DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending and examined herein.
No claims are canceled.
Priority
As detailed on the 28 November 2023 filing receipt, the application claims priority as early as 22 November 2022 to German application DE1020222416.2. At this point in examination, all claims have been interpreted as being accorded this priority date as the effective filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on 31 December 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the references are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such a claim limitation is the apparatus of claim 8. The structure of the apparatus is not recited in the body of the claim. The specification discloses an apparatus for carrying out the method in Figure 3, which comprises a processor at Ref. 55, and thus is interpreted as a general purpose computer.
35 USC § 101
Matter Belonging to No Statutory Category
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 9 is to a “computer program” and claim 10 is to a “machine-readable storage medium,” which are not, in all embodiments within a BRI, interpreted as belonging to any category listed in 101. In a BRI, the claims read on data and/or software comprising no structure other than data and/or software. The claim is not recited as a process, and the claim is not limited to any particular structure as a 101 machine or manufacture. The claim reads on transitory propagating signals which are not proper patentable subject matter because it does not fit within any of the four statutory categories of invention (In re Nuijten, Federal. Circuit, 2006).
The specification discloses the program can be stored on a storage medium (paragraph [68]) but does not limit the claims to non-transitory embodiments.
Matter Not Patent Eligible
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas (such as a mathematical formula or equation), natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 § I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts, and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The claims as a whole, considering all claim elements individually and in combination, are directed to a judicial exception at Step 2A, Prong 2, and the additional elements of the claims, considered individually and in combination, do not provide significantly more at Step 2B than the abstract idea of determining an assignment rule.
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of
nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The claims are directed to a method (claims 1-7), an apparatus interpreted as a computer (claim 8), a program (claim 9), and a machine-readable storage medium (claim 10). The method and apparatus are considered to fall within categories of statutory subject matter, whereas the program and medium do not because they are considered to read on transitory signals as explained above. [Step 1: claims 1-8: Yes; claims 9-10: No]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Claim 1 recites training a model with a first and second set of variables where the model determines variables associated with the second set according to rules generated from the model. The learning system is disclosed as a regression model, which is a mathematical concept (paragraph [30]).
Claim 1 recites determining a cost matrix characterizing distances between variables, where a cost matrix is a mathematical concept.
Claim 1 recites optimizing the rule according to the cost matrix to generate minimum total costs, which is considered a mathematical concept to determine the lowest values.
Claim 1 recites repeating the steps, which are mathematical in nature.
Claim 2 recites optimizing is performed by Hungarian algorithm or greedy implementation, which are descriptions of mathematical concepts.
Claim 3 recites the cost matrix is quadratic and if variables do not match, which mathematical processes are used to populate the matrix, thus describing mathematical processes.
Claim 4 recites a regression model, which is a mathematical concept.
Claim 6 recites the position of the cell is obtained by the rule, thus describing a mental step of data evaluation.
Claim 9 recites a computer program, which is data per se and thus abstract.
Thus, the claims recite abstract ideas and thus must be examined further to determine whether elements in addition to the abstract ideas integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). [Step 2A Prong One: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Because the claims recite judicial exceptions, direction under Step 2A Prong Two provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they recite elements in addition to the abstract ideas which integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). A claim can be said to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application when it applies, relies on, or uses the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is performed by analyzing the additional elements of the claim to determine if the judicial exceptions are integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I); MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the judicial exceptions, the claim is said to fail to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(III)).
Claim 1 recites initializing the rule and providing the sets of data.
Claim 5 recites the expression profiles are obtained by slide-seq and scRNA-seq.
Claim 7 recites adding a further first variable between repetitions.
Claim 8 recites an apparatus, interpreted as a computer system.
Claim 10 recites a machine-readable storage medium.
Initializing the steps and providing data to begin with are interpreted as data gathering steps. Data gathering to perform the abstract mathematical steps is insignificant extra-solution activity which does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)). Furthermore, the generation of the expression profiles are data generation steps for the variable sets needed to perform the mathematical steps and are therefore insignificant extra-solution activity.
