DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-6, and 9-17 are rejected
Claims 7, 8, 18, 19, and 20 are objected to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 12, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (US 10474655) in view of Dedonato et al. (US 20210150818), and Yerli et al. (US 20210199460).
Regarding claim 1.
Lewis teaches:
A computer-implemented method (Lewis [0004] To overcome limitations in the prior art described above, and to overcome other limitations that will be apparent upon reading and understanding the present specification, aspects described herein are directed towards systems and methods)comprising:
obtaining, by a computer having a display device and local memory (Lewis [0017] The computer executable instructions may be stored on a computer readable medium such as a hard disk, optical disk, removable storage media, solid state memory, RAM, etc. [Figure 1] : 107, 105, and 109),
a three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure encoding location information for objects in a three-dimensional model of an environment, wherein the three-dimensional model is stored on a remote computer system (Lewis [0027] In some embodiments, the database schema 203 may also include an entity position data structure 307 to further assist with spatial queries. In some embodiments, the entity position data structure 307 is or may include an R-tree (a type of data structure used for spatial access methods and for indexing multi-dimensional information such as geographical coordinates, polygons, polyhedrons, etc.), and maps each entity's position in the simulated 3D environment to the entity's corresponding unique ID. For each entity stored in the entity table 303 that possesses a position component, the entity's position is stored in the entity position data structure 307. The entity position data structure 307 is indexed by location, and may thus be used by database 201 to quickly determine which entities might be interested in a mutation that occurred in a particular location or region of the simulated environment. [0013] Users may interact with the data server 103 using remote computers 107, 109, e.g., using a web browser to connect to the data server 103 via one or more externally exposed web sites hosted by web server 105. Client computers 107, 109 may be used in concert with data server 103 to access data stored therein, or may be used for other purposes. For example, from client device 107 a user may access web server 105 using an Internet browser, as is known in the art, or by executing a software application that communicates with web server 105 and/or data server 103 over a computer network (such as the Internet).);
downloading, by the computer and from the remote computer system, the proper subset of the set of objects to the local memory (Lewis [0013] Users may interact with the data server 103 using remote computers 107, 109, e.g., using a web browser to connect to the data server 103 via one or more externally exposed web sites hosted by web server 105. Client computers 107, 109 may be used in concert with data server 103 to access data stored therein, or may be used for other purposes.); and
Lewis fails to teach:
ranking, by the computer, a set of the objects in the three-dimensional model to form an object hierarchy based at least on distances between each object of the set of objects and a specified viewpoint for a user within the environment, as determined using the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure (Dedonato [0008] In some examples, a method of creating or updating an augmented reality map of a user environment, the method performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage device storing software instructions executable by the computing system to perform the computerized method comprising: obtaining distance data from each of a plurality of directions around a user, the distance data indicating distances at which physical objects are detected in the respective direction; creating a ranked list of the waypoints associated with distance data having distances exceeding a threshold distance, wherein a waypoint associated with a largest distance is first in the ranked list; displaying a graphic positioned with reference to the highest ranked waypoint for viewing on an augmented reality (AR) device worn by a user, the graphic configured to direct the user to an area of the user environment wherein the augmented reality map is incomplete; detecting movement of the user that allows collection of data by the AR device associated with waypoint; determining whether additional waypoints in the ranked list remain; in response to determining that additional waypoints remain in the ranked list, performing said displaying, detecting, and determining with the next highest ranked waypoint.);
selecting, by the computer, a proper subset of the set of objects to be rendered based on the object hierarchy and a current model load limit (Yerli [0103] In some embodiments, the models used in the virtual replicas 510 consider the level of detail (LOD) required by a specific scenario computation. LOD involves decreasing the complexity of a model 522 representation as the virtual replica 510 moves away from the viewer, or according to other metrics such as object importance, viewpoint-relative speed, viewer classification, or position. LOD is a feature typically used in game engines to optimize real-time rendering, using more detailed models only where the point of view of the user is closer to the object. LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulations, as different physical models can be associated to the virtual replicas, from low to high fidelity models, enabling different simulations to be performed depending on the case and situation LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulation, as different 3D models 524 or dynamic models 528 can be associated to the virtual replicas 510, from low to high fidelity models, so that different simulations can be done depending on the case and situation. In general, LOD management may improve framerates and reduce memory and computing demand.);
rendering, by the computer, the proper subset of the set of objects from the local memory to the display device based on the specified viewpoint within the environment for the user (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments. [0054] Virtual and augmented reality environments are generated by computers using, in part, data that describes the environment. This data may describe, for example, various objects with which a user may sense and interact with. Examples of these objects include objects that are rendered and displayed for a user to see, audio that is played for a user to hear, and tactile (or haptic) feedback for a user to feel. Users may sense and interact with the virtual and augmented reality environments through a variety of visual, auditory, and tactile means.).
Dedonato teaches:
ranking, by the computer, a set of the objects in the three-dimensional model to form an object hierarchy based at least on distances between each object of the set of objects and a specified viewpoint for a user within the environment, as determined using the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure (Dedonato [0008] In some examples, a method of creating or updating an augmented reality map of a user environment, the method performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage device storing software instructions executable by the computing system to perform the computerized method comprising: obtaining distance data from each of a plurality of directions around a user, the distance data indicating distances at which physical objects are detected in the respective direction; creating a ranked list of the waypoints associated with distance data having distances exceeding a threshold distance, wherein a waypoint associated with a largest distance is first in the ranked list; displaying a graphic positioned with reference to the highest ranked waypoint for viewing on an augmented reality (AR) device worn by a user, the graphic configured to direct the user to an area of the user environment wherein the augmented reality map is incomplete; detecting movement of the user that allows collection of data by the AR device associated with waypoint; determining whether additional waypoints in the ranked list remain; in response to determining that additional waypoints remain in the ranked list, performing said displaying, detecting, and determining with the next highest ranked waypoint.);
rendering, by the computer, the proper subset of the set of objects from the local memory to the display device based on the specified viewpoint within the environment for the user (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments. [0054] Virtual and augmented reality environments are generated by computers using, in part, data that describes the environment. This data may describe, for example, various objects with which a user may sense and interact with. Examples of these objects include objects that are rendered and displayed for a user to see, audio that is played for a user to hear, and tactile (or haptic) feedback for a user to feel. Users may sense and interact with the virtual and augmented reality environments through a variety of visual, auditory, and tactile means.).
