DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 27 February 2026. Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10-13, 16, 18 and 20 are amended. Claims 2 and 14 had been canceled before. No claim has been added. Claims 1 and 3-13 and 15-20 are pending in the application and have been considered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that ["In summary, neither Huang nor Kim, nor their combination, discloses the newly added technical feature of claim 1:"at least one of the presentation tags corresponding to the first books is determined based on at least one of the reading progress and the reading frequency of the first book." Furthermore, Wable, Wang, and Guan, whether taken alone or in combination, also do not disclose or suggest the aforementioned distinguishing technical feature of claim 1" (Page 13)].
The argument described above has been considered, and are persuasive. Therefore, rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground of rejection is made, citing the new reference HUANG et al. (WO2022179319A1) (see new claim 1 rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the user" at the end of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitations "the user" at the end of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitations "the user" at the end of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-12, 9-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite as they are dependent on claims 1 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-9, 13, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG (CN114925285B) in view of KIM et al. (US20120260163A1) and further in view of HUANG et al. (WO2022179319A1) [hereinafter HUANG2].
As to claim 1, HUANG teaches a method for presenting book information (see figs. 1-5, page 1, ll. 19-20, wherein the present disclosure relates to the technical field of electronic books, and in particular to a book information processing method, device, equipment and storage medium; as taught by HUANG), comprising: retrieving, in response to a user’s access request for a read history page (see page 6, ll. 9-11, wherein the target trigger operation is a trigger operation for triggering the display of a book page, which matches the book page, that is, different book pages can correspond to different target trigger operations; as taught by HUANG), book basic information corresponding to first books, each of the first books being a book historically read by the user (see page 6, ll. 14-15, wherein a book page can be a bookshelf page, a bookstore page, a historical book page showing multiple historically read books, etc.; as taught by HUANG); retrieving presentation tags corresponding to the first books, wherein the presentation tags are determined based on interactive information of the first books; and displaying, on the read history page, the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books (see page 6, ll. 13-24, wherein the book page is used to display the book attribute information of multiple books. For example, a book page can be a bookshelf page, a bookstore page, a historical book page showing multiple historically read books, etc. in a book reading application. The book attribute information here refers to the attribute information describing the book from various dimensions, for example, it can be book identification information for identifying books (such as book name, book cover picture, book introduction animation or video, etc.), or it can be book heat (such as rating, number of readers, ranking, etc.) and book reviews used to characterize the popularity of books, or it can be the completion of books used to characterize the writing of books (such as serialization, completion, etc.), or it can be the reading status of books used to characterize the reading of books (such as read and not finished, unread, finished, etc.), etc.; as taught by HUANG); wherein the interactive information comprises at least one of an access channel and a historical reading status of a corresponding first book (see page 7, ll. 22-25, wherein the history read books here refer to books that have been read but not finished in the time period before the current moment. As shown in Figure 3, the electronic device 300 displays a history book page 301, and displays the book attribute information 302 of multiple history read books in the history book page 301; see also page 11, ll. 17-22; as taught by HUANG).
HUANG does not expressly teach and the historical reading status comprises reading progress and a reading frequency of the corresponding first book, and at least one of the presentation tags corresponding to the first books is determined based on at least one of the reading progress and the reading frequency of the first book.
In similar field of endeavor, KIM teaches and the historical reading status comprises reading progress and a reading frequency of the corresponding first book (See figs. 13A-13B, par. 0174, wherein in FIGS. 13A and 13B, it is assumed that information regarding the period of time an e-book is read is stored in a bookmark. In one embodiment, the information can include e-book reading progress over a period of time; see also par. 0175, wherein reading progresses 1320 of each user reading the e-book are represented by line graphs above the table of contents 1310 in an upper region of the touch screen 151; see also Fig. 12, par. 0168, wherein an e-book icon 1210 having a high reading frequency or an e-book icon 1240 of a recently read e-book can be displayed by protruding out further than other e-book icons 1220 and 1230. In one embodiment, the degree of protrusion of the e-book icon 1210 corresponds to the extent of the reading frequency; see also pars. 0013-0014, 0028-0038 and 0176; as taught by KIM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HUANG apparatus to include the teachings of KIM for and the historical reading status comprises reading progress and a reading frequency of the corresponding first book. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as usage of the social network service (SNS) continues to increase, the need for sharing information such as reading progress and a reading frequency associated with e-books with other users also increases (see KIM, par. 0005).
