DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
It is acknowledged that the Applicant amended claims 110 and 114 in the response filed June 26, 2026. Claims 109-128 are currently pending and have herein been examined.
Summary of Response to Applicant’s Arguments
This action is in response to the papers filed June 26, 2026. Applicant’s remarks and amendments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be persuasive. Any new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn. This action is made FINAL.
The objections to claims 110 and 114 have been withdrawn due to corrections introduced by amendments to the claims filed June 26, 2026. Detailed responses to arguments concerning rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, 35 U.S.C. 103, and 35 U.S.C. 112 are included below in the Response to Argument sections following the relevant rejections.
Priority
It is acknowledged that the instant application is a continuation of international PCT Application PCT/US2022/034382, filed June 21, 2022, and that it claims benefit of provisional application 63/213,050, filed June 21, 2021. The effective filing date is considered to be June 21, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements from 1/08/25 have been received. One IDS entry from 1/08/25 (4 pg. document) and one IDS entry from 1/08/25 (14 pg. document) have been crossed out and not considered, as they are missing years/dates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 113 and 114 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 113 is rejected over the recitation of the phrase “aberrantly high,” which is a relative term. “Aberrantly high” is not defined by the claim, and while the specification provides examples of types of aberrantly high copy numbers, such as duplications or focal amplifications, a complete definition is not provided. It is unclear whether these copy numbers are high relative to healthy tissue from the same individual, or an exogenous reference of some kind. Furthermore, it is unclear if the claims which recite “aberrantly high” includes all copy number variants constituting at least a duplication relative to normal tissue in the same individual, whether every potential site is subject to the same criteria for determining “aberrantly high” copy numbers, or if any other criteria must be satisfied to be considered congruent with the limitation, and a person with ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 114 is rejected because it is unclear whether the term “fragments” is meant to include fragments endogenous to the sample, fragments resulting from the contacting of the sample with restriction enzyme(s), both, or something else. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Response to Arguments
In the reply, Applicant argued that the specification provides a definition which would enable one of skill in the art to understand that type-specific fragments originate from specific cell or tissue type(s).
This argument has been fully and carefully considered. Rejections of claims 109-113, 115-128 for “type-specific fragment” have been withdrawn due to the persuasive argument that “type-specific fragment” would be understandable to a person with ordinary skill in the art given the definition in the specification (par. 141 of the US PGPub). Given Applicant’s response to the rejection, “type-specific fragment” is understood to broadly encompass any type of fragment which exhibits specific fragmentation patterns in different types of tissues/cells (including endogenous fragments and fragments resulting from contact with restriction enzymes).
However, claim 114 does not recite “type-specific fragment” – it recites only “fragment.” It remains unclear whether the “fragment” of claim 114 refers to the same fragments as the “type-specific fragments” recited in claim 109 and in par. 141 of the specification. Therefore, the rejection of claim 114 is maintained.
In the reply, Applicant quoted MPEP 2173.02(I) and pointed out that the specification provides identification of examples of “aberrantly high” copy numbers and discussion of methods of determining copy number relative to a normal genomic baseline. Applicant argued that this would allow a person with ordinary skill in the art to understand the term “aberrantly high” with reasonable certainty. Applicant further argued that the ordinary meaning of the term ‘aberrantly’ would be recognized by a person with ordinary skill in the art to mean ‘copy numbers materially exceeding normal levels,’ consistent with the instant specification.
These arguments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be persuasive. The section of MPEP 2173.02(I) quoted by the applicant is explicitly drawn to patented claims: “[a] court will not find a patented claim indefinite unless the claim interpreted in light of the specification… fails to inform those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention with reasonable certainty.” The same section of the MPEP allows that: “During prosecution the Office construes claims by giving them their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification in an effort to establish a clear record of what the applicant intends to claim. Such claim construction during prosecution may effectively result in a lower threshold for ambiguity than a court's determination.” In this case, although the specification does provide examples of ‘aberrantly high,’ neither the specification nor the claims provide sufficiently limiting definitions of the term such that the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are clear. Furthermore, interpreting ‘aberrantly high’ according to an ordinary meaning of ‘exceeding normal levels,’ does not rectify the problem because the word ‘normal’ is also a relative term. What is ‘normal’ or ‘aberrant’ in terms of copy number differs from one population and context to another. Because the metes and bounds of the claimed invention remain unclear, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 109-124 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kennedy et al. (effectively filed January 31, 2019; Patent Publication No. US 20200248272).
