DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/10/2023, 12/13/2023, 9/24/2024, and 3/10/2025; the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 1 and 8 disclose “UE” abbreviation interpreted as user equipment. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18- 22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20230336295-A1 to Sung et al., from hereon Sung in view of US-20200235788-A1 to Rajagopal et al., from hereon Rajagopal.
Regarding claim 1 Sung teaches…an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity, comprising (P.141 discloses…a first network entity used for communication): at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to (P.136, 146 ):… transmit the message to a second network entity via the fronthaul interface (P.193 discloses… performed by an O-RU, such as O-RU 406 of FIG. 4 which may be integrated as part of BS 304 of FIG. 3B in some designs. In particular, the O-RU performing the process 600 of FIG. 6 corresponds to a Category B O-RU that supports modulation compression); and process the reference signals on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters (P. 32 discloses… an O-RAN distributed unit (O-DU), a control plane (C-Plane) message including a section description that specifies common physical resource block (PRB) information associated with a plurality of reference signals (RS s), the section description comprising a set of RS-specific section description extensions that each specify a PRB offset and a modulation scaling factor for a respective RS among the plurality of RSs; and process the C-Plane message with modulation compression in accordance with the set of RS-specific section description extensions). but does not teach…generate a message with entries that represent blocks of physical resource blocks (PRBs), for transmitting reference signals over a fronthaul interface using modulation compression parameters;
Rajagopal teaches… generate a message with entries that represent blocks of physical resource blocks (PRBs), for transmitting reference signals over a fronthaul interface using modulation compression parameters (P.30 and 32, discloses.. providing a fronthaul interface in the CRAN system, which method includes dynamically adapting uplink (UL) bit-widths on the fronthaul interface based on modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of a transmission from a user equipment (UE) to provide transport efficiency increase; and transmitting only tones having valid data over the fronthaul interface; further described in P. 32… providing a fronthaul interface in the CRAN system for unlicensed spectrum operation, which method includes: a) configuring the RU, by the BBU via the fronthaul interface, with configuration parameters including at least one of energy detection threshold, target frequency band and scanning period, for carrier-selection; b) scanning, by the RU, multiple unlicensed channels based on the configuration parameters; c) sending, by the RU via the UL fronthaul interface, performance metrics including at least one of occupancy ratio and average received signal strength indicator (RSSI); and d) selecting, by the BBU, optimal channel to use for transmission of data based on the performance metrics received via the UL fronthaul interface. The method may optionally further include: e) sending, by the BBU, a configuration message in the DL to the BBU with the selected channel for transmission of data; and f) acknowledging, by the RU, the configuration message, and initiating data transmission by the RU); transmit the message to a second network entity via the fronthaul interface (P.95, Fig. 7 discloses… transmits the received reference signal over the air. Every time the RU receives the latest reference signal from the BBU, the RU overwrites the existing local cache of the reference signal with the latest reference signal from the BBU… the RU uses, at block 706, the local copy of the reference signal obtained from the local memory at the RU and transmits it over the air. The RU continues to look for the reference signal sent from the BBU, and the RU transmits the local copy of the reference signal from the local memory at the RU to keep the UE connected to the network until the BBU and/or the fronthaul interface comes back to operation. This can also be done to minimize fronthaul traffic overhead for reference signal transmissions);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sung by incorporating the teachings of Rajagopal because the method and device allow for a distributed architecture network entity to communication via fronthaul interface functionality implemented so that resource units can be , mapping and precoding can be implemented (Rajagopal, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 4 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 1, Sung teaches…wherein each entry includes at least a PRB offset and PRB block size to represent a location and size of a block of PRBs within a section of time and frequency resources (P. 195 processes the C-Plane message with modulation compression in accordance with the set of RS-specific section description extensions ).
Regarding claim 5 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 4, Sung teaches…wherein each entry also includes a symbol mask indicating a number of one or more symbols spanned by a corresponding block of PRBs (P.201 information for a single RS type—e.g., start PRB offset, PRB step, RE mask, symbol mask, constellation shift (csf), and modulation compression scaler, whereby: [0202] ‘startPrbcOffset’ indicates the PRB offset from startPrbc in section description. [0203] ‘stepPrbc’ indicates every how many PRBs this extension is applicable. For non-contiguous PRB allocations by extension type 6, this PRB step size is interpreted as the contiguous number of PRBs within the allocated PDSCH/PUSCH frequency PRBs ).
