DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 11/10/2023. Claims 11-16, 27, 28, 30-35, 41-47 and 52-110 have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-10, 17-26, 29, 36-40 and 48-51 are pending and an action is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 17-24, 29, 36 and 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. EMLSR Dynamic Subband Operation (hereinafter Seok) (Provided in IDS filed on 1/15/2025 by Applicant), in view of VIGER et al US 2025/0393069 (hereinafter Viger)
Regarding claim 1, Seok teaches a wireless communication device, that transmit frames ([Seok, Slide 5] The non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) is a wireless communication device that transmits to an Initial Control Frame (ICF) an Initial Control Response (ICR) frame as shown in the figures of Slide 5, wherein the non-AP MLD performs the transmission in the exchange of ICF/ICR frames.)
receive, via a first link associated with the MLO at the wireless communication device, a second frame associated with a dynamic subchannel operation (DSO) frame exchange on the first link, wherein the second frame allocates, to the wireless communication device, one or more resource units (RUs) associated with a subchannel of the first link; and
(According to Seok in the preferred integrated design figure of Slide 5, the non-AP MLD receives via a first link (the link which is used to perform the exchange of the ICF and ICF frames that are associated with the MLO at the wireless device (as indicated by the non-AP MLD operating in the EMLSR mode), a second frame which is shown in the figure as an Initial Control Frame (ICF) comprising the Buffer Status Report Poll Trigger (BSRP Trigger) (Rx) and is associated with a DSO frame exchange on the first link as it is depicted in the figures as having integration of both the DSO sequence and the EMLSR sequence which is shown to occur on the same link. Wherein the ICF (the claimed second frame) allocates, to the non-AP MLD (the claimed wireless device), one or more RUs associated with a first subchannel of the first link which is noted as P160 in Slide 7.)
communicate, via the one or more RUs associate with the subchannel of the first link, a third frame in accordance with the DSO frame exchange and the communication mode.
([Seok, Slides 5-8] During the transmission opportunity (TXOP), the AP MLD schedules the RU to the non-AP MLD based on the DSO operating channel and EMLSR mode. The AP MLD and the non-AP MLD perform communication of frames (comprising the claimed third frame) via the RUs is shown in Sides 7-8 of Seok.)
But it does not teach transmitting a first frame including an indication that the wireless communication device is operating in accordance with a communication mode associated with one or more constraints on multi-link operation (MLO) at the wireless communication device.
However, Viger teaches the wireless communication device, ([Viger, Fig. 10, Communication device 1000 (may be any of the MLDs), ¶406-¶412])
comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the wireless communication device to:
([Viger, Fig. 10, ¶406-¶412] The claimed processing system includes a processor circuitry (1001) and memory circuitry 1003 storing executable code)
Also, Viger teaches transmitting a first frame including an indication that the wireless communication device is operating in accordance with a communication mode associated with one or more constraints on multi-link operation (MLO) at the wireless communication device;
([Viger, ¶94-¶95] the non-AP MLD sends an Enhanced Multi-Link Operation Mode Notification (“EML OM Notification”) indicating the activation and/or deactivation of the EMLSR or EMLMR mode in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links), wherein the one or more constraints may be the constraint to communicate via a link on which an initial control frame is received according to ¶95 of Viger.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Seok, discloses a eMLSR DSO between an AP MLD and non-AP MLD using various sizes of subbands which are allocated by RUs of a BSRP trigger of an initial control frame, with the teachings of Viger, indicating the usable hardware for any of the MLDs (AP and non-AP MLDs) which communicate frames using constraints of a MLO as indicated. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to coordinate the operations of respective channels in accordance with one or more of the IEEE 802.11 standards utilizing multi-link aggregation so that traffic associated with an MLD can be transmitted across multiple parallel communication links thereby increasing network capacity and maximizing utilization of available resources [Viger, ¶90-¶96].