The apparatus and medium are considered computer components. Specific computational steps by which the computer performs or carries out the abstract idea, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of the computer are used to implement these functions. The claims state nothing more than that a generic computer performs the functions that constitute the abstract idea. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, and therefore the claim does not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim elements comprising references to rendering and rendering devices reads on data outputting, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim elements comprising storing reads are mere instructions to apply an exception using a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) and insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Because the claims recite an abstract idea, and do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application, the claims are directed to that abstract idea. Claims that are directed to abstract ideas must be examined further to determine whether the additional elements besides the abstract idea render the claims significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims that are directed to abstract ideas and that raise a concern of preemption of those abstract ideas must be examined to determine what elements, if any, they recite besides the abstract idea, and whether these additional elements constitute inventive concepts that are sufficient to render the claims significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05). [Step 2A Prong Two: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Step 2B of 101 analysis determines whether the claims contain additional elements that amount to an inventive concept, and an inventive concept cannot be furnished by an abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05).
Claim 1 recites initializing the rule and providing the sets of data.
Claim 5 recites the expression profiles are obtained by slide-seq and scRNA-seq.
Claim 7 recites adding a further first variable between repetitions.
Claim 8 recites an apparatus, interpreted as a computer system.
Claim 10 recites a machine-readable storage medium.
The claims recite a computer or computer components, interpreted as instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, where the computer does not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exceptions, which can be performed without the use of a computer (MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The courts have found that receiving and outputting data are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when claimed in a merely generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015), and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93 (storing and retrieving information in memory), as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Lee (BMB Reports 55(3): 113-124, 2022; newly cited) teaches in a review both scRNA-seq and slide-seq, where scRNA-seq is taught as informing active genes but losing spatial information (pg. 113, col. 2, first paragraph) whereas slide-seq is taught as informing spatially resolved transcriptomic data (pg. 121, col. 2, first paragraph).
Therefore, the recited additional elements, alone or in combination, do not appear to provide an inventive concept. [Step 2B: No]
Conclusion: Claims are Directed to Non-statutory Subject Matter
For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole,
are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept. Hence, the claimed invention does not
constitute significantly more than the abstract idea, so the claims are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as
being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 8-10
Claims 1-2, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanevski (Life Science Alliance 3(11): 14 pgs., 2020; newly cited) in view of Moen (US 20200364857 A1; newly cited).
Claim 1 recites determining an assignment rule which assigns first variables from a first set
of first variables to second variables from a second set of second variables, wherein the first variables are gene expression profiles from cells of a single cell layer of a three-dimensional tissue with positional information and wherein the second variables are gene expression profiles from cells of a single cell layer of a three-dimensional tissue without positional information.
Claim 1 recites initializing the assignment rule and providing the first and second set.
Claim 1 recites repeating performance of the following steps.
Claim 1 recites training a machine learning system in such a way that the machine learning system determines the second variables assigned in each case in accordance with the assignment rule as a function of the first variables.
Claim 1 recites determining a cost matrix, wherein entries of the cost matrix characterize distances between predictions of the machine learning system depending on the first variables and the second variables.
Claim 1 recites optimizing the assignment rule depending on the cost matrix so that an assignment of the first variables to the second variables according to the assignment rule generates minimum total costs based on the entries of the cost matrix.
Tanevski teaches predicting the position of cells based on expression patterns (pg. 2, col. 2, second paragraph). Tanevski teaches a machine learning model trained to predict cell coordinates using transcriptomic data as input (pg. 4, col. 1, second paragraph). The recited layer reads on Tanevski’s position. Learning implies iteration to determine the positions.
Tanevski does not teach a cost matrix or optimizing the cost matrix.
Moen teaches quantifying gene expression [paragraph [149]) and a cost function for pairing information (paragraph [123]), where optimizing the assignment comes about through the cost function. Moen teaches learning the cost matrix from annotated data (paragraph [151]), where annotations are the variables related to the first and second sets.
Claim 8 recites an apparatus configured to carry out the method according to claim 1.
Moen teaches allocating computational resources for a learning algorithm (paragraph [17]), thus teaching at computational environment.
Claim 9 recites a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is performed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method according to claim 1.
Moen teaches a processor programmed by instructions (paragraph [19]), where programmed instructions is interpreted as a program.
Claim 10 recites a machine-readable storage medium on which the computer program according to claim 9 is stored.
Moen teaches a memory storing instructions (paragraph [20]).
