DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to application number 18/506,844 filed on November 10th 2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), submitted on April 22nd 2025 and August 7th 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4,5,6 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO2023245669 A1) in view of Chopra et al. (US 20230354213 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 26, Zhang et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: receive a subband full duplex (SBFD) time and frequency configuration allocating resources for communication with a network entity based on an SBFD mode (WO 2023245669 A1 Page 11 Paragraph 1 discloses “The network device 120 may transmit (308) , to the terminal device 110, SBFD configuration 310, e.g., time and frequency resources for UL subband.”); obtain a UE operation mode for the resources, wherein the UE operation mode is one of a UE full-duplex (FD) mode or a UE half-duplex (HD) mode; and communicate with the network entity in the resources allocated for the UE based on the UE operation mode (WO 2023245669 A1 Page 13 Paragraph 6 discloses “In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may receive, from the network device 120, an indication whether the set of transmissions are to be transmitted or received in time intervals associated with half duplex mode or in time intervals associated with subband full duplex mode by the terminal device 110. If the set of transmissions are to be transmitted or received in time intervals associated with subband full duplex mode based on the indication, the terminal device 110 may transmit or receive the transmission in the time interval. If the set of transmissions are to be transmitted or received in time intervals associated with half duplex mode based on the indication, the terminal device 110 may skip the time interval associated with subband full duplex mode and postpone transmitting or receiving the transmission to a subsequent time interval associated with half duplex mode.”).
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose perform a self-interference (SI) measurement on the UE to obtain an SI indication, wherein the SI measurement is triggered by an indication of the UE operate mode being the UE FD mode;
However in an analogous art Chopra et al. teaches to perform a self-interference (SI) measurement on the UE to obtain an SI indication, wherein the SI measurement is triggered by an indication of the UE operate mode being the UE FD mode (US 20230354213 A1 Paragraph 0065 discloses “In some embodiments, the interference channel evaluator 244 may initiate and/or otherwise update a measurement of the self-interference channel 248, responsive to a request for full-duplex operation, such as the example request received from the full-duplex controller 245. Alternatively or in addition, the interference channel evaluator 244 may be adapted to obtain and/or otherwise update a characterization of the self-interference channel 248 according to a schedule and/or periods of opportunity and/or according to any of the other example scenarios disclosed herein.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Chopra et al., to perform a self-interference (SI) measurement on the UE to obtain an SI indication, wherein the SI measurement is triggered by an indication of the UE operate mode being the UE FD mode, in order to prevent receiver saturation and employ self-interference cancellation accurately.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to obtain the UE operation mode, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of the UE operation mode for the resources in the SBFD time and frequency configuration (WO 2023245669 A1 Page 13 Paragraph 6 discloses “In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may receive, from the network device 120, an indication whether the set of transmissions are to be transmitted or received in time intervals associated with half duplex mode or in time intervals associated with subband full duplex mode by the terminal device 110”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to obtain the UE operation mode, the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: set a default operation mode of the UE operation mode as the UE FD mode in response to the SBFD time and frequency configuration not indicating the UE operation mode (WO2023245669 A1 Page 10 Paragraph 8 discloses “Upon determining (326) that the time interval for the transmission comprises a time interval associated with subband full duplex mode, the terminal device 110 performs an operation (328) related to transmitting or receiving the transmission. Embodiments of the present application define clear UE behavior for SBFD capable UE to transmit or receive multiple transmissions over both UL only symbols/slots and SBFD symbols/slots.”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the indication of the UE operation mode comprises a one-bit indicator, wherein the one-bit indicator is comprised in one of: scheduling downlink control information (DCI), non-scheduling DCI, group-common (GC) DCI, a radio resource control (RRC) message, or a medium access control (MAC) - control element (MAC-CE) (WO2023245669 A1 Page 14 Paragraph 2 discloses “In some embodiments, the transmissions may be scheduled by a single DCI. The indication may comprise at least one of: an explicit indication in DCI, a type of a first time interval on which a first transmission in the set of transmissions is transmitted or received by the terminal device 110 based on the DCI, a frequency resource allocation in the DCI and a first index of a first BWP in the DCI or a second index of a second BWP in the DCI. The first BWP corresponds to a time interval associated with subband full duplex mode, and the second BWP corresponds to a time interval associated with half duplex mode. This solution is simple and clean and enables multiple transmissions are in one kind of TDD symbols/slots and/or SBFD symbols/slots.”).