Regarding claim 21, Seok teaches a wireless communication device (a non-AP MLD)
to:
Seok teaches a wireless communication device, that transmit frames ([Seok, Slide 5] The non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) is a wireless communication device that transmits to an Initial Control Frame (ICF) an Initial Control Response (ICR) frame as shown in the figures of Slide 5, wherein the non-AP MLD performs the transmission in the exchange of ICF/ICR frames.)
receive, in accordance with the indication that the wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode, a trigger frame associated with a dynamic subchannel operation (DSO) frame exchange, wherein the trigger frame allocates, to the wireless communication device, one or more resource units (RUs) associated with a subchannel; and
(According to Seok in the preferred integrated design figure of Slide 5, the non-AP MLD receives via a first link (the link which is used to perform the exchange of the ICF and ICF frames that are associated with the configuration mode of the wireless device (as indicated in Seok by the non-AP MLD operating in the EMLSR mode), a trigger frame which is shown in the figure as an Initial Control Frame (ICF) comprising the Buffer Status Report Poll Trigger (BSRP Trigger) (Rx) and is associated with a DSO frame exchange depicted in the figures as having integration of both the DSO sequence and the EMLSR sequence which is shown to occur on the same link. Wherein the ICF (the claimed trigger frame) allocates, to the non-AP MLD (the claimed wireless device), one or more RUs associated with a first subchannel of the first link which is noted as P160 in Slide 7 (or another subchannel S160 in Slide 8).)
receive, via the one or more RUs associated with the subchannel, a data frame in accordance with the DSO frame exchange.
([Seok, Slides 5-8] During the transmission opportunity (TXOP), the AP MLD schedules the RU to the non-AP MLD based on the DSO operating channel and EMLSR mode. The AP MLD and the non-AP MLD perform communication of Data (Rx) frames received by the non-AP MLD via the RUs is shown in Sides 7-8 of Seok.)
But Seok does not teach the wireless communication device, comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the wireless communication device to: transmit a frame including an indication that the wireless communication device has disabled a communication mode associated with uplink multi-user (MU) communication.
However, Viger teaches the wireless communication device, ([Viger, Fig. 10, Communication device 1000 (may be any of the MLDs), ¶406-¶412])
comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the wireless communication device to:
([Viger, Fig. 10 (shown above), ¶406-¶412] The claimed processing system includes a processor circuitry (1001) and memory circuitry 1003 storing executable code)
transmit a frame including an indication that the wireless communication device has disabled a communication mode associated with uplink multi-user (MU) communication;
([Viger, Fig. 2 (depicts Multi-User communication) ¶13, ¶94-¶95, and ¶254-¶257] the non-AP MLD sends an Enhanced Multi-Link Operation Mode Notification (“EML OM Notification”) indicating the activation and/or deactivation (disable) of the EMLSR or EMLMR mode in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links), wherein the one or more constraints may be the constraint to communicate via a link on which an initial control frame, uplink response and uplink data (uplink direction of the link) are exchanged according to ¶95 and ¶254-¶257 of Viger.)
Also, Viger teaches receiving a data frame in accordance with the indication that the wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode.
([Viger, ¶13, ¶94-¶96, ¶366 and ¶367 (receiving data in accordance with the indication of disabled communication modes)] the non-AP MLD sends an uplink data frames using the EMLSR or EMLMR modes in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links), in accordance with enabled and disabled communication mode indications for frame exchange ¶366 of Viger.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Seok, discloses a eMLSR DSO between an AP MLD and non-AP MLD using various sizes of subbands which are allocated by RUs of a BSRP trigger of an initial control frame, with the teachings of Viger, indicating the usable hardware for any of the MLDs (AP and non-AP MLDs) which communicate frames using indications of disable communication modes. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to coordinate the operations of respective channels in accordance with one or more of the IEEE 802.11 standards utilizing multi-link aggregation so that traffic associated with an MLD can be transmitted across multiple parallel communication links thereby increasing network capacity and maximizing utilization of available resources [Viger, ¶90-¶96].
Regarding claim 29, Seok teaches a first wireless communication device ([Seok, Slide 5] an AP MLD), comprising:
Seok teaches a first wireless communication device, that receives a first frame ([Seok, Slide 5] The access point multi-link device (AP MLD) is a wireless communication device that receives from a non-AP MLD in response to an Initial Control Frame (ICF) an Initial Control Response (ICR) frame as shown in the figures of Slide 5, wherein the non-AP MLD performs the transmission in the exchange of ICF/ICR frames.)
