DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application number 18/506,691 filed on 11/10/2023, and the amendments and arguments filed on 11/13/2025.
No claims have been amended.
No claims have been added.
Claim 9 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are currently pending and have been examined
Response to Amendment
3. Applicant' s amendments disclose that the following limitation was not taught however, Pilutti does teach stores speed information "only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver," (Pilutti Paragraph 0017: "Additionally, drivers adjust the settings of the adaptive cruise control, such as a desired speed and gap distance. Traditionally, the driver frequently manually adjusts these commands and/or settings based on factors related to the road, such as traffic density, speed limit, weather, and/or road condition, etc.”) (Pilutti Paragraph 0023: "As illustrated in FIG. 2, the vehicle includes an adaptive cruise control state database 200 to store the actions recorded by cruise control adjuster 104. The cruise control adjuster 104 creates event records 202 that include a current date field 204, a location field 206, an action field 208, setting field(s) 210, and an expiration date field 212.") (Pilutti Paragraph 0025: "The setting field(s) 210 record(s) the settings of the adaptive cruise control 102 in relation to the action recorded in the action field 208.") therefore the applicant arguments/remarks are not persuasive.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C 119
(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.DE102022212711.0, filed on
11/28/2022.
Examiner Notes
5. Examiner cites particular paragraphs (or columns and lines) in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) to the language of the claims. For purpose of examination The limitation for independent claims “wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver.” Pilutti teaches speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation such as what is mentioned in the Pilutti which mentions speed information is stored when an active intervention in speed is change by a driver of the vehicle which is caused by weather. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP §2111.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 7616781 B2) to Schofield et al. (hereinafter Schofield) in view of (US 20170015318 A1) to Scofield et al. (hereinafter Scofield) and further in view of (US 20170282917 A1) to Pilutti et al. (hereinafter Pilutti).
Regarding claim 1, Schofield discloses A method for adjusting an automatic speed control of a vehicle, comprising the following steps: receiving environment sensor data of at least one environment sensor of the vehicle and/or map data of a map representation representing the environment of the vehicle; (Schofield Column 3, line number 48-52: “Referring now to the drawings and the illustrative embodiments depicted therein, a vehicle 10 includes an imaging system 12, which includes an imaging sensor or image capture device or camera 14, which captures images of a scene occurring exteriorly of the vehicle 10”) based on the environment sensor data and/or the map data, determining a speed limit for a roadway being driven by the vehicle; (Schofield Column 3, line number 11-20: “Therefore, the present invention provides an imaging system that is operable to detect and recognize and read traffic control signage along the side (and/or above) the road along which the vehicle is traveling. The imaging system may then display information to the driver of the vehicle regarding the detected and recognized signage. The imaging system may provide a warning or alert signal to the driver if an unsafe or unwanted driving condition is encountered, such as when the vehicle is traveling at a speed that is substantially over the speed limit”) using the automatic cruise control, regulating a vehicle speed to a speed value corresponding to the speed limit; (Schofield Column 23, line number 28-35: “Optionally, the adaptive speed control may adjust the speed setting of the vehicle in response to the imaging system recognizing and identifying a change in speed limit. For example, if the vehicle is initially traveling at seventy miles per hour in a 65 miles per hour zone, and the imaging system detects a reduced speed limit to 45 miles per hour, the adaptive speed control may reduce the speed setting to fifty miles per hour or thereabouts.”) based on the environment sensor data and/or based on the map data, identifying a marked stretch of roadway of the roadway being driven by the vehicle; (Schofield Column 23, line number 15-18: “For example, an adaptive speed control system may reduce the set speed of the vehicle in response to the imaging system (or other forward facing vision system) detecting a curve in the road ahead of the vehicle”)
Schofield does not teach […] and adjusting the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway, wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver.
However, Scofield does teach […] and adjusting the vehicle speed regulated by the
automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway, (Scofield Paragraph 0036: “As a second example, while the user 110 is controlling the speed of the vehicle 108, the device may compare the speed of the vehicle 108 with the posted speed limit in order to determine the user's typical driving behaviors 208 for driving over, at, or under the speed limit; and when requested to
maintain a steady speed, the device may continuously adapt the target speed with respect to
the current speed limit in order to reflect the speed driving behaviors 208 of the user 110.
Other examples of the types of use driving behaviors 208 that may be detected and utilized
during automated control of the driving features 206 include the braking rates of the user
110 (e.g., whether the user prefers stopping over short distances or more gradually over
longer distances); the speed and/or turning profile of the vehicle 108 while traversing
curves;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to include […] and adjusting the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway, taught by Scofield. This would have been for the benefit to have techniques for personalizing the automated control of a vehicle based on the driving behavior of the user. [Scofield Paragraph 0004]
Scofield does not teach […] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver.