Regarding claim 6 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 1, Sung teaches…wherein the message also includes a field indicating whether the entries represent blocks of PRBs or PRBs (P. 199 discloses… C-Plane message configuration 800. Particular attention is drawn to fields denoted as 802, which comprise startPrbc and a numPrbc fields for a respective Section ID. In various aspects, instead of including the fields 802 redundantly for reach RS type in the C-Plane message as in FIG. 8, multiple RS types (e.g., DM-RS, PT-RS, CSI-RS, SRS, etc.) may be mapped to common PRB information, such as the start (startPrbc field) and end (indicated by startPrbc and numPrbc fields together) of PRBs for the PDSCH or PUSCH).
Regarding claim 7 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 1, Sung teaches…wherein the message also has entries that represent resource elements (REs), within the blocks of PRBs, for transmitting the reference signals (P. 201 stepPrbc’ indicates every how many PRBs this extension is applicable. For non-contiguous PRB allocations by extension type 6, this PRB step size is interpreted as the contiguous number of PRBs within the allocated PDSCH/PUSCH frequency PRBs, not the number of common resource blocks (CRBs). For contiguous PRB allocations, the step size can be seen as number of CRBs. [0204] ‘reMask’ indicates to which REs this extension is applicable. [0205] ‘symbolMask’ indicates to which symbols this extension is applicable. [0206] ‘csf’ indicates whether to shift the constellation or not (e.g., same as the one in extension type 4 or 5). [0207] ‘modCompScaler’ indicates the scaling factor to apply to the unshifted constellation (e.g., same as the one in extension type 4 or 5) ).
Regarding claim 8 Sung teaches…an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network entity, comprising(P.141 discloses…a first network entity used for communication): at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to(P.136, 146 ): receive, from a first network entity, a message with entries that represent blocks of physical resource blocks (PRBs) for transmitting reference signals over a fronthaul interface using modulation compression parameters(P.193 discloses… performed by an O-RU, such as O-RU 406 of FIG. 4 which may be integrated as part of BS 304 of FIG. 3B in some designs. In particular, the O-RU performing the process 600 of FIG. 6 corresponds to a Category B O-RU that supports modulation compression); but does not teach…and process the reference signals on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters.
Rajagopal teaches… and process the reference signals on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters(P.30 and 32, discloses.. providing a fronthaul interface in the CRAN system, which method includes dynamically adapting uplink (UL) bit-widths on the fronthaul interface based on modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of a transmission from a user equipment (UE) to provide transport efficiency increase; and transmitting only tones having valid data over the fronthaul interface; further described in P. 32… providing a fronthaul interface in the CRAN system for unlicensed spectrum operation, which method includes: a) configuring the RU, by the BBU via the fronthaul interface, with configuration parameters including at least one of energy detection threshold, target frequency band and scanning period, for carrier-selection; b) scanning, by the RU, multiple unlicensed channels based on the configuration parameters; c) sending, by the RU via the UL fronthaul interface, performance metrics including at least one of occupancy ratio and average received signal strength indicator (RSSI); and d) selecting, by the BBU, optimal channel to use for transmission of data based on the performance metrics received via the UL fronthaul interface. The method may optionally further include: e) sending, by the BBU, a configuration message in the DL to the BBU with the selected channel for transmission of data; and f) acknowledging, by the RU, the configuration message, and initiating data transmission by the RU.;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sung by incorporating the teachings of Rajagopal because the method and device allow for a distributed architecture network entity to communication via fronthaul interface functionality implemented so that resource units can be , mapping and precoding can be implemented (Rajagopal, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 11 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 8, Sung teaches…wherein each entry includes at least a PRB offset and PRB block size to represent a location and size of a block of PRBs within a section of time and frequency resources(P. 195 processes the C-Plane message with modulation compression in accordance with the set of RS-specific section description extensions ).
Regarding claim 12 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 11, Sung teaches…wherein each entry also includes a symbol mask indicating a number of one or more symbols spanned by a corresponding block of PRBs (P.201 information for a single RS type—e.g., start PRB offset, PRB step, RE mask, symbol mask, constellation shift (csf), and modulation compression scaler, whereby: [0202] ‘startPrbcOffset’ indicates the PRB offset from startPrbc in section description. [0203] ‘stepPrbc’ indicates every how many PRBs this extension is applicable. For non-contiguous PRB allocations by extension type 6, this PRB step size is interpreted as the contiguous number of PRBs within the allocated PDSCH/PUSCH frequency PRBs ).