Yerli teaches:
selecting, by the computer, a proper subset of the set of objects to be rendered based on the object hierarchy and a current model load limit (Yerli [0103] In some embodiments, the models used in the virtual replicas 510 consider the level of detail (LOD) required by a specific scenario computation. LOD involves decreasing the complexity of a model 522 representation as the virtual replica 510 moves away from the viewer, or according to other metrics such as object importance, viewpoint-relative speed, viewer classification, or position. LOD is a feature typically used in game engines to optimize real-time rendering, using more detailed models only where the point of view of the user is closer to the object. LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulations, as different physical models can be associated to the virtual replicas, from low to high fidelity models, enabling different simulations to be performed depending on the case and situation LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulation, as different 3D models 524 or dynamic models 528 can be associated to the virtual replicas 510, from low to high fidelity models, so that different simulations can be done depending on the case and situation. In general, LOD management may improve framerates and reduce memory and computing demand.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis with Dedonato and Yerli. Having ranks of objects depending on the distances as well as having to choose what to render in what detail, as in Dedonato and Yerli, would benefit the Lewis teachings by allowing for the objects to be rendered when they are needed and at what detail. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, render based on distance, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The method of claim 1, comprising:
determining a change of the viewpoint of the user within the environment (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments.); and
repeating the ranking for a second set of objects in the environment, wherein the ranking is repeated for objects that at least partially overlap with the ranked set of objects that is a first set of objects that are ranked, wherein the ranking is performed to generate a new object hierarchy based on distances between objects in the second set of objects and a new viewpoint of the user determined based on the change in the location (Dedonato [0008] In some examples, a method of creating or updating an augmented reality map of a user environment, the method performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage device storing software instructions executable by the computing system to perform the computerized method comprising: obtaining distance data from each of a plurality of directions around a user, the distance data indicating distances at which physical objects are detected in the respective direction; creating a ranked list of the waypoints associated with distance data having distances exceeding a threshold distance, wherein a waypoint associated with a largest distance is first in the ranked list; displaying a graphic positioned with reference to the highest ranked waypoint for viewing on an augmented reality (AR) device worn by a user, the graphic configured to direct the user to an area of the user environment wherein the augmented reality map is incomplete; detecting movement of the user that allows collection of data by the AR device associated with waypoint; determining whether additional waypoints in the ranked list remain; in response to determining that additional waypoints remain in the ranked list, performing said displaying, detecting, and determining with the next highest ranked waypoint.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis with Dedonato and Yerli. Having ranks of objects depending on the distances as well as having to choose what to render in what detail, as in Dedonato and Yerli, would benefit the Lewis teachings by allowing for the objects to be rendered when they are needed and at what detail. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, render based on distance, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 10.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The method of claim 9,
wherein at least one object of the second set of objects is downloaded as part of the proper subset of the set of objects to the local memory (Dedonato [0066] The local processing and data module 260 may comprise a hardware processor, as well as digital memory, such as non-volatile memory (e.g., flash memory), both of which may be utilized to assist in the processing, caching, and storage of data.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis with Dedonato and Yerli. Having ranks of objects depending on the distances as well as having to choose what to render in what detail, as in Dedonato and Yerli, would benefit the Lewis teachings by allowing for the objects to be rendered when they are needed and at what detail. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, render based on distance, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12.
