DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Remarks/Comments
The status of the claim(s) as of the Non-Final Rejection mailed December 3, 2025 was as follows:
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16-19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, a mental process, without significantly more. Claim 11 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by QIAO (US 20240187281 A1). Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 19, were under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1). Claim 8 was indicated as being allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In response to the Non-Final Rejection, Applicants have amended claim 1, 4, 11, 13, 16 and 19 and presented arguments with respect to the amendments in order to address the issues raised in the Non-Final Rejection. These arguments and amendments will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicants’ amendments of claim(s) 1 and 16 in response to the rejection(s) of 1-12 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, a mental process, without significantly more, have been considered but are unpersuasive. Claim 1 has been amended such that the step of obtaining a first indication, is now, obtaining a first indication by the terminal. Applicants argue based upon this amendment that claim 1 is now executed by a hardware device (i.e. terminal), which is not an abstract idea or mental step, but a combination of software and hardware that implements the method (See, Remarks filed March 3, 2026, Page 13). Applicants further highlights additional limitations of claim 1, such as determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic and where the first time window can be obtained by dividing a nominal time window (i.e. nominal time window such as the claimed second time window). Applicants argue that these limitations ensure more continuously available uplink transmission opportunities within the actual time window, thus guaranteeing conditions of power stability and phase continuity within an actual time window (i.e. actual time window such as the claimed first time window), resulting in improved reception performance at a network side (See, Remarks, filed March 3, 2026).
In response to the arguments, it is noted that with respect to the method steps of claim 1, being performed by a terminal (i.e. obtaining a first indication, by a terminal) that a method or process being performed by a physical device, terminal, alone is not sufficient in rendering the method of claim 1 as being significantly more than an abstract idea. The method steps while being performed by a physical device, the terminal, are steps (i.e. obtaining a first indication, determining…a first time window) that are described in a highly general manner, that can be performed by any generic computing device as they don’t appear to require any more than a standard processing capability. The additional features of the claim provide more details as to the basis (i.e. first rule and first transmission characteristic) of the determined first time window, however these additional features also don’t appear to require any more standard computer processing capability.
Furthermore, with respect to the argument that the limitations of claim 1, ensure more continuously available uplink transmission opportunities within the actual time window, thus guaranteeing conditions of power stability and phase continuity within an actual time window (i.e. actual time window such as the claimed first time window), and resulting in improved reception performance at a network side), it is not clear as to how the limitations of claim 1, result in the improved reception performance at the network side. There doesn’t appear to be any positive recitation in claim 1 of transmitting by the terminal, data in accordance to the determined first time window to a network side, in order to result in improved reception performance by the network side. Thus, claim 1 doesn’t appear to result in beneficial technical effects in practical applications. Accordingly, the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 101 have been maintained. The rejection of claim independent claim 16 under 35 USC 101 has also been maintained for same reasoning provided with respect to claim 1, as claim 16 recites substantially the same features as claim 1. The rejection of claim(s) 2-12 and 17-19 under 35 USC 101 have also been maintained by virtue of dependency on either of claim 1 or 16, and further due to not resolving 101 issues raised with respect to either of claim 1 or claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
Applicants’ amendment of claim 11 in response to the rejection of said claim under 35 USC § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) is effective. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn.
Prior Art Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or35 USC § 103
The amendments of claim(s) 1, 4, 13, 16, and 19 and supporting arguments made in response to the prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive. The arguments focus on the subject matter of independent claim 1, and thus the response to the arguments will focus on the same.
Claim 1 has been amended to include some of subject matter of dependent claim 4, this subject matter is underlined.
“1. A method for determining an uplink transmission time window, performed by a terminal and comprising: obtaining a first indication by the terminal; and determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic; wherein the first rule comprises:
a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and
the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions:
a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present;
symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied;
an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority;
in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or
the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi- persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s);
wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase.”
In the Non-Final Rejection, the combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1) to render obvious the features of claim 4, the features now being included in the amended claim 1. Applicants disagree with this conclusion of obviousness arguing that (1) QIAO does not teach the underlined features (See Remarks, Page 16), (2) LY does not specify the unit based on which the division is performed (i.e. based on a size of the second time window), (3) LY doesn’t specify whether the bundle occurs due to the presence of downlink transmission slots and/or symbols, (4) LY is silent on the feature of the predefined or preconfigured threshold X, (5) LY is silent on transmission of higher priority, (6) LY is silent on the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in a time domain, (7) LY is silent on the second time window, (8) LY is silent on dividing the second time window into a plurality of time windows, more specifically LY is silent on the dividing being on the basis of occurrence of downlink transmission time slots and/or symbols, and (9) LY is directed to bundling intervals rather than for dividing windows.