However, Pilutti does teach […] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver. (Pilutti Paragraph 0017: "Additionally, drivers adjust the settings of the adaptive cruise control, such as a desired speed and gap distance. Traditionally, the driver frequently manually adjusts these commands and/or settings based on factors related to the road, such as traffic density, speed limit, weather, and/or road condition, etc.”) (Pilutti Paragraph 0023: "As illustrated in FIG. 2, the vehicle includes an adaptive cruise control state database 200 to store the actions recorded by cruise control adjuster 104. The cruise control adjuster 104 creates event records 202 that include a current date field 204, a location field 206, an action field 208, setting field(s) 210, and an expiration date field 212.") (Pilutti Paragraph 0025: "The setting field(s) 210 record(s) the settings of the adaptive cruise control 102 in relation to the action recorded in the action field 208.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield in view of Scofield to include […] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver taught by Pilutti. This would have been for the benefit to provide the cruise control adjuster is configured to generate an action when a cruise control event is defined for the location. In the disclosed example the cruise control event is based on past changes to the adaptive cruise control at the location. The example cruise control adjuster is also configured to apply the action to the adaptive cruise control to change how the adaptive cruise control controls the vehicle. [Pilutti Paragraph 0004]
Regarding claim 2, Schofield in view of Scofield discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the marked stretch of roadway of the roadway includes a curve, or an uphill gradient, or a downhill gradient, or a tunnel entrance, or a tunnel exit, or a bridge underpass, or a school area. (Schofield Column 23, line number 15-18: “For example, an adaptive speed control system may reduce the set speed of the vehicle in response to the imaging system (or other forward facing vision system) detecting a curve in the road ahead of the vehicle”)
Regarding claim 3, Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Schofield does not disclose The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information includes a speed value and/or a percentage speed change value, wherein the speed value corresponds to a speed at which the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control has been adjusted by an active intervention by a driver of the vehicle during a temporally preceding driving over the corresponding marked stretch of roadway, wherein the percentage speed change value corresponds to a change in speed, to adjust the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control through the active intervention of a driver of the vehicle during the temporally preceding driving over the corresponding marked stretch of roadway, and wherein, in adjusting the speed, the vehicle speed is adjusted to the speed value and/or by the speed change value in the speed information.
However, Scofield teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information includes a speed value and/or a percentage speed change value, wherein the speed value corresponds to a speed at which the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control has been adjusted by an active intervention by a driver of the vehicle during a temporally preceding driving over the corresponding marked stretch of roadway, wherein the percentage speed change value corresponds to a change in speed, to adjust the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control through the active intervention of a driver of the vehicle during the temporally preceding driving over the corresponding marked stretch of roadway, and wherein, in adjusting the speed, the vehicle speed is adjusted to the speed value and/or by the speed change value in the speed information. (Scofield Paragraph 0036: “ As a second example, while the user 110 is controlling the speed of the vehicle 108, the device may compare the speed of the vehicle 108 with the posted speed limit in order to determine the user's typical driving behaviors 208 for driving over, at, or under the speed limit; and when requested to maintain a steady speed, the device may continuously adapt the target speed with respect to the current speed limit in order to reflect the speed driving behaviors 208 of the user 110. Other examples of the types of use driving behaviors 208 that may be detected and utilized during automated control of the driving features 206 include the braking rates of the user 110 (e.g., whether the user prefers stopping over short distances or more gradually over longer distances); the speed and/or turning profile of the vehicle 108 while traversing curves”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to include The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information includes a speed value and/or a percentage speed change value, wherein the speed value corresponds to a speed at which the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control has been adjusted by an active intervention by a driver of the vehicle during a temporally preceding driving over the corresponding marked stretch of roadway, wherein the percentage speed change value corresponds to a change in speed, to adjust the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control through the active intervention of a driver of the vehicle during the temporally preceding driving over the corresponding marked stretch of roadway, and wherein, in adjusting the speed, the vehicle speed is adjusted to the speed value and/or by the speed change value in the speed information taught by Scofield. This would have been for the benefit to have techniques for personalizing the automated control of a vehicle based on the driving behavior of the user. [Scofield Paragraph 0004]
Regarding claim 4, Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti teaches claim 3, accordingly, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated above.
Schofield does not teach The method according to claim 3, wherein the speed information was detected and stored during at least one journey of the vehicle made earlier in time.
