CTNF 18/506,685 CTNF 87238 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Notice as to Grounds of Rejection and Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Allowable Subject Matter Each of claims 5, 9, 13, 15, 19-20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of its base claim and any intervening claims set forth in this action and if rewritten to overcome all the objection(s) and/or rejection(s) set forth below in this action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 6-7, 10, 12, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poston et al (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0086507 A1 hereinafter Poston) in view of Ozuysal (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0225818 A1 hereinafter Ozuysal) . With regard to claims 1, 10, 16, Ozuysal teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions, that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to execute operations, the operations comprising, an apparatus, a method respectively, comprising: in response to detecting an instruction to minimize the hosted browser tab <tabs can be minimized para 0077>: storing the hosted browser tab with the web content in a memory device <tabs can be stored para 0086>; and initiating display of a floating window instead of the hosted browser tab, the floating window including information about the hosted browser tab <a floating window can be displayed with the content, fig 2A para 0049-0054>. at least one processor (claim 10) <para 0006>; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions (claim 10) <para 0006>. Poston though teaches accessing a link to display web content, does not appear to explicitly teach in response to selection, in a host application, of a link to web content, initiating display of a hosted browser tab with the web content (para 0045). In the same field of endeavor, Ozuysal teaches in response to selection, in a host application, of a link to web content, initiating display of a hosted browser tab with the web content <a link can be selected for displaying web content para 0005-0006, 0010>. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Poston, Ozuysal before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Poston to include the teachings of Ozuysal, in order to obtain explicitly selecting a link. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides a better user interface for accessing a link to view web content as a need identified and solved by Ozuysal (see Background). With respect to claims 2, 17, these claims depend upon claims 1, 16 respectively, which are rejected above. In addition, Poston teaches wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining at least one customized attribute about the hosted browser tab <tabs can be customized para 0027,0049>; and generating the hosted browser tab according to the at least one customized attribute <display size can be customized para 0027>. With respect to claims 3, 12, 18, these claims depend upon claims 2, 10, 17 respectively, which are rejected above. In addition, Ozuysal teaches wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the selection of the link in the host application, receiving a tab request from the host application, the tab request including a location of the web content and the at least one customized attribute <link for the web content can be selected along with customization parameter for the browser tab para 0006>; and in response to the tab request, generating the hosted browser tab <user interface can be used to apply the customization parameter and to apply the modification para 0092>. With respect to claim 6, this claim depends upon claim 1 which is rejected above. In addition, Ozuysal teaches wherein the information about the hosted browser tab includes at least one of a title of the web content, an icon associated with the web content, and a resource locator of the web content <title, icon, URL can be associated with the web content para 0048, 0054>. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Poston, Ozuysal before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Poston to include the teachings of Ozuysal, in order to identify a tab. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides a better visualization of tab and its content. With respect to claim 7, this claim depends upon claim 1 which is rejected above. In addition, Poston teaches wherein the operations further comprise: in response to detecting the instruction to minimize the hosted browser tab, updating a value of a display property to hide the hosted browser tab <display can reflect layers to view or hide associated with tabs para 0087-0089>. With regard to claim 11, this claim depends upon claim 10, which is rejected above. In addition, Ozuysal teaches wherein the at least one customized attribute includes a custom user interface control for an action executable by the host application <user interface can be provided for customization para 0008, 0010>. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Poston, Ozuysal before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Poston to include the teachings of Ozuysal, in order to customize display. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides a better visualization of a tab and its content . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poston in view of Ozuysal in view of Zhang et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0220026 A1 hereinafter Zhang) . With respect to claim 4, this claim depends upon claims 1 which is rejected above. Poston, Ozuysal do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim. In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the floating window includes a picture-in-picture (PIP) window <picture-in-picture can be displaying along with other display technologies like a floating window para 0088>. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Poston, Ozuysal, Zhang before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Poston, Ozuysal to include the teachings of Zhang, in order to achieve using variety of windows. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides a better presentation of content within a window . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poston in view of Ozuysal in view of Karppanen (US Patent 10025702 B1 hereinafter Karppanen) . With respect to claims 8, 14, these claims depend upon claims 1, 10 respectively, which are rejected above. Poston, Ozuysal do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim. In the same field of endeavor, Karppanen teaches, the non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising: in response to detecting an instruction to delete the floating window <a tab (window) can be selected to be removed, col 8 lines 3-30>: initiating removal of the floating window <tab can be marked for removal col 6 line 45 – col 7 line 3>; and deleting the hosted browser tab from the memory device <tab data is removed from the memory col 8 lines 3-30>. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Poston, Ozuysal, Karppanen before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Poston, Ozuysal to include the teachings of Karppanen, in order to manage tabs/windows. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides a way to manage editing functions of tabs/windows. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record (see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANIL K BHARGAVA whose telephone number is (571)270-3278. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Renee Chavez can be reached on 571-270-1104. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANIL K BHARGAVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/506,685 Page 2 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/506,685 Page 3 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/506,685 Page 4 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/506,685 Page 5 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/506,685 Page 6 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/506,685 Page 7 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/506,685 Page 8 Art Unit: 2172