DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Comments
Status of claims as of the Final Rejection mailed June 8, 2026:
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16-19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, a mental process, without significantly more. Claim 1-10 and 12-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) regards as the invention. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 20, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1). Claim(s) 4, 8, and 19, were objected to as being allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to the Final Rejection, Remarks filed August 10, 2026
Responsive to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, independent claim(s) 1 and 16, have each been further limited such that the obtaining a first indication by the terminal, is now, “obtaining a first indication by the terminal from a network-side device”. The amendments made in light of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been accompanied by arguments. Responsive to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(B) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, Applicants have amended each of independent claim(s) 1, 13, and 16, such that “one or more uplink transmissions” are now “multiple uplink transmissions. The amendments made in light of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been accompanied by arguments. Responsive to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 103, Applicants have amended each of independent claim(s) 1, 13, and 16, such that “…the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions…”. The amendments made in light of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been accompanied by arguments. The amendments and arguments are addressed below.
35 U.S.C. 101
Applicants’ arguments and amendments responsive to the rejections of claim(s) 1-12 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more are effective. Accordingly, the rejections of claim(s) 1-12 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA )
Applicants’ arguments and amendments responsive to the rejections of claims 1-10 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are effective. Accordingly, the rejections of claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph are withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicants’ arguments and amendments responsive to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicants that the combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1) fail to render obvious the features of amended claim(s) 1, 13 and 16. Specifically Applicants argue that the combination fails to teach and/or suggest at least a feature for claim 1, “wherein the first rule comprises: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s); wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase.”. In the Final Rejection QIAO was found to be deficient on said feature, and LY was relied upon to at least in combination with CAO to suggest or teach, “…wherein the first rule comprises: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present… wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase….”
Responsive to this finding, Applicants have amended independent claim(s) 1, by removing ”…a downlink transmission and/or symbol is present” from the at least of the following first conditions and argue that LY was silent on the remaining first conditions. See the Remarks, where
“…According to the office action, Ly discloses the feature "a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present" but does not disclose, teach or suggest the other alternatives of the first conditions. Further, the features "a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present" has been deleted. Therefore, all the alternatives of the first conditions in amended claim 1 are not disclosed, taught or suggested by Ly.”
In response to the argument, it is noted that the Office Action stated that LY was found to teach and/or suggest with respect to the first conditions “…a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present…”. The Office Action did not mention whether LY suggested the other first conditions recited in claim 1. Thus, the argument that, “…the alternatives of the first conditions in amended claim 1 are not disclosed, taught or suggested by Ly…” because “According to the office action, Ly…does not disclose, teach or suggest the other alternatives of the first conditions…” is not persuasive. The combination of QIAO in view LY has been found to at least teach with respect to “the first conditions” and in addition to “a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present”, where “the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s)..” Further see the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103 below. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1) is maintained. Furthermore, as the amendments and arguments for independent claim(s) 13 and 16 are substantially the same as that of claim 1, the rejections of said claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1) are also maintained. The rejection(s) of the remaining claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 are also maintained by virtue of dependency on any one of the independent claims. Finally, a new ground of rejections have been raised for claim(s) 4 and 19, necessitated by amendments made to each of the claims (The claims have been amended to now at least recite “that the second time window further satisfies at least one of the following first condition: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present..”). See the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1)