Claims 2,3,7-25 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO2023245669 A1) in view of Chopra et al. (US 20230354213 A1) further in view Su et al. (US 20220182160 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 27, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to receive the SBFD time and frequency configuration, the at least one processor, is configured to receive the SBFD time and frequency configuration via the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a configured grant allocating uplink resources for uplink transmissions (WO2023245669 A1 Page 10 Paragraph 7 discloses “The set of transmissions may comprise a set of UL transmissions to be transmitted by the terminal device 110 or may comprise a set of DL transmissions to be received by the terminal device 110. In some examples, the set of transmissions may comprise multiple transmissions scheduled by DCI. In some examples, the set of transmissions may comprise multiple configured grant (CG) transmissions.”); and receive semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) allocating downlink resources for reception of downlink transmissions (WO2023245669 A1 Page 24 Paragraph 12 discloses “In some embodiments, the downlink transmission may be a Semi Persistent Scheduling Physical Downlink Shared Channel (SPS PDSCH).”), wherein to obtain the UE operation mode for the resources, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: Identify a first set of occasions in which the uplink resources of the configured grant overlap with the downlink resources of the SPS (WO2023245669 A1 Page 25 Paragraph 1 discloses “In some embodiments, if the downlink transmission is to overlap with the first uplink transmission in time domain, the terminal device 110 may determine one of the first uplink transmission and the downlink transmission as a target transmission to resolve a potential collision between the first uplink transmission and the downlink transmission.”).
Zhang et al. fail explicitly to disclose and wherein to communicate with the network entity, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: communicate with the network entity based on a first set of one or more operation parameters associated with a first UE operation mode in the first set of occasions and a second set of one or more operation parameters associated with a second UE operation mode in the second set of one or more occasions.
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein to communicate with the network entity, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: communicate with the network entity based on a first set of one or more operation parameters associated with a first UE operation mode in the first set of occasions (US 20220182160 A1 Paragraph 127 discloses “At 1602, the UE may receive, from a base station, a first set of parameters for a full-duplex mode of the base station.”) and a second set of one or more operation parameters associated with a second UE operation mode in the second set of one or more occasions (US 20220182160 A1 Paragraph 129 discloses “ At 1606, the UE may receive, from the base station, a second set of parameters for a half-duplex mode of the base station. For example, 1606 may be performed by FD/HD mode configuration reception component 1740. In some aspects, the second set of parameters includes at least one of a transmission power, a transmission beam, a precoder, a rank indicator, a modulation and coding scheme, or a timing advance.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to communicate with the network entity based on a first set of one or more operation parameters associated with a first UE operation mode in the first set of occasions and a second set of one or more operation parameters associated with a second UE operation mode in the second set of one or more occasions., in order to adapt or change the operation parameters used to the change in the operation mode.
Regarding claims 3 and 28, Zhang et al disclose the apparatus of claim 2.
Zhang et al fail to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more operation parameters associated with the UE operation mode comprise one or more of: a downlink (DL) modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an uplink (UL) MCS, a DL beam for the UE, a number of layers for communicating with the network entity, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a UL beam for the UE,UL power control (PC) parameters for the UE, or UL timing advance (TA).
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein the one or more operation parameters associated with the UE operation mode comprise one or more of: a downlink (DL) modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an uplink (UL) MCS, a DL beam for the UE, a number of layers for communicating with the network entity, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a UL beam for the UE,UL power control (PC) parameters for the UE, or UL timing advance (TA) (US 20220182160 A1 Paragraph 127 discloses “In some aspects, the first set of parameters includes at least one of a transmission power, a transmission beam, a precoder, a rank indicator, a modulation and coding scheme, or a timing advance.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to include the one or more operation parameters associated with the UE operation mode comprising one or more of: a downlink (DL) modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an uplink (UL) MCS, a DL beam for the UE, a number of layers for communicating with the network entity, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a UL beam for the UE,UL power control (PC) parameters for the UE, or UL timing advance (TA), in order to adapt or change the operation parameters used to the change in the operation mode.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 6,
Zhang et al fail to explicitly disclose wherein to communicate with the network entity, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: apply a set of one or more operation parameters associated with the UE operation mode, and communicate with the network entity based on the set of one or more operation parameters, wherein the one or more operation parameters comprise one or more of: a downlink (DL) modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an uplink (UL) MCS, a DL beam for the UE, a number of layers for communicating with the network entity, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a UL beam for the UE, UL power control (PC) parameters for the UE, or UL timing advance (TA).
