3DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending.
s
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 12, 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pao et al, application no. 20200322887, hereinafter known as Pao.
As to claim 1, Pao discloses a method comprising: determining, by a wireless communication device, N sets of parameters, wherein N is a positive integer value (Pao, figure 2, overall set with positive integer value of beams and associated reference signals RS to be used by UE; figure 2, N set of overall beams and associated RSs in cell 200); determining, by the wireless communication device according to a layer 1 measurement, whether a condition of an event is satisfied (Pao, figure 7, [0072]-[0073], UE (wireless communication device), performs plural measurement of RS’s and based on the measurement results determining further processing for power saving configuration); and identifying, by the wireless communication device according to the determination, M sets of parameters from the N sets of parameters, wherein M is smaller than or equal to N (Pao, figure 7, [0072]-[0073], based on measurement results, choosing preferred set of RS’s to communicate with from an overall set, [0052], activation of the preferred set of RS performed by UE and/or base station).
As to claim 2, Pao discloses wherein the N sets of parameters corresponds to one serving cell (Pao, figure 2, N set of overall beams in cell 200).
As to claim 3, Pao discloses wherein each set of the N sets of parameters is associated with one of: one control m resource set (CORESET) pool, one group of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, one group of reference signals, one serving cell, one supplementary link, one combination of the one PCI and one piece of frequency information, or one combination of the one physical cell index (PCI), one piece of frequency information, and one piece of sub-carrier spacing (Pao, figure 2, overall set with positive integer value of beams and associated reference signals to be used by UE)
As to claim 4, Pao discloses determining, by the wireless communication device, to maintain or to suspend a first set of parameters while the wireless communication device applies the M sets of parameters (Pao, figure 7, [0072]-[0073], choosing preferred set of RS’s to communicate with from an overall set over; [0082], choosing among plural preferred reference sets M less than over reference set based on plural condition; [0052], activation of the preferred set of RS performed by UE and/or base station).
As to claim 5, Pao discloses switching, by the wireless communication device, from the first set to the M sets of parameters; or applying, by the wireless communication device, the first set and the M sets (Pao, figure 7, [0072]-[0073], choosing preferred set of RS’s to communicate with from an overall set over; [0082], choosing among plural preferred reference sets M less than over reference set based on plural condition; [0052], activation of the preferred set of RS performed by UE and/or base station).
As to claim 7, Pao discloses determining, by the wireless communication device, to maintain or to suspend the first set of parameters according to at least one of: a received signaling or capability information reported by the wireless communication device (Pao, [0042]-[0047]-[0052], based on received signal and measurements thereof choosing preferred beam set; power saving configuration used by UE to communicate with the preferred beams invariable requires maintaining set of parameters to communicate accordingly).
As to claim 9, Pao discloses wherein determining the N sets of parameters comprises: determining, by the wireless communication device, the N sets of parameters according to an activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Pao, [0016], RS set parameters used by UE based on TCI of a PDCCH).
As to claim 12, Pao discloses wherein at least one of: each of the Y measurement reference signal groups is associated with one of the M sets of parameters, wherein Y is smaller than or equal to M; each of the Y measurement reference signal groups is associated with one of the N sets of parameters, wherein Y is smaller than or equal to N; or the first measurement reference signal group is associated with a first set of parameters (Pao, figure 7, [0072]-[0073], choosing preferred set of RS’s to communicate with from an overall set over; [0082], choosing among plural preferred reference sets M less than over reference set based on plural conditions, figure 4-6, plural reference signals groups smaller than the available reference group).
As to claim 13, Pao disclose wherein the first measurement reference signal group includes more than one group, each of which is associated with a corresponding first set of parameters (Pao, figure 7, [0072]-[0073], choosing preferred set of RS’s to communicate with from an overall set over; [0082], choosing among plural preferred reference sets M less than over reference set based on plural conditions, figure 4-6, plural reference signals groups smaller than the available reference group)
As to claim 15, Pao discloses further comprising one of: performing, by the wireless communication device according to the M sets of parameters, a first transmission or reception; performing, by the wireless communication device according to the M sets of parameters, the first transmission or reception, and a second transmission; performing, by the wireless communication device according to the M sets of parameters, the second transmission; or performing, by the wireless communication device according to a first set of parameters, the second transmission (Pao, figure 7, [0075]-[0077], UE measuring reference set and using the preferred one accordingly to communicate in power saving configuration)
As to claim 16, Pao discloses wherein a set of the N sets of parameters includes at least one of: a parameter of a synchronization signal, a parameter of a slot structure, a physical cell index (PCI), a parameter indicating frequency resource of a carrier, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) parameter, a measurement reference signal parameter, a rate matching parameter, a sub-carrier spacing parameter, a power control parameter, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration, a transmission configuration index (TCI) state configuration, a spatial relation configuration, a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration, a parameter used to get the mapping relationship between a synchronization signal resource and a PRACH resource, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) configuration, a long term evolution (LTE) cell specific reference signal (CRS) configuration, a timing advance (TA) parameter, a frequency resource parameter corresponding to one set of the N set of parameters, a time resource parameter corresponding to one set of the N set of parameters, a path loss reference parameter, a bandwidth part (BWP) parameter, a beam failure parameter, a system information block (SIB) configuration, a parameter of common control information, or a hybrid automatic request (HARQ) feedback parameter (Pao, [0061], PDCCH and PDSCH parameter of reference set).
As to claim 17, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 above by Pao.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pao in view of Dalsgaard et al, application no. 2021/0344402, hereinafter known as Dalsgaard.
As to claim 11, Pao discloses the method of claim 1. Pao further discloses wherein the condition of the event comprises one of: measurement result of Y measurement reference signal groups is better than measurement result of a first measurement reference signal group; a layer 1 measurement result of the measurement reference signal groups is worse than a first threshold, and the layer 1 measurement result of the Y measurement reference signal groups is better than a second threshold; the layer 1 measurement result of the Y measurement reference signal groups is better than the second threshold; or expiration of a specific timer, wherein Y is equal to or larger than 1 (Pao, figure 7, [0072]-[0073], choosing preferred set of RS’s to communicate with from an overall set over; [0082], choosing among plural preferred reference sets M less than over reference set based on plural condition). Pao does not expressly disclose however Dalsgaard discloses a layer 1 measurements of the reference set (Dalsgaard, [0010]-[0011], layer 1 measurement of reference signal strength compared against a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of to include the limitations of a layer 1 measurements of the reference set as taught by Dalsgaard. Measuring layer 1 of reference signals are well known in the art to get indication of communication environment and adjust communications accordingly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 8, 10 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467