DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 28, and dependents is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 28, Applicant recites the limitation “wherein the outer elongate member includes an aperture positioned proximal of the distal portion”. However, this limitation renders the claims indefinite as the instant claim recites the “inner elongate member… having a proximal portion and a distal portion…” as well as “a distal portion of the outer elongate member…” It is therefore unclear to what “distal portion” this aperture is required to be proximal to, i.e. the distal portion of the inner elongate member OR the distal portion of the outer elongate member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005/0085769 (“MacMahon) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0008090 (“Look”).
Regarding Claim 1, MacMahon discloses a system for aspirating an irrigating a body cavity (Abstract; Fig. 20A) wherein the system is useful for such procedures s plaque removal, atherectomy, removal of emboli, thrombectomy…etc. (Par. Abstract, 4, 38, 39…etc.), comprising:
a catheter assembly (7) comprising-
an outer elongate member (7, 2, 6) defining an outer lumen (2); and
an inner elongate member (7, 3, 9) extending at least partially through the outer elongate member and having a proximal portion (not show - i.e. the portions to be retained external to the patient) and a distal portion (see Fig. 20A – i.e. the portions to be inserted into the patient), the inner elongate member defining an inner lumen having a distal opening (see Fig. 20A), wherein a distal portion of the outer elongate member is fluidly sealed to the inner elongate member (see Fig. 20), and wherein the outer elongate member includes an aperture (60) positioned proximal of the distal terminus of the outer elongate member (see Fig. 20A).
MacMahon further describes an aspiration source (4, 76) fluidly coupled to the inner lumen, wherein the aspiration source is configured to aspirate the inner lumen (see Fig. 11 and 20A; Par. 166 and 244) and an irrigation source (1, 75) fluidly coupled to the outer lumen and configured to flow an irrigation fluid through the outer lumen and out of the aperture (see Fig. 11 and 20A; Par. 166 and 244).
MacMahon fails to go into any specific detail concerning the proximal portion of the system and fails to disclose a hemostasis valve, a first side port, or a second side port.
However, Look discloses a related catheter system (e.g. Fig. 39) which is likewise directed toward removing of obstructive material such as thrombi, emboli, and the like (Abstract; Par. 63), the system comprising an aspiration source (1408) fluidly coupled to an aspiration lumen (1404) via a first side port (1414) of a catheter manifold , the first side port being distal to a user actuatable hemostasis valve (Par. 176, 141) and an irrigation source (1432, 1412) fluidly coupled to an irrigation lumen (1410) via a second side port (1410), the second side port being distal to the hemostasis valve (see Fig. 38), the hemostasis valve being configured to receive additional interventional tools therethrough such as a guidewire (28) may be inserted. Look discloses that other tools such as disruptor elements (1418) having distal features useful for breaking up thrombi (Par. 178) may also be inserted through the hemostasis valve (see Fig. 39) along with separators (616). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the hemostasis valve of modified MacMahon to comprise a catheter manifold comprising a hemostasis valve which is user adjustable, e.g. of the Tuohy-Borst type, to receive a variety of interventional tools into the aspiration lumen/instrument lumen including a disruptor, as well as distally located aspiration and irrigation ports fluidically connected to their resepective sources and lumens, as disclosed by Look in order to provide a useful catheter interface for allowing intraoperative, fluid connections with irrigation and aspiration sources in a known and predictable manner to allow for their connection together to convey fluid to and from the patient as well as permit the receipt of various interventional tools used to assist in thrombi removal.
Regarding Claim 2, MacMahon discloses the inner elongate member is coaxial with the outer elongate member (see Fig. 20A).
Regarding Claim 3, MacMahon discloses the aspiration source is a first syringe (4, 76) and the irrigation source is a second syringe (1, 75).
Regarding Claim 4, MacMahon discloses the aperture is one of a plurality of apertures (see Fig. 20A) positioned circumferentially about the outer elongate member.
