DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application filed on 11/10/2023. Claims 1-30 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 15-22 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2026/0032686, hereinafter Lu) in view of Wang et al. (US 2025/0220647, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to [Lu Figure 8 discloses a communication apparatus serving as a terminal device. The apparatus comprises components such as a processor, memory, communication port, etc. (Lu Figure 8, paragraphs 0620-0624)]:
Transmit, to a network entity, a capability indication of a capability for a dynamic subband full duplex (SBFD) operation for the UE [Lu Figure 5B discloses that a terminal device sends seventh information to a network device (Lu paragraph 0533, Figure 5B), where the information indicates that the terminal device supports dynamic SBFD (Lu paragraph 0534)];
Receive, from the network entity, a semi-static SBFD configuration allocating one or more resources for communication with the network entity [Lu discloses that the network sends eighth information to the terminal device in step B of Figure 5B (Lu paragraph 0540). The eighth information may indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraphs 0541-0542)];
Receive, from the network entity based on the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation, an SBFD indication for a transition from a first format of the one or more resources to a second format of the one or more resources, wherein the first format is different from the second format [Lu discloses that when the network device receives information in step A (i.e. the terminal supports dynamic SBFD) and determines that the terminal device has corresponding capability, the network device sends information in step B to indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraph 0542). The terminal receives the ninth information in step C and modifies the subband configuration based on the information (Lu paragraph 0546). The ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify a flexible subband to an uplink or a downlink subband (i.e. an indication for a transition from a first format - e.g. a flexible format, to a second format - e.g. uplink/downlink format) (Lu paragraph 0551). In one example, the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556). Thus, the ninth information corresponds to the network sending an SBFD indication for a transition from one format to another where both formats are different]; and
Communicate with the network entity based on the second format of the one or more resources [Lu discloses that the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556). Therefore, it follows that the communication between the terminal and network will be based on the modified format or the second format].
Although Lu discloses that the network sends eighth information to the terminal device in step B of Figure 5B (see above, Lu paragraph 0540); Lu does not expressly disclose regarding receiving a semi-static SBFD configuration from the network entity.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang discloses that the SBFD pattern configured for the terminal on the frequency and/or time domain may determine the UL/DL resources, and the SBFD pattern may be semi-statically configured. (see Wang paragraph 0066). After the SBFD pattern is configured for the terminal by the semi-static signaling, the network side device indicates whether the SBFD pattern takes effect or not through the dynamic signaling (Wang paragraph 0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to have the feature of receiving, from the network entity, a semi-static SBFD configuration allocating one or more resources for the communication with the network entity; as taught by Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the resource utilization rate (Wang paragraphs 0066 and 0071).
Regarding claim 2, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Lu and Wang further disclose regarding a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to transmit the capability indication, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to transmit the capability indication via the transceiver [Lu Figure 6 discloses an apparatus which can implement a function of a terminal (or a network device), which comprises a processing unit and a transceiver unit (Lu Figure 6, paragraphs 0558-0563). The transceiver unit is configured to send/receive various information between the terminal and network device (Lu paragraphs 0601-0606)], and wherein the network entity operates in an SBFD mode, the one or more resources include one or more symbols or one or more slots, and the semi-static SBFD configuration allocates the one or more resources for a first period of time [Wang discloses that the SBFD pattern may be configured for the terminal by the semi-static signaling; and the network side device indicates whether the SBFD pattern takes effect or not through the dynamic signaling (Wang paragraph 0071). This indicates that the network entity operates in an SBFD mode. Wang further discloses that the terminal may receive a signaling from the network for a first time-domain unit by a semi-static signaling, where the time-domain unit may be a slot or a symbol (see Wang paragraphs 0069 and 0072)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 2. Lu and Wang further disclose
wherein the first format of the one or more resources and the second format of the one or more resources each includes one of: an SBFD resource, a downlink resource, a flexible resource, or an uplink resource [Lu discloses that the terminal receives the ninth information in step C and modifies the subband configuration based on the information (Lu paragraph 0546). The ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify a flexible subband (indicating a flexible resource) to an uplink or a downlink subband (indicating an uplink/downlink resource) (Lu paragraph 0551). In one example, the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 2. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the transition from the first format to the second format includes one of:
a first transition from a semi-static SBFD resource configured on a downlink resource to a regular downlink resource,
a second transition from the semi-static SBFD resource configured on a flexible resource with downlink-uplink-downlink subbands or downlink-uplink subbands to the downlink resource [Lu discloses that the ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify a flexible subband to an uplink or a downlink subband (Lu paragraph 0551). The terminal modifies an SBFD time unit to a TDD UL/DL time unit (Lu paragraph 0553). The flexible subband may transmit an uplink or a downlink signal (Lu paragraph 0538)],
a third transition from the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource with the downlink-uplink-downlink subbands or the downlink-uplink subbands to the flexible resource,
a fourth transition from the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource with flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or flexible-up link subbands to the flexible resource,
a fifth transition of aperiodically or periodically updating the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource from the flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or the flexible-uplink subbands to the downlink-uplink-downlink subbands or the downlink-uplink subbands,
a sixth transition of aperiodically or periodically updating the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource from the flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or the flexible-uplink subbands to a regular uplink resource, or
a seventh transition of aperiodically or periodically updating the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource from the flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or the flexible-uplink subbands to the regular downlink resource. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2. Note that only one claim limitation needs to be examined due to alternative claim language.