Lewis teaches:
A system comprising:
a non-transitory storage medium having instructions of a computer aided design program stored thereon (Lewis [0017] The computer executable instructions may be stored on a computer readable medium such as a hard disk, optical disk, removable storage media, solid state memory, RAM, etc. As will be appreciated by one of skill in the art, the functionality of the program modules may be combined or distributed as desired in various embodiments.); and
one or more data processing apparatus configured to run the instructions of the computer aided design program to perform operations (Lewis [0002] FIG. 1 illustrates a computer system architecture that may be used in accordance with one or more illustrative aspects described herein.) comprising:
obtaining, by a computer having a display device and local memory (Lewis [0017] The computer executable instructions may be stored on a computer readable medium such as a hard disk, optical disk, removable storage media, solid state memory, RAM, etc. [Figure 1] : 107, 105, and 109),
a three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure encoding location information for objects in a three-dimensional model of an environment, wherein the three-dimensional model is stored on a remote computer system (Lewis [0027] In some embodiments, the database schema 203 may also include an entity position data structure 307 to further assist with spatial queries. In some embodiments, the entity position data structure 307 is or may include an R-tree (a type of data structure used for spatial access methods and for indexing multi-dimensional information such as geographical coordinates, polygons, polyhedrons, etc.), and maps each entity's position in the simulated 3D environment to the entity's corresponding unique ID. For each entity stored in the entity table 303 that possesses a position component, the entity's position is stored in the entity position data structure 307. The entity position data structure 307 is indexed by location, and may thus be used by database 201 to quickly determine which entities might be interested in a mutation that occurred in a particular location or region of the simulated environment. [0013] Users may interact with the data server 103 using remote computers 107, 109, e.g., using a web browser to connect to the data server 103 via one or more externally exposed web sites hosted by web server 105. Client computers 107, 109 may be used in concert with data server 103 to access data stored therein, or may be used for other purposes. For example, from client device 107 a user may access web server 105 using an Internet browser, as is known in the art, or by executing a software application that communicates with web server 105 and/or data server 103 over a computer network (such as the Internet).);
downloading, by the computer and from the remote computer system, the proper subset of the set of objects to the local memory (Lewis [0013] Users may interact with the data server 103 using remote computers 107, 109, e.g., using a web browser to connect to the data server 103 via one or more externally exposed web sites hosted by web server 105. Client computers 107, 109 may be used in concert with data server 103 to access data stored therein, or may be used for other purposes.); and
Lewis fails to teach:
ranking, by the computer, a set of the objects in the three-dimensional model to form an object hierarchy based at least on distances between each object of the set of objects and a specified viewpoint for a user within the environment, as determined using the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure (Dedonato [0008] In some examples, a method of creating or updating an augmented reality map of a user environment, the method performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage device storing software instructions executable by the computing system to perform the computerized method comprising: obtaining distance data from each of a plurality of directions around a user, the distance data indicating distances at which physical objects are detected in the respective direction; creating a ranked list of the waypoints associated with distance data having distances exceeding a threshold distance, wherein a waypoint associated with a largest distance is first in the ranked list; displaying a graphic positioned with reference to the highest ranked waypoint for viewing on an augmented reality (AR) device worn by a user, the graphic configured to direct the user to an area of the user environment wherein the augmented reality map is incomplete; detecting movement of the user that allows collection of data by the AR device associated with waypoint; determining whether additional waypoints in the ranked list remain; in response to determining that additional waypoints remain in the ranked list, performing said displaying, detecting, and determining with the next highest ranked waypoint.);
selecting, by the computer, a proper subset of the set of objects to be rendered based on the object hierarchy and a current model load limit (Yerli [0103] In some embodiments, the models used in the virtual replicas 510 consider the level of detail (LOD) required by a specific scenario computation. LOD involves decreasing the complexity of a model 522 representation as the virtual replica 510 moves away from the viewer, or according to other metrics such as object importance, viewpoint-relative speed, viewer classification, or position. LOD is a feature typically used in game engines to optimize real-time rendering, using more detailed models only where the point of view of the user is closer to the object. LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulations, as different physical models can be associated to the virtual replicas, from low to high fidelity models, enabling different simulations to be performed depending on the case and situation LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulation, as different 3D models 524 or dynamic models 528 can be associated to the virtual replicas 510, from low to high fidelity models, so that different simulations can be done depending on the case and situation. In general, LOD management may improve framerates and reduce memory and computing demand.);
rendering, by the computer, the proper subset of the set of objects from the local memory to the display device based on the specified viewpoint within the environment for the user (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments. [0054] Virtual and augmented reality environments are generated by computers using, in part, data that describes the environment. This data may describe, for example, various objects with which a user may sense and interact with. Examples of these objects include objects that are rendered and displayed for a user to see, audio that is played for a user to hear, and tactile (or haptic) feedback for a user to feel. Users may sense and interact with the virtual and augmented reality environments through a variety of visual, auditory, and tactile means.).
Dedonato teaches:
ranking, by the computer, a set of the objects in the three-dimensional model to form an object hierarchy based at least on distances between each object of the set of objects and a specified viewpoint for a user within the environment, as determined using the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure (Dedonato [0008] In some examples, a method of creating or updating an augmented reality map of a user environment, the method performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage device storing software instructions executable by the computing system to perform the computerized method comprising: obtaining distance data from each of a plurality of directions around a user, the distance data indicating distances at which physical objects are detected in the respective direction; creating a ranked list of the waypoints associated with distance data having distances exceeding a threshold distance, wherein a waypoint associated with a largest distance is first in the ranked list; displaying a graphic positioned with reference to the highest ranked waypoint for viewing on an augmented reality (AR) device worn by a user, the graphic configured to direct the user to an area of the user environment wherein the augmented reality map is incomplete; detecting movement of the user that allows collection of data by the AR device associated with waypoint; determining whether additional waypoints in the ranked list remain; in response to determining that additional waypoints remain in the ranked list, performing said displaying, detecting, and determining with the next highest ranked waypoint.);
rendering, by the computer, the proper subset of the set of objects from the local memory to the display device based on the specified viewpoint within the environment for the user (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments. [0054] Virtual and augmented reality environments are generated by computers using, in part, data that describes the environment. This data may describe, for example, various objects with which a user may sense and interact with. Examples of these objects include objects that are rendered and displayed for a user to see, audio that is played for a user to hear, and tactile (or haptic) feedback for a user to feel. Users may sense and interact with the virtual and augmented reality environments through a variety of visual, auditory, and tactile means.).