transmit, via a first link associated with the MLO at the second wireless communication device, a second frame associated with a dynamic subchannel operation (DSO) frame exchange on the first link, wherein the second frame allocates, to the second wireless communication device, one or more resource units (RUs) associated with a subchannel of the first link; and
(According to Seok in the preferred integrated design figure of Slide 5, the AP MLD transmits to the non-AP MLD via a first link (the link which is used to perform the exchange of the ICF and ICF frames that are associated with the MLO at the second wireless device (as indicated by the non-AP MLD operating in the EMLSR mode), a second frame which is shown in the figure as an Initial Control Frame (ICF) comprising the Buffer Status Report Poll Trigger (BSRP Trigger) (Rx) and is associated with a DSO frame exchange on the first link as it is depicted in the figures as having integration of both the DSO sequence and the EMLSR sequence which is shown to occur on the same link. Wherein the ICF (the claimed second frame) allocates, to the non-AP MLD (the claimed second wireless device), one or more RUs associated with a first subchannel of the first link which is noted as P160 in Slide 7.)
communicate, via the one or more RUs associate with the subchannel of the first link, a third frame in accordance with the DSO frame exchange and the communication mode.
([Seok, Slides 5-8] During the transmission opportunity (TXOP), the AP MLD schedules the RU to the non-AP MLD based on the DSO operating channel and EMLSR mode. The AP MLD and the non-AP MLD perform communication of frames (comprising the claimed third frame) via the RUs is shown in Sides 7-8 of Seok.)
But it does not teach receiving an indication that a second wireless communication device is operating in accordance with a communication mode associated with one or more constraints on multi-link operation (MLO) at the second wireless communication device.
However, Viger teaches the first wireless communication device, ([Viger, Fig. 10, Communication device 1000 (may be any of the MLDs such as the AP MLD), ¶406-¶412])
comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
([Viger, Fig. 10, ¶406-¶412] The claimed processing system includes a processor circuitry (1001) and memory circuitry 1003 storing executable code)
receive a first frame including an indication that a second wireless communication device is operating in accordance with a communication mode associated with one or more constraints on multi-link operation (MLO) at the second wireless communication device;
([Viger, ¶94-¶95] the AP MLD receives, from the non-AP MLD, an Enhanced Multi-Link Operation Mode Notification (“EML OM Notification”) indicating the activation and/or deactivation of the EMLSR or EMLMR mode in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links) at the non-AP MLD, wherein the one or more constraints may be the constraint to communicate via a link on which an initial control frame is received according to ¶95 of Viger.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Seok, discloses a eMLSR DSO between an AP MLD and non-AP MLD using various sizes of subbands which are allocated by RUs of a BSRP trigger of an initial control frame, with the teachings of Viger, indicating the usable hardware for any of the MLDs (AP and non-AP MLDs) which communicate frames using constraints of a MLO as indicated. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to coordinate the operations of respective channels in accordance with one or more of the IEEE 802.11 standards utilizing multi-link aggregation so that traffic associated with an MLD can be transmitted across multiple parallel communication links thereby increasing network capacity and maximizing utilization of available resources [Viger, ¶90-¶96].
Regarding claim 48, Seok teaches a first wireless communication device
([Seok, Slide 5] an access point multi-link device (AP MLD))
to:
receive frames ([Seok, Slide 5] The access point multi-link device (AP MLD) is a first wireless communication device that receives, responsive to an Initial Control Frame (ICF), an Initial Control Response (ICR) frame as shown in the figures of Slide 5.)
transmit, in accordance with the indication that the second wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode, a trigger frame associated with a dynamic subchannel operation (DSO) frame exchange, wherein the trigger frame allocates, to the second wireless communication device, one or more resource units (RUs) associated with a subchannel;
(According to Seok in the preferred integrated design figure of Slide 5, the AP MLD transmits via a first link (the link which is used to perform the exchange of the ICF and ICF frames that are associated with the configuration mode of the second wireless device (as indicated in Seok by the non-AP MLD operating in the EMLSR mode), a trigger frame which is shown in the figure as an Initial Control Frame (ICF) comprising the Buffer Status Report Poll Trigger (BSRP Trigger) (Rx) and is associated with a DSO frame exchange depicted in the figures as having integration of both the DSO sequence and the EMLSR sequence which is shown to occur on the same link. Wherein the ICF (the claimed trigger frame) allocates, to the non-AP MLD (the claimed second wireless device), one or more RUs associated with a first subchannel of the first link which is noted as P160 in Slide 7 (or another subchannel S160 in Slide 8).)
transmit, via the one or more RUs associated with the subchannel, a data frame in accordance with the DSO frame exchange.
