DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements
filed on October 09, 2023 and November 03, 2023 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Eighteen (18) sheets of drawings were filed on November 10, 2023.
The drawings are objected to because reference character "145" in Figure 3A does not point to anything.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: "182" in Figure 2 and reference character "900" in Figure 7.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “143” has been used to designate both a gap in and an open end or a channel in Figure 3A.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 19, replace "from the side wall from at the..." with "from the side wall at the...".
Regarding claim 20, replace "configured to enclosure..." with "configured to enclose...".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 12-14, 17, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane et al. (US12298581B2) in view of Abbiati (WO2016078725A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lane et al. discloses a cable manifold assembly (Figure 1 and Figure 13) , the cable manifold assembly comprising: a body (102) comprising a side wall (110 and 112) and a base wall (bottom side 118, including a grommet system; see column 11, lines 27-55 and Figure 1) , the side wall and base wall forming an interior volume (106) , the base wall forming an insert opening (the grommet system in the bottom side 118 includes opening 254; see Figure 13 and column 18, lines 34-35), the body (102) forming a pathway (the curved guides from the pathway; see figure 13) extending from the insert opening (opening 254 in the grommet system; see Figures 1 and 13); an insert (Figure 14) comprising a member (176) extendable into the insert opening and pathway at the body (column 18 lines 52-54), the insert forming a channel (286) at the member (176); and a cover (104) configured to selectively attach to the body to obscure the open end (Column 11 lines 56-59).
Lane et al. fails to teach the channel diverging from a closed end proximate to the insert opening to an open end distal to the closed end, wherein the channel is configured to receive a cable at the channel from the open end.
Abbiati teaches, the channel (Figure 1) diverging from a closed end proximate to the insert opening to an open end distal to the closed end (Figure 6), wherein the channel is configured to receive a cable at the channel from the open end (Figure 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to replace or modify the insert of Lane et al. to incorporate the specific insert structure taught by Abbiati. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow cables to be easily guided into the channel from the wide opening rather than requiring precise alignment or feeding from an entry point, to optimize the user experience and functionality of the cable manifold assembly.
Regarding Claim 2; Lane et al./Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. further teaches the insert (Figure 14) extendable into the respective pathways at the body (Figure 13). Lane et al. fails to teach a pair of members separated from one another by a base.
Abbiati teaches, an insert (retaining element 100) with a pair of members (retaining walls 111 and 112) separated from one another by a base (connection part 120).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the insert of Lane et al. to incorporate the specific insert structure taught by Abbiati. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow cables to be easily guided into the channel from the wide opening rather than requiring precise alignment or feeding from an entry point, to optimize the user experience and functionality of the cable manifold assembly.
Regarding Claim 7; Lane et al/Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane further teaches, the insert forms a U-shape (figure 14. Column 18 lines 52-60), wherein the insert is extendable into the insert opening (Figure 13) substantially perpendicular to the extension of the cable into the interior volume (Column 11 lines 27-30), but fails to disclose the insert comprising a pair of members extending from a base.
Abbiati teaches a pair of members (111 and 112) extending from a base (120).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the insert of Lane et al. to incorporate the specific insert structure taught by Abbiati. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow cables to be easily guided into the channel from the wide opening rather than requiring precise alignment or feeding from an entry point, to optimize the user experience and functionality of the cable manifold assembly.
Regarding Claim 8; Lane et al/ Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane further teaches, wherein the pathway extends from the insert opening (Figure 13) substantially perpendicular to an extension of the cable into the interior volume (Column 11 lines 27-30).
Regarding Claim 9; Lane et al./ Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane further teaches, wherein the side wall of the body forms a latch receiver (138) opening configured to receive a latch (136) of the cover (Colum 7 lines 63-67).
Regarding Claim 12, Lane et al. / Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. further teaches, wherein the pathway provides an opening into the interior volume of the body (Figures 1-3 and 13) through which the cable is extendable, and wherein an extension of the cable is substantially perpendicular to an extension of the pathway from the insert opening (Column 11 lines 27-30).