Yerli teaches:
selecting, by the computer, a proper subset of the set of objects to be rendered based on the object hierarchy and a current model load limit (Yerli [0103] In some embodiments, the models used in the virtual replicas 510 consider the level of detail (LOD) required by a specific scenario computation. LOD involves decreasing the complexity of a model 522 representation as the virtual replica 510 moves away from the viewer, or according to other metrics such as object importance, viewpoint-relative speed, viewer classification, or position. LOD is a feature typically used in game engines to optimize real-time rendering, using more detailed models only where the point of view of the user is closer to the object. LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulations, as different physical models can be associated to the virtual replicas, from low to high fidelity models, enabling different simulations to be performed depending on the case and situation LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulation, as different 3D models 524 or dynamic models 528 can be associated to the virtual replicas 510, from low to high fidelity models, so that different simulations can be done depending on the case and situation. In general, LOD management may improve framerates and reduce memory and computing demand.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis with Dedonato and Yerli. Having ranks of objects depending on the distances as well as having to choose what to render in what detail, as in Dedonato and Yerli, would benefit the Lewis teachings by allowing for the objects to be rendered when they are needed and at what detail. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, render based on distance, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The system of claim 12, wherein the non-transitory storage medium further has instructions when run by the one or more data processing apparatus perform operations further comprising:
determining a change of the viewpoint of the user within the environment (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments.); and
repeating the ranking for a second set of objects in the environment, wherein the ranking is repeated for objects that at least partially overlap with the ranked set of objects that is a first set of objects that are ranked, wherein the ranking is performed to generate a new object hierarchy based on distances between objects in the second set of objects and a new viewpoint of the user determined based on the change in the location (Dedonato [0008] In some examples, a method of creating or updating an augmented reality map of a user environment, the method performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage device storing software instructions executable by the computing system to perform the computerized method comprising: obtaining distance data from each of a plurality of directions around a user, the distance data indicating distances at which physical objects are detected in the respective direction; creating a ranked list of the waypoints associated with distance data having distances exceeding a threshold distance, wherein a waypoint associated with a largest distance is first in the ranked list; displaying a graphic positioned with reference to the highest ranked waypoint for viewing on an augmented reality (AR) device worn by a user, the graphic configured to direct the user to an area of the user environment wherein the augmented reality map is incomplete; detecting movement of the user that allows collection of data by the AR device associated with waypoint; determining whether additional waypoints in the ranked list remain; in response to determining that additional waypoints remain in the ranked list, performing said displaying, detecting, and determining with the next highest ranked waypoint.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis with Dedonato and Yerli. Having ranks of objects depending on the distances as well as having to choose what to render in what detail, as in Dedonato and Yerli, would benefit the Lewis teachings by allowing for the objects to be rendered when they are needed and at what detail. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, render based on distance, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium encoding instructions operable to cause data processing apparatus to perform operations (Lewis [0017] The computer executable instructions may be stored on a computer readable medium such as a hard disk, optical disk, removable storage media, solid state memory, RAM, etc. As will be appreciated by one of skill in the art, the functionality of the program modules may be combined or distributed as desired in various embodiments.) comprising:
obtaining, by a computer having a display device and local memory (Lewis [0017] The computer executable instructions may be stored on a computer readable medium such as a hard disk, optical disk, removable storage media, solid state memory, RAM, etc. [Figure 1] : 107, 105, and 109),
a three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure encoding location information for objects in a three-dimensional model of an environment, wherein the three-dimensional model is stored on a remote computer system (Lewis [0027] In some embodiments, the database schema 203 may also include an entity position data structure 307 to further assist with spatial queries. In some embodiments, the entity position data structure 307 is or may include an R-tree (a type of data structure used for spatial access methods and for indexing multi-dimensional information such as geographical coordinates, polygons, polyhedrons, etc.), and maps each entity's position in the simulated 3D environment to the entity's corresponding unique ID. For each entity stored in the entity table 303 that possesses a position component, the entity's position is stored in the entity position data structure 307. The entity position data structure 307 is indexed by location, and may thus be used by database 201 to quickly determine which entities might be interested in a mutation that occurred in a particular location or region of the simulated environment. [0013] Users may interact with the data server 103 using remote computers 107, 109, e.g., using a web browser to connect to the data server 103 via one or more externally exposed web sites hosted by web server 105. Client computers 107, 109 may be used in concert with data server 103 to access data stored therein, or may be used for other purposes. For example, from client device 107 a user may access web server 105 using an Internet browser, as is known in the art, or by executing a software application that communicates with web server 105 and/or data server 103 over a computer network (such as the Internet).);
downloading, by the computer and from the remote computer system, the proper subset of the set of objects to the local memory (Lewis [0013] Users may interact with the data server 103 using remote computers 107, 109, e.g., using a web browser to connect to the data server 103 via one or more externally exposed web sites hosted by web server 105. Client computers 107, 109 may be used in concert with data server 103 to access data stored therein, or may be used for other purposes.); and
Lewis fails to teach:
ranking, by the computer, a set of the objects in the three-dimensional model to form an object hierarchy based at least on distances between each object of the set of objects and a specified viewpoint for a user within the environment, as determined using the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure (Dedonato [0008] In some examples, a method of creating or updating an augmented reality map of a user environment, the method performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage device storing software instructions executable by the computing system to perform the computerized method comprising: obtaining distance data from each of a plurality of directions around a user, the distance data indicating distances at which physical objects are detected in the respective direction; creating a ranked list of the waypoints associated with distance data having distances exceeding a threshold distance, wherein a waypoint associated with a largest distance is first in the ranked list; displaying a graphic positioned with reference to the highest ranked waypoint for viewing on an augmented reality (AR) device worn by a user, the graphic configured to direct the user to an area of the user environment wherein the augmented reality map is incomplete; detecting movement of the user that allows collection of data by the AR device associated with waypoint; determining whether additional waypoints in the ranked list remain; in response to determining that additional waypoints remain in the ranked list, performing said displaying, detecting, and determining with the next highest ranked waypoint.);
selecting, by the computer, a proper subset of the set of objects to be rendered based on the object hierarchy and a current model load limit (Yerli [0103] In some embodiments, the models used in the virtual replicas 510 consider the level of detail (LOD) required by a specific scenario computation. LOD involves decreasing the complexity of a model 522 representation as the virtual replica 510 moves away from the viewer, or according to other metrics such as object importance, viewpoint-relative speed, viewer classification, or position. LOD is a feature typically used in game engines to optimize real-time rendering, using more detailed models only where the point of view of the user is closer to the object. LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulations, as different physical models can be associated to the virtual replicas, from low to high fidelity models, enabling different simulations to be performed depending on the case and situation LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulation, as different 3D models 524 or dynamic models 528 can be associated to the virtual replicas 510, from low to high fidelity models, so that different simulations can be done depending on the case and situation. In general, LOD management may improve framerates and reduce memory and computing demand.);
rendering, by the computer, the proper subset of the set of objects from the local memory to the display device based on the specified viewpoint within the environment for the user (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments. [0054] Virtual and augmented reality environments are generated by computers using, in part, data that describes the environment. This data may describe, for example, various objects with which a user may sense and interact with. Examples of these objects include objects that are rendered and displayed for a user to see, audio that is played for a user to hear, and tactile (or haptic) feedback for a user to feel. Users may sense and interact with the virtual and augmented reality environments through a variety of visual, auditory, and tactile means.).