([Seok, Slides 5-8] During the transmission opportunity (TXOP), the AP MLD schedules the RU to the non-AP MLD based on the DSO operating channel and EMLSR mode. The AP MLD and the non-AP MLD perform communication by transmission of Data (Rx) frames received by the non-AP MLD via the RUs is shown in Sides 7-8 of Seok.)
But Seok does not teach the first wireless communication device, comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive a frame including an indication that the second wireless communication device has disabled a communication mode associated with uplink multi-user (MU) communication.
However, Viger teaches the first wireless communication device, ([Viger, Fig. 10, Communication device 1000 (may be any of the MLDs), ¶406-¶412])
comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
([Viger, Fig. 10 (shown above), ¶406-¶412] The claimed processing system includes a processor circuitry (1001) and memory circuitry 1003 storing executable code)
receive a frame including an indication that the second wireless communication device has disabled a communication mode associated with uplink multi-user (MU) communication;
([Viger, Fig. 2 (depicts Multi-User communication) ¶13, ¶94-¶95, and ¶254-¶257] the AP MLD receives, from the non-AP MLD, the sent an Enhanced Multi-Link Operation Mode Notification (“EML OM Notification”) indicating the activation and/or deactivation (disable) of the EMLSR or EMLMR mode in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links), wherein the one or more constraints may be the constraint to communicate via a link on which an initial control frame, uplink response and uplink data (uplink direction of the link) are exchanged according to ¶95 and ¶254-¶257 of Viger.)
transmit a data frame in accordance with the indication that the wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode.
([Viger, ¶13, ¶94-¶96, ¶366 and ¶367 (the AP MLD performs the receiving of a data in accordance with the indication of disabled communication modes)] the non-AP MLD sends an uplink data frames using the EMLSR or EMLMR modes in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links), in accordance with enabled and disabled communication mode indications for frame exchange ¶366 of Viger.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Seok, discloses a eMLSR DSO between an AP MLD and non-AP MLD using various sizes of subbands which are allocated by RUs of a BSRP trigger of an initial control frame, with the teachings of Viger, indicating the usable hardware for any of the MLDs (AP and non-AP MLDs) which communicate frames using indications of disable communication modes. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to coordinate the operations of respective channels in accordance with one or more of the IEEE 802.11 standards utilizing multi-link aggregation so that traffic associated with an MLD can be transmitted across multiple parallel communication links thereby increasing network capacity and maximizing utilization of available resources [Viger, ¶90-¶96].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to communicate the third frame, the processing system is configured to cause the wireless communication device to:
transmit the third frame as a response to the second frame, wherein the second frame is a trigger frame associated with the DSO frame exchange. ([Seok, Slide 5] The Initial Control Response (ICR) frame as shown below in slide 5 of Seok is the claimed third frame, which comprises the clear-to-send (CTS)/buffer status report (BSR). The ICR frame is transmitted in response to the ICF (the claimed second frame), which is a trigger frame associated with the DSO frame exchange as noted in Slide 5 (depicting the DSO frame exchange) and Slide 7 (depicting the trigger frame.))
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 2, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to:
switch to a transmit mode on the subchannel of the first link in association with the second frame allocating the one or more RUs associated with the subchannel of the first link, wherein the third frame is transmitted after switching to the transmit mode on the subchannel of the first link.
([Seok, Slide 6 and Slide 8] The non-AP MLD switches to the DSO operating channel set in the RU Allocation field of the ICF after and sends a response (BSR), wherein the non-AP MLD as indicated has been switched to a transmit mode to transmit the response on the subchannel of the link (subchannel S160) in association with the ICF’s RU allocation associated with the subchannel S160 of the first link, wherein the ICR – CTS/BSR frame (third frame) is transmitted after switching to the transmit mode on the subchannel of the first link as indicated in Slides 6 and 8 of Seok.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger the wireless communication device of claim 3, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to:
interpret the second frame as an initial control frame of the communication mode, wherein transmitting the third frame after switching to the transmit mode on the subchannel of the first link is in association with interpreting the second frame as the initial control frame of the communication mode ([Seok, Slides 5 and 8 (shown above)] The claimed second frame is interpreted as the ICF of the communication mode as shown in Slide 5 and Slide 8 of EMSLR communication mode, wherein the transmitting the claimed third frame, shown as the ICR – CTS/BSR, after switching to the transmit mode (indicated by the BSR(Tx)) on the subchannel of the first link S160 is in association with interpreting the second frame as the ICF of the communication mode which allocates the appropriate RUs of S160.)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to:
transmit, via a station (STA) affiliated with the wireless communication device, an indication that the STA supports the DSO frame exchange on the first link, wherein the indication that the STA supports the DSO frame exchange on the first link is independent from the indication that the wireless communication device is operating in accordance with the communication mode.