Regarding Claim 5, MacMahon discloses an aspiration flow control assembly (see e.g. 77d, 77c; Fig. 11) fluidly coupled between the aspiration source (76) and the inner lumen (3), wherein the aspiration flow control is further fluidly coupled to a waste reservoir (see “aspiration reservoir”), and wherein the aspiration flow control assembly is configured to when the aspiration source is actuated in a first manner (i.e. retraction of plunger 23), permit fluid flow from the inner lumen to the aspiration source while blocking fluid flow from the waste reservoir to the aspiration source (i.e. the valves are “one-way valves”), and when the aspiration source is actuated in a second manner different than the first manner (i.e. compression of the plunger 23), permit fluid flow from the aspiration source to the waste reservoir while blocking fluid flow from the aspiration source to the inner lumen (i.e. the one-way valves will prevent return of the aspirant to the inner lumen and will instead expel the aspirant into the reservoir – Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 6, MacMahon discloses the aspiration source is a syringe having a plunger, wherein the first manner is withdrawal of the plunger, and wherein the second manner is depression of the plunger (see Fig. 11; Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 7, MacMahon discloses an irrigation flow control assembly (77a, 77b; Fig. 11) fluidly coupled between the irrigation source (75) and the outer lumen (2), wherein the irrigation flow control assembly is further fluidly coupled to an irrigation reservoir (see “irrigation reservoir”) configured to hold an irrigation fluid, and wherein the irrigation flow control assembly is configured to when the irrigation source is actuated in a first manner (i.e. the plunger 22 withdrawn), permit flow of the irrigation fluid from the irrigation reservoir to the irrigation source while blocking fluid flow from the outer lumen to the irrigation source, and when the irrigation source is actuated in a second manner (i.e. the plunger 22 depressed) different than the first manner, permit the irrigation fluid to flow from the irrigation source into the outer lumen while blocking flow of the irrigation fluid from the irrigation source into the irrigation reservoir (see Fig. 11; Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 8, MacMahon discloses the irrigation source is a syringe having a plunger, wherein the first manner is withdrawal of the plunger, and wherein the second manner is depression of the plunger (see Fig. 11, Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 9, MacMahon discloses an aspiration flow control assembly (77d, 77c) fluidly coupled between the aspiration source (76) and the inner lumen (3), wherein the aspiration flow control assembly is further fluidly coupled to a waste reservoir (see “aspiration reservoir”), and wherein the aspiration flow control assembly is configured to when the aspiration source is actuated in a first manner (i.e. withdrawal of the piston 23), permit fluid flow from the inner lumen to the aspiration source while blocking fluid flow from the waste reservoir to the aspiration source, and when the aspiration source is actuated in a second manner (i.e. depression of the piston 23) different than the first manner, permit fluid flow from the aspiration source to the waste reservoir while blocking fluid flow from the aspiration source to the inner lumen (Par. 166); and
an irrigation flow control assembly (77b, 77a) fluidly coupled between the irrigation source (75) and the outer lumen (2), wherein the irrigation flow control assembly is further fluidly coupled to an irrigation reservoir (see “irrigation reservoir”) configured to hold an irrigation fluid, and wherein the irrigation flow control assembly is configured to when the irrigation source is actuated in a third manner (i.e. retraction of the plunger 22), permit flow of the irrigation fluid from the irrigation reservoir to the irrigation source while blocking fluid flow from the outer lumen to the irrigation source, and when the irrigation source is actuated in a fourth manner (i.e. depression of the plunger 22) different than the third manner, permit the irrigation fluid to flow from the irrigation source into the outer lumen while blocking flow of the irrigation fluid from the irrigation source into the irrigation reservoir (Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 10, MacMahon discloses the aspiration source is a first syringe having a first plunger, wherein the first manner is withdrawal of the first plunger, wherein the second manner is depression of the second plunger (see Fig. 11; Par. 166), wherein the irrigation source is a second syringe having a second plunger, wherein the third manner is withdrawal of the second plunger, and wherein the fourth manner is depression of the second plunger (see Fig. 11; Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 11, MacMahon discloses the first plunger and the second plunger are mechanically coupled and configured to move together during withdrawal and depression (see Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 28, MacMahon discloses a system for aspirating an irrigating a body cavity (Abstract; Fig. 20A) wherein the system is useful for such procedures s plaque removal, atherectomy, removal of emboli, thrombectomy…etc. (Par. Abstract, 4, 38, 39…etc.), comprising:
a catheter assembly (7) comprising-
an outer elongate member (7, 2, 6) defining an outer lumen (2); and
an inner elongate member (7, 3, 9) extending at least partially through the outer elongate member and having a proximal portion (not show - i.e. the portions to be retained external to the patient) and a distal portion (see Fig. 20A – i.e. the portions to be inserted into the patient), the inner elongate member defining an inner lumen having a distal opening (see Fig. 20A), wherein a distal portion of the outer elongate member is fluidly sealed to the inner elongate member (see Fig. 20), and wherein the outer elongate member includes an aperture (60) positioned proximal of the distal terminus of the outer elongate member (see Fig. 20A).