Dedonato teaches:
ranking, by the computer, a set of the objects in the three-dimensional model to form an object hierarchy based at least on distances between each object of the set of objects and a specified viewpoint for a user within the environment, as determined using the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure (Dedonato [0008] In some examples, a method of creating or updating an augmented reality map of a user environment, the method performed by a computing system having one or more hardware computer processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable storage device storing software instructions executable by the computing system to perform the computerized method comprising: obtaining distance data from each of a plurality of directions around a user, the distance data indicating distances at which physical objects are detected in the respective direction; creating a ranked list of the waypoints associated with distance data having distances exceeding a threshold distance, wherein a waypoint associated with a largest distance is first in the ranked list; displaying a graphic positioned with reference to the highest ranked waypoint for viewing on an augmented reality (AR) device worn by a user, the graphic configured to direct the user to an area of the user environment wherein the augmented reality map is incomplete; detecting movement of the user that allows collection of data by the AR device associated with waypoint; determining whether additional waypoints in the ranked list remain; in response to determining that additional waypoints remain in the ranked list, performing said displaying, detecting, and determining with the next highest ranked waypoint.);
rendering, by the computer, the proper subset of the set of objects from the local memory to the display device based on the specified viewpoint within the environment for the user (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments. [0054] Virtual and augmented reality environments are generated by computers using, in part, data that describes the environment. This data may describe, for example, various objects with which a user may sense and interact with. Examples of these objects include objects that are rendered and displayed for a user to see, audio that is played for a user to hear, and tactile (or haptic) feedback for a user to feel. Users may sense and interact with the virtual and augmented reality environments through a variety of visual, auditory, and tactile means.).
Yerli teaches:
selecting, by the computer, a proper subset of the set of objects to be rendered based on the object hierarchy and a current model load limit (Yerli [0103] In some embodiments, the models used in the virtual replicas 510 consider the level of detail (LOD) required by a specific scenario computation. LOD involves decreasing the complexity of a model 522 representation as the virtual replica 510 moves away from the viewer, or according to other metrics such as object importance, viewpoint-relative speed, viewer classification, or position. LOD is a feature typically used in game engines to optimize real-time rendering, using more detailed models only where the point of view of the user is closer to the object. LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulations, as different physical models can be associated to the virtual replicas, from low to high fidelity models, enabling different simulations to be performed depending on the case and situation LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulation, as different 3D models 524 or dynamic models 528 can be associated to the virtual replicas 510, from low to high fidelity models, so that different simulations can be done depending on the case and situation. In general, LOD management may improve framerates and reduce memory and computing demand.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis with Dedonato and Yerli. Having ranks of objects depending on the distances as well as having to choose what to render in what detail, as in Dedonato and Yerli, would benefit the Lewis teachings by allowing for the objects to be rendered when they are needed and at what detail. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, render based on distance, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (US 10474655) in view of Dedonato et al. (US 20210150818), Yerli et al. (US 20210199460), and Ganestam et al. (US 20150279092 A1).
Regarding claim 2.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The method of claim 1,
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli fail to teach:
wherein the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure comprises a bounding volume hierarchy (Ganestam [0004] One of the most popular spatial acceleration data structures is the bounding volume hierarchy (BVH). A BVH is a tree-structure on a set of geometric objects wrapped in bounding volumes that form the leaf nodes of the tree. A bounding volume is a closed volume that completely contains a set of objects.),
and the obtaining comprises: computing the bounding volume hierarchy including nodes corresponding to bounding volumes defined for respective spatial portions of the environment, wherein leaf nodes of the bounding volume hierarchy correspond to the objects in the three-dimensional model of the environment (Ganestam [0004] One of the most popular spatial acceleration data structures is the bounding volume hierarchy (BVH). A BVH is a tree-structure on a set of geometric objects wrapped in bounding volumes that form the leaf nodes of the tree. A bounding volume is a closed volume that completely contains a set of objects.).
Ganestam teaches:
wherein the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure comprises a bounding volume hierarchy (Ganestam [0004] One of the most popular spatial acceleration data structures is the bounding volume hierarchy (BVH). A BVH is a tree-structure on a set of geometric objects wrapped in bounding volumes that form the leaf nodes of the tree. A bounding volume is a closed volume that completely contains a set of objects.),
and the obtaining comprises: computing the bounding volume hierarchy including nodes corresponding to bounding volumes defined for respective spatial portions of the environment, wherein leaf nodes of the bounding volume hierarchy correspond to the objects in the three-dimensional model of the environment (Ganestam [0004] One of the most popular spatial acceleration data structures is the bounding volume hierarchy (BVH). A BVH is a tree-structure on a set of geometric objects wrapped in bounding volumes that form the leaf nodes of the tree. A bounding volume is a closed volume that completely contains a set of objects.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Ganestam. Having a BHV as the data structure, as in Ganestam, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by for a certain data structure to be used. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a BHV as the data structure, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (US 10474655) in view of Dedonato et al. (US 20210150818), Yerli et al. (US 20210199460), and Shapiro et al. (US 20080242221).