Kennedy teaches methods for sequencing captured cfDNA.
Regarding claim 109, Kennedy teaches a method of analyzing DNA in a blood sample comprising partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, wherein the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (par. 18, 297). Kennedy teaches contacting the DNA in at least one of the subsamples with at least one methylation-sensitive restriction enzyme (MSRE) (par. 329). Kennedy teaches contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set (par. 11), wherein the epigenetic target region set comprises a plurality of type-specific epigenetic target regions that are copy number variants (par. 266), and wherein the type-specific epigenetic target regions are type-specific differentially methylated regions (par. 243, 251). Kennedy also teaches sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (par. 314).
Regarding claim 110, Kennedy teaches a methyl binding reagent (par. 18).
Regarding claims 111-112, Kennedy teaches target regions which are type-specific hyper- and/or hypo- methylated regions (par. 88-89, 420, 462).
Regarding claim 113, Kennedy teaches epigenetic target regions comprising copy number variants (par. 81).
Regarding claim 114, Kennedy teaches type-specific epigenetic target regions specific to the colon (par. 249, 251).
Regarding claim 115, Kennedy teaches determining the methylation levels of the type-specific differentially methylated target regions (par. 314).
Regarding claim 116, Kennedy teaches an epigenetic target region set comprising CTCF binding sites and/or transcription start sites (par. 426, 428)
Regarding claim 117, Kennedy teaches capturing sequence- variable target regions of the DNA, comprising contacting the DNA with a plurality of target- specific probes specific for the sequence-variable target regions (par. 434).
Regarding claims 118-119, Kennedy teaches ligating adapters to the DNA, thereby producing adapter-ligated DNA, wherein the adapters comprise molecular barcodes (par. 15).
Regarding claim 120, Kennedy teaches subsamples pooled prior to the sequencing (par. 79).
Regarding claim 121, Kennedy teaches the DNA as cfDNA (par. 10).
Regarding claim 122, Kennedy teaches sequencing comprising a) generating a plurality of sequencing reads, b) mapping the sequence reads to one or more reference sequences, and c) processing the mapped sequence reads to determine the likelihood that the subject has cancer or precancer (par. 13).
Regarding claim 123, Kennedy teaches the sample being obtained from a subject who was previously diagnosed with a cancer and received one or more previous cancer treatments (par. 474).
Regarding claim 124, Kennedy teaches contacting the first subsample with a methylation-sensitive endonuclease (par. 329).
Response to Arguments
In the reply, Applicant argued that Kennedy (US 2020/0248272; referred to as Kennedy ‘272) fails to meet the standard set forth by MPEP 2131 because it does not set forth all elements of the claim(s) in a single prior art reference. Applicant asserted that Kennedy ‘272 does not disclose the limitation “capturing multiple epigenetic target regions that are both type-specific and copy number variants,” and specifically pointed to paragraphs 243, 251, 266 of Kennedy as failing to disclose said limitation.
This argument has been fully and carefully considered but is not found to be persuasive. Kennedy ‘272’s definition of ‘epigenetic target region set” (par. 240) is consistent with the definition given in the instant specification (i.e. “epigenetic variation that is present at a detectably different degree in one cell or tissue type, or in a plurality of related cell or tissue types, relative to other cell or tissue types”) because, for example, cancer cells and healthy cells may be considered different types of cells/tissues. Support for target regions which are both type-specific and copy number variants is found in several sections of Kennedy ‘272, including:
“As such, regions that may show copy number variations such as focal amplifications in cancer can be included in the epigenetic target region set…” (par. 266)
“…wherein the method comprises determining whether cfDNA molecules corresponding to the epigenetic target region set comprise or indicate cancer-associated epigenetic modifications and copy number variations (e.g., focal amplifications).” (par. 81)
The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 125-128 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kennedy et al. (effectively filed January 31, 2019; Patent Publication No. US 20200248272), as applied to claims 109 and 124 above, in view of Dorsey et al. (WO 2019/144057 A1).
Kennedy discloses the limitations of claims 109 and 124 as discussed above.
Kennedy does not teach any methylation-sensitive endonuclease which cleaves at an unmethylated CpG sequence. Kennedy also does not teach any methylation-dependent endonuclease which cleaves at a methylated CpG sequence.