In response to the arguments, it is first noted that with respect to the argument that (1) QIAO does not teach the underlined features (See Remarks, Page 16), the underlined features being limitations from claim 4, it is agreed that QIAO does not teach said feature(s). In the Non-Final Rejection mailed December 3, 2025, it was stated that QIAO is silent on said features, and LY was introduced to remedy the deficiencies of QIAO with respect to said features (See, Non-Final Rejection page 15, which addresses the underlined limitations). Applicants are reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Thus, the argument that the combination of QIAO in view LY fails to render obvious claim 1, because QIAO does not teach the underlined limitations, is not persuasive as the combination of QIAO in view of LY was believed to render the underlined limitations, obvious.
In response to the argument that (4) LY is silent on the feature of the predefined or preconfigured threshold X, (5) LY is silent on transmission of higher priority, and (6) LY is silent on the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in a time domain, it is noted that the claim 1 does not require that LY fulfill each of those features/conditions. Refer to claim 1, it recites, “…the second time window satisfies at least one of the following conditions…”. Also see where in the Non-Final Rejection (See Non-Final Rejection mailed December 3, 2025, Page(s) 15-16), the condition that LY was believed to satisfy was, “…a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present…”. Thus, the argument that the combination of QIAO in view of LY fails to render obvious claim 1, because LY is silent on the predefined/preconfigured threshold X, LY is silent on transmission of a higher priority, and LY is silent on the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in a time domain is not persuasive.
In response to the argument that (2) LY does not specify the unit based on which the division is performed (i.e. based on a size of the second time window), (3) LY doesn’t specify whether the bundle occurs due to the presence of downlink transmission slots and/or symbols, (7) LY is silent on the second time window, (8) LY is silent on dividing the second time window into a plurality of time windows, more specifically LY is silent on the dividing being on the basis of occurrence of downlink transmission time slots and/or symbols, and (9) LY is directed to bundling intervals rather than for dividing windows.
It is noted that with regard to the feature of dividing windows (refer to claim 1, where it recites, “…a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions…”) that in accordance with specification/instant application, the dividing is regarded as logically distinguishing from a time domain length (i.e see [Fig. 4] of the Instant Application which illustrates a time domain length of consecutive slots) into one or more second time window(s) (i.e. see nominal time window of [Fig. 4] of the Instant Application) based upon a size of the second time window (i.e. 8 consecutive slots according to Fig. 4) into one or more other/first time windows (i.e. see actual time window of [Fig. 4] of the Instant Application), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic (i.e. See [Fig. 4] of the Instant Application and see [Par. 168] of the Instant Application, where transmission characteristic is satisfied in [Fig. 4] for a condition of four consecutive slots)
Thus LY in [Fig. 6] which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nomimal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according the size of the second time window (i.e. the collection of TTIs forming the time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 216 – Par. 217]) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions:a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present (See [LI. Fig. 6] where downlink transmission(s) are present on slots, #0-4, #5-6, #10-12, #15-16, and #20-22 ), is regarded as qualifying as the claimed dividing of windows.
Thus, the arguments that LY doesn’t teach or suggest features pertaining to dividing of windows such, features such as LY not specifying the unit based on which the division is performed (i.e. based on a size of the second time window, LY not specifying whether the bundle occurs due to the presence of downlink transmission slots and/or symbols, LY being silent on the second time window, LY being silent on dividing the second time window into a plurality of time windows, more specifically LY is silent on the dividing being on the basis of occurrence of downlink transmission time slots and/or symbols, and (9) LY is directed to bundling intervals rather than for dividing windows are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, a mental process, without significantly more. Refer to independent claim 1, where it recites, “obtaining a first indication” which can be regarded as a mental process. This obtaining a first indication can be the generating of a thought of the first indication. See also where claim 1 recites, “determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic”, determining also being regarded as a mental process, such as thinking or making decision of a first time window based on knowledge of the first indication and the first rule. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because while the mental processes of the abstract idea are performed by a device (i.e. terminal), “…a method for determining an uplink transmission time window, performed by a terminal and comprising…”, the performing of the processes would not result in any improvement in the operation/function of the device, the terminal. The mental processes are performed and described in a highly general manner (i.e. “determining”, “obtaining” ) and the result of these mental processes is not claimed in a manner that significantly affects the underlying operation of the device. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as stated, the additional elements, the terminal, performs the processes in a generic manner that doesn’t appear to appear to provide any improvement to the operation of the terminal, or improvement to any technological field pertaining to the terminal.