Regarding claim 13 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 8, Sung teaches…wherein the message also includes a field indicating that the entries represent blocks or PRBs(P. 199 discloses… C-Plane message configuration 800. Particular attention is drawn to fields denoted as 802, which comprise startPrbc and a numPrbc fields for a respective Section ID. In various aspects, instead of including the fields 802 redundantly for reach RS type in the C-Plane message as in FIG. 8, multiple RS types (e.g., DM-RS, PT-RS, CSI-RS, SRS, etc.) may be mapped to common PRB information, such as the start (startPrbc field) and end (indicated by startPrbc and numPrbc fields together) of PRBs for the PDSCH or PUSCH).
Regarding claim 14 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 8, Sung teaches….wherein the message also has entries that represent resource elements (REs), within the blocks of PRBs, for transmitting the reference signals(P. 201 stepPrbc’ indicates every how many PRBs this extension is applicable. For non-contiguous PRB allocations by extension type 6, this PRB step size is interpreted as the contiguous number of PRBs within the allocated PDSCH/PUSCH frequency PRBs, not the number of common resource blocks (CRBs). For contiguous PRB allocations, the step size can be seen as number of CRBs. [0204] ‘reMask’ indicates to which REs this extension is applicable. [0205] ‘symbolMask’ indicates to which symbols this extension is applicable. [0206] ‘csf’ indicates whether to shift the constellation or not (e.g., same as the one in extension type 4 or 5). [0207] ‘modCompScaler’ indicates the scaling factor to apply to the unshifted constellation (e.g., same as the one in extension type 4 or 5) ).
Regarding claim 15 Sung teaches…a method for wireless communication at a first network entity (P 254 discloses the method and P.141 further discloses…a first network entity used for communication), comprising: transmitting the message to a second network entity via the fronthaul interface P.193 discloses… performed by an O-RU, such as O-RU 406 of FIG. 4 which may be integrated as part of BS 304 of FIG. 3B in some designs. In particular, the O-RU performing the process 600 of FIG. 6 corresponds to a Category B O-RU that supports modulation compression); and processing the reference signals on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters(P. 32 discloses… an O-RAN distributed unit (O-DU), a control plane (C-Plane) message including a section description that specifies common physical resource block (PRB) information associated with a plurality of reference signals (RS s), the section description comprising a set of RS-specific section description extensions that each specify a PRB offset and a modulation scaling factor for a respective RS among the plurality of RSs; and process the C-Plane message with modulation compression in accordance with the set of RS-specific section description extensions). but does not teach…generating a message with entries that represent blocks of physical resource blocks (PRBs), for transmitting reference signals over a fronthaul interface using modulation compression parameters;
Rajagopal teaches… generating a message with entries that represent blocks of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (P.30 and 32, discloses.. providing a fronthaul interface in the CRAN system, which method includes dynamically adapting uplink (UL) bit-widths on the fronthaul interface based on modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of a transmission from a user equipment (UE) to provide transport efficiency increase; and transmitting only tones having valid data over the fronthaul interface; further described in P. 32… providing a fronthaul interface in the CRAN system for unlicensed spectrum operation, which method includes: a) configuring the RU, by the BBU via the fronthaul interface, with configuration parameters including at least one of energy detection threshold, target frequency band and scanning period, for carrier-selection; b) scanning, by the RU, multiple unlicensed channels based on the configuration parameters; c) sending, by the RU via the UL fronthaul interface, performance metrics including at least one of occupancy ratio and average received signal strength indicator (RSSI); and d) selecting, by the BBU, optimal channel to use for transmission of data based on the performance metrics received via the UL fronthaul interface. The method may optionally further include: e) sending, by the BBU, a configuration message in the DL to the BBU with the selected channel for transmission of data; and f) acknowledging, by the RU, the configuration message, and initiating data transmission by the RU);, for transmitting reference signals over a fronthaul interface using modulation compression parameters(P.95, Fig. 7 discloses… transmits the received reference signal over the air. Every time the RU receives the latest reference signal from the BBU, the RU overwrites the existing local cache of the reference signal with the latest reference signal from the BBU… the RU uses, at block 706, the local copy of the reference signal obtained from the local memory at the RU and transmits it over the air. The RU continues to look for the reference signal sent from the BBU, and the RU transmits the local copy of the reference signal from the local memory at the RU to keep the UE connected to the network until the BBU and/or the fronthaul interface comes back to operation. This can also be done to minimize fronthaul traffic overhead for reference signal transmissions);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sung by incorporating the teachings of Rajagopal because the method and device allow for a distributed architecture network entity to communication via fronthaul interface functionality implemented so that resource units can be , mapping and precoding can be implemented (Rajagopal, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 18 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 15,Sung teaches…wherein each entry includes at least a PRB offset and PRB block size to represent a location and size of a block of PRBs within a section of time and frequency resources(P. 195 processes the C-Plane message with modulation compression in accordance with the set of RS-specific section description extensions ).