Regarding claim 5, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 4. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein resource blocks (RBs) in a flexible subband in the flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or the flexible-uplink subbands include the downlink resources or the uplink resources [Lu discloses that the flexible subband may transmit an uplink or a downlink signal, indicating a downlink or uplink resource blocks (Lu paragraph 0538). Wang discloses that the flexible frequence resource may correspond to a downlink or uplink resource blocks (Wang paragraphs 0087-0089)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 2. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises one or more of: a first capability of the dynamic SBFD operation supporting the dynamic SBFD operation on a single format of the one or more resources; or a second capability of the dynamic SBFD operation supporting the dynamic SBFD operation on multiple formats of the one or more resources or a combination of one or more formats of the one or more resources [Lu discloses that when the network device receives information in step A (i.e. the terminal supports dynamic SBFD) and determines that the terminal device has corresponding capability, the network device sends information in step B to indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraph 0542). The terminal receives the ninth information in step C and modifies the subband configuration based on the information (Lu paragraph 0546). The ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify the uplink subband time resources, or uplink subband frequency resources, or uplink subband time-frequency resources, or flexible subband (Lu paragraphs 0548-0551). Thus, the capability of the dynamic SBFD operation supports the dynamic SBFD operation on a single format (i.e. UL format or flexible format)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 2. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises: a signaling capability supporting a dynamic SBFD indication for the dynamic SBFD operation [Lu discloses that the terminal device sends seventh information to a network device (Lu paragraph 0533, Figure 5B), where the information indicates that the terminal device supports dynamic SBFD (indicating a dynamic SBFD indication). Further, dynamic allocation is to support configuration of subbands using signaling (indicating a signaling capability for dynamic SBFD operation) (Lu paragraph 0534)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 7. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the dynamic SBFD indication includes the SBFD indication, wherein to transmit the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to transmit the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation via one or more of: scheduling downlink control information (DCI), non-scheduling DCI, group-common (GC) DCI, or a medium access control (MAC) - control element (MAC-CE) [Lu discloses that the terminal device sends seventh information to a network device (Lu paragraph 0533, Figure 5B), where the information indicates that the terminal device supports dynamic SBFD. Further, dynamic allocation is to support configuration of subbands using signaling (indicating a signaling capability for dynamic SBFD operation). The signaling may include a DCI, a MAC CE, or the like (Lu paragraph 0534)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Lu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to [Lu Figure 9 discloses a communication apparatus serving as a network. The apparatus comprises components such as a processor, memory, network interface, etc. (Lu Figure 9, paragraphs 0625-0632)]:
Receive, from a user equipment (UE), a capability indication of a capability for a dynamic subband full duplex (SBFD) operation for the UE [Lu Figure 5B discloses that a terminal device sends seventh information to a network device (Lu paragraph 0533, Figure 5B), where the information indicates that the terminal device supports dynamic SBFD (Lu paragraph 0534)];
Transmit, to the UE, a semi-static SBFD configuration allocating one or more resources for communication with the network entity [Lu discloses that the network sends eighth information to the terminal device in step B of Figure 5B (Lu paragraph 0540). The eighth information may indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraphs 0541-0542)];
Transmit, to the UE based on the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation, an SBFD indication for a transition from a first format of the one or more resources to a second format of the one or more resources, wherein the first format is different from the second format [Lu discloses that when the network device receives information in step A (i.e. the terminal supports dynamic SBFD) and determines that the terminal device has corresponding capability, the network device sends information in step B to indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraph 0542). The terminal receives the ninth information in step C and modifies the subband configuration based on the information (Lu paragraph 0546). The ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify a flexible subband to an uplink or a downlink subband (i.e. an indication for a transition from a first format - e.g. a flexible format, to a second format - e.g. uplink/downlink format) (Lu paragraph 0551). In one example, the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556). Thus, the ninth information corresponds to the network sending an SBFD indication for a transition from one format to another where both formats are different]; and
Communicate with the UE based on the second format of the one or more resources [Lu discloses that the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556). Therefore, it follows that the communication between the terminal and network will be based on the modified format or the second format].