Also refer to for example to independent claim 16, where it recites, “obtaining a first indication” which can be regarded as a mental process, for example generating a thought of a first indication. See also where claim 16 recites, “determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic”, determining also being regarded as a mental process, such as mentally determining a first time window based upon knowledge of the first indication and the first rule. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because while the mental processes of the abstract idea are performed by a device, “…a method for determining an uplink transmission time window, performed by a terminal and comprising…”, the performing of the mental processes would not result in any improvement in the operation/function of the device, the terminal. The processes are performed in a highly general manner (i.e. determining, obtaining) and the result of these processes is not claimed in a manner that affects the underlying operation of the device. The claim(s) includes additional elements (i..e processor, memory, program/instructions stored in the memory, the instructions being executed by the processor) that don’t appear to be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as stated, the additional elements, perform the processes in a generic manner that doesn’t appear to provide any improvement to the operation of the terminal, or improvement to any technological field pertaining to the terminal. Claim(s) 2-12 and 17-19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, a mental process, without significantly more by virtue of dependency on independent claim 1 or claim 16. Furthermore claim(s) 2-12 and 17-19 while containing additional elements/features, the features do no more than either further describe the mental processes of claims 1 or 16 (i.e. determining…the first time window…the second time window…uplink transmission time window) without incorporating the additional elements into a practical application or resulting in an improvement to the functioning of the terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, recites
“1. A method for determining an uplink transmission time window, performed by a terminal and comprising:
obtaining a first indication by the terminal; and determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic…wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and a phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase”
The claim language makes multiple uplink transmissions optional, “…a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic...”, however the limitations that follow seem to require that multiple uplink transmissions take place, “…wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference…and the phase continuity comprising a condition of a continuous phase…”. The first transmission characteristic appears to require that at least two uplink transmissions have a same transmit power, or that a transmit power difference between at least two uplink transmission is less than a preset threshold and/or that at least two uplink transmissions fulfill a condition of a continuous phase. Furthermore, read Instant Application which recites,
“[0040] User equipment (UE) can maintain constant power and continuous phase during multiple physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions within a certain time window, so in a case of receiving multiple PUSCHs, the network can obtain channel information for other PUSCH transmissions based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for one of the PUSCHs, and therefore, can make joint channel estimation using DMRSs for the multiple PUSCHs, so as to improve the reception performance. This technique is referred to as DMRS bundling. The time window is referred to as a bundling window or time domain window.”
This is makes unclear as to what the applicants intend to claim as their invention with respect to claim 1. For the reasons explained claim 1 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claim(s) 13 and 16 substantially the same features as claim 1, and in particular recite features pertaining to indefinite issue raised with respect to claim 1. Accordingly claim(s) 13 and 16 have also been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim(s) 2-10, and 12, 14-15, and 17-20 have also been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, by virtue of dependency on any one of the independent claim(s) and for failing to remedy indefiniteness issues with respect to any one of independent claim(s) 1, 13, and 16. For the purposes of examination claim(s) 1, 13 and 16 will be understood as having multiple uplink transmissions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY (US 20220248430 A1)
In regards to claim 1, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) teaches a method for determining an uplink transmission time window, performed by a terminal and comprising: obtaining a first indication; and determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic (QIAO teaches a terminal obtaining a first indication, first message. QIAO further teaches determining, based on the first message, a first rule, length of a time domain window (TDW), in which one or more uplink transmissions, repeated msg3 messages, satisfy a first transmission characteristic, the first transmission characteristic being that joint estimation can be performed for the uplink transmissions occurring within the TDW, “[0044] Joint channel estimation has been proposed in the new generation version of communication technology to enhance the coverage of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). In addition, it is proposed that PUSCH type A repetition is used to enhance the coverage of MSG3. The introduction of MSG3 type A repetition makes cross-slot channel estimation possible. [0045] During reception of MSG3 repetition, under a certain condition, the network side device can perform the cross-slot channel estimation. Therefore, for the joint channel estimation, taking the gNB as an example of the network side device, both the gNB and the UE need a Time Domain Window (TDW), during which the UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity to cooperate with the gNB to perform the joint channel estimation within the TDW… [0059] In the embodiment of the disclosure, the first message is used for the terminal to determine a configuration parameter for a network side device to perform joint channel estimation. The configuration parameter may include indication information for indicating enabling the joint channel estimation and/or a fixed parameter value or a parameter set for determining a length of a TDW of the joint channel estimation. The parameter set or the fixed parameter value for determining the TDW of the joint channel estimation determined by the terminal can be indicated by the network side device (such as a base station), or can be determined based on a communication protocol. The way of indicated by the network side includes multiple indication methods, which may refer to the following embodiments.”);
QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) differs from claim 1 in that QIAO is silent on wherein the first rule comprises: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present;
symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s); wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY in [Fig. 6] teaches a feature which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nominal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according to the size of the second time window (length of time of the collection of TTIs forming time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 55] [Par. 216 – Par. 217], where phase continuity can be satisfied by multiple transmissions/repetitions having a same transmission power level) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present (See [LI. Fig. 6] where downlink transmission(s) are present on slots, #0-4, #5-6, #10-12, #15-16, and #20-22 ).