Regarding claim 3.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli fail to teach:
updating, by the computer, the current model load limit based on a current frame generation rate for the rendering; and removing, by the computer, downloaded objects from the local memory based on the object hierarchy and in response to reaching the current model load limit within a threshold distance as a result of the downloading (Shapiro [0076] Process 170 manages the local memory and cache content by removing unnecessary files (e.g., expired advertisements, promotions, talk, news, music, etc.), and to enforce user-specified storage limits, to allow for addition of new content items and to reduce or minimize the amount of future downloading required. For example, this process 170 may remove all expired and dynamic content files (traffic, weather, news, etc.), calculate how much space is required to be clear, assign priority order of remaining items to download, remove items that are not in the current log from lowest to highest priority until enough space is available.).
Shapiro teaches:
updating, by the computer, the current model load limit based on a current frame generation rate for the rendering; and removing, by the computer, downloaded objects from the local memory based on the object hierarchy and in response to reaching the current model load limit within a threshold distance as a result of the downloading (Shapiro [0076] Process 170 manages the local memory and cache content by removing unnecessary files (e.g., expired advertisements, promotions, talk, news, music, etc.), and to enforce user-specified storage limits, to allow for addition of new content items and to reduce or minimize the amount of future downloading required. For example, this process 170 may remove all expired and dynamic content files (traffic, weather, news, etc.), calculate how much space is required to be clear, assign priority order of remaining items to download, remove items that are not in the current log from lowest to highest priority until enough space is available.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Shapiro. Updating the load limit, as in Shapiro, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by for a device to not be overloaded. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, updating a load limit by removing unnecessary objects, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4.
Lewis, Dedonato, Yerli, and Shapiro teach:
The method of claim 3, further comprising:
repeating, by the computer, the ranking, the selecting, the downloading, the rendering, the updating, and the removing, as changes to the specified viewpoint within the environment for the user are received (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Shapiro. Updating the load limit, as in Shapiro, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by for a device to not be overloaded. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, updating a load limit by removing unnecessary objects, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13.
Lewis, Dedonato, and re3 teach:
The system of claim 12, wherein the non-transitory storage medium further has instructions when run by the one or more data processing apparatus perform operations further comprising:
Lewis, Dedonato, and re3 fail to teach:
updating, by the computer, the current model load limit based on a current frame generation rate for the rendering; and removing, by the computer, downloaded objects from the local memory based on the object hierarchy and in response to reaching the current model load limit within a threshold distance as a result of the downloading(Shapiro [0076] Process 170 manages the local memory and cache content by removing unnecessary files (e.g., expired advertisements, promotions, talk, news, music, etc.), and to enforce user-specified storage limits, to allow for addition of new content items and to reduce or minimize the amount of future downloading required. For example, this process 170 may remove all expired and dynamic content files (traffic, weather, news, etc.), calculate how much space is required to be clear, assign priority order of remaining items to download, remove items that are not in the current log from lowest to highest priority until enough space is available.).
Shapiro teaches:
updating, by the computer, the current model load limit based on a current frame generation rate for the rendering; and removing, by the computer, downloaded objects from the local memory based on the object hierarchy and in response to reaching the current model load limit within a threshold distance as a result of the downloading(Shapiro [0076] Process 170 manages the local memory and cache content by removing unnecessary files (e.g., expired advertisements, promotions, talk, news, music, etc.), and to enforce user-specified storage limits, to allow for addition of new content items and to reduce or minimize the amount of future downloading required. For example, this process 170 may remove all expired and dynamic content files (traffic, weather, news, etc.), calculate how much space is required to be clear, assign priority order of remaining items to download, remove items that are not in the current log from lowest to highest priority until enough space is available.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Shapiro. Updating the load limit, as in Shapiro, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by for a device to not be overloaded. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, updating a load limit by removing unnecessary objects, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14.
Lewis, Dedonato, Yerli, and Shapiro teach:
The system of claim 13, wherein the non-transitory storage medium further has instructions when run by the one or more data processing apparatus perform operations further comprising:
repeating, by the computer, the ranking, the selecting, the downloading, the rendering, the updating, and the removing, as changes to the specified viewpoint within the environment for the user are received (Dedonato [0025] FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram illustrating a user wearing an AR display system rendering AR content as the user moves through a physical world environment, according to some embodiments.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Shapiro. Updating the load limit, as in Shapiro, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by for a device to not be overloaded. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, updating a load limit by removing unnecessary objects, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (US 10474655) in view of Dedonato et al. (US 20210150818), Yerli et al. (US 20210199460), and Shavaleev et al. (RU 2736628).
Regarding claim 5.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure comprises:
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli fail to teach:
receiving the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure for the environment in a communications stream from the remote computer system (Shavaleev [0012] In some embodiments of the technical solution, as a spatial index, a partition of the entire area of space with a fixed step for each dimension is used, or octal trees, or kD trees, or BSP trees, or BVH (Bounding Volume Hierarchy), or Interval Tree, or R-trees. [0007] In some embodiments of the technical solution, at least one three-dimensional model is obtained on the server, downloaded by the user through a web browser.).