Although Lu discloses that the network sends eighth information to the terminal device in step B of Figure 5B (see above, Lu paragraph 0540); Lu does not expressly disclose regarding transmitting a semi-static SBFD configuration to the UE.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang discloses that the SBFD pattern configured for the terminal on the frequency and/or time domain may determine the UL/DL resources, and the SBFD pattern may be semi-statically configured. (see Wang paragraph 0066). After the SBFD pattern is configured for the terminal by the semi-static signaling, the network side device indicates whether the SBFD pattern takes effect or not through the dynamic signaling (Wang paragraph 0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to have the feature of transmitting to the UE, a semi-static SBFD configuration allocating one or more resources for communication with the network entity; as taught by Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the resource utilization rate (Wang paragraphs 0066 and 0071).
Regarding claim 16, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 15. Lu and Wang further disclose regarding a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to receive the capability indication, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to receive the capability indication via the transceiver [Lu Figure 6 discloses an apparatus which can implement a function of a terminal or a network device, which comprises a processing unit and a transceiver unit (Lu Figure 6, paragraphs 0558-0563). The transceiver unit is configured to send/receive various information between the terminal and network device (Lu paragraphs 0601-0606)], and wherein the network entity operates in an SBFD mode, the one or more resources include one or more symbols or one or more slots, and the semi-static SBFD configuration allocates the one or more resources for a first period of time [Wang discloses that the SBFD pattern may be configured for the terminal by the semi-static signaling; and the network side device indicates whether the SBFD pattern takes effect or not through the dynamic signaling (Wang paragraph 0071). This indicates that the network entity operates in an SBFD mode. Wang further discloses that the terminal may receive a signaling from the network for a first time-domain unit by a semi-static signaling, where the time-domain unit may be a slot or a symbol (see Wang paragraphs 0069 and 0072)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 16. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the first format of the one or more resources and the second format of the one or more resources each includes one of: an SBFD resource, a downlink resource, a flexible resource, or an up link resource [Lu discloses that the terminal receives the ninth information in step C and modifies the subband configuration based on the information (Lu paragraph 0546). The ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify a flexible subband (indicating a flexible resource) to an uplink or a downlink subband (indicating an uplink/downlink resource) (Lu paragraph 0551). In one example, the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 16. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the transition from the first format to the second format includes one of:
a first transition from a semi-static SBFD resource configured on a downlink resource to a regular downlink resource,
a second transition from the semi-static SBFD resource configured on a flexible resource with downlink-uplink-downlink subbands or downlink-uplink subbands to the downlink resource [Lu discloses that the ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify a flexible subband to an uplink or a downlink subband (Lu paragraph 0551). The terminal modifies an SBFD time unit to a TDD UL/DL time unit (Lu paragraph 0553). The flexible subband may transmit an uplink or a downlink signal (Lu paragraph 0538)],
a third transition from the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource with the downlink-uplink-downlink subbands or the downlink-up link subbands to the flexible resource,
a fourth transition from the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource with flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or flexible-uplink subbands to the flexible resource,
a fifth transition of aperiodically or periodically updating the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource from the flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or the flexible-uplink subbands to the downlink-uplink-downlink subbands or the downlink-uplink subbands,
a sixth transition of aperiodically or periodically updating the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource from the flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or the flexible-uplink subbands to a regular uplink resource, or
a seventh transition of aperiodically or periodically updating the semi-static SBFD resource configured on the flexible resource from the flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or the flexible-uplink subbands to the regular downlink resource. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16. Note that only one claim limitation needs to be examined due to alternative claim language.