Dorsey teaches methods of measuring methylation levels which differ between cancerous and non-cancerous tissues (Abstract).
Regarding claims 125-126, Dorsey teaches methylation-sensitive endonucleases which cleave at unmethylated sequences, such as HpaII, HhaI, BstUI, and AciI (par. 108).
Regarding claims 127-128, Dorsey teaches a methylation-dependent endonuclease McrBC (par. 108).
Although Dorsey does not explicitly state that these sequences are CpG sequences, Dorsey does discuss measuring methylation levels at CpG sites (par. 77) and recites methods of using endonucleases generally to cleave fragments of CpG site DNA (par. 101). Given that there are a finite number of solutions (i.e. the differentially methylated sites of interest either are or are not within CpG sequences), and there is no evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to try targeting CpG sequences, in order to observe changes in methylation which may be early signs of neoplastic progression of precancerous lesions (par. 12). This would be desirable for early cancer diagnosis (par. 12).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Kennedy and Dorsey, in order to utilize enzymes suitable to screen for altered methylation patterns (Dorsey, par. 109).
Claims 109-126 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kennedy et al. (published April 30, 2020; Patent Publication No. US 2020/0131566), in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)).
Kennedy teaches methods of evaluating partitioning methods used in the sequencing cfDNA, in the context of determining epigenetic state (Abstract).
Regarding claim 109, Kennedy teaches a method of analyzing DNA in a blood sample comprising partitioning the DNA into a at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, wherein the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (par. 83). Kennedy teaches contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set (par. 246, 301). Kennedy also teaches sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of epigenetic modification (par. 199).
Kennedy does not teach the use of methylation-sensitive or methylation-dependent restriction endonuclease.
Yuan recites a method of profiling DNA methylation and sequence variation in cancer patients (Abstract).
Yuan teaches the use of methylation-sensitive restriction enzymes (pg. 3445, col. 1, 1st par.).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Kennedy and Yuan, in order to adapt existing technology to simultaneously detect methylation and copy number changes (Yuan: pg. 2445, col. 1).
Regarding claims 109, 111-113, and 117, Kennedy does not teach capturing a subset of DNA with probes specific to sets of type-specific epigenetic target regions nor sequence variable target regions, copy number variant regions, nor differentially methylated regions (hypo and/or hyper). However, Kennedy does teach enriching the partitioned sample for polynucleotides belonging to regions of interest (par. 246, 301), identification of cancer specific variants including colon cancer (par. 292), and the use of sequencing for identifying variant sequences (par. 259).
Yuan teaches capturing a subset of DNA with probes specific to sets of epigenetic target regions and sequence variable target regions that are specific to copy number variants and differentially methylated regions, including hypo and/or hyper-methylated regions (pg. 3443, col. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Kennedy and Yuan in order to conduct methylation analysis simultaneously with copy number analysis (pg. 3443, col. 2, final par.).
Regarding claim 110, Kennedy teaches a methyl binding reagent for partitioning (par. 129).
Regarding claim 114, Kennedy does not explicitly teach target regions that are specific to colon tissue. However, Kennedy does teach enriching the partitioned sample for polynucleotides belonging to regions of interest (par. 246, 301) and/or using their own method to evaluate colon-specific disease (par. 292), and Yuan suggests targeting regions which are differentially methylated in different tissues (pg. 3451, col. 1, par. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try targeting colon tissue vs other types of tissue, in order to identify customized or targeted therapies to treat colon cancer (Kennedy: par. 292).
Regarding claim 115, Kennedy teaches determining methylation levels of nucleic acids within a sample (par. 199).
Regarding claim 116, Kennedy teaches target regions specific to CTCF binding sites and/or transcription start sites (par. 114)
Regarding claims 118-119, Kennedy teaches ligating adapters to the DNA, thereby producing adapter-ligated DNA, wherein the adapters comprise molecular barcodes (par. 234).
Regarding claim 120, Kennedy teaches subsamples pooled prior to the sequencing (par. 304).
Regarding claim 121, Kennedy teaches the DNA as cfDNA (par. 226).
Regarding claim 122, Kennedy teaches sequencing comprising a) generating a plurality of sequencing reads (par. 253), b) mapping the sequence reads to one or more reference sequences, and c) processing the mapped sequence reads to determine the likelihood that the subject has cancer or precancer (par. 259).