However, Scofield teaches The method according to claim 3, wherein the speed information was detected and stored during at least one journey of the vehicle made earlier in time. (Scofield Paragraph 0018: “However, the user driving behaviors of the users 110 may change in different driving context 106. In a second example scenario 102 involving inclement daytime weather, the first user 110 (e.g., who may be sensitive to the dangers of hydroplaning) may operate the first vehicle 108 at a slow speed 112, while the second user 110 (e.g., who may be experienced and confident while driving in inclement weather) may operate at a faster relative speed 12 than in the daytime driving context 106, while the third user 110 continues to operate at a slow speed 112. In a third example scenario 104 during a third driving context 106 (e.g., nighttime), the first user 110 may again drive at a fast speed 108, but the second user 110 (e.g., who may have poor night vision) may instead drive at a slow speed 112, while the third user 110 (e.g., who may have strong night vision) may driving at a higher speed 112 relative to other driving conditions 106. “) (Scofield Paragraph 0042: “Upon detecting a user driving behavior 208, the device 202 may store the user driving behavior 208 associated with the identity of the user 110.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to include The method according to claim 3, wherein the speed information was detected and stored during at least one journey of the vehicle made earlier in time taught by Scofield. This would have been for the benefit to have techniques for personalizing the automated control of a vehicle based on the driving behavior of the user. [Scofield Paragraph 0004]
Regarding claim 5, Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti teaches claim 3, accordingly, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated above.
Schofield in view of Scofield does not teach The method according to claim 3, wherein the active intervention in the automatic speed control by the driver includes: operating a brake of the vehicle, or reducing a setpoint speed of the automatic speed control, or switching off the automatic speed control.
However, Pilutti does teach The method according to claim 3, wherein the active intervention in the automatic speed control by the driver includes: operating a brake of the vehicle, or reducing a setpoint speed of the automatic speed control, or switching off the automatic speed control. (Pilutti Paragraph 0017: “Traditionally, the driver frequently manually adjusts these commands and/or settings based on factors related to the road, such as traffic density, speed limit, weather, and/or road condition, etc.”) (Pilutti Paragraph 0028: “As discussed below in connection with FIG. 5, the cruise control adjuster 104 provides an interface to facilitate a user viewing and/or editing the ACC actions 302.”) (Pilutti Paragraph 0029: “ In some examples, the interface facilitates the user-generated used to be associated with the ACC actions 302 (e.g., specified by the rules field 310). For example, a user-generated rule may state that the speed setting of the ACC action 302 is to be reduced by 5 mph when it is raining.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield in view of Scofield to include
The method according to claim 3, wherein the active intervention in the automatic speed control by the driver includes: operating a brake of the vehicle, or reducing a setpoint speed of the automatic speed control, or switching off the automatic speed control taught by Pilutti. This would have been for the benefit to provide the cruise control adjuster is configured to generate an action when a cruise control event is defined for the location. In the disclosed example the cruise control event is based on past changes to the adaptive cruise control at the location. The example cruise control adjuster is also configured to apply the action to the adaptive cruise control to change how the adaptive cruise control controls the vehicle. [Pilutti Paragraph 0004]
Regarding claim 6, Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Schofield in view of Scofield does not teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information further includes position information of the marked stretch of roadway and/or a direction of travel of the vehicle, and wherein the identification of the marked stretch of roadway includes: comparing the position information in the speed information with position information of the vehicle, based on the map data and/or information of a navigation system.
However, Pilot does teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information further includes position information of the marked stretch of roadway and/or a direction of travel of the vehicle, and wherein the identification of the marked stretch of roadway includes: comparing the position information in the speed information with position information of the vehicle, based on the map data and/or information of a navigation system. (Pilluti Paragraph 0024: “The current date field 204 records the date on which the event record is created. The location field 206 records the location at which the command is input into the adaptive cruise control 102. In some examples, the location field 206 records coordinates (e.g., the latitude and longitude) retrieved from the GPS receiver 112. In such some examples, the location field 206 also records the heading (e.g., the direction of travel) retrieved from the GPS receiver 112. Alternately, in some examples, the location field 206 may record a zone identifier that identifies zone in which the command was used. A manufacturer of the cruise control adjuster 104 or any other suitable entity may define zones on roads in which actions within the zone are considered to be related. For example, a zone may encompass a one mile portion of a road. In some examples, a navigation system that uses the GPS receiver 112 may supply zone identifiers to supply to the adaptive cruise control 102.”) (Pilluti Paragraph 0030: “The cruise control adjuster 104 compares the current location of the vehicle 100 to locations specified by the user-generated rules and/or the ACC actions 302 stored in the adaptive cruise control action database 300. If the current location matches the location associated with one of the user-generated rules, the cruise control adjuster 104 instructs the adaptive cruise control 102 to adjust the speed and/or gap distance settings as specified by the user-generated rule”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield in view of Scofield to include The method according to claim 1,wherein the speed information further includes position information of the marked stretch of roadway and/or a direction of travel of the vehicle, and wherein the identification of the marked stretch of roadway includes: comparing the position information in the speed information with position information of the vehicle, based on the map data and/or information of a navigation system taught by Pilutti. This would have been for the benefit to provide the cruise control adjuster is configured to generate an action when a cruise control event is defined for the location. In the disclosed example the cruise control event is based on past changes to the adaptive cruise control at the location. The example cruise control adjuster is also configured to apply the action to the adaptive cruise control to change how the adaptive cruise control controls the vehicle. [Pilutti Paragraph 0004]
Regarding claim 7, Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above,
Schofield does not disclose, The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information further includes weather information regarding weather conditions which were prevailing in an environment of the vehicle at a time when the driver actively intervened in the automatic speed control, and wherein the speed is adjusted when comparable weather conditions are present.