Thus, based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window using a first rule comprising: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present, wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 16, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) teaches a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, implementing (QIAO teaches a terminal comprising a processor, memory, and a program/instructions stored in the memory, the instructions that when executed perform features described throughout the disclosure of QIAO “[0005] According to a first aspect of the disclosure, an indication method is provided. The indication method is performed by a terminal, and includes: [0006] determining a first message, in which the first message is used to indicate a configuration parameter of joint channel estimation of a network side device…[0009] According to a third aspect of the disclosure, an indication device is provided. The indication device includes: [0010] a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor. The processor is configured execute the indication method in the first aspect or any implementation of the first aspect, or execute the indication method in the second aspect or any implementation of the second aspect.”): obtaining a first indication; and determining, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic (QIAO teaches a terminal obtaining a first indication, first message. QIAO further teaches determining, based on the first message, a first rule, length of a time domain window (TDW), in which one or more uplink transmissions, repeated msg3 messages, satisfy a first transmission characteristic, the first transmission characteristic being that joint estimation can be performed for the uplink transmissions occurring within the TDW, “[0044] Joint channel estimation has been proposed in the new generation version of communication technology to enhance the coverage of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). In addition, it is proposed that PUSCH type A repetition is used to enhance the coverage of MSG3. The introduction of MSG3 type A repetition makes cross-slot channel estimation possible. [0045] During reception of MSG3 repetition, under a certain condition, the network side device can perform the cross-slot channel estimation. Therefore, for the joint channel estimation, taking the gNB as an example of the network side device, both the gNB and the UE need a Time Domain Window (TDW), during which the UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity to cooperate with the gNB to perform the joint channel estimation within the TDW… [0059] In the embodiment of the disclosure, the first message is used for the terminal to determine a configuration parameter for a network side device to perform joint channel estimation. The configuration parameter may include indication information for indicating enabling the joint channel estimation and/or a fixed parameter value or a parameter set for determining a length of a TDW of the joint channel estimation. The parameter set or the fixed parameter value for determining the TDW of the joint channel estimation determined by the terminal can be indicated by the network side device (such as a base station), or can be determined based on a communication protocol. The way of indicated by the network side includes multiple indication methods, which may refer to the following embodiments.”);
QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) differs from claim 16 in that QIAO is silent on wherein the first rule comprises: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present;
symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s); wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY in [Fig. 6] teaches a feature which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nominal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according to the size of the second time window (length of time of the collection of TTIs forming time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 55] [Par. 216 – Par. 217], where phase continuity can be satisfied by multiple transmissions/repetitions having a same transmission power level) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present (See [LI. Fig. 6] where downlink transmission(s) are present on slots, #0-4, #5-6, #10-12, #15-16, and #20-22 ).
Thus, based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window using a first rule comprising: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present, wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase, to thus arrive at claim 16, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 13, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) teaches a method for determining an uplink transmission time window, performed by a network-side device and comprising: sending a first indication to a terminal, to make the terminal, based on the first indication and a first rule, a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic, wherein the first indication is used to determine a first time window in which one or more uplink transmissions satisfy a first transmission characteristic (QIAO teaches a network side device, network side device/ base station , sending a first indication, first message/parameter set, to a terminal. QIAO further teaches where the first message/parameter set, is used to determine a first time window, time domain window (TDW), in which one or more uplink transmissions, msg3 repetitions satisfy a first transmission characteristic, the first transmission characteristic being that joint estimation can be performed for uplink transmissions occurring within the TDW. “[0044] Joint channel estimation has been proposed in the new generation version of communication technology to enhance the coverage of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). In addition, it is proposed that PUSCH type A repetition is used to enhance the coverage of MSG3. The introduction of MSG3 type A repetition makes cross-slot channel estimation possible. [0045] During reception of MSG3 repetition, under a certain condition, the network side device can perform the cross-slot channel estimation. Therefore, for the joint channel estimation, taking the gNB as an example of the network side device, both the gNB and the UE need a Time Domain Window (TDW), during which the UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity to cooperate with the gNB to perform the joint channel estimation within the TDW… [0059] In the embodiment of the disclosure, the first message is used for the terminal to determine a configuration parameter for a network side device to perform joint channel estimation. The configuration parameter may include indication information for indicating enabling the joint channel estimation and/or a fixed parameter value or a parameter set for determining a length of a TDW of the joint channel estimation. The parameter set or the fixed parameter value for determining the TDW of the joint channel estimation determined by the terminal can be indicated by the network side device (such as a base station), or can be determined based on a communication protocol. The way of indicated by the network side includes multiple indication methods, which may refer to the following embodiments.”)
QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) differs from claim 13 in that QIAO is silent on wherein the first rule comprises: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present;
symbols unavailable for uplink transmission are more than X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; an uplink transmission on an uplink transmission occasion among the uplink transmission(s) is terminated or canceled by a transmission of higher priority; in a case of frequency hopping being enabled, the number of consecutive slots or symbols available for uplink transmission exceeds a frequency hopping interval in time domain, wherein the frequency hopping interval is the number of symbols occupied by or a time gap corresponding to one hop in time domain; or the second time window consists of consecutive slots, consecutive symbols, consecutive repetitions, or available uplink slots, wherein the available uplink slots are slots semi-persistently or dynamically configured for the uplink transmission(s); wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY in [Fig. 6] teaches a feature which distinguishes from a time domain length (i.e. for example a frame containing a number of consecutive slots, also read [Par. 175]) a second/nominal time window (Refer to [Fig. 6] which discloses a second time window such as, time window 605, collection of TTIs forming bundle(s) 0 through 4, slots #0 through slot #25) according to the size of the second time window (length of time of the collection of TTIs forming time window 605) and distinguishes from the second time window, one or more other/first/actual time windows (i.e. bundle 0, bundle 1, bundle 2, bundle 3, bundle 4), the first time windows satisfying a transmission characteristic, maintaining phase continuity (i.e. see LY [Par. 55] [Par. 216 – Par. 217], where phase continuity can be satisfied by multiple transmissions/repetitions having a same transmission power level) where the division of the second time window into one or more of the first time windows occurs in a case that the second time window (i.e. time window 605) satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present (See [LI. Fig. 6] where downlink transmission(s) are present on slots, #0-4, #5-6, #10-12, #15-16, and #20-22 ).
Thus, based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window using a first rule comprising: a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows based on a size of the second time window; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present, wherein the first time window is an actual time window, the second time window is a nominal time window; wherein the first transmission characteristic comprises power stability and phase continuity, the power consistency comprising a condition of having same transmit power or a condition of a transmit power difference being less than a preset threshold, and the phase continuity comprising a condition of continuous phase, to thus arrive at claim 13, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 20, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LI is believed to suggest a network-side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 13 are implemented, for substantially the same reasons provided with respect to claim 13 (Furthermore, with respect to where a network side device comprises a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 13 are implemented, see where QIAO recites, “[0007] According to a second aspect of the disclosure, an indication method is provided. The indication method is performed by a network side device, and includes: [0008] determining a first message, in which the first message is used to indicate a configuration parameter for the network side device to perform joint channel estimation. [0009] According to a third aspect of the disclosure, an indication device is provided. The indication device includes: [0010] a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor. The processor is configured execute the indication method in the first aspect or any implementation of the first aspect, or execute the indication method in the second aspect or any implementation of the second aspect.”).
In regards to claim 2, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining a first indication comprises any one of the following: obtaining the first indication that is predefined; obtaining the first indication that is preconfigured; obtaining the first indication that is configured through a media access control (MAC) control element (CE); obtaining the first indication that is configured through a radio resource control (RRC) message; and obtaining the first indication that is configured through downlink control information (DCI) ( See QIAO where it recites “[0068] A way of explicit signaling indication can be used to indicate the enabling of the joint channel estimation. The explicit signaling can include Radio Resource Control (RRC) information, a System Information Block (SIB), DCI, a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), etc.”).
In regards to claim 14, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 13, wherein the sending a first indication comprises any one of the following: sending the first indication to the terminal through a media access control (MAC) control element (CE); sending the first indication to the terminal through a radio resource control (RRC) message; and sending the first indication to the terminal through downlink control information (DCI) ( See QIAO where it recites “[0068] A way of explicit signaling indication can be used to indicate the enabling of the joint channel estimation. The explicit signaling can include Radio Resource Control (RRC) information, a System Information Block (SIB), DCI, a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), etc.”).
In regards to claim 17, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the terminal according to claim 16, wherein the obtaining a first indication comprises any one of the following: obtaining the first indication that is predefined; obtaining the first indication that is preconfigured; obtaining the first indication that is configured through a media access control (MAC) control element (CE); obtaining the first indication that is configured through a radio resource control (RRC) message; and obtaining the first indication that is configured through downlink control information (DCI) (See QIAO where it recites, “[0068] A way of explicit signaling indication can be used to indicate the enabling of the joint channel estimation. The explicit signaling can include Radio Resource Control (RRC) information, a System Information Block (SIB), DCI, a Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), etc.”).