([Seok, Slide 5] The indication that the non-AD MLD supports the DSO frame exchange on the first link is shown as the DSO sequence of slide 5 of Seok, which is independent from the indication that the non-AP MLD is operating in accordance with the EMLSR communication mode)
Furthermore, it is disclosed by Viger that the STA is affiliated with the wireless communication device in the Fig. provided in Fig 1 of Viger which teaches that the non-AP MLD has an affiliated STA (as the non-AP MLD comprises several STAs which are affiliated) which the AP is able to communicate with using a correspond link [Viger, Fig. 1, ¶108].
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger applied to the rejection of claim 1 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the communication mode is an enhanced multi-link single-radio (EMLSR) mode or an enhanced multi-link multi-radio (EMLMR) mode, and wherein the one or more constraints on the MLO at the wireless communication device include a constraint to communicate via a link on which an initial control frame is received.
([Seok, Slide 7 (shown below)] The communication mode is EMLSR as noted in the heading of Slide 7 of Seok, The communication during the operating channel (Rx/Tx) occurs on the same channel link of P160 on which the ICF is received wherein the ICF of Slide 7 of Seok is shown as the BSRP trigger in allocating the RU within P160)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 17, wherein the first frame is an enhanced multi-link (EML) operating mode notification frame that enables the EMLSR mode or the EMLMR mode.
([Viger, ¶94-¶95] The non-AP MLD communicates the claimed first frame comprising an Enhanced Multi-Link Operation Mode Notification (“EML OM Notification”) indicating the activation and/or deactivation of the EMLSR or EMLMR mode in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links), wherein the one or more constraints may be the constraint to communicate via a link on which an initial control frame is received according to ¶95 of Viger.)
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger applied to the rejection of claim 1 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the one or more constraints on the MLO at the wireless communication device include a constraint from communicating via the first link and a second link simultaneously. [Viger, ¶85, ¶95 and ¶395 (Simultaneous communication via the first and second links may be performed by the non-AP MLD according to the MLO constraints to simultaneously listen to the links during their operation.)]
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger applied to the rejection of claim 1 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 19, wherein the first link and the second link form an enhanced multi-link single-radio (E-LSR) link set of the wireless communication device. [Viger, Figs. 1 and 9-9A, ¶94-¶95 (The first and second links of the non-AP MLD may be EMLSR.)] See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger applied to the rejection of claim 1 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 21, wherein the DSO frame exchange is exclusively associated with downlink communication to the wireless communication device in accordance with the indication that the wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode.
([Seok, Slide 8] The DSO frame exchange as indicated in the Slide 8 of Seok is exclusively associated with the downlink communication (shown as Data (Rx) in Slide 8 of Seok) to the non-AP MLD (the claimed wireless communication device) in accordance with the indication that the non-AP MLD has switched from the communication mode of listening to both channels to only listening to one, while also in accordance with the Enhanced Multi-Link Operation Mode Notification (“EML OM Notification”) indicating the activation and/or deactivation (disable) of the EMLSR or EMLMR mode in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links) according to ¶94-¶95 of Viger.)
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger applied to the rejection of claim 21 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 21, wherein the trigger frame is an MU-request to send (RTS) frame type in accordance with the indication that the wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode.
([Seok, Slide 5 (Initial Control Frame is a MU-RTS/BSRP trigger frame) and Slide 8 (further shows the Initial Control Frame and following exchange of communications in response)] The ICF is a MU-RTS trigger frame sent to the listening non-AP MLD operating in EMLSR mode, in accordance with the indication that the non-AP MLD has switched from the communication mode of listening to both channels to only listening to one, while also in accordance with the Enhanced Multi-Link Operation Mode Notification (“EML OM Notification”) indicating the activation and/or deactivation of the EMLSR or EMLMR mode in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links) according to ¶94-¶95 of Viger)
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger applied to the rejection of claim 21 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the wireless communication device of claim 21, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive an announcement frame associated with the DSO frame exchange, wherein the announcement frame is an MU-request to send (RTS) frame type in accordance with the indication that the wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode.
