the filter housing and configured to separate fluid-tightly a clean fluid side and a raw fluid side from each other in the filter housing; wherein the filter pack comprises a filter element comprising a hollow cylinder-type filter bellows (17) arranged about a longitudinal axis of the filter element; wherein the filter element comprises a first end face and a first end disk arranged at the first end face, wherein the first end face is substantially closed; wherein the filter element further comprises a second end disk arranged at a second end face, wherein the first end disk is positioned opposite the second end disk, and wherein the second end disk comprises a fluid passage for filtered fluid; a resonator comprising an end closed by a bottom, wherein the resonator is arranged in an interior of the filter pack such that the bottom is oriented toward the first end disk of the filter element (annotated fig. 5).
Also regarding claim 1, Ribeiro discloses wherein the first end disk of the filter element comprises an opening through which the resonator extends at least partially and is sealed relative to the opening of the first end disk (annotated fig. 4b).
As regarding claim 6, Ribeiro discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention for wherein the filter pack further comprises a central tube (20) arranged in the interior of the filter pack.
As regarding claim 8, Ribeiro discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention for wherein the central tube comprises an end (annotated fig. 5; no number) positioned opposite the first end face of the filter element.
As regarding claim 9, Ribeiro discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention for wherein the resonator (13) is arranged to be exchangeable from the clean fluid side (fig. 4b).
As regarding claim 10, Ribeiro discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention for wherein the filter pack further comprises a secondary element ([0049]) comprising a hollow cylinder-type filter bellows arranged about a longitudinal axis of the secondary element, wherein the secondary element is arranged inside the central tube of the filter element, wherein the resonator (13) at least in sections is arranged in an interior of the secondary element such that the bottom of the resonator is oriented toward the first end disk of the filter element.
As regarding claim 11, Ribeiro discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention for wherein the secondary element ([0049]) is arranged concentrically to the housing axis of the filter housing and wherein the resonator is arranged concentrically to the longitudinal axis of the secondary element (annotated fig. 5).
As regarding claim 19, Ribeiro discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention for wherein the resonator (13) comprises an open end positioned opposite the bottom, wherein the open end extends in a region of the second end disk of the filter element (annotated fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribeiro et al (US 20220145836; hereinafter Ribeiro) as applied supra.
As regarding claim 12, Ribeiro discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the secondary element comprises an end disk comprising an opening, wherein the resonator extends at least partially through the opening of the end disk of the secondary element, wherein the opening of the end disk of the secondary element seals relative to the resonator. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the secondary element comprises an end disk comprising an opening, wherein the resonator extends at least partially through the opening of the end disk of the secondary element, wherein the opening of the end disk of the secondary element seals relative to the resonator in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 15, Ribeiro as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the resonator (13) is pushed in from an end face of the secondary element into the opening of the end disk of the secondary element.
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribeiro et al (US 20220145836; hereinafter Ribeiro) as applied supra, and further in view of Miller et al (US 6099606; hereinafter Miller).
As regarding claim 2, Ribeiro discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro discloses the claimed invention except for a seal device, wherein the resonator and the filter pack adjoin each other through the seal device. Miller teaches a seal device (fig. 7 - a seal for sealing two surfaces in an air filtration arrangements), wherein the resonator and the filter pack adjoin each other through the seal device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a seal device, wherein the resonator and the filter pack adjoin each other through the seal device as taught by Miller in order to uniform, self-energizing circumferential sealing between concentric filter elements, preventing bypass leakage while accommodating tolerances, misalignment, and pressure variations.
As regarding claim 4, Ribeiro as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the seal device is a seal structure (Miller – fig. 7) disposed at the first end disk of the filter element, wherein the seal structure surrounds the opening of the first end disk and seals relative to the resonator.
As regarding claim 5, Ribeiro as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the seal device is selected from the group consisting of a PUR seal, an O-ring seal, a 2K seal, and a labyrinth seal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the seal device is selected from the group consisting of a PUR seal, an O-ring seal, a 2K seal, and a labyrinth seal in order to enhance filter system performance, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As regarding claim 13, Ribeiro as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ribeiro as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the end disk of the secondary element comprises a seal structure, wherein the seal structure surrounds the opening of the end disk of the secondary element and seals relative to the resonator. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the end disk of the secondary element comprises a seal structure, wherein the seal structure surrounds the opening of the end disk of the secondary element and seals relative to the resonator in order to uniform, self-energizing circumferential sealing between concentric filter elements, preventing bypass leakage while accommodating tolerances, misalignment, and pressure variations, since it was known in the art as shown in Miller (fig. 7).
Claim 14 is likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those set forth for claim 5 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/08/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark argues that Ribeiro fails to disclose or teach wherein the first end disk of the filter element comprises an opening through which the resonator extends at least partially and is sealed relative to the opening of the first end disk.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Annotated fig. 4b (above) of Ribeiro clearly discloses or teaches wherein the first end disk of the filter element comprises an opening through which the resonator extends at least partially and is sealed relative to the opening (closed) of the first end disk.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773