DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/21/2026 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/05/2026 with respect to claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18, and 20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Please refer to the following office action, which clearly sets forth the reasons for non-persuasiveness.
Applicant argues that Hulbert fails to teach wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface.
Examiner notes Hulbert clearly teaches in at least column 23 lines 42 – 47; In some embodiments, displays 504-1 and 504-2 are separate displays with touch-sensitive components; however, in some embodiments, device 500 has a single display with touch-sensitive components, and displays 504-1 and 504-2 represent different portions of that single display (e.g., a top portion and a bottom portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciudad (US PgPub No. 20070081740) in view of Hulbert (US Patent No. 11079995).
Regarding claim 1, Ciudad teaches a method for displaying a capturing interface (figures 7 – 8; method for displaying), comprising: receiving an effect preview instruction for a target effect (figures 1 – 3 item 108); in response to the effect preview instruction, displaying a target preview in a first area of the capturing interface (figures 1 – 5 item 102) and displaying target media content in a second area of the capturing interface (figures 1 – 5 item 104), wherein the target preview is a preview of a captured picture with the target effect, and the target media content is media content recorded with the target effect (figures 1 – 5 items 102 preview with effect and 104 captured with effect); in response to an exchanging instruction acting in the capturing interface, exchanging the first area and the second area (figures 1 – 5, item 104 is updated with the image from item 102 when capturing and/or vice versa, i.e. exchanging instruction and exchanging the first area and the second area).
However, Ciudad fails to teach exchanging the target preview to the second area for display, and exchanging the target media content to the first area for display; wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface. Hulbert, on the other hand teaches exchanging first display area with second display area; wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface.
More specifically, Hulbert teaches exchanging first display area with second display area (column 43 line 63 – column 44 line 20 and claims 10, 37, and 64 of Hulbert [when combined with Ciudad will result in exchanging the target preview to the second area for display, and exchanging the target media content to the first area for display when first and second areas are read first and second display areas respectively); wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface (column 23 lines 42 – 47; In some embodiments, displays 504-1 and 504-2 are separate displays with touch-sensitive components; however, in some embodiments, device 500 has a single display with touch-sensitive components, and displays 504-1 and 504-2 represent different portions of that single display (e.g., a top portion and a bottom portion)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Hulbert with the teachings of Ciudad because in at least column 1 lines 26 – 30 and column 37 lines 44 - 49 Hulbert teaches that using the invention improves the user's experience with the device and decreases user interaction time thereby improving battery life, thereby improving usability and/or performance of Ciudad.
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches before receiving the effect preview instruction for the target effect, further comprising: in response to a display instruction of an effect interface, displaying the effect interface, wherein a preset identifier of at least one effect is displayed in the effect interface, and the preset identifier is configured to trigger execution of the effect preview instruction (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 associated with items 200 - 316).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 2, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches wherein the preset identifier comprises at least one of an effect identifier or a previewed picture, and the previewed picture is captured with an effect corresponding to the previewed picture (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 with effect identifier “1” or “2” associated with items 200 - 316).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 2, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches after displaying the effect interface, further comprising: in response to a first adjustment instruction for the effect interface, adjusting a display size of the effect interface (figures 1- 5 adjusting size of the effect interface in item 102).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 2, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches in response to the effect preview instruction, displaying a capturing button in the capturing interface, wherein the capturing button is configured to trigger capturing with a current previewed effect (figures 1- 5 item 106).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches in response to the effect preview instruction, displaying at least one effect identifier in a third area of the capturing interface, wherein the at least one effect identifier comprises a target effect identifier of the target effect (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 with effect identifier “1” or “2” associated with items 200 - 316).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches after displaying the at least one effect identifier in the third area of the capturing interface, further comprising at least one of the following: in response to an identifier switch instruction, switching an effect identifier displayed in the third area; or in response to a second adjustment instruction for the third area, adjusting a display position of the third area (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 with effect identifier “1” or “2” associated with items 200 – 316; note items 108 and associated items 200 – 316 change with selection).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches after displaying the target preview in the first area of the capturing interface and displaying the target media content in the second area of the capturing interface, further comprising: in response to an effect switch instruction acting in the capturing interface, switching a current previewed effect in the capturing interface (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 with effect identifier “1” or “2” associated with items 200 – 316; note items 108 and associated items 200 – 316 change with selection).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches after displaying the target preview in the first area of the capturing interface and displaying the target media content in the second area of the capturing interface, further comprising at least one of the following: in response to a third adjustment instruction for the second area, adjusting at least one of a display size of the second area or a display position of the second area (figures 1- 5 adjusting size of the effect interface in item 102); or in response to a display canceling instruction for the second area, canceling display of the second area and displaying a current preview in the first area (figures 2 – 5 “X” next to each item captured in item 104; additionally, paragraph 0033, Alternatively, the image strip is not presented), wherein the current preview is preview of a current picture captured with the target effect (figures 1 – 5 item 102; preview of a current picture captured with the target effect).
Regarding claim 11, Ciudad teaches an electronic device (figure 6), comprising: at least one processor (paragraphs 0057 – 0059; processor); and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores a computer program executable by the at least one processor, and the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor (paragraphs 0057 – 0059; memory which stores instructions to cause the processor to function), causes the at least one processor to execute: receiving an effect preview instruction for a target effect (figures 1 – 3 item 108); in response to the effect preview instruction, displaying a target preview in a first area of the capturing interface (figures 1 – 5 item 102) and displaying target media content in a second area of the capturing interface (figures 1 – 5 item 104), wherein the target preview is a preview of a picture captured with the target effect, and the target media content is media content recorded with the target effect (figures 1 – 5 items 102 preview with effect and 104 captured with effect); and in response to an exchanging instruction acting in the capturing interface, exchanging the first area and the second area (figures 1 – 5, item 104 is updated with the image from item 102 when capturing and/or vice versa, i.e. exchanging instruction and exchanging the first area and the second area).