In regards to claim 3, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the first indication comprises at least one of the following: size of a second time window; start time of the second time window; end time of the second time window; or repetition number N, wherein N is a positive integer (See QIAO where it recites, “[0076] In some embodiments of the disclosure, an implicit way may be used to indicate the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation. For example, the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation may be implicitly determined based on a number of repetitions. For example, the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation is a number of time slots corresponding to the number of repetitions /N. N is a positive integer, for example, N is 2. Certainly, this is only an example, and is not a specific limitation to the disclosure.”)
In regards to claim 15, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 13, wherein the first indication comprises at least one of the following: size of a second time window; start time of the second time window; end time of the second time window; or repetition number N, wherein N is a positive integer(See QIAO where it recites, “[0076] In some embodiments of the disclosure, an implicit way may be used to indicate the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation. For example, the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation may be implicitly determined based on a number of repetitions. For example, the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation is a number of time slots corresponding to the number of repetitions /N. N is a positive integer, for example, N is 2. Certainly, this is only an example, and is not a specific limitation to the disclosure.”)
In regards to claim 18, The combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LI suggest the terminal according to claim 16, wherein the first indication comprises at least one of the following: size of a second time window; start time of the second time window; end time of the second time window; or repetition number N, wherein N is a positive integer(See QIAO where it recites “[0076] In some embodiments of the disclosure, an implicit way may be used to indicate the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation. For example, the parameter of the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation may be implicitly determined based on a number of repetitions. For example, the length of the TDW of the joint channel estimation is a number of time slots corresponding to the number of repetitions /N. N is a positive integer, for example, N is 2. Certainly, this is only an example, and is not a specific limitation to the disclosure.”)
In regards to claim 11, the combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the first transmission characteristic requires that the one or more uplink transmissions satisfy at least one of the following: having a same modulation scheme; having a same frequency position; having a same bandwidth; having same transmit power; having a transmit power difference less than a preset threshold; having a same beam; having a same transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI); having a same waveform; having a same transport block (TB) for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); having same uplink control information (UCI) for physical uplink control channel PUCCH; or having a same PUCCH format for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (See QIAO where it recites “[0045] During reception of MSG3 repetition, under a certain condition, the network side device can perform the cross-slot channel estimation. Therefore, for the joint channel estimation, taking the gNB as an example of the network side device, both the gNB and the UE need a Time Domain Window (TDW), during which the UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity to cooperate with the gNB to perform the joint channel estimation within the TDW. [0046] The terminal is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity during a process in which the gNB performs the joint channel estimation, and to maintain power consistency and phase continuity, the following relevant conditions may be met. [0047] (1) No change on modulation level. [0048] (2) No change on resource block (RB) allocation in terms of length and frequency position, and intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping cannot be enabled during a repetition process. [0049] (3) No change on a transmission power level. [0050] (4) No uplink (UL) beam switching of the terminal within the frequency range (FR) 2.”)
In regards to claim 12, the combination of QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) in view of LY suggest the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following: PUSCH repetition type A, PUSCH repetition type B, PUSCH transport block processing over multi-slot (TBoMS), PUCCH, or sounding reference signal (SRS) (See QIAO where it recites, “[0044] Joint channel estimation has been proposed in the new generation version of communication technology to enhance the coverage of Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). In addition, it is proposed that PUSCH type A repetition is used to enhance the coverage of MSG3. The introduction of MSG3 type A repetition makes cross-slot channel estimation possible.”)