However, Scofield does teach The method according to claim 1, speed information further includes weather information regarding weather conditions which were prevailing in an environment of the vehicle at a time when the driver actively intervened in the automatic speed control, and wherein the speed is adjusted when comparable weather conditions are present. (Scofield Paragraph 0004: “Presented herein are techniques for personalizing the automated control of a vehicle based on the driving behavior of the user. In accordance with these techniques, while a user is operating a vehicle in a driving context (e.g., during the day, at night, or during bad weather), a device may monitor respective driving features of the vehicle during operation in the driving context (e.g., detecting vehicle speed, rates of acceleration and braking, and braking distance maintained with respect to leading vehicles) in order to detect the user driving behaviors of the user in the driving context (e.g., whether the user typically drives over or at the speed limit; whether the user typically accelerates quickly or slowly from stoplights; whether the user accelerates or decelerates quickly or slowly in order to adjust the speed of the vehicle toward a change in a speed limit; and whether the user typically maintains a long or short braking distance with respect to leading vehicles). When requested to control a driving feature of the vehicle in a driving context (e.g., by the user, or upon detecting a condition where autonomous control is to be spontaneously invoked, such as an emergency braking system), a controller may identify the user driving behavior of the user in the driving context, and may operate the driving feature of the vehicle according to the identified user driving behavior. In this manner, the automated control of the vehicle may be personalized to the user driving behaviors of one or more users”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to include The method according to claim 1, speed information further includes weather information regarding weather conditions which were prevailing in an environment of the vehicle at a time when the driver actively intervened in the automatic speed control, and wherein the speed is adjusted when comparable weather conditions are present taught by Scofield. This would have been for the benefit to have techniques for personalizing the automated control of a vehicle based on the driving behavior of the user. [Scofield Paragraph 0004]
Regarding claim 8, Schofield discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the weather information includes information regarding snowfall, or precipitation, or visibility, or light conditions, or black ice, or roadway wetness (Schofield Column 2, line number 18-26: “For example, the image processor may preferably derive further information from the processed captured images, such as a determination of location, intensity and type of oncoming headlamps or leading taillights being approached by the vehicle, rain or fog or the like present and detected within the forward field of view, a presence of obstacles or objects or vehicles in the forward field of view and/or the like, such as in connection with a headlamp control system, a precipitation sensor,”).
Regarding claim 10, Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Schofield does not disclose The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information is stored as partial information in a driver profile, wherein the driver profile includes a plurality of items of speed information for a plurality of marked stretches of roadway of a plurality of roadways, wherein the speed information in the driver profile is based on active interventions in the automatic speed control by the driver during earlier journeys.