In regards to claim 1, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) teaches a method for determining an uplink transmission time window, performed by a terminal and comprising: obtaining a first indication from a network side device; and determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which multiple uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic (QIAO teaches a terminal obtaining a first indication, first message. QIAO further teaches determining, based on the first message, a first rule, length of a time domain window (TDW), in which one or more uplink transmissions, repeated msg3 messages, satisfy a first transmission characteristic, the first transmission characteristic being that joint estimation can be performed for the uplink transmissions occurring within the TDW, “[0044] Joint channel estimation has been proposed in the new generation version of communication technology to enhance the coverage of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). In addition, it is proposed that PUSCH type A repetition is used to enhance the coverage of MSG3. The introduction of MSG3 type A repetition makes cross-slot channel estimation possible. [0045] During reception of MSG3 repetition, under a certain condition, the network side device can perform the cross-slot channel estimation. Therefore, for the joint channel estimation, taking the gNB as an example of the network side device, both the gNB and the UE need a Time Domain Window (TDW), during which the UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity to cooperate with the gNB to perform the joint channel estimation within the TDW… [0059] In the embodiment of the disclosure, the first message is used for the terminal to determine a configuration parameter for a network side device to perform joint channel estimation. The configuration parameter may include indication information for indicating enabling the joint channel estimation and/or a fixed parameter value or a parameter set for determining a length of a TDW of the joint channel estimation. The parameter set or the fixed parameter value for determining the TDW of the joint channel estimation determined by the terminal can be indicated by the network side device (such as a base station), or can be determined based on a communication protocol. The way of indicated by the network side includes multiple indication methods, which may refer to the following embodiments.”);
QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) differs from claim 1 in that QIAO is silent on wherein the first rule comprises: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s); wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY in [Fig. 6] teaches a feature which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nominal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according to the size of the second time window (length of time of the collection of TTIs forming time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 55] [Par. 216 – Par. 217], where phase continuity can be satisfied by multiple transmissions/repetitions having a same transmission power level) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: the second time window, time window 605, consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for uplink transmissions(s);
Thus, based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window using a first rule comprising: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s), wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 16, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) teaches a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, implementing (QIAO teaches a terminal comprising a processor, memory, and a program/instructions stored in the memory, the instructions that when executed perform features described throughout the disclosure of QIAO “[0005] According to a first aspect of the disclosure, an indication method is provided. The indication method is performed by a terminal, and includes: [0006] determining a first message, in which the first message is used to indicate a configuration parameter of joint channel estimation of a network side device…[0009] According to a third aspect of the disclosure, an indication device is provided. The indication device includes: [0010] a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor. The processor is configured execute the indication method in the first aspect or any implementation of the first aspect, or execute the indication method in the second aspect or any implementation of the second aspect.”): obtaining a first indication from a network-side device; and determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which multiple uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic (QIAO teaches a terminal obtaining a first indication, first message. QIAO further teaches determining, based on the first message, a first rule, length of a time domain window (TDW), in which one or more uplink transmissions, repeated msg3 messages, satisfy a first transmission characteristic, the first transmission characteristic being that joint estimation can be performed for the uplink transmissions occurring within the TDW, “[0044] Joint channel estimation has been proposed in the new generation version of communication technology to enhance the coverage of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). In addition, it is proposed that PUSCH type A repetition is used to enhance the coverage of MSG3. The introduction of MSG3 type A repetition makes cross-slot channel estimation possible. [0045] During reception of MSG3 repetition, under a certain condition, the network side device can perform the cross-slot channel estimation. Therefore, for the joint channel estimation, taking the gNB as an example of the network side device, both the gNB and the UE need a Time Domain Window (TDW), during which the UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity to cooperate with the gNB to perform the joint channel estimation within the TDW… [0059] In the embodiment of the disclosure, the first message is used for the terminal to determine a configuration parameter for a network side device to perform joint channel estimation. The configuration parameter may include indication information for indicating enabling the joint channel estimation and/or a fixed parameter value or a parameter set for determining a length of a TDW of the joint channel estimation. The parameter set or the fixed parameter value for determining the TDW of the joint channel estimation determined by the terminal can be indicated by the network side device (such as a base station), or can be determined based on a communication protocol. The way of indicated by the network side includes multiple indication methods, which may refer to the following embodiments.”);
QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) differs from claim 16 in that QIAO is silent on wherein the first rule comprises: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s); wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY in [Fig. 6] teaches a feature which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nominal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according to the size of the second time window (length of time of the collection of TTIs forming time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 55] [Par. 216 – Par. 217], where phase continuity can be satisfied by multiple transmissions/repetitions having a same transmission power level) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: the second time window, time window 605, consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for uplink transmissions(s);