In regards to claim 5, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein the first rule further comprises: the following first manner is used to determine a start time of the first time window: a start time of the 1st first time window is a start time of a second time window, and a start time of each other first time window is the 1st orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a slot corresponding to the 1st actually available uplink transmission following an end time of a previous first time window, or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st actually available uplink transmission following the end time of the previous first time window;
and the following second manner is used to determine an end time of the first time window: an end time of the last first time window is an end time of the second time window, and an end time of each other first time window is a time that is a first time gap from a start time of the current first time window, wherein the first time gap is a minimum value of at least one of the following: size of the second time window; maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied; frequency hopping interval in time domain determined based on a configuration in a case of frequency hopping being enabled; time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st downlink transmission slot or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st downlink transmission symbol following the start time; time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of a resource following the start time, wherein the resource is unavailable for uplink transmission and satisfies a second condition, the second condition being that the number of consecutive symbols unavailable for uplink transmission exceeds X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; or time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st uplink transmission following the start time that is terminated or canceled; wherein the first time window consists of a set of actually available slots, symbols, or repetitions for the uplink transmission, wherein the set of actually available slots, symbols, or repetitions is semi-persistently or dynamically configured.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, where a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows, bundles, based on a size of the second time window, 4 symbols; and the second time window is divided into one or more first time windows in a case that the second time window satisfies at least one of the following first conditions: a downlink transmission slot and/or symbol is present (See [Fig. 6] which show five first time windows comprising only uplink transmission symbols “U”, excluding the downlink transmission symbols “D”. The first time window #1 consisting of symbol #4, the first time window #2 consisting of symbols #8 and #9, the first time window #3 consisting of symbol #14, the first time window #4 consisting of symbols #18 and #19, and the first time window #5 consisting of symbol #24). [Fig. 6] also illustrates where a start time of the 1st first time window is a start time of a second time window (Symbol #4 is the start of the first time window #1, and is the start of a second time window, bundle #0), and a start time of each other first time window is the 1st orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of a slot corresponding to the 1st actually available uplink transmission following an end time of a previous first time window, or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st actually available uplink transmission following the end time of the previous first time window (See where for each of the subsequent first time windows, which begin with symbol(s) #4, #8, #18, and #24, respectively, correspond to the 1st actually available uplink transmission following an end time of the previous first time window, or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st actually available uplink transmission following the end time of the previous first time window ). [Fig. 6] also illustrates where a second manner is used to determine an end time of the first time window: an end time of the last first time window is an end time of the second time window (See [Fig. 6] where the last first time window which consists of symbol #24 is an end time of the second time window, bundle #5 ), and an end time of each other first time window is a time that is a first time gap from a start time of the current first time window, wherein the first time gap is a minimum value of at least one of the following: size of the second time window; maximum duration corresponding to transmission(s) for which the terminal is capable of keeping the first transmission characteristic satisfied (See bundles illustrated in Fig. 6, where each bundles are a length of a time for keeping first transmission characteristic satisfied, phase continuity, for joint estimation, “[0155] A bundle size may define a number of consecutive transmission time intervals (TTIs) for a bundle interval, in which a set of repetitions of the uplink channel transmission may be bundled. As described herein, a bundle interval may refer to a time interval or a time domain window (e.g., of a defined length) over which DMRS or other bundling (e.g., maintaining a phase continuity) is applied or is configured to be applied. The UE may be configured with or determine a bundle size for a set of bundle intervals that each include a set of bundled repetitions of the uplink channel transmission. Some bundle intervals may not include any uplink TTIs (e.g., based on a TTI format pattern) and the UE may be unable to apply DMRS bundling (e.g., maintain phase continuity) in such bundle intervals. Additionally, or alternatively, a bundle interval may include one or more uplink TTIs that may not support phase continuity for repetitions of the uplink channel transmission within the bundle interval (e.g., based on one or more phase continuity rules).” ); frequency hopping interval in time domain determined based on a configuration in a case of frequency hopping being enabled; time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st downlink transmission slot or the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st downlink transmission symbol following the start time; time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of a resource following the start time, wherein the resource is unavailable for uplink transmission and satisfies a second condition, the second condition being that the number of consecutive symbols unavailable for uplink transmission exceeds X, wherein X is a predefined or preconfigured threshold for limiting the maximum number of discontinuous-transmission symbols with the first transmission characteristic satisfied; or time gap between the start time of the current first time window and the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st uplink transmission following the start time that is terminated or canceled; wherein the first time window consists of a set of actually available slots, symbols, or repetitions for the uplink transmission, wherein the set of actually available slots, symbols, or repetitions is semi-persistently or dynamically configured.
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining the start and the end times of the first time windows to thus arrive at claim 5, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 9, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 3, wherein the start time of the second time window is at least one of the following: the 1st OFDM symbol of a slot corresponding to a current scheduled transmission; the 1st OFDM symbol of a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) corresponding to a current scheduled transmission; the 1st OFDM symbol of a slot corresponding to the 1st actual transmission of a current scheduled transmission; the 1st OFDM symbol of the 1st actual transmission of a current scheduled transmission; or an absolute time with respect to a current scheduled transmission.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, where a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows, bundles, based on a size of the second time window, 4 symbols. [Fig. 6] also illustrates where the start time of the second time window, bundle #0, is 1st OFDM symbol, symbol #4, of a slot, corresponding to a current scheduled uplink transmission “U”.