Regarding claim 19, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 18. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein resource blocks (RBs) in a flexible subband in the flexible-uplink-flexible subbands or the flexible-uplink subbands include the downlink resources or the uplink resources [Lu discloses that the flexible subband may transmit an uplink or a downlink signal, indicating a downlink or uplink resource blocks (Lu paragraph 0538). Wang discloses that the flexible frequence resource may correspond to a downlink or uplink resource blocks (Wang paragraphs 0087-0089)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 16. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises one or more of: a first capability of the dynamic SBFD operation supporting the dynamic SBFD operation on a single format of the one or more resources; or a second capability of the dynamic SBFD operation supporting the dynamic SBFD operation on multiple formats of the one or more resources or a combination of one or more formats of the one or more resources [Lu discloses that when the network device receives information in step A (i.e. the terminal supports dynamic SBFD) and determines that the terminal device has corresponding capability, the network device sends information in step B to indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraph 0542). The terminal receives the ninth information in step C and modifies the subband configuration based on the information (Lu paragraph 0546). The ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify the uplink subband time resources, or uplink subband frequency resources, or uplink subband time-frequency resources, or flexible subband (Lu paragraphs 0548-0551). Thus, the capability of the dynamic SBFD operation supports the dynamic SBFD operation on a single format (i.e. UL format or flexible format)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 21, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 16. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises: a signaling capability supporting a dynamic SBFD indication for the dynamic SBFD operation [Lu discloses that the terminal device sends seventh information to a network device (Lu paragraph 0533, Figure 5B), where the information indicates that the terminal device supports dynamic SBFD (indicating a dynamic SBFD indication). Further, dynamic allocation is to support configuration of subbands using signaling (indicating a signaling capability for dynamic SBFD operation) (Lu paragraph 0534)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 22, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 21. Lu and Wang further disclose wherein the dynamic SBFD indication includes the SBFD indication, wherein to receive the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation, the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is configured to receive the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation via one or more of: scheduling downlink control information (DCI), non-scheduling DCI, group-common (GC) DCI, or a medium access control (MAC) - control element (MAC-CE) [Lu discloses that the terminal device sends seventh information to a network device (Lu paragraph 0533, Figure 5B), where the information indicates that the terminal device supports dynamic SBFD. Further, dynamic allocation is to support configuration of subbands using signaling (indicating a signaling capability for dynamic SBFD operation). The signaling may include a DCI, a MAC CE, or the like (Lu paragraph 0534)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 29, Lu discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting, to a network entity, a capability indication of a capability for a dynamic subband full duplex (SBFD) operation for the UE [Lu Figure 5B discloses that a terminal device sends seventh information to a network device (Lu paragraph 0533, Figure 5B), where the information indicates that the terminal device supports dynamic SBFD (Lu paragraph 0534)];
Receiving, from the network entity, a semi-static SBFD configuration allocating one or more resources for communication with the network entity [Lu discloses that the network sends eighth information to the terminal device in step B of Figure 5B (Lu paragraph 0540). The eighth information may indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraphs 0541-0542)];
Receiving, from the network entity based on the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation, an SBFD indication for a transition from a first format of the one or more resources to a second format of the one or more resources, wherein the first format is different from the second format [Lu discloses that when the network device receives information in step A (i.e. the terminal supports dynamic SBFD) and determines that the terminal device has corresponding capability, the network device sends information in step B to indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraph 0542). The terminal receives the ninth information in step C and modifies the subband configuration based on the information (Lu paragraph 0546). The ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify a flexible subband to an uplink or a downlink subband (i.e. an indication for a transition from a first format - e.g. a flexible format, to a second format - e.g. uplink/downlink format) (Lu paragraph 0551). In one example, the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556). Thus, the ninth information corresponds to the network sending an SBFD indication for a transition from one format to another where both formats are different]; and
Communicating with the network entity based on the second format of the one or more resources [Lu discloses that the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556). Therefore, it follows that the communication between the terminal and network will be based on the modified format or the second format].