HUANG and KIM do not expressly teach and at least one of the presentation tags corresponding to the first books is determined based on at least one of the reading progress and the reading frequency of the first book.
In similar field of endeavor, HUANG2 teaches (see page 42, ll. 19-27, wherein The process for the mobile phone to determine, according to the neural network model, whether the digest A is what the user wishes to add to the digest to be read later, is similar to the aforementioned training process. For example, the mobile phone can input reading features such as reading time, reading times, and reading progress of abstract A into the trained perceptron, and the perceptron can output the output corresponding to abstract A according to the reading time, reading frequency, and reading progress of abstract A. The result is 1 or -1. If the output result is 1, it means that abstract A is the abstract that the user wants to add to later reading; if the output result is -1, it means that abstract A is not the abstract that the user wants to add to later reading; as taught by HUANG2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HUANG and KIM apparatus to include the teachings of HUANG2 for HUANG2. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as at present, mobile phones are not smart enough to collect abstracts offline for users, and need to rely on a series of user active operations. Take a system-level favorite—read later, which is used to realize offline collection function, as an example. When a user needs to add an abstract to read later, he needs to first press two fingers to evoke the mobile phone for the user to actively collect the abstract. Then, you need to actively perform corresponding addition operations on this interface before you can add abstracts to Read Later. Therefore, there is a need for an electronic device which can enable a terminal device to more intelligently and automatically collect media resources desired by a user, no longer rely on the user's active operation, and simplify the collection of media resources (see HUANG2, page 3, ll. 1-13)
As to claim 3, HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 teach the limitations of claim 1. HUANG further teaches wherein the access channel comprises a search channel (see page 6, ll. 9-13, wherein the target trigger operation is a trigger operation for triggering display of the book page, which matches the book page, that is, different book pages may correspond to different target trigger operations. The trigger operation may be, for example, a touch operation such as a click, a touch, or the like, or may be a non-contact operation such as voice control or eye movement control; as taught by HUANG) and a distribution channel, and wherein the distribution channel comprises at least one of: a book ranking list, a book recommendation video, and a community topic post (see page 6, ll. 16-24, wherein the book attribute information herein refers to related attribute information that describes a book from various dimensions, for example, may be book identification information (for example, a book name, a book cover picture, a book brief animation or a video) used to identify a book, or may be a book popularity (for example, a score, a number of reads, a ranking, etc.), a book comment, and the like that are used to represent a popularity degree of a book; as taught by HUANG).
As to claim 4, HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 teach the limitations of claim 1. HUANG further teaches wherein displaying, on the read history page, the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books comprises: displaying, in a case that the presentation tags are determined based on access channels of the corresponding first books, the book basic information corresponding to the first books, the presentation tags characterizing the corresponding access channels, and channel identifiers of the corresponding access channels, and triggering the channel identifiers to access channel interfaces corresponding to the access channels (see figs 2-3, page 7, ll. 15-25, wherein when the book page is a history book page, the user can perform a history book access operation. For example, the user triggers the control corresponding to the "History" function set in the bottom area of the application shown in Figure 2, or the user triggers the label control corresponding to the "Browse History" function set in the top area of the application shown in Figure 2. After the electronic device detects the history book access operation, it displays the history book page in response to the history book access operation, and displays the book attribute information of each history read book in the history book page. The history read books here refer to books that have been read but not finished in the time period before the current moment. As shown in Figure 3, the electronic device 300 displays a history book page 301, and displays the book attribute information 302 of multiple history read books in the history book page 301; as taught by HUANG).
As to claim 8, HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 teach the limitations of claim 1. HUANG further teaches wherein the book basic information comprises: result information on whether corresponding first books have been added to a shelf (see page 1, ll. 23-25, wherein in book reading applications, books that a user has read are presented on a bookshelf page if the user has added them to a bookshelf; if the user has not added them to a bookshelf, they are presented in the user's browsing history; as taught by HUANG);
and the read history page further presents a target filter control indicating only displaying first books unadded to the shelf; and the method further comprises: displaying on the read history page, in response to a trigger request for the target filter control, the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books unadded to the shelf (see figs. 2-3, page 7, ll. 15-25, wherein when the book page is a history book page, the user can perform a history book access operation. For example, the user triggers the control corresponding to the "History" function set in the bottom area of the application shown in Figure 2, or the user triggers the label control corresponding to the "Browse History" function set in the top area of the application shown in Figure 2. After the electronic device detects the history book access operation, it displays the history book page in response to the history book access operation, and displays the book attribute information of each history read book in the history book page. The history read books here refer to books that have been read but not finished in the time period before the current moment. As shown in Figure 3, the electronic device 300 displays a history book page 301, and displays the book attribute information 302 of multiple history read books in the history book page 301; as taught by HUANG).