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window, wherein the start time of the second time window is at least one of the following: the 1st OFDM symbol of a slot corresponding to a current scheduled transmission, to thus arrive at claim 9, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 10, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 3, wherein the end time of the second time window is at least one of the following: an end time of the last OFDM symbol of a current scheduled transmission; an end time that is M second time windows from the start time of the second time window, wherein M is a positive integer; an end time that is K first time windows from the start time of the second time window, wherein K is a positive integer; and an end time that is a preset time length from the start time of the second time window.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, where a time-domain length corresponding to the uplink transmission(s) is divided into one or more second time windows, bundles, based on a size of the second time window, 4 symbols. [Fig. 6] also illustrates where an end time of the second window, bundle #5, is an end time of the last OFDM symbol, symbol #24, of a current scheduled transmission;
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, such as determining an uplink transmission time window, wherein the end time of the second time window is at least one of the following: an end time of the last OFDM symbol of a current scheduled transmission, to thus arrive at claim 10, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 6, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein in the case of frequency hopping being enabled, each second time window corresponds to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position determined by a first sequence number, wherein the first sequence number is at least one of the following: sequence number of the second time window; sequence number of the 1st or last slot of the second time window; sequence number of the 1st slot for actual uplink transmission in the second time window; or sequence number of the 1st repetition for actual uplink transmission in the second time window.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, with frequency hopping enabled, with each second time window, (bundles # 0 – bundles # 4) corresponding to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position being determined by a sequence number, sequence number of a second time window, “[0219] In cases where a bundle interval 620 does not include any uplink TTIs 605 (e.g., or flexible TTIs 605 for an uplink transmission), the UE 115 may determine a frequency hop 625 (e.g., frequency locations or resources) for each repetition 615 of the uplink channel transmission based on an index of a corresponding bundle interval 620. The index may be different from an actual bundle number (e.g., different from Bundle 0, Bundle 1, etc.). For example, the UE 115 may transmit corresponding repetitions 615 of the uplink channel transmission at a frequency hop 1 (e.g., a first frequency resource, or first RB) for even bundle intervals 620 (e.g., bundle intervals 620 with an even-numbered index). Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit corresponding repetitions 615 of the uplink channel transmission at a frequency hop 2 (e.g., a second frequency resource, or second RB) for odd bundle intervals 620 (e.g., bundle intervals 620 with an odd-numbered index).”
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, to arrive at the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein in the case of frequency hopping being enabled, each second time window corresponds to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position determined by a first sequence number, wherein the first sequence number is at least one of the following: sequence number of the second time window; sequence number of the 1st or last slot of the second time window; sequence number of the 1st slot for actual uplink transmission in the second time window; or sequence number of the 1st repetition for actual uplink transmission in the second time window, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
In regards to claim 7, QIAO (US 20240187281 A1) is silent on the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein in the case of frequency hopping being enabled, each first time window corresponds to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position determined by a second sequence number, wherein the second sequence number is at least one of the following: sequence number of the first time window; sequence number of a second time window in which the first time window is located; sequence number of the 1st or last slot of the first time window; or sequence number of the 1st or last repetition of the first time window.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving joint estimation in a wireless communication environment. LY (US 20220248430 A1) [Fig. 6] teaches a joint estimation feature, with frequency hopping enabled, with each first time window, (first time window #1 - symbol #4, first time window #2 – symbol(s) #8, #9, first time window #3 – symbol #14, first time window # - symbol(s) #18, $19, first time window #5 – symbol #24) corresponding to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position being determined by a sequence number, sequence number of a second time window in which the first time window is located, “[0219] In cases where a bundle interval 620 does not include any uplink TTIs 605 (e.g., or flexible TTIs 605 for an uplink transmission), the UE 115 may determine a frequency hop 625 (e.g., frequency locations or resources) for each repetition 615 of the uplink channel transmission based on an index of a corresponding bundle interval 620. The index may be different from an actual bundle number (e.g., different from Bundle 0, Bundle 1, etc.). For example, the UE 115 may transmit corresponding repetitions 615 of the uplink channel transmission at a frequency hop 1 (e.g., a first frequency resource, or first RB) for even bundle intervals 620 (e.g., bundle intervals 620 with an even-numbered index). Similarly, the UE 115 may transmit corresponding repetitions 615 of the uplink channel transmission at a frequency hop 2 (e.g., a second frequency resource, or second RB) for odd bundle intervals 620 (e.g., bundle intervals 620 with an odd-numbered index).”
Thus based upon the teachings of LY (US 20220248430 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint estimation feature of QIAO by adopting the features seen in the joint estimation feature of LY, to arrive at the method for determining an uplink transmission time window according to claim 1, wherein in the case of frequency hopping being enabled, each first time window corresponds to a new hop, with a frequency hopping position determined by a second sequence number, wherein the second sequence number is at least one of the following: sequence number of the first time window; sequence number of a second time window in which the first time window is located; sequence number of the 1st or last slot of the first time window; or sequence number of the 1st or last repetition of the first time window, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable uplink timing window for performing the desired joint estimation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 8, and 19, would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476