([Seok, Slide 5 (Initial Control Frame is a MU-RTS/BSRP trigger frame which is interpreted as the claimed announcement frame) and Slide 8 (further shows the Initial Control Frame and following exchange of communications in response)] The ICF is a MU-RTS trigger frame (interpreted as the claimed announcement frame) associated with the DSO frame exchange (DSO sequence) which may be integrated with the EMLSR sequence as shown in the Slides 5) sent to the listening non-AP MLD operating in EMLSR mode, in accordance with the indication that the non-AP MLD has switched from the communication mode of listening to both channels to only listening to one, while also in accordance with the Enhanced Multi-Link Operation Mode Notification (“EML OM Notification”) indicating the activation and/or deactivation (disable) of the EMLSR or EMLMR mode in a particular set of enabled links (EMLSR or EMLMR links) according to ¶94-¶95 of Viger.)
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger applied to the rejection of claim 21 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 29, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, from a station (STA) affiliated with the second wireless communication device, an indication that the STA supports the DSO frame exchange on the first link, wherein the indication that the STA supports the DSO frame exchange on the first link is independent from the indication that the second wireless communication device is operating in accordance with the communication mode.
([Seok, Slide 5 (shown above in the rejection of claim 10)] The indication received from the non-AP MLD that the non-AP MLD supports the DSO frame exchange on the first link is shown as the DSO sequence of slide 5 of Seok, which is independent from the indication that the non-AP MLD is operating in accordance with the EMLSR communication mode)
Furthermore, it is disclosed by Viger that the STA is affiliated with the wireless communication device in the Fig. provided in Fig 1 of Viger which teaches that the non-AP MLD has an affiliated STA (as the non-AP MLD comprises several STAs which are affiliated) which the AP is able to communicate with using a correspond link [Viger, Fig. 1 (shown above in the rejection of claim 10), ¶108].
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger applied to the rejection of claim 29 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 48, wherein the DSO frame exchange is exclusively associated with downlink communication to the second wireless communication device in accordance with the indication that the second wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode.
(See the rejection and statement of obviousness applied to claim 22 which is similarly applied hereto)
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Seok, in view Viger teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 48, wherein the trigger frame is an MU-request to send (RTS) frame type in accordance with the indication that the second wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode.
(See the rejection and statement of obviousness applied to claim 23 which is similarly applied hereto)
Regarding claim 51, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 48, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit an announcement frame associated with the DSO frame exchange, wherein the announcement frame is an MU-request to send (RTS) frame type in accordance with the indication that the second wireless communication device has disabled the communication mode.
(See the rejection and statement of obviousness applied to claim 24 which is similarly applied hereto)
Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok, in view of Viger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sundaravaradhan US 2023/0239743 (hereinafter Sunda).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of the Seok, in view of Viger wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to communicate the third frame, the processing system is configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive the third frame via the one or more RUs associated with the subchannel of the first link,
([Seok, Slide 5 and Slide 8 (shown above)] Seok in Slide 8, discloses the non-AP MLD communicates the claimed third frame which are shown as the communication of at least one subsequent frame during the operating channel (Tx/Rx) process flowing the reception of the ICF/BSRP of Slides 5 and Slide 8, in a processes of receiving, by the non-AP MLD, the at least one subsequent frame during the operating channel Tx/Rx process (interpreted as the third frame) via the one or more RUs associated with the subchannel of the first link which is shown as the S160 in Slide 8 which is shown in Slide 8 as having been allocated according to the ICF/BSRP.)
But it does not teach wherein the third frame is a trigger frame associated with the DSO frame exchange.
However, Sunda teaches wherein the second frame is an announcement frame associated with the DSO frame exchange, and wherein the third frame is a trigger frame associated with the DSO frame exchange.