Thus, based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window using a first rule comprising: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s), wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase, to thus arrive at claim 16, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 13, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) teaches a method for determining an uplink transmission time window, performed by a network-side device and comprising: sending a first indication to a terminal, to make the terminal, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which multiple uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic, wherein the first indication is used to determine a first time window in which multiple uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic (QIAO teaches a network side device, network side device/ base station , sending a first indication, first message/parameter set, to a terminal. QIAO further teaches where the first message/parameter set, is used to determine a first time window, time domain window (TDW), in which one or more uplink transmissions, msg3 repetitions satisfy a first transmission characteristic, the first transmission characteristic being that joint estimation can be performed for uplink transmissions occurring within the TDW. “[0044] Joint channel estimation has been proposed in the new generation version of communication technology to enhance the coverage of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). In addition, it is proposed that PUSCH type A repetition is used to enhance the coverage of MSG3. The introduction of MSG3 type A repetition makes cross-slot channel estimation possible. [0045] During reception of MSG3 repetition, under a certain condition, the network side device can perform the cross-slot channel estimation. Therefore, for the joint channel estimation, taking the gNB as an example of the network side device, both the gNB and the UE need a Time Domain Window (TDW), during which the UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity to cooperate with the gNB to perform the joint channel estimation within the TDW… [0059] In the embodiment of the disclosure, the first message is used for the terminal to determine a configuration parameter for a network side device to perform joint channel estimation. The configuration parameter may include indication information for indicating enabling the joint channel estimation and/or a fixed parameter value or a parameter set for determining a length of a TDW of the joint channel estimation. The parameter set or the fixed parameter value for determining the TDW of the joint channel estimation determined by the terminal can be indicated by the network side device (such as a base station), or can be determined based on a communication protocol. The way of indicated by the network side includes multiple indication methods, which may refer to the following embodiments.”)
QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) differs from claim 13 in that QIAO is silent on wherein the first rule comprises: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s); wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY in [Fig. 6] teaches a feature which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nominal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according to the size of the second time window (length of time of the collection of TTIs forming time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 55] [Par. 216 – Par. 217], where phase continuity can be satisfied by multiple transmissions/repetitions having a same transmission power level) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: the second time window, time window 605, consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for uplink transmissions(s);
Thus, based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window using a first rule comprising: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s), wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase, to thus arrive at claim 13, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 20, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY is believed to suggest a network-side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 13 are implemented, for substantially the same reasons provided with respect to claim 13 (Furthermore, with respect to where a network side device comprises a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 13 are implemented, see where QIAO recites, “[0007] According to a second aspect of the disclosure, an indication method is provided. The indication method is performed by a network side device, and includes: [0008] determining a first message, in which the first message is used to indicate a configuration parameter for the network side device to perform joint channel estimation. [0009] According to a third aspect of the disclosure, an indication device is provided. The indication device includes: [0010] a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor. The processor is configured execute the indication method in the first aspect or any implementation of the first aspect, or execute the indication method in the second aspect or any implementation of the second aspect.”).
In regards to claim 2, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining a first indication comprises any one of the following: obtaining the first indication that is predefined; obtaining the first indication that is preconfigured; obtaining the first indication that is configured through a media access control (MAC) control element (CE); obtaining the first indication that is configured through a radio resource control (RRC) message; and obtaining the first indication that is configured through downlink control information (DCI) ( See QIAO where it recites “[0068] A way of explicit signaling indication can be used to indicate the enabling of the joint channel estimation. The explicit signaling can include Radio Resource Control (RRC) information, a System Information Block (SIB), DCI, a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), etc.”).