Regarding claim 13; Lane et al./ Abbiati teaches a telecommunications closure (figure 1 “100”), the closure comprising: a fiber raceway (figure 6) configured to route a telecommunication module (Column 17 lines 2-13); a cable manifold assembly (Figure 1 and Figure 13) comprising: a body (102) comprising a side wall (110 and 112) and a base wall (118) , the side wall and base wall forming an interior volume (106) , the base wall forming an insert opening (254), the body (102) forming a pathway (the curved guides from the pathway; see figure 13 extending from the insert opening (Figure 13); an insert (Figure 14) comprising a member (176) extendable into the insert opening and pathway at the body (column 18 lines 52-54), the insert forming a channel (286) at the member (176); and a cover (104) configured to selectively attach to the body to obscure the open end (Column 11 lines 56-59).
Lane et al. fails to teach, the channel diverging from a closed end proximate to the insert opening to an open end distal to the closed end, wherein the channel is configured to receive a cable at the channel from the open end.
Abbiati teaches, the channel (Figure 1) diverging from a closed end proximate to the insert opening to an open end distal to the closed end (Figure 6), wherein the channel is configured to receive a cable at the channel from the open end (Figure 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the insert of Lane et al. using the diverging channel design disclosed by Abbiati. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these elements to allow for easier insertion and management of various cables sizes.
Regarding Claim 14; Lane et al./Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 13. Lane further teaches, the insert (Figure 14) extendable into the respective pathways at the body (Figure 13).
Lane et al. fails to teach a pair of members separated from one another by a base.
Abbiati teaches, an insert (retaining element 100) with a pair of members (retaining walls 111 and 112) separated from one another by a base (connection part 120).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the insert of Lane et al. to incorporate the specific insert structure taught by Abbiati. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow cables to be easily guided into the channel from the wide opening rather than requiring precise alignment or feeding from an entry point, to optimize the user experience and functionality of the cable manifold assembly.
Regarding Claim 17; Lane et al. further discloses the telecommunication closure of claim 13, wherein the side wall of the body forms a latch receiver (138) opening configured to receive a latch (136) of the cover (Colum 7 lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 18; Lane et al. further discloses the telecommunications closure of claim 13, wherein the pathway extends from the insert opening (Figure 13) substantially perpendicular to the direction of extension of the cable into the interior volume (Column 11 lines 27-30).
Regarding Claim 20; Lane et al. further discloses the telecommunications closure of claim 13, wherein the cover comprises a cover wall configured to enclose the interior volume of the body (column 5 line 66- column 6 line 4).
Claims 3-6, 10-11, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane et al. (US12298581B2) in view of Abbiati (WO2016078725A1), and in further view of Sauvain (US20240111110A1).
Regarding Claim 3; Lane et al./Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. further discloses, where in the body (102) comprises walls (256 and 258) extending between the respective pathways of the rail system (268) of the grommet (see Figure 13).
Lane et al./Abbiati fails to teach the body comprises a displaceable wall extending between the respective pathways for the pair of members of the insert, the displaceable wall forming at least a portion of the pathway.
Sauvain teaches, a cable box with displaceable walls extending between pathways for a pair of members of the insert, the displaceable wall forming at least a portion of the pathway (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the displaceable wall feature described in Sauvain with of the cable manifold assembly of Lane et al. /Abbiati to provide flexible cable management.
Regarding Claim 4; Lane et al./Abbiati/Sauvain teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. further discloses, wherein the body forms a cavity (254) between the respective pathways (256 and 258) for the rail system (268) of the grommet.
Lane et al./Abbiati fails to teach where in the cover comprises a protrusion extendable into the cavity, the protrusion configured to contact the displaceable wall at the cavity to displace the wall to narrow the pathway.