As to claim 9, HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 teach the limitations of claim 8. HUANG further teaches transferring, in response to a first operation of adding to a designated folder triggered for a first target book in the first books unadded to the shelf, the first target book to the designated folder, the designated folder being a shelf designated to a user or a folder pre-created by the user (See Fig. 4, page 12, ll. 7-11, wherein the referring to (a) in FIG. 4 , the electronic device 410 displays a banner control in the upper area of the main display area of the bookshelf page 411 as a book entry control 412, and displays prompt information such as “My Treasure Books” and book-related identification pictures in the book entry control 412 to prompt the user to view the buried target read books by triggering the book entry control 412; as taught by HUANG).
Claims 13 and 15-16 amount to the electronic device, and the computer program product for executing the method of claims 1 and 3-4, respectively. Accordingly, claims 13 and 15-16 are rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claims 1 and 3-4, respectively, and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 20 amounts to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having program codes stored thereon which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute the method of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 1 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG (CN114925285B) in view of KIM et al. (US20120260163A1) and further in view of HUANG et al. (WO2022179319A1) [hereinafter HUANG2] and further view of WABLE et al. (US20160371388A1).
As to claim 5, HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 teach the limitations of claim 4. HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 do not expressly teach in a case that the access channels are search channels, the channel identifiers are corresponding search page identifiers, and the channel interfaces are search page presentation interfaces; in a case that the access channels are book recommendation videos, the channel identifiers are corresponding video identifiers, and the channel interfaces are video presentation interfaces corresponding to the video identifiers; and in a case that the access channels are community topic posts, the channel identifiers are corresponding topic post identifiers, and the channel interfaces are topic post interfaces corresponding to the topic post identifiers.
In similar field of endeavor, WABLE teaches in a case that the access channels are search channels, the channel identifiers are corresponding search page identifiers, and the channel interfaces are search page presentation interfaces; in a case that the access channels are book recommendation videos, the channel identifiers are corresponding video identifiers, and the channel interfaces are video presentation interfaces corresponding to the video identifiers; and in a case that the access channels are community topic posts, the channel identifiers are corresponding topic post identifiers, and the channel interfaces are topic post interfaces corresponding to the topic post identifiers (See Figs. 1A-1C, par. 0026, wherein as illustrated in FIG. 1B, the real time search engine then communicates this filtered view 106 of posts to the user's client device. Thus, in the example above, a query 102 for the term “Obama” may be executed by the real time search engine. As a result, a filtered view 106 of posts containing the term 108 “Obama” would be presented to the user through a communication channel such as a stream, news feed, ranked search results, etc. FIG. 1B illustrates the search results of the query 102 for “Obama” among the posts that are further filtered to only include posts made by the searching user's connections. FIG. 1C illustrates the search results of the query 102 for “Obama” among all posts by everyone on the social networking system. A filtered view 114 shows posts including the term 108 “Obama” that were posted by everyone on the social networking system; see also pars. 0027-0029; as taught by WABLE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 apparatus to include the teachings of WABLE for in a case that the access channels are search channels, the channel identifiers are corresponding search page identifiers, and the channel interfaces are search page presentation interfaces; in a case that the access channels are book recommendation videos, the channel identifiers are corresponding video identifiers, and the channel interfaces are video presentation interfaces corresponding to the video identifiers; and in a case that the access channels are community topic posts, the channel identifiers are corresponding topic post identifiers, and the channel interfaces are topic post interfaces corresponding to the topic post identifiers. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as it is beneficial for the users to see the source and the identification of the search result so that it is possible to go to the source for further search.
Claim 17 amounts to the electronic device, and the computer program product for executing the method of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 5, and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG (CN114925285B) in view of KIM et al. (US20120260163A1) and further in view of HUANG et al. (WO2022179319A1) [hereinafter HUANG2] and further view of WANG et al. (CN114647782A).