Although Lu discloses that the network sends eighth information to the terminal device in step B of Figure 5B (see above, Lu paragraph 0540); Lu does not expressly disclose regarding receiving a semi-static SBFD configuration from the network entity.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang discloses that the SBFD pattern configured for the terminal on the frequency and/or time domain may determine the UL/DL resources, and the SBFD pattern may be semi-statically configured. (see Wang paragraph 0066). After the SBFD pattern is configured for the terminal by the semi-static signaling, the network side device indicates whether the SBFD pattern takes effect or not through the dynamic signaling (Wang paragraph 0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to have the feature of receiving, from the network entity, a semi-static SBFD configuration allocating one or more resources for the communication with the network entity; as taught by Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the resource utilization rate (Wang paragraphs 0066 and 0071).
Regarding claim 30, Lu discloses a method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a capability indication of a capability for a dynamic subband full duplex (SBFD) operation for the UE [Lu Figure 5B discloses that a terminal device sends seventh information to a network device (Lu paragraph 0533, Figure 5B), where the information indicates that the terminal device supports dynamic SBFD (Lu paragraph 0534)];
Transmitting, to the UE, a semi-static SBFD configuration allocating one or more resources for communication with the network entity [Lu discloses that the network sends eighth information to the terminal device in step B of Figure 5B (Lu paragraph 0540). The eighth information may indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraphs 0541-0542)];
Transmitting, to the UE based on the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation, an SBFD indication for a transition from a first format of the one or more resources to a second format of the one or more resources, wherein the first format is different from the second format [Lu discloses that when the network device receives information in step A (i.e. the terminal supports dynamic SBFD) and determines that the terminal device has corresponding capability, the network device sends information in step B to indicate the terminal to receive ninth information (Lu paragraph 0542). The terminal receives the ninth information in step C and modifies the subband configuration based on the information (Lu paragraph 0546). The ninth information may indicate the terminal to reconfigure/modify a flexible subband to an uplink or a downlink subband (i.e. an indication for a transition from a first format - e.g. a flexible format, to a second format - e.g. uplink/downlink format) (Lu paragraph 0551). In one example, the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556). Thus, the ninth information corresponds to the network sending an SBFD indication for a transition from one format to another where both formats are different]; and
Communicating with the UE based on the second format of the one or more resources [Lu discloses that the network may indicate, by using the ninth information, to modify the SBFD time unit to uplink time unit (Lu paragraph 0555 and 0556). Therefore, it follows that the communication between the terminal and network will be based on the modified format or the second format].
Although Lu discloses that the network sends eighth information to the terminal device in step B of Figure 5B (see above, Lu paragraph 0540); Lu does not expressly disclose regarding transmitting a semi-static SBFD configuration to the UE.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang discloses that the SBFD pattern configured for the terminal on the frequency and/or time domain may determine the UL/DL resources, and the SBFD pattern may be semi-statically configured. (see Wang paragraph 0066). After the SBFD pattern is configured for the terminal by the semi-static signaling, the network side device indicates whether the SBFD pattern takes effect or not through the dynamic signaling (Wang paragraph 0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to have the feature of transmitting to the UE, a semi-static SBFD configuration allocating one or more resources for communication with the network entity; as taught by Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the resource utilization rate (Wang paragraphs 0066 and 0071).