Sauvain teaches a cover with protrusions extendable into the cavity, the protrusion configured to contact the displaceable wall at the cavity to displace the wall to narrow the pathway (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cable manifold assembly disclosed by Lane et al. /Abbiati to incorporate the cover with a protrusion feature taught by Sauvain, to actively narrow the pathway for improved cable retention or management.
Regarding Claim 5; Lane et al./Abbiati/Sauvain teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. further discloses, wherein the cover comprises a cover wall configured to obscure the open end (Figure 1. Column 11 lines 56-59), but fails to teach protrusions extend from the cover wall to contact the displaceable wall at the cavity to displace the wall to narrow the pathway.
Sauvain teaches protrusions extending form the cover wall to the contact the displaceable wall at the cavity to displace the wall to narrow the pathway (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the cable guide sealing features, described in Sauvain, with the cable manifold assembly of Lane et al. /Abbiati to secure and seal the cables from the ingress of outside elements.
Regarding Claim 6; Lane et al. /Abbiati /Sauvain discloses the cable manifold assembly of claim 1 but fails to disclose a protrusion partial extending into the cavity to form a cable pass through opening.
Sauvain teaches a protrusion partially extending into the cavity to form a cable pass through opening (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the cable guide features, described in Sauvain with the cable manifold assembly of Lane et al. to provide flexible cable management.
Regarding Claim 10; Lane et al/Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. further discloses a side wall and wall form at least one pathway (figure 13); and wherein a latch receiver (138) opening is formed at the side wall to receive a latch (136) extending from a cover wall of the cover (Colum 7 lines 63-67), but fails to teach a wall of the pathway is displaceable.
Sauvain teaches the walls of the pathway are displaceable (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the cable guide features, described in Sauvain with the cable manifold assembly of Lane et al. /Abbiati to provide flexible cable management and maintain a secure cover attachment.
Regarding Claim 11; Lane et al/Abbiati teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. further discloses a body comprising a wall (256) extending form the insert opening (260) but fails to teach a pair of displaceable walls extending from the insert opening, wherein the pair of displaceable walls converge toward on another from proximate to the closed end toward the open end.
Sauvain teaches the body comprising a pair of displaceable walls extending from the insert opening, wherein the pair of displaceable walls converge toward on another from proximate to the closed end toward the open end (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the cable guide features, described in Sauvain with the cable manifold assembly of Lane et al. to provide flexible cable management.
Regarding Claim 15; Lane et al/Abbiati/Sauvain teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. further discloses, wherein the cover comprises a cover wall configured to obscure the open end (Figure 1. Column 11 lines 56-59), but fails to teach protrusions extend from the cover wall to contact the displaceable wall at the cavity to displace the wall to narrow the pathway.
Sauvain teaches protrusions extending form the cover wall to the contact the displaceable wall at the cavity to displace the wall to narrow the pathway (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the cable guide sealing features, described in Sauvain, with the cable manifold assembly of Lane et al. to secure and seal the cables from the ingress of outside elements.
Regarding Claim 16; Lane et al/Abbiati/Sauvain teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al. fails to disclose wherein the protrusion partially extends into a cavity formed between a pair of displaceable walls, and wherein partial extension of the protrusion forms a cable pass through opening between the pair of displaceable walls.
Sauvain teaches the protrusion partially extends into a cavity formed between a pair of displaceable walls, and wherein partial extension of the protrusion forms a cable pass through opening between the pair of displaceable walls (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the cable manifold assembly of Lane et al. with the cable guide features, described in Sauvain to provide flexible cable management.
Regarding Claim 19; Lane et al/Abbiati/Sauvain teaches the cable manifold assembly of claim 1. Lane et al fails to disclose wherein the displaceable wall diverges from the side wall form at the open end of the pathway.
Sauvain teaches the displaceable wall diverges from the side wall form at the open end of the pathway (Figure 1A-1C. Paragraph [0027]). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the cable guide features, described in Sauvain, with the cable manifold assembly of Lane et al. to achieve a proper seal around the cables and ensure a secure cable position.
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874