Claim 2 recites the optimizing step is carried out by way of a Hungarian algorithm or a greedy implementation.
Moen teaches the Hungarian algorithm for minimizing the cost function (paragraph [123]).
Claim 6 recites the original position of each cell in the three-dimensional tissue is deduced by way of the assignment rule.
Tanevski teaches the model predicts the coordinates of each cell (pg. 4, col. 1, second paragraph).
Combining Tanevski and Moen
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the work of Tanevski, which is directed to predicting cell position from transcriptomics data, with that of Moen because Moen teaches a cost function for relating a variable with an object’s location, here an appearance but also quantified expression (paragraph [149]), where the cost function or matrix is used to the learn the relationship between the variables to inform the placement as taught by Tanevski. Tanevski and Moen are both directed to the shared field of endeavor of determining the spatial relationships among cells in tissue and thus their combination is prima facie obvious.
Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanevski and Moen as applied to claims 1-2, 6, and 8-10 above and further in view of Punnen (arXiv 1212.2411, 26 pgs., 2013; newly cited) and Hyder (US 4931952; newly cited).
Claim 3 recites the cost matrix is quadratic, and if a number of the first and second variables do not match, then empty entries of the cost matrix are filled with a largest value of the entries of the cost matrix.
Punnen teaches quadratic optimization (abstract) and Hyder teaches a cost function wherein the rows and columns are not equal or matching such that they form a square, requiring dummy rows and/or columns with large costs (col. 4, last paragraph to col. 5, first paragraph).
Combining Tanevski and Moen with Punnen and Hyder
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the previously combined works with that of Punnen because Punnen teaches model optimization using a cost function and in particular quadratic optimization, which can be used on paired assigning rather than single assignments (abstract). Further combination with Hyder would be obvious because Hyder explains the basics of cost matrices where mismatches between variables are turned into a square matrix by adding dummy variables. Dummy values are taught by Hyder as required to provide a difference value for each row (col. 5, first paragraph). Punnen and Hyder are directed to a shared field of endeavor as at least Moen, which is cost functions or matrices, and their combination is considered prima facie obvious.
Claim 4
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanevski and Moen as applied to claims 1-2, 6, and 8-10 above and further in view of Bielas (US 20220106623 A1; newly cited).
Claim 4 recites the machine learning system is a regression model which determines the second variables depending on the first variables and parameters of the regression model.
Bielas teaches using transcriptomic expression data with scRNA-seq and regression data (paragraphs [337-340]) and spatial position can be determined after deconvolution (abstract).
Combining Tanevski and Moen with Bielas
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the previously combined works with that of Bielas because Bielas teaches regression for fitting a model including spatial identifiers as dependent variables (paragraph [97-98]) where a regression is a well-known mathematical function. Bielas and the previously combined art are directed to the shared field of endeavor of learning spatial position of cells and their combination is considered prima facie obvious.
Claim 5
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanevski and Moen as applied to claims 1-2, 6, and 8-10 above and as Rodriques (Science 363: 1463-1467, 2019; newly cited).
Claim 5 recites the gene expression profiles with positional information are obtained by the slide-seq method and the gene expression profiles without positional information are obtained by an scRNA-seq method.
Tanevski teaches scRNA-seq where spatial information is lost as well as spatial RNA-seq technology with maintained cell localization(abstract), and cites Rodriques as an example of spatial RNA-seq, where the method in particular is slide-seq (pg. 1, col. 2, first paragraph). Therefore, Tanevski teaches scRNA-seq and slide-seq as evidenced by Rodriques.
Claim 7
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanevski and Moen as applied to claims 1-2, 6, and 8-10 above and further in view of Regondi (Bioinformatics 22(571): 21 pgs., 2021; newly cited).
Claim 7 recites after performing a repetition of steps, a further first variable is added to the set of first variables.
Regondi teaches progressively adding features (pg. 7, second paragraph).
Combining Tanevski and Moen with Regondi
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the previously combined works with that of Regondi because Regondi teaches progressively adding features results in the best regression performance and best cross-validation performance (pg. 7, second paragraph)., which are desirable qualities in model generation. Regondi and the previously combined art are directed to the shared field of endeavor of modeling based on gene expression data and their combination is considered prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/Robert J. Kallal/Examiner, Art Unit 1685