MacMahon further describes an aspiration source/syringe (4, 76) fluidly coupled to the inner lumen, wherein the aspiration source/syringe is configured to aspirate the inner lumen (see Fig. 11 and 20A; Par. 166 and 244) and an irrigation source/syringe (1, 75) fluidly coupled to the outer lumen and configured to flow an irrigation fluid through the outer lumen and out of the aperture (see Fig. 11 and 20A; Par. 166 and 244).
MacMahon fails to go into any specific detail concerning the proximal portion of the system and fails to disclose a hemostasis valve, a first side port, or a second side port.
However, Look discloses a related catheter system (e.g. Fig. 39) which is likewise directed toward removing of obstructive material such as thrombi, emboli, and the like (Abstract; Par. 63), the system comprising an aspiration source (1408) fluidly coupled to an aspiration lumen (1404) via a first side port (1414) of a catheter manifold , the first side port being distal to a user actuatable hemostasis valve (Par. 176, 141) and an irrigation source (1432, 1412) fluidly coupled to an irrigation lumen (1410) via a second side port (1410), the second side port being distal to the hemostasis valve (see Fig. 38), the hemostasis valve being configured to receive additional interventional tools therethrough such as a guidewire (28) may be inserted. Look discloses that other tools such as disruptor elements (1418) having distal features useful for breaking up thrombi (Par. 178) may also be inserted through the hemostasis valve (see Fig. 39) along with separators (616). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the hemostasis valve of modified MacMahon to comprise a catheter manifold comprising a hemostasis valve which is user adjustable, e.g. of the Tuohy-Borst type, to receive a variety of interventional tools into the aspiration lumen/instrument lumen including a disruptor, as well as distally located aspiration and irrigation ports fluidically connected to their resepective sources and lumens, as disclosed by Look in order to provide a useful catheter interface for allowing intraoperative, fluid connections with irrigation and aspiration sources in a known and predictable manner to allow for their connection together to convey fluid to and from the patient as well as permit the receipt of various interventional tools used to assist in thrombi removal.
Regarding Claim 29, MacMahon discloses the aspiration syringe and the irrigation syringe are mechanically linked to be actuated in synchronization (see Fig. 11).
Claim(s) 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005/0085769 (“MacMahon) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0008090 (“Look”) as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2012/0143123 (“Agnew”).
Regarding Claim 12, MacMahon discloses:
an aspiration flow control assembly (77d, 77c) fluidly coupled between the aspiration source and the inner lumen, wherein the aspiration flow control assembly comprises:
a first arrangement (see at 3) configured to be fluidly coupled to the inner lumen (see Fig. 11);
a second arrangement (see at 3’) configured to be fluidly coupled to a waste reservoir (see “aspiration reservoir”);
a first one-way valve (77d) positioned between the first connector and the aspiration source (76), wherein the first one-way valve is positioned to
(a) permit fluid flow through the first connector from the inner lumen to the aspiration source (Par. 166) and
(b) inhibit fluid flow through the first connector from the aspiration source to the inner lumen (Par. 166); and
a second one-way valve (77c) positioned between the second connector and the aspiration source, wherein the second one-way valve is positioned to
(a) permit fluid flow through the second connector from the aspiration source to the waste reservoir and
(b) inhibit fluid flow through the second connector from the waste reservoir to aspiration source (Par. 166).
MacMahon discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the arrangements comprise “connectors” – rather MacMahon only schematically illustrates these arrangements as indeterminate fluid lumens without explicit consideration as to how these lumens are particularly attached to the respective structures. However, Agnew discloses that it is known for fluid handling tubing/lumens to be operatively connectable to one another via various connectors (see e.g. 42-44, 48) thereby allowing the system to be assembled and disassembled as needed. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize connectors, as disclosed by Agnew, to adjoin together the various fluid handling lumens of the invention of MacMahon, in order to permit the device to be assembled and disassembled while permitting replacement of individual components for servicing, cleaning, or repair as needed.