In regards to claim 14, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 13, wherein the sending a first indication comprises any one of the following: sending the first indication to the terminal through a media access control (MAC) control element (CE); sending the first indication to the terminal through a radio resource control (RRC) message; and sending the first indication to the terminal through downlink control information (DCI) ( See QIAO where it recites “[0068] A way of explicit signaling indication can be used to indicate the enabling of the joint channel estimation. The explicit signaling can include Radio Resource Control (RRC) information, a System Information Block (SIB), DCI, a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), etc.”).
In regards to claim 17, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the terminal according to claim 16, wherein the obtaining a first indication comprises any one of the following: obtaining the first indication that is predefined; obtaining the first indication that is preconfigured; obtaining the first indication that is configured through a media access control (MAC) control element (CE); obtaining the first indication that is configured through a radio resource control (RRC) message; and obtaining the first indication that is configured through downlink control information (DCI) (See QIAO where it recites, “[0068] A way of explicit signaling indication can be used to indicate the enabling of the joint channel estimation. The explicit signaling can include Radio Resource Control (RRC) information, a System Information Block (SIB), DCI, a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), etc.”).
In regards to claim 3, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the first indication comprises at least one of the following: size of a second time window; start time of the second time window; end time of the second time window; or repetition number N, wherein N is a positive integer (See QIAO where it recites, “[0076] In some embodiments of the disclosure, an implicit way may be used to indicate the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation. For example, the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation may be implicitly determined based on a number of repetitions. For example, the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation is a number of time slots corresponding to the number of repetitions /N. N is a positive integer, for example, N is 2. Certainly, this is only an example, and is not a specific limitation to the disclosure.”)
In regards to claim 15, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 13, wherein the first indication comprises at least one of the following: size of a second time window; start time of the second time window; end time of the second time window; or repetition number N, wherein N is a positive integer(See QIAO where it recites, “[0076] In some embodiments of the disclosure, an implicit way may be used to indicate the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation. For example, the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation may be implicitly determined based on a number of repetitions. For example, the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation is a number of time slots corresponding to the number of repetitions /N. N is a positive integer, for example, N is 2. Certainly, this is only an example, and is not a specific limitation to the disclosure.”)
In regards to claim 18, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the terminal according to claim 16, wherein the first indication comprises at least one of the following: size of a second time window; start time of the second time window; end time of the second time window; or repetition number N, wherein N is a positive integer(See QIAO where it recites “[0076] In some embodiments of the disclosure, an implicit way may be used to indicate the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation. For example, the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation may be implicitly determined based on a number of repetitions. For example, the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation is a number of time slots corresponding to the number of repetitions /N. N is a positive integer, for example, N is 2. Certainly, this is only an example, and is not a specific limitation to the disclosure.”)
In regards to claim 11, the combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the first transmission characteristic requires that the one or more uplink transmissions satisfy at least one of the following: having a same modulation scheme; having a same frequency position; having a same bandwidth; having same transmit power; having a transmit power difference less than a preset threshold; having a same beam; having a same transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI); having a same waveform; having a same transport block (TB) for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); having same uplink control information (UCI) for physical uplink control channel PUCCH; or having a same PUCCH format for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (See QIAO where it recites “[0045] During reception of MSG3 repetition, under a certain condition, the network side device can perform the cross-slot channel estimation. Therefore, for the joint channel estimation, taking the gNB as an example of the network side device, both the gNB and the UE need a Time Domain Window (TDW), during which the UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity to cooperate with the gNB to perform the joint channel estimation within the TDW. [0046] The terminal is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity during a process in which the gNB performs the joint channel estimation, and to maintain power consistency and phase continuity, the following relevant conditions may be met. [0047] (1) No change on modulation level. [0048] (2) No change on resource block (RB) allocation in terms of length and frequency position, and intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping cannot be enabled during a repetition process. [0049] (3) No change on a transmission power level. [0050] (4) No uplink (UL) beam switching of the terminal within the frequency range (FR) 2.”)