Shavaleev teaches:
receiving the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure for the environment in a communications stream from the remote computer system (Shavaleev [0012] In some embodiments of the technical solution, as a spatial index, a partition of the entire area of space with a fixed step for each dimension is used, or octal trees, or kD trees, or BSP trees, or BVH (Bounding Volume Hierarchy), or Interval Tree, or R-trees. [0007] In some embodiments of the technical solution, at least one three-dimensional model is obtained on the server, downloaded by the user through a web browser.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Shapiro. Updating the load limit, as in Shapiro, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by for a device to not be overloaded. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, updating a load limit by removing unnecessary objects, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 6, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (US 10474655) in view of Dedonato et al. (US 20210150818), Yerli et al. (US 20210199460), and Wang et al. (WO 2022017862 A1).
Regarding claim 6.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein ranking the set of objects in the three- dimensional model comprises:
wherein the set of objects are selected based on identifying the set of objects as the highest ranked objects from the objects as ranked that are to be loaded according to the current model load limit (Yerli [0103] In some embodiments, the models used in the virtual replicas 510 consider the level of detail (LOD) required by a specific scenario computation. LOD involves decreasing the complexity of a model 522 representation as the virtual replica 510 moves away from the viewer, or according to other metrics such as object importance, viewpoint-relative speed, viewer classification, or position. LOD is a feature typically used in game engines to optimize real-time rendering, using more detailed models only where the point of view of the user is closer to the object. LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulations, as different physical models can be associated to the virtual replicas, from low to high fidelity models, enabling different simulations to be performed depending on the case and situation LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulation, as different 3D models 524 or dynamic models 528 can be associated to the virtual replicas 510, from low to high fidelity models, so that different simulations can be done depending on the case and situation. In general, LOD management may improve framerates and reduce memory and computing demand.).
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli fail to teach:
identifying the set of objects as including one or more objects from the objects in the three-dimensional model that are determined to be located within a zone of confidence around the specified viewpoint of the user based on matching a prioritization criterion for object loading (Wang [Pg 3 Par 6] In particular, the object may be tagged with an object tag, allowing the asset tracking system to (directly) track the object. Based on the communication between the object tag and the listener nodes, especially the detection of an object beacon signal by the listener nodes, the control system may (be configured to) estimate confidence zones for each listener node, e.g., the control system may (be configured to) determine that due to an object partially obstructing a communication path, especially a field of view, for a listener node, the listener node may have reduced suitability for tracking the target tag in a first part of the space (a low confidence zone), while remaining suitable for communicating with, especially detecting, the target tag in a second part of the space (a high confidence zone). If the object is moved, the asset-tracking system may (dynamically) update the confidence zones for each listener node, thereby facilitating maintaining accurate localization in a space with a (large) moving object.),
Wang teaches:
identifying the set of objects as including one or more objects from the objects in the three-dimensional model that are determined to be located within a zone of confidence around the specified viewpoint of the user based on matching a prioritization criterion for object loading (Wang [Pg 3 Par 6] In particular, the object may be tagged with an object tag, allowing the asset tracking system to (directly) track the object. Based on the communication between the object tag and the listener nodes, especially the detection of an object beacon signal by the listener nodes, the control system may (be configured to) estimate confidence zones for each listener node, e.g., the control system may (be configured to) determine that due to an object partially obstructing a communication path, especially a field of view, for a listener node, the listener node may have reduced suitability for tracking the target tag in a first part of the space (a low confidence zone), while remaining suitable for communicating with, especially detecting, the target tag in a second part of the space (a high confidence zone). If the object is moved, the asset-tracking system may (dynamically) update the confidence zones for each listener node, thereby facilitating maintaining accurate localization in a space with a (large) moving object.),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Wang. Having a zone of confidence and tagging objects, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by allowing for certain objects to be selected. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a zone of confidence and tagging objects, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The method of claim 1,
wherein the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure encodes metadata for the objects comprising object category and environmental properties defining location of the object within the environment (Lewis [0046] For example, in a simulated environment with 1M entities, 100 of which are within 100 m of the origin, the following query may be very expensive because it has to loop over all 1M entities in the world: Select * where Metadata/entity_type=“island”), and wherein the ranking of the set of objects comprises:
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli fail to teach:
identifying the set of objects as including one or more objects from the objects in the three-dimensional model that are determined to match a prioritization criterion based on metadata of the objects (Wang [Pg 3 Par 6] In particular, the object may be tagged with an object tag, allowing the asset tracking system to (directly) track the object. Based on the communication between the object tag and the listener nodes, especially the detection of an object beacon signal by the listener nodes, the control system may (be configured to) estimate confidence zones for each listener node, e.g., the control system may (be configured to) determine that due to an object partially obstructing a communication path, especially a field of view, for a listener node, the listener node may have reduced suitability for tracking the target tag in a first part of the space (a low confidence zone), while remaining suitable for communicating with, especially detecting, the target tag in a second part of the space (a high confidence zone). If the object is moved, the asset-tracking system may (dynamically) update the confidence zones for each listener node, thereby facilitating maintaining accurate localization in a space with a (large) moving object.).
Wang teaches:
identifying the set of objects as including one or more objects from the objects in the three-dimensional model that are determined to match a prioritization criterion based on metadata of the objects (Wang [Pg 3 Par 6] In particular, the object may be tagged with an object tag, allowing the asset tracking system to (directly) track the object. Based on the communication between the object tag and the listener nodes, especially the detection of an object beacon signal by the listener nodes, the control system may (be configured to) estimate confidence zones for each listener node, e.g., the control system may (be configured to) determine that due to an object partially obstructing a communication path, especially a field of view, for a listener node, the listener node may have reduced suitability for tracking the target tag in a first part of the space (a low confidence zone), while remaining suitable for communicating with, especially detecting, the target tag in a second part of the space (a high confidence zone). If the object is moved, the asset-tracking system may (dynamically) update the confidence zones for each listener node, thereby facilitating maintaining accurate localization in a space with a (large) moving object.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Wang. Having a zone of confidence and tagging objects, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by allowing for certain objects to be selected. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a zone of confidence and tagging objects, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17.