Regarding claim 123, Kennedy teaches the sample being obtained from a subject who was previously diagnosed with a cancer and received one or more previous cancer treatments (par. 106).
Regarding claims 124-126, Kennedy does not teach methylation-sensitive restriction endonucleases which cleave at unmethylated CpG sequences.
Yuan teaches the use of methylation-sensitive restriction enzymes which cleave at unmethylated CpG sequences, including HpaII (pg. 3445, col. 1, 1st par.).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Kennedy and Yuan, in order to conduct methylation analysis simultaneously with copy number analysis (pg. 3443, col. 2, final par.).
Claims 127-128 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kennedy et al. (published April 30, 2020; Patent Publication No. US 2020/0131566) and Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)) as applied to claim 109 above, and further in view of Dorsey et al. (WO 2019/144057 A1).
Kennedy and Yuan teach the limitations of claim 109, as discussed above.
Regarding claim 127-128, the combination of Kennedy and Yuan does not teach the use of any methylation-dependent endonuclease.
Dorsey recites methods of measuring methylation levels which differ between cancerous and non-cancerous tissues (Abstract).
Regarding claims 127-128, Dorsey teaches methylation-dependent endonucleases which cleave a methylated CpG sequence, such as McrBC (par. 108).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Kennedy, Yuan, and Dorsey, in order to cut DNA at distinct sites (Dorsey, par. 108).
Response to Arguments
Rejections over Kennedy ‘272 and Dorsey
These rejections relied upon Kennedy ‘272 (US 2020/0248272) as a primary reference.
In the response, Applicant argued that Kennedy ‘272 does not disclose all elements of the claims (for the reasons described in their arguments concerning the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejections) and that Dorsey does not cure these deficiencies.
These arguments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found persuasive for the same reasons discussed in the Response to Arguments concerning the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) – see pages 8 and 9 of this office action.
Rejections over Kennedy ‘566 and others
These rejections relied upon Kennedy ‘566 (US 2020/0131566) as a primary reference, with Yuan and Dorsey as additional references.
In the response, Applicant said “As stated above in Applicant’s response to the 102 rejection, Kennedy does not disclose…” However, the Kennedy reference used in these rejections was Kennedy ‘566 and not Kennedy ‘272, as relied upon in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Applicant’s arguments focused on the deficiencies of Kennedy ‘272 (and lack of remedy by additional references) without addressing the actual primary reference relied upon (Kennedy ‘566).
Applicant has not addressed or established any deficiencies of the correct reference, and therefore the arguments are moot. The rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 109-128 remain/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of Patent No. 11,643,693, in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing nucleic acids (ref claim 1). Both sets of claims require:
partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, wherein the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (claim 1, 12)
contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set, comprised of target regions that are differentially methylated regions or fragments (claim 1, 7)
sequencing the captured DNA (claim 1)
Although the reference application does not claim a step of using a methylation-sensitive or dependent restriction enzyme, the claims are directed toward profiling of methylation state in DNA, and an obvious embodiment would be the use of methylation-sensitive restriction enzymes (see Yuan, pg. 3445, col 1).
Although the reference application does not explicitly claim that the target regions are copy number variants, it does direct its claims to sequence-variable regions (claim 1) and targeting copy number variants is an obvious embodiment of examining DNA polymorphisms (see Yuan, Abstract).
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the sequencing is used to determine target region levels, the claims are directed at treatment and analysis of DNA relative to its methylation status. Therefore, the ultimate step of sequencing DNA can be understood to be in pursuit of that objective.
Claims 109-128 remain/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of Patent No. 11,946,106, in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing nucleic acids (ref claim 1). Both sets of claims require:
partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, wherein the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (claim 26, 27)
contacting the DNA in at least one of the subsamples with at least one methylation-sensitive restriction enzyme (MSRE) (claim 1)
contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set, comprised of target regions that are differentially methylated regions (claim 5)
sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (claim 1, 28)
Although the reference application does not explicitly claim that the target regions are copy number variants, it does direct its claims to sequence-variable regions (claim 5, 7, 9) and targeting copy number variants is an obvious embodiment of examining DNA polymorphisms (see Yuan, Abstract).
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the sequencing is used to determine target region levels, the claims are directed at treatment and analysis of DNA relative to its methylation status. Therefore, the ultimate step of sequencing DNA can be understood to be in pursuit of that objective.
