DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2020/0180587).
In Re claim 1, Lin discloses a brake wear monitoring system, comprising: a housing (caliper 54); a brake piston (80); and a sensor assembly (see figs. 5A and 5B) configured to produce a sensor signal indicative of an axial position of the brake piston relative to the housing (see figs. 3-5B).
In Re claim 2, the sensor is an inductive sensor (Abstract, par. 0044+).
In Re claim 6, see first component (120); second component (122); and par. 0053.
In Re claim 9, see fig. 5B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanlon et al. (US 2012/0153753) in view of Lin (US 2020/0180587).
In Re claim 1, Hanlon et al. disclose a brake system (10, fig. 1), comprising: a housing (30); and a brake piston (not labeled). Hanlon et al. fail to disclose a brake wear monitoring system.
Lin is related to the art of brake systems. Lin teaches providing a brake system (50) with a brake wear monitoring system, including a sensor assembly (see figs. 5A and 5B) configured to produce a sensor signal indicative of an axial position of a brake piston (80) relative to a housing (54; see figs. 3-5B). The brake wear system senses and informs the operator of the amount of brake pad wear and when the brake pads need to be replaced. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake system of Hanlon et al. to include a brake wear monitor system, as taught by Lin, for sensing and informing the operator of the amount of brake pad wear and when the brake pads need to be replaced.
In Re claim 2, the sensor of Lin is an inductive sensor (Abstract, par. 0044+).
In Re claim 3, see rotor plates (36) and stator plates (38) of Hanlon et al..
In Re claims 4 and 5, see sensor controller (106); main controller (108); and par. 0049 of Lin.
In Re claims 6-8, see first component (120); second component (122); and par. 0053 of Lin. The examiner notes that in the brake system as modified, it would have been obvious to mount the sensor (102) and target (104) to any acceptable components of the brake system movable relative to one another during brake actuation and subject to axial displacement with brake wear.
In Re claims 9 and 10, see fig. 5B of Lin.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2020/0180587) in view of Lamb et al. (US 5,255,760).
In Re claim 11, Lin discloses the claimed invention except failing to teach an adjustment device.
Lamb et al. is related to a brake wear monitoring system. Lamb et al. discloses providing a brake system (fig. 3) brake wear monitoring system with a position adjustable target (magnet 38) mounted on a threaded centering bolt (25) with a double nut arrangement (23) locking and adjustment mechanism. Doing so allows the switch to be adjusted to provide a trip when the pad is worn to ten percent of its original thickness, fifteen percent of its original thickness, etc. giving greater flexibility for indication of timing to replace the pads. Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake wear monitoring system of Lin to include an adjustment mechanism, as taught by Lamb et al., to enable adjustment and/or correction of the sensor target placement, thus enabling more precise monitoring of the pad thickness of the brake wear monitoring system.
In Re claim 12, see threaded centering bolt (25) of Lamb et al.. It would have been obvious to have provided a similar threaded adjustment bolt in the combined brake wear monitoring system.
In Re claim 13, the adjustment bolt would necessarily extend in the same direction as the brake piston movement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616