Regarding claim 19 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 18, Sung teaches…wherein each entry also includes a symbol mask indicating a number of one or more symbols spanned by a corresponding block of PRBs (P.201 information for a single RS type—e.g., start PRB offset, PRB step, RE mask, symbol mask, constellation shift (csf), and modulation compression scaler, whereby: [0202] ‘startPrbcOffset’ indicates the PRB offset from startPrbc in section description. [0203] ‘stepPrbc’ indicates every how many PRBs this extension is applicable. For non-contiguous PRB allocations by extension type 6, this PRB step size is interpreted as the contiguous number of PRBs within the allocated PDSCH/PUSCH frequency PRBs ).
Regarding claim 20 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 15,Sung teaches…wherein the message also includes a field indicating whether the entries represent blocks of PRBs or PRBs(P. 199 discloses… C-Plane message configuration 800. Particular attention is drawn to fields denoted as 802, which comprise startPrbc and a numPrbc fields for a respective Section ID. In various aspects, instead of including the fields 802 redundantly for reach RS type in the C-Plane message as in FIG. 8, multiple RS types (e.g., DM-RS, PT-RS, CSI-RS, SRS, etc.) may be mapped to common PRB information, such as the start (startPrbc field) and end (indicated by startPrbc and numPrbc fields together) of PRBs for the PDSCH or PUSCH).
Regarding claim 21 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 15, Sung teaches…wherein the message also has entries that represent resource elements (REs), within the blocks of PRBs, for transmitting the reference signals(P. 201 stepPrbc’ indicates every how many PRBs this extension is applicable. For non-contiguous PRB allocations by extension type 6, this PRB step size is interpreted as the contiguous number of PRBs within the allocated PDSCH/PUSCH frequency PRBs, not the number of common resource blocks (CRBs). For contiguous PRB allocations, the step size can be seen as number of CRBs. [0204] ‘reMask’ indicates to which REs this extension is applicable. [0205] ‘symbolMask’ indicates to which symbols this extension is applicable. [0206] ‘csf’ indicates whether to shift the constellation or not (e.g., same as the one in extension type 4 or 5). [0207] ‘modCompScaler’ indicates the scaling factor to apply to the unshifted constellation (e.g., same as the one in extension type 4 or 5) ).
Regarding claim 22 Sung teaches…a method for wireless communication at a second network entity (P.141 discloses…a network entity used for communication), comprising: for transmitting reference signals over a fronthaul interface using modulation compression parameters; and processing the reference signals on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters(P.193 discloses… performed by an O-RU, such as O-RU 406 of FIG. 4 which may be integrated as part of BS 304 of FIG. 3B in some designs. In particular, the O-RU performing the process 600 of FIG. 6 corresponds to a Category B O-RU that supports modulation compression);. but does not teach…receiving, from a first network entity, a message with entries that represent blocks of physical resource blocks (PRBs),
Rajagopal teaches… receiving, from a first network entity, a message with entries that represent blocks of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (P.30 and 32, discloses.. providing a fronthaul interface in the CRAN system, which method includes dynamically adapting uplink (UL) bit-widths on the fronthaul interface based on modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of a transmission from a user equipment (UE) to provide transport efficiency increase; and transmitting only tones having valid data over the fronthaul interface; further described in P. 32… providing a fronthaul interface in the CRAN system for unlicensed spectrum operation, which method includes: a) configuring the RU, by the BBU via the fronthaul interface, with configuration parameters including at least one of energy detection threshold, target frequency band and scanning period, for carrier-selection; b) scanning, by the RU, multiple unlicensed channels based on the configuration parameters; c) sending, by the RU via the UL fronthaul interface, performance metrics including at least one of occupancy ratio and average received signal strength indicator (RSSI); and d) selecting, by the BBU, optimal channel to use for transmission of data based on the performance metrics received via the UL fronthaul interface. The method may optionally further include: e) sending, by the BBU, a configuration message in the DL to the BBU with the selected channel for transmission of data; and f) acknowledging, by the RU, the configuration message, and initiating data transmission by the RU),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sung by incorporating the teachings of Rajagopal because the method and device allow for a distributed architecture network entity to communication via fronthaul interface functionality implemented so that resource units can be , mapping and precoding can be implemented (Rajagopal, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 25 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 22, Sung teaches…wherein each entry includes at least a PRB offset and PRB block size to represent a location and size of a block of PRBs within a section of time and frequency resources(P. 195 processes the C-Plane message with modulation compression in accordance with the set of RS-specific section description extensions ).