Claims 109-128 remain/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of Patent No. 12,234,518, in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing nucleic acids (ref claim 1). Both sets of claims require:
partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, wherein the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (claim 1, 16)
contacting the DNA in at least one of the subsamples with at least one methylation-sensitive restriction enzyme (MSRE) (claim 8)
contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set, comprised of target regions that are differentially methylated regions (claim 1, 3, 14)
sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (claim 1, 28)
Although the reference application does not explicitly claim that the target regions are copy number variants, it does direct its claims to sequence-variable regions (claim 6) and targeting copy number variants is an obvious embodiment of examining DNA polymorphisms (see Yuan, Abstract).
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the sequencing is used to determine target region levels, the claims are directed at treatment and analysis of DNA relative to its methylation status. Therefore, the ultimate step of sequencing DNA can be understood to be in pursuit of that objective.
Claims 109-128 remain/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 12, 16-17, 19, 27-28, 49, 52, 55, 60, 63, 59, 114, 121 of co-pending Application No. 18/339126, in view of Kennedy et al. (published April 30, 2020; Patent Publication No. US 2020/0131566), and further in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing DNA (claim 1). Both sets of claims require:
contacting the DNA in at least one of the subsamples with at least one restriction enzyme (claim 28)
contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set, comprised of target regions that are copy number variants and differentially methylated regions (claim 16, 19, 55)
sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (claim 1, 6)
Although the reference application does not claim an initial partitioning step, it would be obvious to include such a step in order to enrich for sequences and modifications of interest (i.e. methylated and/or unmethylated DNA, since claims are directed toward methylation status – see claim 19) as discussed in Kennedy (par. 116).
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the sequence-specific nuclease is a methylation-sensitive or -dependent restriction endonuclease, the claims are directed toward epigenetically modified DNA and use of methylation-sensitive restriction endonucleases would be an obvious embodiment of the claims (see Yuan, pg. 3445, col. 1).
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the target regions are copy number variants, it does direct its claims to sequence-variable regions (claim 16) and targeting copy number variants is an obvious embodiment of examining DNA polymorphisms (see Yuan, Abstract).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 109-128 remain/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of co-pending Application No. 18/365,744. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing DNA (claim 1). Both sets of claims require:
partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, and the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (claim 21, 22)
contacting the DNA in at least one of the subsamples with at least one agent which affects modified and nonmodified nucleobases differently (claim 23)
contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set (claim 20), comprised of target regions that are copy number variants (claim 15) and differentially methylated regions or fragments (claim 15, 17)
sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (claim 1)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 109-128 remian/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-8, 12-13, 15, 17-21, 24, 27, 29, 43, 72 of co-pending Application No. 19/243171, in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing DNA (claim 2). Both sets of claims require:
partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, and the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (claim 43)
contacting the DNA in at least one of the subsamples with at least one agent which affects modified and nonmodified nucleobases differently (claim 2, 5, 7, 12, 20)
contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set, comprised of target regions that are differentially methylated regions (claim 72)
sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (claim 2-8, 12)
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the target regions are copy number variants, it does direct its claims to sequence-variable regions (claim 72) and targeting copy number variants is an obvious embodiment of examining DNA polymorphisms (see Yuan, Abstract).
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the procedure which differentially affects a nucleobase based on modification is referring to the use of a methylation-sensitive or -dependent restriction endonuclease, the claims are directed toward methylated DNA and use of methylation-sensitive restriction endonucleases is an obvious embodiment of the claims (see Yuan, pg. 3445, col. 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 109-128 remian/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-15, 17, 19, 22-23, 25, 27, 29-30 of co-pending Application No. 19/243,180, in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing DNA. Both sets of claims require:
partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, and the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (claim 7, 17, 30)
contacting the DNA in at least one of the subsamples with at least one methylation-sensitive or -dependent endonuclease (claim 9, 14, 15, 17)
enriching DNA in a type-specific manner for members of an epigenetic target region set (claims 1, 6, 7)
sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (claim 2)
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the target regions are differentially methylated or copy number variants, it does direct its claims to the identification of hyper- and hypo-methylated sequences (claims 14-15) and sequence-variable target regions (claims 1, 6, 8) and targeting copy number variant regions and differentially methylated regions would be an obvious embodiment of the claims (see Yuan, pg. 3443, col. 2, last par.).