Regarding Claim 13, MacMahon discloses the aspiration source comprises a syringe (76) having a plunger (23);
withdrawal of the plunger is configured to aspirate material from the cavity through the inner lumen;
during withdrawal of the plunger, the first one-way valve is positioned to permit flow of the material through the first connector (see modification in view of Agnew) into the syringe and the second one-way valve is positioned to inhibit flow from the waste reservoir to the syringe (Par. 166);
depression of the plunger is configured to flow the aspirated material from the syringe to the waste reservoir; and
during depression of the plunger, the first-one way valve is positioned to inhibit flow of the aspirated material through the first connector (see modification in view of Agnew) into the inner lumen and the second one-way valve is positioned to permit flow of the aspirated material from the syringe through the second connector (see modification in view of Agnew) into the waste reservoir (Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 14, MacMahon discloses:
an irrigation flow control assembly (77b, 77a) fluidly coupled between the irrigation source and the outer lumen, wherein the aspiration flow control assembly comprises:
a first arrangement (see at 2) configured to be fluidly coupled to the outer lumen;
a second arrangement (see at 3) configured to be fluidly coupled to an irrigation reservoir;
a first one-way valve (77b) positioned between the first arrangement and the irrigation source, wherein the first one-way valve is positioned to
(a) permit fluid flow through the first arrangement from the irrigation source to the outer lumen and
(b) inhibit fluid flow through the first arrangement from the inner lumen to the irrigation source (Par. 166); and
a second one-way valve (77a) positioned between the second arrangement and the irrigation source, wherein the second one-way valve is positioned to
(a) permit fluid flow through the second arrangement from the irrigation reservoir to the irrigation source and
(b) inhibit fluid flow through the second arrangement from the irrigation source to the irrigation reservoir (Par. 166).
MacMahon discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the arrangements comprise “connectors” – rather MacMahon only schematically illustrates these arrangements as indeterminate fluid lumens without explicit consideration as to how these lumens are particularly attached to the respective structures. However, Agnew discloses that it is known for fluid handling tubing/lumens to be operatively connectable to one another via various connectors (see e.g. 42-44, 48) thereby allowing the system to be assembled and disassembled as needed. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize connectors, as disclosed by Agnew, to adjoin together the various fluid handling lumens of the invention of MacMahon, in order to permit the device to be assembled and disassembled while permitting replacement of individual components for servicing, cleaning, or repair as needed.
Regarding Claim 15, MacMahon, as modified by Agnew, discloses the irrigation source comprises a syringe (75) having a plunger (22);
withdrawal of the plunger is configured to at least partially fill the syringe with an irrigation fluid from the irrigation reservoir;
during withdrawal of the plunger, the first one-way valve is positioned to inhibit flow through the first connector into the syringe and the second one-way valve is positioned to permit flow of the irrigation fluid from the irrigation reservoir to the syringe (Par. 166);
depression of the plunger is configured to flow the irrigation fluid from the syringe to the outer lumen; and
during depression of the plunger, the first-one way valve is positioned to permit flow of the irrigation fluid through the first connector into the outer lumen and the second one-way valve is positioned to inhibit flow of the irrigation fluid from the syringe through the second connector into the irrigation reservoir (Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 16, MacMahon discloses:
an aspiration flow control assembly (77d, 77c) fluidly coupled between the aspiration source and the inner lumen, wherein the aspiration flow control assembly comprises:
a first arrangement (see at 3) configured to be fluidly coupled to the inner lumen (see Fig. 11);
a second arrangement (see at 3’) configured to be fluidly coupled to a waste reservoir (see “aspiration reservoir”);
a first one-way valve (77d) positioned between the first connector and the aspiration source (76), wherein the first one-way valve is positioned to
(a) permit fluid flow through the first connector from the inner lumen to the aspiration source (Par. 166) and
(b) inhibit fluid flow through the first connector from the aspiration source to the inner lumen (Par. 166); and
a second one-way valve (77c) positioned between the second connector and the aspiration source, wherein the second one-way valve is positioned to
(a) permit fluid flow through the second connector from the aspiration source to the waste reservoir and
(b) inhibit fluid flow through the second connector from the waste reservoir to aspiration source (Par. 166).