In regards to claim 12, the combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following: PUSCH repetition type A, PUSCH repetition type B, PUSCH transport block processing over multi-slot (TBoMS), PUCCH, or sounding reference signal (SRS) (See QIAO where it recites, “[0044] Joint channel estimation has been proposed in the new generation version of communication technology to enhance the coverage of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). In addition, it is proposed that PUSCH type A repetition is used to enhance the coverage of MSG3. The introduction of MSG3 type A repetition makes cross-slot channel estimation possible.”)
In regards to claim 4, the combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1) teaches the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window further satisfies at least one of the following first condition:
a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present;
the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a terminal capability, wherein the terminal capability means a maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied. QIAO is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 4, wherein the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window further satisfies at least one of the following first condition: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present; the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a terminal capability, wherein the terminal capability means a maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment.
LY in [Fig. 6] teaches a feature which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nominal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according to the size of the second time window (length of time of the collection of TTIs forming time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 55] [Par. 216 – Par. 217], where phase continuity can be satisfied by multiple transmissions/repetitions having a same transmission power level) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present (See [LI. Fig. 6] where downlink transmission(s) are present on slots, #0-4, #5-6, #10-12, #15-16, and #20-22 ).
Thus, based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window further satisfies at least one of the following first condition: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present; the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a terminal capability, wherein the terminal capability means a maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 19, the combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1) teaches the the terminal according to claim 16, the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window further satisfies at least one of the following first condition:
a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present;
the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a terminal capability, wherein the terminal capability means a maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment.
LY in [Fig. 6] teaches a feature which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nominal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according to the size of the second time window (length of time of the collection of TTIs forming time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 55] [Par. 216 – Par. 217], where phase continuity can be satisfied by multiple transmissions/repetitions having a same transmission power level) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present (See [LI. Fig. 6] where downlink transmission(s) are present on slots, #0-4, #5-6, #10-12, #15-16, and #20-22 ).
Thus, based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, the terminal according to claim 16, the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window further satisfies at least one of the following first condition: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present; the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a terminal capability, wherein the terminal capability means a maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied., in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 5, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the first rule further comprises: the following first manner is used to determine a start time of the first time window: a start time of the 1st first time window is a start time of a second time window, and a start time of each other first time window is the 1st orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a slot corresponding to the 1st actually available uplink transmission following an end time of a previous first time window, or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st actually available uplink transmission following the end time of the previous first time window;
and the following second manner is used to determine an end time of the first time window: an end time of the last first time window is an end time of the second time window, and an end time of each other first time window is a time that is a first time gap from a start time of the current first time window, wherein the first time gap is a minimum value of at least one of the following: size of the second time window; maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied; frequency hopping interval in time domain determined based on a configuration in a case of frequency hopping being enabled; time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st downlink transmission slot or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st downlink transmission symbol following the start time; time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of a resource following the start time, wherein the resource is unavailable for uplink transmission and satisfies a second condition, the second condition being that the number of consecutive symbols unavailable for uplink transmission exceeds X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; or time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st uplink transmission following the start time that is terminated or canceled; wherein the first time window consists of a set of actually available slots, symbols, or repetitions for the uplink transmission, wherein the set of actually available slots, symbols, or repetitions is semi-persistently or dynamically configured.