Claims 12-14 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Wang, and further in view of Park et al. (WO 2025/034791 A1, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 12, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 2. Lu and Wang do not expressly disclose wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises: an update capability supporting a maximum number of transitions for the dynamic SBFD operation within a time period.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Park discloses that a WTRU (a UE) may send a report and/or indication (to a gNB) to indicate the maximum number of transition points that the WTRU may support within a time period. The WTRU may send the indication via capability reporting, an event-based reporting, periodic reporting, etc. The WTRU may transit and/or switch between symbol(s) that are configured with a second set of SBFD symbols (e.g., WTRU-SBFD) and other types of symbols. For example, the other types of symbols may be symbol(s) that are configured with a first set of SBFD symbols (e.g., gNB-SBFD) or non-SBFD symbols (Park paragraph 0195).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu and Wang to have the feature of wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises: an update capability supporting a maximum number of transitions for the dynamic SBFD operation within a time period; as taught by Park. The suggestion/motivation would have been to efficiently manage self-interference for SBFD capable UEs, and provide improvements for subband non-overlapping full duplex operations (Park abstract and paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 13, Lu, Wang and Park disclose the apparatus of claim 12. Lu, Wang and Park further disclose wherein the time period includes one of: a slot, a configured period of a parameter TDD-UL-DL-ConfigCommon, or a defined time window [Park discloses that The WTRU may indicate the number of transition points and/or switching points that are supported, possible, and/or preferred by the WTRU within a time period. The time period may be a configured time duration that is based on for example a TDD cycle(s), a UL/DL-config pattern(s), one or more slot, and/or a defined or configured time period (Park paragraph 0195)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Lu, Wang and Park disclose the apparatus of claim 12. Lu, Wang and Park further disclose wherein a number of the transitions for the dynamic SBFD operation includes one of: a first number of changes of formats of the one or more resources between SBFD resources and non-SBFD resources via dynamic SBFD indications [Park discloses that the WTRU may transit and/or switch between symbol(s) that are configured with a second set of SBFD symbols (e.g., WTRU-SBFD) and other types of symbols. For example, the other types of symbols may be symbol(s) that are configured with a first set of SBFD symbols (e.g., gNB-SBFD) or non-SBFD symbols (Park paragraph 0195)], or a second number of changes of formats of the one or more resources between the SBFD resources and the non-SBFD resources via both the dynamic SBFD indications and the semi-static SBFD indications. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 26, Lu and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 16. Lu and Wang do not expressly disclose wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises: an update capability supporting a maximum number of transitions for the dynamic SBFD operation within a time period.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Park discloses that a WTRU (a UE) may send a report and/or indication (to a gNB) to indicate the maximum number of transition points that the WTRU may support within a time period. The WTRU may send the indication via capability reporting, an event-based reporting, periodic reporting, etc. The WTRU may transit and/or switch between symbol(s) that are configured with a second set of SBFD symbols (e.g., WTRU-SBFD) and other types of symbols. For example, the other types of symbols may be symbol(s) that are configured with a first set of SBFD symbols (e.g., gNB-SBFD) or non-SBFD symbols (Park paragraph 0195).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu and Wang to have the feature of wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises: an update capability supporting a maximum number of transitions for the dynamic SBFD operation within a time period; as taught by Park. The suggestion/motivation would have been to efficiently manage self-interference for SBFD capable UEs, and provide improvements for subband non-overlapping full duplex operations (Park abstract and paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 27, Lu, Wang and Park disclose the apparatus of claim 26. Lu, Wang and Park further disclose wherein the time period includes one of: a slot, a configured period of a parameter TDD-UL-DL-ConfigCommon, or a defined time window [Park discloses that The WTRU may indicate the number of transition points and/or switching points that are supported, possible, and/or preferred by the WTRU within a time period. The time period may be a configured time duration that is based on for example a TDD cycle(s), a UL/DL-config pattern(s), one or more slot, and/or a defined or configured time period (Park paragraph 0195)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 26.
Regarding claim 28, Lu, Wang and Park disclose the apparatus of claim 26. Lu, Wang and Park further disclose wherein a number of the transitions for the dynamic SBFD operation includes one of: a first number of changes of formats of the one or more resources between SBFD resources and non-SBFD resources via dynamic SBFD indications [Park discloses that the WTRU may transit and/or switch between symbol(s) that are configured with a second set of SBFD symbols (e.g., WTRU-SBFD) and other types of symbols. For example, the other types of symbols may be symbol(s) that are configured with a first set of SBFD symbols (e.g., gNB-SBFD) or non-SBFD symbols (Park paragraph 0195)], or a second number of changes of formats of the one or more resources between the SBFD resources and the non-SBFD resources via both the dynamic SBFD indications and the semi-static SBFD indications. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 26.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises: a gap capability supporting a minimum gap from a transition point to a start of the dynamic SBFD operation, and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: indicate, to the network entity, an indicator indicative of the minimum gap; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 23 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the capability for the dynamic SBFD operation comprises: a gap capability supporting a minimum gap from a transition point to a start of the dynamic SBFD operation, and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to: receive, from the UE, an indicator that is indicative of the minimum gap; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414