DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horrell (US 1,582,518). Horrell discloses an agitator comprising: an agitation tank (13) that accommodates a fluid to be processed containing particles; and a shear blade (8) that disperses the particles contained in the fluid to be processed accommodated in the agitation tank, wherein the shear blade includes a base portion (8, excluding 12) rotating around a predetermined axis and a plurality of blade members (12), the base portion includes: a plurality of protrusion portions (the three coplanar lobes of 8) protruding outward in a radial direction; and a plurality of cutouts each recessed from an edge of the base portion toward a center side of the base portion and located between adjacent ones of the plurality of protrusion portions (see Fig. 3), each of the plurality of cutouts forming a flow path through which the fluid to be processed flows from a bottom side of the shear blade to an upper side thereof (see Fig. 2), each of the blade members is fixed to a tip of a corresponding one of the plurality of protrusion portions such that each of the flow paths is located between adjacent ones of the blade members in a circumferential direction of the base portion (see Fig. 2), and when the shear blade is viewed in an axial direction, each of the blade members is inclined relative to a tangent line to an outer periphery of the base portion at a position where each of the blade members is fixed to the base portion (see Fig. 2), and has a tip facing a downstream side in a rotation direction of the base portion (see Fig. 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Multner (US 10,022,683). Multner discloses an agitator comprising: an agitation tank (64) that accommodates a fluid to be processed containing particles; and a shear blade (10c) that disperses the particles contained in the fluid to be processed accommodated in the agitation tank, wherein the shear blade includes a base portion (12c) rotating around a predetermined axis and a plurality of blade members (14c), the base portion includes: a plurality of protrusion portions (portions of 12c between adjacent instances of 16c)) protruding outward in a radial direction; and a plurality of cutouts (16c) each recessed from an edge of the base portion toward a center side of the base portion and located between adjacent ones of the plurality of protrusion portions (see Figs. 7 and 8), each of the plurality of cutouts forming a flow path through which the fluid to be processed flows from a bottom side of the shear blade to an upper side thereof (see Figs. 7 and 8), each of the blade members is fixed to a tip of a corresponding one of the plurality of protrusion portions such that each of the flow paths is located between adjacent ones of the blade members in a circumferential direction of the base portion (see Figs. 7 and 8), and when the shear blade is viewed in an axial direction, each of the blade members is inclined relative to a tangent line to an outer periphery of the base portion at a position where each of the blade members is fixed to the base portion (see Figs. 7 and 8), and has a tip facing a side capable of being downstream in a rotation direction of the base portion during an intended operation (see Figs. 7 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morinaga (US 2018/0178176) in view of Multner (US 10,022,683).
Regarding claim 1, Morinaga discloses an agitator comprising an agitation tank (2) that accommodates a fluid to be processed containing particles; a flow blade (3) that agitates the fluid to be processed accommodated in the agitation tank; and a shear blade (4) disposed inside the flow blade at a bottom of the agitation tank (see Fig. 1) to disperse the particles, wherein the shear blade includes a base portion (41) rotating around a predetermined axis and a plurality of blade members (42), and when the shear blade is viewed in an axial direction, the plurality of blade members extend along an outer peripheral edge of the base portion (see Figs. 1 and 3). Morinaga additionally states at [0034] that the blade members "can be provided to be inclined relative to a tangential direction of the outer peripheral edge". However, the base portion of Morinaga is circular and lacks cutouts. Multner teaches that, as an alternative to a circular base portion (embodiment of Fig. 1), a base portion can be provided cutouts (16c) and protrusion portions between each adjacent cutout (see Figs. 7 and 8). More specifically, Multner teaches a shear blade (10c) that disperses the particles contained in the fluid to be processed accommodated in an agitation tank (64), wherein the shear blade includes a base portion (12c) rotating around a predetermined axis and a plurality of blade members (14c), the base portion includes: a plurality of protrusion portions (portions of 12c between adjacent instances of 16c) protruding outward in a radial direction; and a plurality of cutouts (16c) each recessed from an edge of the base portion toward a center side of the base portion and located between adjacent ones of the plurality of protrusion portions (see Figs. 7 and 8), each of the plurality of cutouts forming a flow path through which the fluid to be processed flows from a bottom side of the shear blade to an upper side thereof (see Figs. 7 and 8), each of the blade members is fixed to a tip of a corresponding one of the plurality of protrusion portions such that each of the flow paths is located between adjacent ones of the blade members in a circumferential direction of the base portion (see Figs. 7 and 8), and when the shear blade is viewed in an axial direction, each of the blade members is inclined relative to a tangent line to an outer periphery of the base portion at a position where each of the blade members is fixed to the base portion (see Figs. 7 and 8), and has a tip facing a side capable of being downstream in a rotation direction of the base portion during an intended operation (see Figs. 7 and 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to have provided a shear blade according to the teachings of Multner, because Multner specifically presents such a construction as an alterative to a circular base portion, and/or or to improve blade attachment.
Regarding claim 3, a shear blade drive shaft (43) is connected to the shear blade and extends downward, wherein each of the blades is formed of a rectangular flat plate, a side of each of the blade members extending in the up- down direction is parallel to the shear blade drive shaft, and a side of each of the blade members extending in a horizontal direction is parallel to the main surfaces of the base portion (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Multner further teaches that an angle formed on the downstream side in the rotation direction of the base portion between each of the blade members and the tangent line to the outer periphery of the base portion is 45 degrees or less (see Fig 8).
Regarding claim 5, Multner further teaches that the base portion has a cross shape in a top view, and the plurality of protrusion portions includes four protrusion portions (alternating ones of the eight protrusions are 4 protrusions forming a cross).
Regarding claim 6, Multner further teaches that side surfaces of the base portion that define the flow paths are inclined (see Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 8, Multner further teaches that the of each of the blade members is located radially outside the tip of the corresponding one of the plurality of protrusion portions.
Regarding claim 9, each of the blades is a flat plate including a main surface facing the downstream side in the rotation direction of the base portion, is fixed to the base portion in the vicinity of a center in an up-down direction (see Fig. 3), and extends upward from a main surface on an upper side of the base portion and downward from a main surface on a bottom side of the base portion (see Fig. 3), and the fluid to be processed containing the particles micronized by the shear blade flows upward (see Fig. 3). Multner further teaches the angle being 15-60 degrees (see Fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot due to reliance upon Horrell and Multner in rejecting the claims as currently amended.
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774