However, Scofield does teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information is stored as partial information in a driver profile, (Scofield Paragraph 0021: “For example, a first user 110 may operate a first vehicle 108 may be driven at a fast speed 114 with a short braking distance 114; a second user 110 may operate a second vehicle 108 may be driven at a medium speed 114 with a medium braking distance 114; and a third user 110 may operate a first vehicle 108 may be driven at a slow speed 114 with a large braking distance 114. Based on this monitoring, the device 202 may generate a set of user driving profiles 204, each indicating the user driving behaviors 208 of various driving features 206 of the vehicle 108.”). (Scofield Paragraph 0036: “ As a second example, while the user 110 is controlling the speed of the vehicle 108, the device may compare the speed of the vehicle 108 with the posted speed limit in order to determine the user's typical driving behaviors 208 for driving over, at, or under the speed limit; and when requested to maintain a steady speed, the device may continuously adapt the target speed with respect to the current speed limit in order to reflect the speed driving behaviors 208 of the user 110.”) wherein the driver profile includes a plurality of items of speed information for a plurality marked stretches of roadway of a plurality of roadways, wherein the speed information in the driver profile is based on active interventions in the automatic speed control by the driver during earlier journeys. (Scofield Paragraph 0021: “FIG. 2 presents an illustration of an example scenario featuring an application of the techniques presented herein. In this example scenario, at a first time point 200, while various users 110 are operating vehicles 108 in a driving context, a device 202 on board each vehicle 108 may monitor one or more user driving behaviors of various driving features of the vehicle 108, such as the speed 112 and braking distance 114 with respect to a leading vehicle 108. For example, a first user 110 may operate a first vehicle 108 may be driven at a fast speed 114 with a short braking distance 114; a second user 110 may operate a second vehicle 108 may be driven at a medium speed 114 with a medium braking distance 114; and a third user 110 may operate a first vehicle 108 may be driven at a slow speed 114 with a large braking distance 114. Based on this monitoring, the device 202 may generate a set of user driving profiles 204, each indicating the user driving behaviors 208 of various driving features 206 of the vehicle 108.”) (Note: Based on the monitoring the device can generate a set of user driving profiles, indicates the information is stored.) (Scofield Paragraph 0036: “Other examples of the types of use driving behaviors 208 that may be detected and utilized during automated control of the driving features 206 include the braking rates of the user 110 (e.g., whether the user prefers stopping over short distances or more gradually over longer distances); the speed and/or turning profile of the vehicle 108 while traversing curves;”)(Note: “while traversing curves” means a plurality of marked stretches of roadway of a plurality of roadways).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to include The method according to claim 1, wherein the speed information is stored as partial information in a driver profile, wherein the driver profile includes a plurality of items of speed information for a plurality of marked stretches of roadway of a plurality of roadways, wherein the speed information in the driver profile is based on active interventions in the automatic speed control by the driver during earlier journeys taught by Scofield. This would have been for the benefit to have techniques for personalizing the automated control of a vehicle based on the driving behavior of the user. [Scofield Paragraph 0004].
Regarding claim 13, Schofield in view of Scofield discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Schofield in view of Scofield do not teach The method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying the adjustment to be made of the speed regulated by the automatic speed control; and maintaining the speed regulated by the automatic speed control when the driver does not agree with the adjustment.
However, Pilutti does teach The method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying the adjustment to be made of the speed regulated by the automatic speed control; (Pilutti Paragraph 0030: “If implementing the ACC action 302 and/or the user-generated rule(s) would result in the speed of the vehicle 100 increasing, the cruise control adjuster 104 prompts the driver, via the infotainment head unit 106, to confirm the change before instructing the adaptive cruise control 102 to change its settings”) and maintaining the speed regulated by the automatic speed control when the driver does not agree with the adjustment. (Pilutti Paragraph 0044: “Otherwise, if the cruise control adjuster 104 determines that the driver does not confirm the ACC action 302, the cruise control adjuster 104 continues to monitor the location and the heading of the vehicle 100 (block 802). If some examples, the cruise control adjuster 104 determines that the driver does not confirm the ACC action 302 after a period of time (e.g., 15 second, 30 seconds, etc.) and/or after traveling a certain distance (e.g., 1 mile, 2 miles, etc.).”) (Note: If the driver does not confirm the action of the adaptive cruise control, then the speed stays the same.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield in view of Scofield to include The method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying the adjustment to be made of the speed regulated by the automatic speed control; and maintaining the speed regulated by the automatic speed control when the driver does not agree with the adjustment taught by Pilutti. This would have been for the benefit to provide the cruise control adjuster is configured to generate an action when a cruise control event is defined for the location. In the disclosed example the cruise control event is based on past changes to the adaptive cruise control at the location. The example cruise control adjuster is also configured to apply the action to the adaptive cruise control to change how the adaptive cruise control controls
the vehicle. [Pilutti Paragraph 0004]
Regarding claim 14, Schofield discloses A computing unit configured to adjust an automatic speed control of a vehicle, the computing unit comprising a processor configured to: (Schofield Column 3, line number 52-54: “Imaging system 12 includes a control including an image processor 16, which receives data from imaging device 14.”) receive environment sensor data of at least one environment sensor of the vehicle and/or map data of a map representation representing the environment of the vehicle; (Schofield Column 3, line number 48-52: “Referring now to the drawings and the illustrative embodiments depicted therein, a vehicle 10 includes an imaging system 12, which includes an imaging sensor or image capture device or camera 14, which captures images of a scene occurring exteriorly of the vehicle 10”)
based on the environment sensor data and/or the map data, determine a speed limit for a roadway being driven by the vehicle; (Schofield Column 3, line number 11-20: “Therefore, the present invention provides an imaging system that is operable to detect and recognize and read traffic control signage along the side (and/or above) the road along which the vehicle is traveling. The imaging system may then display information to the driver of the vehicle regarding the detected and recognized signage. The imaging system may provide a warning or alert signal to the driver if an unsafe or unwanted driving condition is encountered, such as when the vehicle is traveling at a speed that is substantially over the speed limit”) using the automatic cruise control, regulate a vehicle speed to a speed value corresponding to the speed limit; (Schofield Column 23, line number 28-35: “Optionally, the adaptive speed control may adjust the speed setting of the vehicle in response to the imaging system recognizing and identifying a change in speed limit. For example, if the vehicle is initially traveling at seventy miles per hour in a 65 miles per hour zone, and the imaging system detects a reduced speed limit to 45 miles per hour, the adaptive speed control may reduce the speed setting to fifty miles per hour or thereabouts.”)