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, where a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows, bundles, based on a size of the second time window, 4 symbols; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present (See [Fig. 6] which show five first time windows comprising only uplink transmission symbols “U”, excluding the downlink transmission symbols “D”. The first time window #1 consisting of symbol #4, the first time window #2 consisting of symbols #8 and #9, the first time window #3 consisting of symbol #14, the first time window #4 consisting of symbols #18 and #19, and the first time window #5 consisting of symbol #24). [Fig. 6] also illustrates where a start time of the 1st first time window is a start time of a second time window (Symbol #4 is the start of the first time window #1, and is the start of a second time window, bundle #0), and a start time of each other first time window is the 1st orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a slot corresponding to the 1st actually available uplink transmission following an end time of a previous first time window, or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st actually available uplink transmission following the end time of the previous first time window (See where for each of the subsequent first time windows, which begin with symbol(s) #4, #8, #18, and #24, respectively, correspond to the 1st actually available uplink transmission following an end time of the previous first time window, or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st actually available uplink transmission following the end time of the previous first time window ). [Fig. 6] also illustrates where a second manner is used to determine an end time of the first time window: an end time of the last first time window is an end time of the second time window (See [Fig. 6] where the last first time window which consists of symbol #24 is an end time of the second time window, bundle #5 ), and an end time of each other first time window is a time that is a first time gap from a start time of the current first time window, wherein the first time gap is a minimum value of at least one of the following: size of the second time window; maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied (See bundles illustrated in Fig. 6, where each bundles are a length of a time for keeping first transmission characteristic satisfied, phase continuity, for joint estimation, “[0155] A bundle size may define a number of consecutive transmission time intervals (TTIs) for a bundle interval, in which a set of repetitions of the uplink channel transmission may be bundled. As described herein, a bundle interval may refer to a time interval or a time domain window (e.g., of a defined length) over which DMRS or other bundling (e.g., maintaining a phase continuity) is applied or is configured to be applied. The UE may be configured with or determine a bundle size for a set of bundle intervals that each include a set of bundled repetitions of the uplink channel transmission. Some bundle intervals may not include any uplink TTIs (e.g., based on a TTI format pattern) and the UE may be unable to apply DMRS bundling (e.g., maintain phase continuity) in such bundle intervals. Additionally, or alternatively, a bundle interval may include one or more uplink TTIs that may not support phase continuity for repetitions of the uplink channel transmission within the bundle interval (e.g., based on one or more phase continuity rules).” ); frequency hopping interval in time domain determined based on a configuration in a case of frequency hopping being enabled; time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st downlink transmission slot or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st downlink transmission symbol following the start time; time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of a resource following the start time, wherein the resource is unavailable for uplink transmission and satisfies a second condition, the second condition being that the number of consecutive symbols unavailable for uplink transmission exceeds X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; or time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st uplink transmission following the start time that is terminated or canceled; wherein the first time window consists of a set of actually available slots, symbols, or repetitions for the uplink transmission, wherein the set of actually available slots, symbols, or repetitions is semi-persistently or dynamically configured.
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining the start and the end times of the first time windows to thus arrive at claim 5, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 9, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 3, wherein the start time of the second time window is at least one of the following: the 1st OFDM symbol of a slot corresponding to a current scheduled transmission; the 1st OFDM symbol of a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) corresponding to a current scheduled transmission; the 1st OFDM symbol of a slot corresponding to the 1st actual transmission of a current scheduled transmission; the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st actual transmission of a current scheduled transmission; or an absolute time with respect to a current scheduled transmission.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, where a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows, bundles, based on a size of the second time window, 4 symbols. [Fig. 6] also illustrates where the start time of the second time window, bundle #0, is 1st OFDM symbol, symbol #4, of a slot, corresponding to a current scheduled uplink transmission “U”.