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teach:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein ranking the set of objects in the three- dimensional model comprises:
wherein the set of objects are selected based on identifying the set of objects as the highest ranked objects from the objects as ranked that are to be loaded according to the current model load limit (Yerli [0103] In some embodiments, the models used in the virtual replicas 510 consider the level of detail (LOD) required by a specific scenario computation. LOD involves decreasing the complexity of a model 522 representation as the virtual replica 510 moves away from the viewer, or according to other metrics such as object importance, viewpoint-relative speed, viewer classification, or position. LOD is a feature typically used in game engines to optimize real-time rendering, using more detailed models only where the point of view of the user is closer to the object. LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulations, as different physical models can be associated to the virtual replicas, from low to high fidelity models, enabling different simulations to be performed depending on the case and situation LOD management increases the efficiency of computing processes, such as the rendering process by decreasing the workload on graphics pipeline usage, typically vertex transformations, or by enhancing physical simulation, as different 3D models 524 or dynamic models 528 can be associated to the virtual replicas 510, from low to high fidelity models, so that different simulations can be done depending on the case and situation. In general, LOD management may improve framerates and reduce memory and computing demand.).
Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli fail to teach:
identifying the set of objects as including one or more objects from the objects in the three-dimensional model that are determined to be located within a zone of confidence around the specified viewpoint of the user based on matching a prioritization criterion for object loading (Wang [Pg 3 Par 6] In particular, the object may be tagged with an object tag, allowing the asset tracking system to (directly) track the object. Based on the communication between the object tag and the listener nodes, especially the detection of an object beacon signal by the listener nodes, the control system may (be configured to) estimate confidence zones for each listener node, e.g., the control system may (be configured to) determine that due to an object partially obstructing a communication path, especially a field of view, for a listener node, the listener node may have reduced suitability for tracking the target tag in a first part of the space (a low confidence zone), while remaining suitable for communicating with, especially detecting, the target tag in a second part of the space (a high confidence zone). If the object is moved, the asset-tracking system may (dynamically) update the confidence zones for each listener node, thereby facilitating maintaining accurate localization in a space with a (large) moving object.),
Wang teaches:
identifying the set of objects as including one or more objects from the objects in the three-dimensional model that are determined to be located within a zone of confidence around the specified viewpoint of the user based on matching a prioritization criterion for object loading (Wang [Pg 3 Par 6] In particular, the object may be tagged with an object tag, allowing the asset tracking system to (directly) track the object. Based on the communication between the object tag and the listener nodes, especially the detection of an object beacon signal by the listener nodes, the control system may (be configured to) estimate confidence zones for each listener node, e.g., the control system may (be configured to) determine that due to an object partially obstructing a communication path, especially a field of view, for a listener node, the listener node may have reduced suitability for tracking the target tag in a first part of the space (a low confidence zone), while remaining suitable for communicating with, especially detecting, the target tag in a second part of the space (a high confidence zone). If the object is moved, the asset-tracking system may (dynamically) update the confidence zones for each listener node, thereby facilitating maintaining accurate localization in a space with a (large) moving object.),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli with Wang. Having a zone of confidence and tagging objects, would benefit the Lewis, Dedonato, and Yerli teachings by allowing for certain objects to be selected. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a zone of confidence and tagging objects, to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
In regards to claims 7, 8, 18, 19, and 20, the cited prior art fails to teach the following limitations: “wherein the prioritization criterion for an object loading defines factors associated with prioritizing loading of a first object compared to loading of another object, wherein the factors comprise a comparative ratio between a size of an object and a size of the model, the specified viewpoint of the user, the distance between each object of the set of objects and the specified viewpoint for the user, a location of the user within the three- dimensional model, comparative position between each two of the objects within the environment from the viewpoint of the user, and physical properties of the object” and “wherein the prioritization criterion is defined as a weighted combination of two or more of the defined factors, wherein each factor of the two or more factors is associated with a pre-defined weight for the combination.”
Therefore, claims 7, 8, 18, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant claims “none of the cited art has been shown to teach or suggest ranking of a set of the objects in the three-dimensional model as claimed”.
Specifically, these portions:
Form an object hierarchy based at least on distances:
In [0008] Dedonato mentions waypoints and distances, the waypoints can be the objects and the distances to those objects (or waypoints) is ranked.
As determined using the three-dimensional spatial access tree data structure:
In Lewis at [0027] it mentions: In some embodiments, the entity position data structure 307 is or may include an R-tree (a type of data structure used for spatial access methods and for indexing multi-dimensional information such as geographical coordinates, polygons, polyhedrons, etc.), and maps each entity's position in the simulated 3D environment to the entity's corresponding unique ID.
Therefore it would be reasonable to assume that someone using a data structure such as a list can also use this tree data structure to combine to rank easier.
Second, applicant claims that none of the cited art has been shown to teach or suggest selecting of a proper subset of the set of objects as claimed.
Yerli mentions in [0103] a way to use LOD to render specific objects that are closer, when combining the rendering technique of selecting closer objects and the ranking of the waypoints in Dedonato, one can reasonably come to the conclusion that a LOD feature ranks certain objects in a sort of hierarchy based on distance to load those which are closer. This in turn creates a hierarchy based on distance and can load those objects which are closer.
Therefore, the rejection has not been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612