based on the environment sensor data and/or based on the map data, identify a marked stretch of roadway of the roadway being driven by the vehicle; (Schofield Column 23, line number 15-18: “For example, an adaptive speed control system may reduce the set speed of the vehicle in response to the imaging system (or other forward facing vision system) detecting a curve in the road ahead of the vehicle”) […]
Schofield does not teach […] and adjust the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver.
However, Scofield does teach […] and adjust the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway (Scofield Paragraph 0036: “As a second example, while the user 110 is controlling the speed of the vehicle 108, the device may compare the speed of the vehicle 108 with the posted speed limit in order to determine the user's typical driving behaviors 208 for driving over, at, or under the speed limit; and when requested to maintain a steady speed, the device may continuously adapt the target speed with respect to the current speed limit in order to reflect the speed driving behaviors 208 of the user 110. Other examples of the types of use driving behaviors 208 that may be detected and utilized during automated control of the driving features 206 include the braking rates of the user 110 (e.g., whether the user prefers stopping over short distances or more gradually over longer distances); the speed and/or turning profile of the vehicle 108 while traversing curves;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to include […] and adjust the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway taught by Scofield. This would have been for the benefit to have techniques for personalizing the automated control of a vehicle based on the driving behavior of the user. [Scofield Paragraph 0004]
Scofield does not teach […] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver.
However, Pilutti does teach […] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver. (Pilutti Paragraph 0017: "Additionally, drivers adjust the settings of the adaptive cruise control, such as a desired speed and gap distance. Traditionally, the driver frequently manually adjusts these commands and/or settings based on factors related to the road, such as traffic density, speed limit, weather, and/or road condition, etc.”) (Pilutti Paragraph 0023: "As illustrated in FIG. 2, the vehicle includes an adaptive cruise control state database 200 to store the actions recorded by cruise control adjuster 104. The cruise control adjuster 104 creates event records 202 that include a current date field 204, a location field 206, an action field 208, setting field(s) 210, and an expiration date field 212.") (Pilutti Paragraph 0025: "The setting field(s) 210 record(s) the settings of the adaptive cruise control 102 in relation to the action recorded in the action field 208.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield in view of Scofield to include
[…] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver taught by Pilutti. This would have been for the benefit to provide the cruise control adjuster is configured to generate an action when a cruise control event is defined for the location. In the disclosed example the cruise control event is based on past changes to the adaptive cruise control at the location. The example cruise control adjuster is also configured to apply the action to the adaptive cruise control to change how the adaptive cruise control controls the vehicle. [Pilutti Paragraph 0004]
Regarding claim 15, Schofield discloses […] receiving environment sensor data of at least one environment sensor of the vehicle and/or map data of a map representation representing the environment of the vehicle; (Schofield Column 3, line number 48-52: “Referring now to the drawings and the illustrative embodiments depicted therein, a vehicle 10 includes an imaging system 12, which includes an imaging sensor or image capture device or camera 14, which captures images of a scene occurring exteriorly of the vehicle 10”) based on the environment sensor data and/or the map data, determining a speed limit for a roadway being driven by the vehicle; (Schofield Column 3, line number 11-20: “Therefore, the present invention provides an imaging system that is operable to detect and recognize and read traffic control signage along the side (and/or above) the road along which the vehicle is traveling. The imaging system may then display information to the driver of the vehicle regarding the detected and recognized signage. The imaging system may provide a warning or alert signal to the driver if an unsafe or unwanted driving condition is encountered, such as when the vehicle is traveling at a speed that is substantially over the speed limit”) using the automatic cruise control, regulating a vehicle speed to a speed value corresponding to the speed limit; (Schofield Column 23, line number 28-35: “Optionally, the adaptive speed control may adjust the speed setting of the vehicle in response to the imaging system recognizing and identifying a change in speed limit. For example, if the vehicle is initially traveling at seventy miles per hour in a 65 miles per hour zone, and the imaging system detects a reduced speed limit to 45 miles per hour, the adaptive speed control may reduce the speed setting to fifty miles per hour or thereabouts.”) based on the environment sensor data and/or based on the map data, identifying a marked stretch of roadway of the roadway being driven by the vehicle; (Schofield Column 23, line number 15-18: “For example, an adaptive speed control system may reduce the set speed of the vehicle in response to the imaging system (or other forward facing vision system) detecting a curve in the road ahead of the vehicle”) […]
Schofield does not teach A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium on which is stored a computer program including commands for adjusting an automatic speed control of a vehicle, the commands, when executed by a data processing unit, causing the data processing unit to perform the following steps: […] and adjusting the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway, wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver.