Regarding claim 26 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 25, Sung teaches…wherein each entry also includes a symbol mask indicating a number of one or more symbols spanned by a corresponding block of PRBs(P.201 information for a single RS type—e.g., start PRB offset, PRB step, RE mask, symbol mask, constellation shift (csf), and modulation compression scaler, whereby: [0202] ‘startPrbcOffset’ indicates the PRB offset from startPrbc in section description. [0203] ‘stepPrbc’ indicates every how many PRBs this extension is applicable. For non-contiguous PRB allocations by extension type 6, this PRB step size is interpreted as the contiguous number of PRBs within the allocated PDSCH/PUSCH frequency PRBs ).
Regarding claim 27 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 22, Sung teaches…wherein the message also includes a field indicating that the entries represent blocks or PRBs(P. 199 discloses… C-Plane message configuration 800. Particular attention is drawn to fields denoted as 802, which comprise startPrbc and a numPrbc fields for a respective Section ID. In various aspects, instead of including the fields 802 redundantly for reach RS type in the C-Plane message as in FIG. 8, multiple RS types (e.g., DM-RS, PT-RS, CSI-RS, SRS, etc.) may be mapped to common PRB information, such as the start (startPrbc field) and end (indicated by startPrbc and numPrbc fields together) of PRBs for the PDSCH or PUSCH). .
Regarding claim 28 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 22, Sung teaches…wherein the message also has entries that represent resource elements (REs), within the blocks of PRBs, for transmitting the reference signals(P. 201 stepPrbc’ indicates every how many PRBs this extension is applicable. For non-contiguous PRB allocations by extension type 6, this PRB step size is interpreted as the contiguous number of PRBs within the allocated PDSCH/PUSCH frequency PRBs, not the number of common resource blocks (CRBs). For contiguous PRB allocations, the step size can be seen as number of CRBs. [0204] ‘reMask’ indicates to which REs this extension is applicable. [0205] ‘symbolMask’ indicates to which symbols this extension is applicable. [0206] ‘csf’ indicates whether to shift the constellation or not (e.g., same as the one in extension type 4 or 5). [0207] ‘modCompScaler’ indicates the scaling factor to apply to the unshifted constellation (e.g., same as the one in extension type 4 or 5) ).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, 17, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20230336295-A1 to Sung et al., from hereon Sung and US-20200235788-A1 to Rajagopal et al., from hereon Rajagopal in view of WO-2021030674-A1 to Zhou.
Regarding claim 2 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach…wherein: the reference signals comprise synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and processing the reference signals comprises transmitting the SSBs on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters.
Zhou teaches… wherein: the reference signals comprise synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and processing the reference signals comprises transmitting the SSBs on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters (Fig. 29, P. 272 discloses the naming of fronthaul link also described as a backhaul link where the SSB is transmitted based on the MCS and P.281 discloses…a control resource set group of the plurality of control resource set groups, based on a control resource set, of the control resource set group, on which the wireless device receives a DCI. [0281] In an example, the base station transmits RSs (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) via a first TRP of the first cell. The wireless device may, based on one or more RSs of the RSs via the first TRP, perform beam management (e.g., comprising beam failure recovery), power control, CSI report, radio link monitoring, and/or radio resource management, for the first cell. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sung and Rajagopal by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for transmission and reception of resources based on resource signals and resource management to maintain compatibility (Zhou, P. 281). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 3 Sung, Rajagopal, and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 2, Rajagopal teaches…wherein the entries comprise: at least a first entry that represents at least a first block of PRBs for transmitting primary synchronization signals (PSSs) of the SSBs; at least a second entry that represents at least a second block of PRBs for transmitting physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signals of the SSBs; and at least a third entry that represents at least a third block of PRBs for transmitting secondary synchronization signals (SSSs) of the SSBs (P.96 ).