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches applying a set of one or more operation parameters associated with the UE operation mode, and communicate with the network entity based on the set of one or more operation parameters, wherein the one or more operation parameters comprise one or more of: a downlink (DL) modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an uplink (UL) MCS, a DL beam for the UE, a number of layers for communicating with the network entity, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a UL beam for the UE, UL power control (PC) parameters for the UE, or UL timing advance (TA) (US 20220182160 A1 Paragraph 127 discloses “In some aspects, the first set of parameters includes at least one of a transmission power, a transmission beam, a precoder, a rank indicator, a modulation and coding scheme, or a timing advance.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to include the one or more operation parameters associated with the UE operation mode comprising one or more of: a downlink (DL) modulation and coding scheme (MCS), an uplink (UL) MCS, a DL beam for the UE, a number of layers for communicating with the network entity, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a UL beam for the UE,UL power control (PC) parameters for the UE, or UL timing advance (TA), in order to adapt or change the operation parameters used to the change in the operation mode.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 6.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: report, to the network entity, the SI indication.
However in an analogous art Su et al teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: report, to the network entity, the SI indication (US20220182160 Paragraph 0413 discloses “In step S2320, the terminal may transmit feedback information determined according to the measurement result.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to report, to the network entity, the SI indication , in order to employ self-interference cancellation accurately.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 8.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the SI indication is a one-bit indication indicating a comparison of the SI measurement with an SI threshold and included in at least one of an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report, or a beam management (BM) report, wherein the SI indication is included in a bit at an end of the BM report, a new BM metric, or an existing BM metric in the BM report.
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein the SI indication is a one-bit indication indicating a comparison of the SI measurement with an SI threshold and included in at least one of an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report, or a beam management (BM) report, wherein the SI indication is included in a bit at an end of the BM report, a new BM metric, or an existing BM metric in the BM report (US20220182160 Paragraph 0426 discloses “For example, the terminal may transmit the feedback information related to the residual self-interference measurement together with acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) information in an uplink control channel or an uplink shared channel. Therefore, the feedback can be performed in a timely manner without occupying extra resources.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to indicate the SI measurement with an SI threshold and include in an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report, in order provide the network with quick feedback to distinguish between external interference and internal interference failures to facilitate power level and guard band related changes.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 8.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein to report the SI indication, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: report the SI indication in a nearest beam management (BM) report or a nearest ACK/NACK feedback report.
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein to report the SI indication, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: report the SI indication in a nearest beam management (BM) report or a nearest ACK/NACK feedback report (US20220182160 Paragraph 0426 discloses “For example, the terminal may transmit the feedback information related to the residual self-interference measurement together with acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) information in an uplink control channel or an uplink shared channel. Therefore, the feedback can be performed in a timely manner without occupying extra resources.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to report the SI indication in a nearest ACK/NACK feedback report, in order provide the network with quick feedback to distinguish between external interference and internal interference failures to facilitate power level and guard band related changes.
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Zhang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 8.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration of a group based beam report with a periodic interference measurement resource (IMR) for the SI measurement; and transmit, to the network entity, a beam management (BM) report including the SI measurement at least partially based on the periodic IMR.
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration of a group based beam report with a periodic interference measurement resource (IMR) for the SI measurement; and transmit, to the network entity, a beam management (BM) report including the SI measurement at least partially based on the periodic IMR (US20220182160 Paragraph 0119 discloses “The at least one processor may be configured to receive first configuration information, and determine a measurement time-frequency resource for residual self-interference measurement based on the first configuration information. The at least one processor may perform the residual self-interference measurement on the measurement time-frequency resource to obtain a measurement result, transmit feedback information determined according to the measurement result…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to configure the reporting of self- interference experienced and measured by the terminal, in order enable the network adjust UE operation mode parameters such that the self-interference experienced and reported by the terminal is reduced.
Regarding claims 12 and 22, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the BM report further comprises: in response to the indication of the UE operation mode indicating the UE FD mode, a selected DL beam and a selected UL beam for the UE FD mode (WO 2023245669 A1 Page 5 Paragraph 12 discloses “In a fourth aspect, there is provided method of communication. The method comprises: transmitting, at a network device to a terminal device, a first indication of a downlink transmission to be received by the terminal device in a downlink subband in a time interval associated with subband full duplex mode; transmitting, to the terminal device, a second indication of a first uplink transmission to be transmitted by the terminal device in an uplink sub-band in the time interval associated with subband full duplex mode; and in response to the downlink transmission being overlapped with the first uplink transmission in time domain, performing an operation related to the downlink transmission or the first uplink transmission.”).