However, Scofield does teach A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium on which is stored a computer program including commands for adjusting an automatic speed control of a vehicle, the commands, when executed by a data processing unit, causing the data processing unit to perform the following steps: (Scofield Paragraph 0029: “Some embodiments of this computer-readable medium may comprise a non-transitory computer- readable storage medium (e.g., a hard disk drive, an optical disc, or a flash memory device) that is configured to store processor-executable instructions configured in this manner. Many such computer-readable media may be devised by those of ordinary skill in the art that are configured to operate in accordance with the techniques presented herein.”) […] and adjusting the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway, (Scofield Paragraph 0036: “As a second example, while the user 110 is controlling the speed of the vehicle 108, the device may compare the speed of the vehicle 108 with the posted speed limit in order to determine the user's typical driving behaviors 208 for driving over, at, or under the speed limit; and when requested to maintain a steady speed, the device may continuously adapt the target speed with respect to the current speed limit in order to reflect the speed driving behaviors 208 of the user 110. Other examples of the types of use driving behaviors 208 that may be detected and utilized during automated control of the driving features 206 include the braking rates of the user 110 (e.g., whether the user prefers stopping over short distances or more gradually over longer distances); the speed and/or turning profile of the vehicle 108 while traversing curves;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to include A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium on which is stored a computer program including commands for adjusting an automatic speed control of a vehicle, the commands, when executed by a data processing unit, causing the data processing unit to perform the following steps: […] and adjusting the vehicle speed regulated by the automatic speed control to a predefined vehicle speed stored in speed information for driving over the marked stretch of roadway, taught by Scofield. This would have been for the benefit to have techniques for personalizing the automated control of a vehicle based on the driving behavior of the user. [Scofield Paragraph 0004]
Scofield does not teach […] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver.
However, Pilutti does teach […] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver. (Pilutti Paragraph 0017: "Additionally, drivers adjust the settings of the adaptive cruise control, such as a desired speed and gap distance. Traditionally, the driver frequently manually adjusts these commands and/or settings based on factors related to the road, such as traffic density, speed limit, weather, and/or road condition, etc.”) (Pilutti Paragraph 0023: "As illustrated in FIG. 2, the vehicle includes an adaptive cruise control state database 200 to store the actions recorded by cruise control adjuster 104. The cruise control adjuster 104 creates event records 202 that include a current date field 204, a location field 206, an action field 208, setting field(s) 210, and an expiration date field 212.") (Pilutti Paragraph 0025: "The setting field(s) 210 record(s) the settings of the adaptive cruise control 102 in relation to the action recorded in the action field 208.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield in view of Scofield to include
[…] wherein the speed information is stored only when an active intervention in the automatic speed control by a driver of the vehicle was not caused by a traffic situation prevailing at a time of active intervention by the driver taught by Pilutti. This would have been for the benefit to provide the cruise control adjuster is configured to generate an action when a cruise control event is defined for the location. In the disclosed example the cruise control event is based on past changes to the adaptive cruise control at the location. The example cruise control adjuster is also configured to apply the action to the adaptive cruise control to change how the adaptive cruise control controls the vehicle. [Pilutti Paragraph 0004]
7. Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schofield (US 7616781 B2) in view of Scofield (US 20170015318 A1) further in view of Pilutti (US 20170282917 A1) further in view of Stenneth (US 9189897 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Schofield in view of Scofield and further in view of Pilutti does not teach claim 10, accordingly, the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated.
Schofield in view of Scofield and further in view of Pilutti does not teach The method according to claim 10, wherein the identification of the marked stretch of roadway includes: classifying the plurality of marked stretches of roadway in the driver profile; and identifying the stretch of roadway from the map data that can be assigned to a class of stretches of roadway in the driver profile.