As to claim 10, HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 teach the limitations of claim 8. HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 do not expressly teach transferring, in response to an automatic classification instruction, based on kinds of the first books unadded to the shelf, the first books unadded to the shelf to folders matching their kinds.
In similar field of endeavor, WANG teaches transferring, in response to an automatic classification instruction, based on kinds of the first books unadded to the shelf, the first books unadded to the shelf to folders matching their kinds (See page 5, ll. 21-25, wherein books on the bookshelf refer to books added to the bookshelf. For example, after the user performs a payment operation on the book, the book is automatically added to the bookshelf. After the user performs a trial reading trigger operation on the book, the book is automatically added to the bookshelf. The book is added to the bookshelf after the trigger action to the bookshelf; as taught by WANG).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 apparatus to include the teachings of WANG for transferring, in response to an automatic classification instruction, based on kinds of the first books unadded to the shelf, the first books unadded to the shelf to folders matching their kinds. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as it is beneficial for the users for the books to be categorized automatically because that is effortless classification without any interference from the user.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG (CN114925285B) in view of KIM et al. (US20120260163A1) and further in view of HUANG et al. (WO2022179319A1) [hereinafter HUANG2] and further view of GUAN et al. (CN114722292A).
As to claim 11, HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 teach the limitations of claim 1. HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 do not expressly teach wherein the book basic information comprises a book cover; and the method further comprises: retrieving score information corresponding to the first books; and displaying, on the read history page, book covers incorporating the score information corresponding to the first books.
In similar field of endeavor, GUAN teaches wherein the book basic information comprises a book cover; and the method further comprises: retrieving score information corresponding to the first books (See Figs. 1-5, page 9, ll. 25-27, wherein the book information includes book identification and book interaction information. The book interaction information includes the user's comments on the book, the number of likes, the rating, the number of shares, and the like; as taught by GUAN);
and displaying, on the read history page, book covers incorporating the score information corresponding to the first books (See Figs. 2-4, page 9, ll. 25-27, wherein every book has the associated score depicted next or underneath; as taught by GUAN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 apparatus to include the teachings of GUAN for wherein the book basic information comprises a book cover; and the method further comprises: retrieving score information corresponding to the first books; and displaying, on the read history page, book covers incorporating the score information corresponding to the first books. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as this way, more dimensions of reference information can be provided for the user to select books, thereby improving the efficiency of the user's selection of books(see GUAN, page 9, ll. 27-29).
As to claim 12, HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 teach the limitations of claim 1. HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 do not expressly teach retrieving book basic information corresponding to second books, each of the second books being a book historically read by the user; and displaying, on the read history page, the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books comprises: displaying the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books, and the book basic information corresponding to the second books.
In similar field of endeavor, GUAN teaches retrieving book basic information corresponding to second books, each of the second books being a book historically read by the user; and displaying, on the read history page, the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books comprises: displaying the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books, and the book basic information corresponding to the second books (See Figs. 1-5, page 13, ll. 10-20, wherein referring to Figure 3, the target search content is the book search content "Culture**". A search result page 301 is displayed in the electronic device 300, and a first area 302 of the search result page 301 displays a plurality of book search results. In the second area 303 immediately below the first area 302, a book aggregation card "Those who read "Culture **" are also displayed. Each recommended book category 304 is displayed on the upper edge of the book aggregation card. In addition, the electronic device displays the target book category "Literary Fiction" in a first preset style with bold text and borders, and displays other book categories "Books by the same author" in a second preset style with no bold text and borders. ” and “Poetry and Prose”, etc. And, the electronic device displays a plurality of book information 305 corresponding to the target book category "literary novel" in the lower half area of the book aggregation card; as taught by GUAN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HUANG, KIM and HUANG2 apparatus to include the teachings of GUAN for retrieving book basic information corresponding to second books, each of the second books being a book historically read by the user; and displaying, on the read history page, the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books comprises: displaying the book basic information and the presentation tags corresponding to the first books, and the book basic information corresponding to the second books. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as it is advantageous to display similar books to the user after the user has performed a search to find other items in the same category.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Publication Number
Filing Date
Title
US20120016774A1
2022-01-07
Media resource collection method, electronic device and storage medium
/KOOROSH NEHCHIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174