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window, wherein the start time of the second time window is at least one of the following: the 1st OFDM symbol of a slot corresponding to a current scheduled transmission, to thus arrive at claim 9, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 10, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 3, wherein the end time of the second time window is at least one of the following: an end time of the last OFDM symbol of a current scheduled transmission; an end time that is M second time windows from the start time of the second time window, wherein M is a positive integer; an end time that is K first time windows from the start time of the second time window, wherein K is a positive integer; and an end time that is a preset time length from the start time of the second time window.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, where a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows, bundles, based on a size of the second time window, 4 symbols. [Fig. 6] also illustrates where an end time of the second window, bundle #5, is an end time of the last OFDM symbol, symbol #24, of a current scheduled transmission;
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window, wherein the end time of the second time window is at least one of the following: an end time of the last OFDM symbol of a current scheduled transmission, to thus arrive at claim 10, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 6, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein in the case of frequency hopping being enabled, each second time window corresponds to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position determined by a first sequence number, wherein the first sequence number is at least one of the following: sequence number of the second time window; sequence number of the 1st or last slot of the second time window; sequence number of the 1st slot for actual uplink transmission in the second time window; or sequence number of the 1st repetition for actual uplink transmission in the second time window.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, with frequency hopping enabled, with each second time window, (bundles # 0 – bundles # 4) corresponding to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position being determined by a sequence number, sequence number of a second time window, “[0219] In cases where a bundle interval 620 does not include any uplink TTIs 605 (e.g., or flexible TTIs 605 for an uplink transmission), the UE 115 may determine a frequency hop 625 (e.g., frequency locations or resources) for each repetition 615 of the uplink channel transmission based on an index of a corresponding bundle interval 620. The index may be different from an actual bundle number (e.g., different from Bundle 0, Bundle 1, etc.). For example, the UE 115 may transmit corresponding repetitions 615 of the uplink channel transmission at a frequency hop 1 (e.g., a first frequency resource, or first RB) for even bundle intervals 620 (e.g., bundle intervals 620 with an even-numbered index). Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit corresponding repetitions 615 of the uplink channel transmission at a frequency hop 2 (e.g., a second frequency resource, or second RB) for odd bundle intervals 620 (e.g., bundle intervals 620 with an odd-numbered index).”
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, to arrive at the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein in the case of frequency hopping being enabled, each second time window corresponds to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position determined by a first sequence number, wherein the first sequence number is at least one of the following: sequence number of the second time window; sequence number of the 1st or last slot of the second time window; sequence number of the 1st slot for actual uplink transmission in the second time window; or sequence number of the 1st repetition for actual uplink transmission in the second time window, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 7, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein in the case of frequency hopping being enabled, each first time window corresponds to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position determined by a second sequence number, wherein the second sequence number is at least one of the following: sequence number of the first time window; sequence number of a second time window in which the first time window is located; sequence number of the 1st or last slot of the first time window; or sequence number of the 1st or last repetition of the first time window.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, with frequency hopping enabled, with each first time window, (first time window #1 - symbol #4, first time window #2 – symbol(s) #8, #9, first time window #3 – symbol #14, first time window # - symbol(s) #18, $19, first time window #5 – symbol #24) corresponding to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position being determined by a sequence number, sequence number of a second time window in which the first time window is located, “[0219] In cases where a bundle interval 620 does not include any uplink TTIs 605 (e.g., or flexible TTIs 605 for an uplink transmission), the UE 115 may determine a frequency hop 625 (e.g., frequency locations or resources) for each repetition 615 of the uplink channel transmission based on an index of a corresponding bundle interval 620. The index may be different from an actual bundle number (e.g., different from Bundle 0, Bundle 1, etc.). For example, the UE 115 may transmit corresponding repetitions 615 of the uplink channel transmission at a frequency hop 1 (e.g., a first frequency resource, or first RB) for even bundle intervals 620 (e.g., bundle intervals 620 with an even-numbered index). Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit corresponding repetitions 615 of the uplink channel transmission at a frequency hop 2 (e.g., a second frequency resource, or second RB) for odd bundle intervals 620 (e.g., bundle intervals 620 with an odd-numbered index).”
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, to arrive at the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein in the case of frequency hopping being enabled, each first time window corresponds to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position determined by a second sequence number, wherein the second sequence number is at least one of the following: sequence number of the first time window; sequence number of a second time window in which the first time window is located; sequence number of the 1st or last slot of the first time window; or sequence number of the 1st or last repetition of the first time window, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476