MacMahon discloses:
an irrigation flow control assembly (77b, 77a) fluidly coupled between the irrigation source and the outer lumen, wherein the aspiration flow control assembly comprises:
a first arrangement (see at 2) configured to be fluidly coupled to the outer lumen;
a second arrangement (see at 3) configured to be fluidly coupled to an irrigation reservoir;
a first one-way valve (77b) positioned between the first arrangement and the irrigation source, wherein the first one-way valve is positioned to
(a) permit fluid flow through the first arrangement from the irrigation source to the outer lumen and
(b) inhibit fluid flow through the first arrangement from the inner lumen to the irrigation source (Par. 166); and
a second one-way valve (77a) positioned between the second arrangement and the irrigation source, wherein the second one-way valve is positioned to
(a) permit fluid flow through the second arrangement from the irrigation reservoir to the irrigation source and
(b) inhibit fluid flow through the second arrangement from the irrigation source to the irrigation reservoir (Par. 166).
MacMahon discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the arrangements comprise “connectors” – rather MacMahon only schematically illustrates these arrangements as indeterminate fluid lumens without explicit consideration as to how these lumens are particularly attached to the respective structures. However, Agnew discloses that it is known for fluid handling tubing/lumens to be operatively connectable to one another via various connectors (see e.g. 42-44, 48) thereby allowing the system to be assembled and disassembled as needed. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize connectors, as disclosed by Agnew, to adjoin together the various fluid handling lumens of the invention of MacMahon, in order to permit the device to be assembled and disassembled while permitting replacement of individual components for servicing, cleaning, or repair as needed.
Regarding Claim 17, MacMahon discloses the aspiration source comprises a syringe (76) having a plunger (23);
withdrawal of the plunger is configured to aspirate material from the cavity through the inner lumen;
during withdrawal of the plunger, the first one-way valve is positioned to permit flow of the material through the first connector (see modification in view of Agnew) into the syringe and the second one-way valve is positioned to inhibit flow from the waste reservoir to the syringe (Par. 166);
depression of the plunger is configured to flow the aspirated material from the syringe to the waste reservoir; and
during depression of the plunger, the first-one way valve is positioned to inhibit flow of the aspirated material through the first connector (see modification in view of Agnew) into the inner lumen and the second one-way valve is positioned to permit flow of the aspirated material from the syringe through the second connector (see modification in view of Agnew) into the waste reservoir (Par. 166).
MacMahon, as modified by Agnew, discloses the irrigation source comprises a syringe (75) having a plunger (22);
withdrawal of the plunger is configured to at least partially fill the syringe with an irrigation fluid from the irrigation reservoir;
during withdrawal of the plunger, the first one-way valve is positioned to inhibit flow through the first connector into the syringe and the second one-way valve is positioned to permit flow of the irrigation fluid from the irrigation reservoir to the syringe (Par. 166);
depression of the plunger is configured to flow the irrigation fluid from the syringe to the outer lumen; and
during depression of the plunger, the first-one way valve is positioned to permit flow of the irrigation fluid through the first connector into the outer lumen and the second one-way valve is positioned to inhibit flow of the irrigation fluid from the syringe through the second connector into the irrigation reservoir (Par. 166).
Regarding Claim 18, MacMahon discloses the first plunger and the second plunger are mechanically coupled and configured to move together (see Fig. 11).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005/0085769 (“MacMahon) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0008090 (“Look”) as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0402138 (“Kelly”).
Regarding Claim 19, MacMahon discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the inner elongate member is a “reinforced catheter”, but does disclose that the outer elongate member is a tube formed from a plastic material (Par. 73). However, Kelly discloses a related catheter (10) wherein the catheter tubing may include a reinforced inner elongate member (12, 60) in order to minimize kinking or collapse of the tubing. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the inner elongate member of the invention of MacMahon to comprise a reinforced catheter tube, as disclosed by Kelly, in order to help reduce kinking or collapse of the tubing during use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 09/10/2026