DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63215758, 62279830, 17851715 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application (18506658) is directed to the embodiment in figures 30-38 of applicant’s drawings and disclosed in paragraph 00273-00296 of applicant’s specification. The embodiment of figures 30-38 of applicant’s drawings is not disclosed in the parent applications (Parent Applications: 63215758, 63279830, 17851715). Therefore, the claimed invention is entitled to a priority date of 11/10/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the engaging portion” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mason (20180326276).
Regarding claim 1, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches a puck (Fig. 19, Part No. 100) (Para. 0085) comprising: a body defining a body cavity and an aperture (184) (Para. 0086) for accessing the body cavity, the body cavity defining a sidewall, the sidewall including: a first portion; and a second portion defining a first connector (See fig. 19, Part No. 186), the first portion and the second portion being angled with respect to one another (see fig. 19); a tracking device (Fig. 19-21, Part No. 110) (Para. 0059, 0086) disposed in the body cavity; and a cap (Fig. 19-21, Part No. 182) received in the body cavity and closing the aperture (See fig. 19-21) (Para. 0087), the cap (182) including: a cap body including: a peripheral portion (See fig. 19, Part No. 196a) having a peripheral surface and a chamfer surface (See fig. 19, Part No. 196b), the chamfer surface extending away from the peripheral surface and abutting the first portion for distributing loads experienced by the puck (See fig. 19-21) (Para. 0087); and a protruding portion (See fig. 19) extending from the peripheral portion (196a), the protruding portion including: a lateral wall connected to the chamfer surface (196b), the lateral wall defining a second connector (196b), the second connector geometrically complementary to the first connector (See fig. 19-21), and in response to the first and the second connectors being engaged with one another, the cap securely connects with the body (See fig. 19-21) (Para. 0088).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Mason Reference)]
Regarding claim 2, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the first connector is a recess (See fig.19-21) (Para. 0087-0088); and the second connector is a projection received in the recess (See fig. 19-21) (Para. 0087-0088).
Regarding claim 4, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the sidewall is a first sidewall (See fig. 19); the recess is a first recess (See fig. 19); the lateral wall is a first lateral wall (See fig. 19); the projection is a first projection (See fig. 19); the body cavity further comprises a second sidewall opposite the first sidewall (See fig. 19), the second sidewall having a second portion defining a second recess (See fig. 19); the protruding portion further comprises a second lateral wall opposite the first lateral wall (See fig. 19), the second lateral wall defining a second projection received in the second recess (See fig. 19).
Regarding claim 8, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the sidewall is a first sidewall (See fig. 19); the chamfer surface is a first chamfer surface (See fig. 19); the body cavity further comprises a second sidewall opposite the first sidewall (See fig. 19), the second sidewall having an first portion (See fig. 19); and the peripheral portion further comprises a second chamfer surface (See annotated Fig. 1 in this document) opposite the first chamfer surface (See fig. 19), the second chamfer surface extending away from the peripheral surface and abutting the first portion of the second sidewall (See fig. 19) (Para. 0086-0087).
Regarding claim 9, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the cap defines a longitudinal plane (See fig. 19); and the cap comprises a first surface (See fig. 19), and a section of the first surface extends outwardly at a wedge angle with the longitudinal plane (See fig. 19), and in response to the cap being received in the body cavity, the section of the first surface applies a pressure onto the body (Para. 0086-0087).
Regarding claim 10, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the section of the first surface is part of the peripheral portion (See fig. 19) (Para. 0086-0087).
Regarding claim 11, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the wedge angle is a first wedge angle (See fig. 19); and the cap comprises a second surface (See fig. 19), and a section of the second surface extends outwardly at a second wedge angle with the longitudinal plane (See fig. 19).
Regarding claim 12, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the second wedge angle is equal to the first wedge angle (See fig. 19).
Regarding claim 13, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the cap has an interference fit with the body (Para. 0086-0087).
Regarding claim 14, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the lateral wall is angled at an insertion angle from the second portion of the sidewall for facilitating insertion of the cap into the body cavity (See fig. 19-21) (Para. 0086-0087).
Regarding claim 17, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the cap (182) is a unitary piece (Para. 0085).
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the cap is formed as a unitary piece” is directed to a product formed by a process (a product-by-process claim). Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (See: In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). The prior art of Mason teaches the final product of a cap and therefore meets the claim.
Regarding claim 18, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the tracking device (Fig. 19-21, Part No. 110) is aligned with at least one of a geometrical center of the body and a center of gravity of the body (See fig. 19).
Regarding claim 19, modified Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the body comprises: a first surface (See fig. 19); a second surface spaced apart from the first surface (See fig. 19); and a peripheral surface therebetween (See fig. 19), the aperture defined by the peripheral surface (See fig. 19); and the peripheral surface of the cap body being flush with the peripheral surface of the body (See fig. 19-21) (Para. 0086-0087).
Regarding claim 20, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the body comprises: a first surface (See fig. 19); a second surface spaced apart from the first surface (See fig. 19); and a peripheral surface therebetween (See fig. 19), the aperture defined by the peripheral surface (See fig. 19); and the body cavity extends radially inwardly from the peripheral surface (See fig. 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 5-7, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason (20180326276).
Regarding claim 3, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the second connector is a projection received in the recess (See fig. 19-21) (Para. 0087-0088), the projection inherently having a shape.
Mason does not teach the projection is hook shaped.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the projection is hook shaped” is directed to the shape of a projection. Changing the shape of the projection of Mason would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a means of mere design choice (See: In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) . where the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the projection (196b) comprises: a sloped section having a first end and a second end (See fig. 19), the second end extending laterally outwardly from the first end; and an engaging surface (See annotated Figure 1 in this document) connecting the second end of the sloped section with the lateral wall, a projection of the engaging surface forming an angle with the longitudinal axis (See fig. 19).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the angle formed by the projection of the engaging surface and the longitudinal axis is 90 degrees or less (See annotated figure 1 in this document).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the engaging portion/surface (See annotated figure 1 in this document) is closer to the peripheral portion than the first end (See fig. 19).
Regarding claim 15, Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches an isolating layer (120a) (Para. 0086-0087).
Mason (Fig. 19-21) does not teach an isolating layer surrounding the tracking device.
Mason (Fig. 12) teaches an isolating layer (144) surrounding the tracking device (110) (Para. 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Mason (Fig. 19-21) with an isolating layer surrounding the tracking device as taught by Mason (Fig. 12) as a means of enclosing a tracking device in a capsule within a hockey puck (Mason (Fig. 12): Para. 0071).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Mason (Figures 19-21) teaches the protruding portion defines a cap cavity (See fig. 19), the cap cavity geometrically complementary to a portion of the isolating layer (120a) (Para. 0086-0087); and the portion of the isolating layer is received in the cap cavity (See fig. 19-21) (Para. 0086-0087).
Conclusion
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711