([Sunda, ¶103] According to Sunda, the second frame is an announcement frame as the initial control frame (ICF). This is because the null-data-packet announcement (NDPA) frame may be modified to serve as the initial control frame itself instead of using an ICF exchange (e.g. MU-RTS/CTS, or BSRP/BSR). [Sunda, ¶71-¶72 and ¶93-¶101] This NDPA frame which is modified to serve as the ICF is associated with the DSO frame exchange, because the ICF exchange comprises the Rx BSRP (on 160P) 272 of Fig. 2C which is considered the claimed second frame associated with the DSO frame exchange, which indicates to DSO STA 270 which is a non-AP device, to dynamically switch its subband operation to 160S which is the second subband/channel of the link, and wherein the claimed third frame, which is disclosed by Sunda ¶98 as the Rx BSRP (on 160S) 274, is a trigger frame associated with the DSO frame exchange (during the exchange of the DSO TXOP) which is further emphasized as the Rx BSRP (on 160S) 274 has an indication that it is a triggers/requires a response ¶71-¶72 and ¶100-¶101 of Sunda.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Seok, in view of Viger discloses a eMLSR DSO between an AP MLD and non-AP MLD using allocated by RUs of a BSRP trigger of an initial control frame, with the teachings of Sunda, indicating that there may be a second BSRP 264/274 (the claimed third frame) which is a trigger frame that triggers a response in the form of a transmission of a fourth frame (Tx BSR 276) from the DSO STA. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to switch to a narrower band [Sunda, ¶101] or coordinate a delayed response (Tx BSR 286/286) in the RUs allocated by the first Tx BSR 262/272 (the claimed second frame) to the different STAs/non-AP MLDSs [Sunda, ¶98-¶99].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger and Sunda teaches the wireless communication device of claim 5, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to:
switch to a receive mode on the subchannel of the first link in association with the second frame allocating the one or more RUs associated with the subchannel of the first link, wherein the third frame is received after switching to the receive mode on the subchannel of the first link. [Sunda, Fig. 2C (shown below) and ¶96, ¶99 and ¶108 (RU allocation and switching based on BSRP signal)]
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger and Sunda applied to the rejection of claim 5 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger and Sunda teaches the wireless communication device of claim 6, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to: interpret the second frame as an initial control frame of the communication mode, wherein receiving the third frame after switching to the receive mode on the subchannel of the first link is in association with interpreting the second frame as the initial control frame of the communication mode. [Sunda, Fig. 2C (shown below) and ¶96, ¶99 and ¶103 (the BSRP frame is included in the ICF and therefore the BSRP frame (the second frame) is interpreted as the ICF of the communication mode)]
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger and Sunda applied to the rejection of claim 5 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger and Sunda teaches the wireless communication device of claim 5, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to: transmit, via the one or more RUs associated with the subchannel of the first link, a fourth frame as a response to the third frame. [Sunda, Fig. 2C (shown below) and ¶96, ¶99 and ¶108 (RU allocation and switching based on BSRP frame which are resources for transmitting the BSR response).]
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger and Sunda applied to the rejection of claim 5 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Seok, in view of Viger and Sunda teaches the wireless communication device of claim 8, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to: switch to a transmit mode on the subchannel of the first link in association with receiving the third frame, wherein the fourth frame is transmitted after switching to the transmit mode on the subchannel of the first link. [Sunda, Fig. 2C (shown below) and ¶96, ¶99 and ¶108 (RU allocation and switching based on BSRP frame which are resources of the 160S of the DSO STA 270 for switching to a transmit mode upon receiving the Rx BSRP 274 (the claimed third frame) and transmitting the BSR response (the Tx BSR 276)).]
See the statement of obviousness and the rationale of the motivation to combine Seok, in view of Viger and Sunda applied to the rejection of claim 5 which is also applied to the instant claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-26 and 37-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The Examiner has conducted an updated search of the available Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which teaches either solely or in combination with another reference the claim limitations of “The wireless communication device of claim 21, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive the data frame via a secondary subchannel, wherein the subchannel comprises the secondary subchannel; switch from the secondary subchannel to a primary subchannel in accordance with an absence of communication to the wireless communication device for a threshold time period after the data frame; and receive a request for feedback associated with the data frame via the primary subchannel after switching from the secondary subchannel to the primary subchannel” and “The first wireless communication device of claim 29, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, via a fourth frame, information indicative of multiple sets of padding delay and transition delay in association with receiving the indication that the second wireless communication device operates in accordance with the communication mode and supports the DSO frame exchange on the first link, wherein communication via the one or more RUs associated with the subchannel of the first link is in accordance with at least one of the multiple sets of padding delay and transition delay”, in combination with all the other claim limitations of their respective base claims and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467