However, Stenneth does teach The method according to claim 10, wherein the identification of the marked stretch of roadway includes: classifying the plurality of marked stretches of roadway in the driver profile; and identifying the stretch of roadway from the map data that can be assigned to a class of stretches of roadway in the driver profile. (Stenneth Column 15, line number 32: “FIG. 9 shows an example of constructing a driving profile.”) (Stenneth Column 15, line number 43-46: “Representative map-derived real world reference data include but are not limited to information regarding curvature, slope, lane width, road bank angle, and/or the like, and combinations thereof.”) (Stenneth Column 15, line number 47-57: “Real world reference data categorization may be used to configure a driverless system to automatically drive a vehicle like a driver on a road even when the driver has not previously driven on the road in question. By way of example, if an observation is made during construction of a driver's driving profile that the driver drives at 5 kph on a random hill called hill.sub.—1, the features of hill.sub.—1 may be extracted and categorized. Subsequently, for other hills that fall into the same category as hill.sub.—1, an autonomous vehicle may be autonomously driven in the same manner that the driver drove when ascending hill.sub.—1 (e.g., at 5 kph).”) (Stenneth Column 15, line number 58 - Column 16, line number 4: “To use real world reference data as an input for personalized driving in accordance with the present teachings, map features from a real world map may be categorized and labeled. For example, a hill identified in the map may be categorized as an element of the set {very steep, steep, and slightly steep}. This categorization may be performed by fitting the slope of the target hill into a predefined interval (e.g., a slope between 10 and 30 degrees is “slightly steep”; a slope between 31 and 50 degrees is “steep”; and a slope above 50 degrees is “very steep”). In a similar manner, turns may be categorized as sharp turns, slight right turns, sharp right turns, and/or the like. Roads are already categorized as functional classes (e.g., F4, F5, etc.). Lanes may also be further categorized.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti to include The method according to claim 10, wherein the identification of the marked stretch of roadway includes: classifying the plurality of marked stretches of roadway in the driver profile; and identifying the stretch of roadway from the map data that can be assigned to a class of stretches of roadway in the driver profile taught by Stenneth. This would have been for the benefit to have provided a ranking, by a processor, at least one segment of a roadway based on an amount of deviation between a true driving behavior on the at least one segment of the roadway and an expected driving behavior predefined for the at least one segment of the roadway. [Stenneth Column 1, line number 44-48]
Regarding claim 12, Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti and further in view of Stenneth teaches claim 11, accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 above is incorporated.
Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti does not teach The method according to claim 11, wherein the classification and the identification are performed by a correspondingly trained artificial intelligence.
However, Stenneth does teach wherein the classification and the identification are performed by a correspondingly trained artificial intelligence. (Stenneth Column 1, line number 53-60: “at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least the following: (a) rank at least one segment of a roadway based on an amount of deviation between a true driving behavior on the at least one segment of the roadway and an expected driving behavior predefined for the at least one segment of the roadway; and (b) communicate the ranking to a client.”) (Stenneth Column 9, line number 54-61: “In some embodiments, the communicating of ranking to a client may comprise aurally communicating information concerning a segment of a roadway to the user (e.g., through a user interface). In some embodiments, the user may interact with an artificial intelligence (e.g., an intelligent personal assistant or the like) to request that certain information be repeated, to request alternate information, and/or the like using, for example, a voice command device and/or the like.”) (Note: If the Intelligent Personal assistant can communicate the rankings to the user it can also rank at least one segment of the roadway) (Stenneth Column 15, line number 54-57: “Subsequently, for other hills that fall into the same category as hill.sub.—1, an autonomous vehicle may be autonomously driven in the same manner that the driver drove when ascending hill.sub.—1 (e.g., at 5 kph”). (Stenneth Column 15, line number 58-Column 16, line number 4: “To use real world reference data as an input for personalized driving in accordance with the present teachings, map features from a real world map may be categorized and labeled. For example, a hill identified in the map may be categorized as an element of the set {very steep, steep, and slightly steep}. This categorization may be performed by fitting the slope of the target hill into a predefined interval (e.g., a slope between 10 and 30 degrees is “slightly steep”; a slope between 31 and 50 degrees is “steep”; and a slope above 50 degrees is “very steep”). In a similar manner, turns may be categorized as sharp turns, slight right turns, sharp right turns, and/or the like. Roads are already categorized as functional classes (e.g., F4, F5, etc.). Lanes may also be further categorized.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield in view of Scofield further in view of Pilutti to include wherein the classification and the identification are performed by a correspondingly trained artificial intelligence taught by Stenneth. This would have been for the benefit to have provided a ranking, by a processor, at least one segment of a roadway based on an amount of deviation between a true driving behavior on the at least one segment of the roadway and an expected driving behavior predefined for the at least one segment of the roadway. [Stenneth Column 1, line number 44-48]
Conclusion
/K.J.H./Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664