However, Ciudad fails to teach exchanging the target preview to the second area for display, and exchanging the target media content to the first area for display; wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface. Hulbert, on the other hand teaches exchanging first display area with second display area; wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface.
More specifically, Hulbert teaches exchanging first display area with second display area (column 43 line 63 – column 44 line 20 and claims 10, 37, and 64 of Hulbert [when combined with Ciudad will result in exchanging the target preview to the second area for display, and exchanging the target media content to the first area for display when first and second areas are read first and second display areas respectively); wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface (column 23 lines 42 – 47; In some embodiments, displays 504-1 and 504-2 are separate displays with touch-sensitive components; however, in some embodiments, device 500 has a single display with touch-sensitive components, and displays 504-1 and 504-2 represent different portions of that single display (e.g., a top portion and a bottom portion)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Hulbert with the teachings of Ciudad because in at least column 1 lines 26 – 30 and column 37 lines 44 - 49 Hulbert teaches that using the invention improves the user's experience with the device and decreases user interaction time thereby improving battery life, thereby improving usability and/or performance of Ciudad.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to, before receiving the effect preview instruction for the target effect, further execute: in response to a display instruction of an effect interface, displaying the effect interface, wherein a preset identifier of at least one effect is displayed in the effect interface, and the preset identifier is configured to trigger execution of the effect preview instruction (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 associated with items 200 - 316).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches wherein the preset identifier comprises at least one of an effect identifier or a previewed picture, and the previewed picture is captured with an effect corresponding to the previewed picture (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 with effect identifier “1” or “2” associated with items 200 - 316).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches after wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to, after displaying the effect interface, further execute: in response to a first adjustment instruction for the effect interface, adjusting a display size of the effect interface (figures 1- 5 adjusting size of the effect interface in item 102).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to further execute: in response to the effect preview instruction, displaying a capturing button in the capturing interface, wherein the capturing button is configured to trigger capturing with a current previewed effect (figures 1- 5 item 106).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to further execute: in response to the effect preview instruction, displaying at least one effect identifier in a third area of the capturing interface, wherein the at least one effect identifier comprises a target effect identifier of the target effect (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 with effect identifier “1” or “2” associated with items 200 - 316).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 16, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to, after displaying the at least one effect identifier in the third area of the capturing interface, further execute at least one of the following: in response to an identifier switch instruction, switching an effect identifier displayed in the third area; or in response to a second adjustment instruction for the third area, adjusting a display position of the third area (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 with effect identifier “1” or “2” associated with items 200 – 316; note items 108 and associated items 200 – 316 change with selection).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Ciudad in view of Hulbert teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Ciudad wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to, after displaying the target preview in the first area of the capturing interface and displaying the target media content in the second area of the capturing interface, further execute: in response to an effect switch instruction acting in the capturing interface, switching a current previewed effect in the capturing interface (figures 2 – 3 item 108, item 108 with effect identifier “1” or “2” associated with items 200 – 316; note items 108 and associated items 200 – 316 change with selection).
Regarding claim 20, Ciudad teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer instruction, wherein the computer instruction, when executed by a processor (paragraphs 0057 – 0059; memory which stores instructions to cause the processor to function), causes the processor to execute: receiving an effect preview instruction for a target effect (figures 1 – 3 item 108); in response to the effect preview instruction, displaying a target preview in a first area of the capturing interface (figures 1 – 5 item 102) and displaying target media content in a second area of the capturing interface (figures 1 – 5 item 104), wherein the target preview is a preview of a picture captured with the target effect, and the target media content is media content recorded with the target effect (figures 1 – 5 items 102 preview with effect and 104 captured with effect); and in response to an exchanging instruction acting in the capturing interface, exchanging the first area and the second area (figures 1 – 5, item 104 is updated with the image from item 102 when capturing and/or vice versa, i.e. exchanging instruction and exchanging the first area and the second area).
However, Ciudad fails to teach exchanging the target preview to the second area for display, and exchanging the target media content to the first area for display; wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface. Hulbert, on the other hand teaches exchanging first display area with second display area; wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface.
More specifically, Hulbert teaches exchanging first display area with second display area (column 43 line 63 – column 44 line 20 and claims 10, 37, and 64 of Hulbert [when combined with Ciudad will result in exchanging the target preview to the second area for display, and exchanging the target media content to the first area for display when first and second areas are read first and second display areas respectively); wherein the first area and the second area are both displayed on the same capturing interface (column 23 lines 42 – 47; In some embodiments, displays 504-1 and 504-2 are separate displays with touch-sensitive components; however, in some embodiments, device 500 has a single display with touch-sensitive components, and displays 504-1 and 504-2 represent different portions of that single display (e.g., a top portion and a bottom portion)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Hulbert with the teachings of Ciudad because in at least column 1 lines 26 – 30 and column 37 lines 44 - 49 Hulbert teaches that using the invention improves the user's experience with the device and decreases user interaction time thereby improving battery life, thereby improving usability and/or performance of Ciudad.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
García Morate (US PgPub No. 2016/0373647) teaches a camera system with multiple imaging and combining.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
03/16/2026