Regarding claims 13 and 23, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 12.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the BM report further comprises one or more of: in response to the indication of the UE operation mode indicating the UE FD mode, a DL signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of the UE, wherein the SINR includes the SI as an interference, and a DL reference signal received power (RSRP) measured with a UE UL beam.
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein the BM report further comprises one or more of: in response to the indication of the UE operation mode indicating the UE FD mode, a DL signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of the UE, wherein the SINR includes the SI as an interference (US20220182160 Paragraph 0410 discloses “FIG. 27 illustrates a schematic diagram of measurement time-frequency resource used to measure SINR considering residual self-interference…”), and a DL reference signal received power (RSRP) measured with a UE UL beam (US20220182160 Paragraph 0397 discloses “Therefore, the strength of the received signal measured by the terminal may include the strength of residual self-interference, inter-cell interference, and noise. Accordingly, the base station can use the strength of the received signal to determine the strength of the residual self-interference, thereby determining whether the terminal can continue to operate in the full-duplex mode.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to determine a DL signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of the UE, wherein the SINR includes the SI as an interference, and a DL reference signal received power (RSRP) measured with a UE UL beam, in order enable the network to adjust UE operation mode parameters such that the self-interference experienced and reported by the terminal is reduced.
Regarding claims 14 and 24, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 13.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the selected DL beam and the selected UL beam are based on the DL SINR and the DL RSRP measured with the UE UL beam.
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein the selected DL beam and the selected UL beam are based on the DL SINR (US20220182160 Paragraph 0410 discloses “FIG. 27 illustrates a schematic diagram of measurement time-frequency resource used to measure SINR considering residual self-interference…”) and the DL RSRP measured with the UE UL beam (US20220182160 Paragraph 0397 discloses “Therefore, the strength of the received signal measured by the terminal may include the strength of residual self-interference, inter-cell interference, and noise. Accordingly, the base station can use the strength of the received signal to determine the strength of the residual self-interference, thereby determining whether the terminal can continue to operate in the full-duplex mode.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to determine a DL signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of the UE, wherein the SINR includes the SI as an interference, and a DL reference signal received power (RSRP) measured with a UE UL beam, in order enable the network to adjust UE operation mode parameters such that the self-interference experienced and reported by the terminal is reduced
Regarding claims15 and 25, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 11.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network entity, a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the CSI report comprises two hypotheses comprising: a first hypothesis associated with a first channel quality indicator (CQI) including an SI as an interference source, and a second hypothesis associated with a second CQI not including the SI as the interference source (US20220182160 Paragraph 0113 discloses “…and the step of transmitting feedback information determined according to the measurement result may include determining at least one of the strength of the residual self-interference, the signal-to- interference -and-noise ratio considering the residual self- interference, or the signal-to- interference -and-noise ratio without considering the residual self- interference as the feedback information.”).
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network entity, a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the CSI report comprises two hypotheses comprising: a first hypothesis associated with a first channel quality indicator (CQI) including an SI as an interference source, and a second hypothesis associated with a second CQI not including the SI as the interference source (US20220182160 Paragraph 0113 discloses “…and the step of transmitting feedback information determined according to the measurement result may include determining at least one of the strength of the residual self-interference, the signal-to- interference -and-noise ratio considering the residual self- interference, or the signal-to- interference -and-noise ratio without considering the residual self- interference as the feedback information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to transmit, to the network entity channel feedback whereby the first channel feedback includes SI as an interference source, and a second hypothesis associated with a second channel feedback not including the SI as the interference source, in order to enable the network to manage complex tradeoffs of SBFD.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the SBFD time and frequency configuration comprises a semi-static network SBFD time and frequency indication indicating at least a part of the resources as FD resources, wherein to obtain the UE operation mode, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the network entity, a secondary signaling over the FD resources; and obtain, based on the secondary signaling, a UE mode indicator indicating the UE operation mode corresponding to the FD resources or HD resources.