Regarding claim 9 Sung and Rajagopal teach the apparatus of claim 8, but do not teach…wherein: the reference signals comprise synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and processing the reference signals comprises receiving the SSBs on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters.
Zhou teaches… wherein: the reference signals comprise synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and processing the reference signals comprises receiving the SSBs on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters(Fig. 29, P. 272 discloses the naming of fronthaul link also described as a backhaul link where the SSB is transmitted based on the MCS and P.281 discloses…a control resource set group of the plurality of control resource set groups, based on a control resource set, of the control resource set group, on which the wireless device receives a DCI. [0281] In an example, the base station transmits RSs (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) via a first TRP of the first cell. The wireless device may, based on one or more RSs of the RSs via the first TRP, perform beam management (e.g., comprising beam failure recovery), power control, CSI report, radio link monitoring, and/or radio resource management, for the first cell. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sung and Rajagopal by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for transmission and reception of resources based on resource signals and resource management to maintain compatibility (Zhou, P. 281). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 10 Sung, Rajagopal, and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 9, Rajagopal teaches…wherein the entries comprise: at least a first entry that represents at least a first block of PRBs for transmitting primary synchronization signals (PSSs) of the SSBs; at least a second entry that represents at least a second block of PRBs for transmitting physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signals of the SSBs; and at least a third entry that represents at least a third block of PRBs for transmitting secondary synchronization signals (SSSs) of the SSBs (P. 96).
Regarding claim 16 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 15, but do not teach…wherein: the reference signals comprise synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and processing the reference signals comprises transmitting the SSBs on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters.
Zhou teaches… wherein: the reference signals comprise synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and processing the reference signals comprises transmitting the SSBs on the fronthaul interface based on the modulation compression parameters(Fig. 29, P. 272 discloses the naming of fronthaul link also described as a backhaul link where the SSB is transmitted based on the MCS and P.281 discloses…a control resource set group of the plurality of control resource set groups, based on a control resource set, of the control resource set group, on which the wireless device receives a DCI. [0281] In an example, the base station transmits RSs (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) via a first TRP of the first cell. The wireless device may, based on one or more RSs of the RSs via the first TRP, perform beam management (e.g., comprising beam failure recovery), power control, CSI report, radio link monitoring, and/or radio resource management, for the first cell. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sung and Rajagopal by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for transmission and reception of resources based on resource signals and resource management to maintain compatibility (Zhou, P. 281). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 17 Sung, Rajagopal, and Zhou teach the method of claim 16, Rajagopal teaches…wherein the entries comprise: at least a first entry that represents at least a first block of PRBs for transmitting primary synchronization signals (PSSs) of the SSBs; at least a second entry that represents at least a second block of PRBs for transmitting physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signals of the SSBs; and at least a third entry that represents at least a third block of PRBs for transmitting secondary synchronization signals (SSSs) of the SSBs (P.96 ).
Regarding claim 23 Sung and Rajagopal teach the method of claim 22, but do not teach…wherein the reference signals comprise synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
Zhou teaches…. wherein the reference signals comprise synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (Fig. 29, P. 272 discloses the naming of fronthaul link also described as a backhaul link where the SSB is transmitted based on the MCS and P.281 discloses…a control resource set group of the plurality of control resource set groups, based on a control resource set, of the control resource set group, on which the wireless device receives a DCI. [0281] In an example, the base station transmits RSs (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) via a first TRP of the first cell. The wireless device may, based on one or more RSs of the RSs via the first TRP, perform beam management (e.g., comprising beam failure recovery), power control, CSI report, radio link monitoring, and/or radio resource management, for the first cell. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sung and Rajagopal by incorporating the teachings of Zhou because the method and device allow for transmission and reception of resources based on resource signals and resource management to maintain compatibility (Zhou, P. 281). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 24 Sung, Rajagopal, and Zhou teach the method of claim 23, Rajagopal teaches…wherein the entries comprise: at least a first entry that represents at least a first block of PRBs for transmitting primary synchronization signals (PSSs) of the SSBs; at least a second entry that represents at least a second block of PRBs for transmitting physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signals of the SSBs; and at least a third entry that represents at least a third block of PRBs for transmitting secondary synchronization signals (SSSs) of the SSBs (P. 96).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: US110541739-B1 to Nammi, US 20210136788 A1 to Lim, and US-20190208575-A1 to Babaei disclose fronthaul interface and modulation configuration.
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476