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the sequencing is used to determine target region levels, the claims are directed at treatment and analysis of DNA relative to its methylation status. Therefore, the ultimate step of sequencing DNA can be understood to be in pursuit of that objective.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 109-128 remain/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of co-pending Application No. 19/276,680 in view of Kennedy et al. (published April 30, 2020; Patent Publication No. US 2020/0131566), and further in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing DNA (claim 1). Both sets of claims require:
partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes a modified cytosine, and the first subsample comprises DNA with a modified cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (claim 1, 4)
enriching the DNA for members of an epigenetic target region set, comprised of target regions that are copy number variants and differentially methylated regions (claim 45, 47)
sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (claim 1, 49)
Although the reference application directs its claims to 5-hydroxymethylcytosine, it would be obvious to substitute methyl cytosine, in order to investigate another methylation variation which could contribute to the development of cancer (Kennedy, par. 2, 124).
Although the reference application directs its claims to bisulfite conversion for mapping of methylated DNA, it does claim fragmenting nucleic acids and amplifying them prior to sequencing (claims 30, 32). Therefore, it would be obvious to substitute methylation-sensitive PCR for analysis of epigenetic modification, in order to validate bisulfite restriction analysis (Yuan, Abstract)
Although the reference application does not explicitly state that the target regions enriched using probes, such a method of enrichment would be an obvious embodiment of the claims (see Yuan, pg. 3443, col 2, last par.).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 109-128 remain/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-76 of co-pending Application No. 19/371162, in view of Yuan et al. (published April 1, 2006; Yuan et al. 2006. Cancer Res; 66: (7)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of analyzing DNA. Both sets of claims require:
partitioning the DNA into at least a first and second subsample by contacting the DNA with an agent that recognizes methyl cytosine, wherein the first subsample comprises DNA with a methyl cytosine in a greater proportion than the second subsample (claim 63, 65)
contacting the DNA in at least one of the subsamples with at least one methylation-sensitive or methylation-dependent restriction enzyme (claim 63)
contacting the DNA with a plurality of target-specific probes specific for members of an epigenetic target region set, comprised of target regions that are differentially methylated regions or fragments (claim 54, 63)
sequencing the captured DNA and determining levels of the type-specific epigenetic target regions (claim 1, 22, 60)
Although the reference application does not explicitly claim that the type-specific epigenetic target regions are comprised of copy number variants, it would be an obvious embodiment of the claims for copy number variants to be included in the target regions (see Yuan: Abstract).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Regarding patents ‘693, ‘106, ‘518 and co-pending applications ‘126, ‘744
In the reply, Applicant argued that the reference applications and patents do not teach capturing multiple epigenetic target regions that are both type-specific and copy number variants and that the additional references (Yuan and/or Kennedy) do not correct the deficiency.
These arguments have been carefully considered but are not found to be persuasive. The term ‘type-specific’ is defined in the instant specification as “epigenetic variation that is present at a detectably different degree in one cell or tissue type, or in a plurality of related cell or tissue types, relative to other cell or tissue types.” Such a definition encompasses embodiments where the comparison is between cancerous and healthy cells/tissues. Therefore, the reference patents and co-pending applications either implicitly or explicitly teach tissue-specific epigenetic variation (e.g. by assessing the presence of cancer-specific epigenetic modification in order to determine the likelihood that a subject has cancer – ‘693). In at least one case, the claims explicitly teach both ‘type-specific’ epigenetic target regions and copy number variation (‘744: claims 15, 17, 20).
The rejections are maintained.
Regarding co-pending applications ‘171, ‘180, ‘680, ‘162
In the reply, Applicant argued re: MPEP 804(B)(1) that the instant application is both allowable and the earlier-filed application, and therefore that the rejections over co-pending applications ‘171, ‘180, ‘680, and ‘162 should be withdrawn. Applicant argued that the U.S. Patent Trial and Appeal Board affirmed that the claims of a later-filed, later-expiring patent cannot serve as reference claims against earlier-filed, earlier-issued claims on appeal for the purposes of non-statutory double patenting.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. For the reasons addressed in the rejections over 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103 (and the corresponding responses to Applicant arguments), the claims are not in condition for allowance. Furthermore, neither the instant claims nor the reference claims are patented. Therefore, arguments regarding MPEP 804(B)(1) or the decision of the PTAB re: issued and patented claims are moot.
The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682