However in an analogous art Su et al. teaches wherein the SBFD time and frequency configuration comprises a semi-static network SBFD time and frequency indication indicating at least a part of the resources as FD resources, wherein to obtain the UE operation mode, the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the network entity, a secondary signaling over the FD resources; and obtain, based on the secondary signaling, a UE mode indicator indicating the UE operation mode corresponding to the FD resources or HD resources (US20220182160 A1 Paragraph 0437 discloses “In step S2330, the terminal may receive second configuration information determined according to the feedback information, and determine a duplex mode based on the second configuration information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to receive, from the network entity, a secondary signaling over the FD resources; and obtain, based on the secondary signaling, a UE mode indicator indicating the UE operation mode corresponding to the FD resources or HD resources, in order to enable the network to switch the operating mode rapidly.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the UE mode indicator includes one of: a bitmap indication per symbol or per slot, a start index indicating a start slot index and a length of a window where the UE operation mode is applicable, or a pattern index identifying one bitmap pattern from a plurality of bitmap patterns in a pre-configured table for each slot (WO2023245669 Page 10 Paragraph 3 discloses “FIG. 2 illustrates a schematic diagram 200 illustrating an example scenario of multiple transmissions in SBFD communication in a related solution. As shown in FIG. 2, slot #0 to slot #4 and slot #8 to slot #9 are half duplex TDD slots and slot #5 to slot #7 are subband full duplex slots. It should be understood that time intervals in Fig. 2 may be implemented as symbols, minislots or slots. For example, a slot may comprise half duplex TDD symbols and/or sub-band full duplex symbols.”)
Regarding claim 29 Zhang et al. disclose An apparatus of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the network entity to: transmit a time and frequency configuration allocating resources for communication with a user equipment (UE) based on a full-duplex (FD) operation, wherein the UE operates in one of a UE half-duplex (HD) mode or a UE FD mode in the resources (WO 2023245669 A1 Page 13 Paragraph 6 discloses “In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may receive, from the network device 120, an indication whether the set of transmissions are to be transmitted or received in time intervals associated with half duplex mode or in time intervals associated with subband full duplex mode by the terminal device 110.”);
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the SI measurement is triggered by the UE operating in the FD mode in the resources.
However in an analogous art Chopra et al. teaches wherein the SI measurement is triggered by the UE operating in the FD mode in the resources (US 20230354213 A1 Paragraph 0065 discloses “In some embodiments, the interference channel evaluator 244 may initiate and/or otherwise update a measurement of the self-interference channel 248, responsive to a request for full-duplex operation, such as the example request received from the full-duplex controller 245. Alternatively or in addition, the interference channel evaluator 244 may be adapted to obtain and/or otherwise update a characterization of the self-interference channel 248 according to a schedule and/or periods of opportunity and/or according to any of the other example scenarios disclosed herein.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Chopra et al., wherein the SI measurement is triggered by the UE operating in the FD mode in the resources, in order to prevent receiver saturation and employ self-interference cancellation accurately.
Zhang et al. and Chopra et al. fail to explicitly disclose and receive, from the UE, a self-interference (SI) indication indicating an SI measurement on the UE.
However in an analogous art Su et al teaches and receive, from the UE, a self-interference (SI) indication indicating an SI measurement on the UE (Paragraph 0413 discloses “In step S2320, the terminal may transmit feedback information determined according to the measurement result.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. and Chopra et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to receive, from the UE, a self-interference (SI) indication indicating an SI measurement on the UE, in order to notify the network of the self-interference so that parameter adjustments or changed can be initiated by the network to reduce self-interference.
Regarding claim 30, Zhang et al disclose the apparatus of claim 29, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to transmit the time and frequency configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to transmit the time and frequency configuration via the transceiver (WO 2023245669 A1 Page 11 Paragraph 1 discloses “The network device 120 may transmit (308) , to the terminal device 110, SBFD configuration 310, e.g., time and frequency resources for UL subband.”).
Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the SI indication is a one-bit indication indicating a comparison of the SI measurement with an SI threshold and included in at least one of: an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report, or a beam management (BM) report, wherein the SI indication is included in a bit at an end of the BM report, a new BM metric, or an existing BM metric in the BM report.
However in an analogous art Sue et al. teaches wherein the SI indication is a one-bit indication indicating a comparison of the SI measurement with an SI threshold and included in at least one of: an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report, or a beam management (BM) report, wherein the SI indication is included in a bit at an end of the BM report, a new BM metric, or an existing BM metric in the BM report (US20220182160 Paragraph 0426 discloses “For example, the terminal may transmit the feedback information related to the residual self-interference measurement together with acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) information in an uplink control channel or an uplink shared channel. Therefore, the feedback can be performed in a timely manner without occupying extra resources.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Su et al., to indicate the SI measurement with an SI threshold and include in an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report, in order provide the network with quick feedback to distinguish between external interference and internal interference failures to facilitate power level and guard band related changes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1nhave been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471