DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims foreign priority to Chinese Patent Application CN 202322838425.7, filed 10/23/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) is submitted on 11/12/2023 filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract recites “The present disclosure discloses …” The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “with the linkage” on lines 5-6. Examiner suggest changing the limitation to “with [[the]] a linkage”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weng (US 20230223976 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weng teaches a protective case (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0027; mobile phone protective housing 10) capable of being flipped to achieve supporting and capable of adjusting flipping and rotating angles (Figures 1 and 2; wherein showing the stand 300 in close and/or open position, thus the protective housing capable of being flipped to achieve support and adjust flip/rotate angles. Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0027 and 0029; a stand 300 rotatably connected to a back surface of the bottom wall 101 of the housing body 100. Paragraph 0046; mounting portion 310 is rotatably connected with the housing body 100 through at least one rotating shaft 311 in a damping fashion, and the user may freely rotate the mobile phone to a desired angle according to his or her own needs, which is convenient to use), comprising
a back plate (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0027 and 0029; a stand 300 rotatably connected to a back surface of the bottom wall 101 of the housing body 100), and
a supporting component (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0029; stand 300) and
a rotating mechanism which are mounted on the back plate (Figures 1 and 9 and Paragraph 0044; rotating shaft 311. Figure 9 and Paragraph 0044; a first elastic member 400 is provided between the stand 300 and the housing body 100. As evidenced by Figures 1 and 9, the rotating mechanism is mounted on the back surface of the bottom wall 101. The collective of rotating 311 and the first elastic member 400 is interpreted as a rotating mechanism),
wherein the supporting component comprises a flippable supporting member (Figure 9 and Paragraph 0046; one side of the stand 300 is provided with a mounting portion 310), a supporting connecting member (Figure 9 and Paragraph 0046 and 0049; first elastic member 400), and a rotating shaft (Figures 5 and 9 and Paragraph 0050; rotating shaft 311);
the flippable supporting member is fixedly connected to the supporting connecting member (Figure 10 and Paragraph 10 and Paragraph 0049; the first elastic member 400 is a torsion spring, and the torsion spring is positioned between the mounting portion 310 and the face plate 120);
the supporting connecting member is rotatably connected to the rotating mechanism through the rotating shaft (Figure 10 and Paragraphs 0046 and 0047; mounting portion 310 is rotatably connected with the housing body 100 through at least one rotating shaft 311. Figures 10; first elastic member 400 is connect to the rotating shaft 311. Figure 11 and Paragraphs 0049 and 0050; the mounting portion 310 is provided with an accommodating groove 312 for the springs 412, and the two springs 412 are positioned in the accommodating groove 312. The two rotating shafts 311 are rotatably connected with the housing body 100 through the springs 412 and the mounting portions 310 in a damping fashion);
the rotating mechanism comprises a fixing component and a rotating member (Figures 10 and 11, and Paragraphs 0049 and 0050; the first elastic member 400 is a torsion spring, and the torsion spring is positioned between the mounting portion 310 and the face plate 120. The torsion spring includes a bar 411, two cylindrical spiral springs 412 and two legs 413. The mounting portion 310 is provided with an accommodating groove 312 for the springs 412, and the two springs 412 are positioned in the accommodating groove 312. The two rotating shafts 311 are rotatably connected with the housing body 100 through the springs 412 and the mounting portions 310 in a damping fashion. One of the legs 413 and the bar 411 abuts against the bottom of the first groove 121, and the other one of the legs 413 and the bar 411 abuts against the stand 300 or is embedded in the stand 300);
a mounting slot is arranged on one side of the back plate (Figure 9 and Paragraph 0043; the stand 300 is folded and maintained in the first groove 121);
a rotating slot is arranged at a position, corresponding to the rotating member, on the mounting slot (Figure 9 and Paragraphs 0046 and 0047; one side of the stand 300 is provided with a mounting portion 310, the back surface of the bottom wall 101 of the housing body 100 is provided with a third groove 123 for accommodating the mounting portion 310, the third groove 123 is communicated with the first groove 121. The mounting portion 310 is rotatably connected with the housing body 100 through at least one rotating shaft 311 in a damping fashion); and
the rotating member is limited and fixed by a fixing component and performs a horizontal rotating action relative to the back plate (Figure 9 and Paragraph 0044; a first elastic member 400 is provided between the stand 300 and the housing body 100. Figures 10 and 11, and Paragraphs 0049 and 0050; the first elastic member 400 is a torsion spring, and the torsion spring is positioned between the mounting portion 310 and the face plate 120. The torsion spring includes a bar 411, two cylindrical spiral springs 412 and two legs 413. The mounting portion 310 is provided with an accommodating groove 312 for the springs 412, and the two springs 412 are positioned in the accommodating groove 312. The two rotating shafts 311 are rotatably connected with the housing body 100 through the springs 412 and the mounting portions 310 in a damping fashion. One of the legs 413 and the bar 411 abuts against the bottom of the first groove 121, and the other one of the legs 413 and the bar 411 abuts against the stand 300 or is embedded in the stand 300. Paragraph 0046; mounting portion 310 is rotatably connected with the housing body 100 through at least one rotating shaft 311 in a damping fashion, and the user may freely rotate the mobile phone to a desired angle according to his or her own needs, which is convenient to use. Also as evidenced by Figure 1, the stand can be opened in horizontal rotating direction relative to the bottom/back wall).
Regarding claim 2, Weng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Weng teaches wherein the fixing component comprises a fixed seat (Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0031 and 0050; cover plate 320) and a fixing sheet (Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0031 and 0050; base plate 330); the fixed seat is located at an upper end of the fixing sheet and is fixed with the fixing sheet (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0031; cover plate 320 is connected to the base plate 330 to close the fixing groove 321); and the rotating member is limited between the fixed seat and the fixing sheet (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0050; the mounting portion 310 is provided with an accommodating groove 312 for the springs 412, and the two springs 412 are positioned in the accommodating groove 312. The two rotating shafts 311 are rotatably connected with the housing body 100 through the springs 412 and the mounting portions 310 in a damping fashion. As evidenced by Figure 5, the cover plate 320 and base cover 330 are enclosed to keep springs 412 in the accommodating groove 312 enclosed by the cover plate and base plate).
Regarding claim 10, Weng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Weng teaches wherein a shaft turntable is arranged at a lower end of the fixed seat (Figure 12 and Paragraph 0055; the back surface of the sliding block is provided with a limiting block 1421. The back surface of the limiting block 1421 is flush with or lower than the back surface of the front frame 120. When the sliding block slides to a preset position in a direction away from the locking groove 301, the limiting block 1421 abuts against the boss 124, and the sliding block can be prevented from entirely sliding into the second groove 122 by providing the limiting block 1421. Therefore, when the limiting block 1421 slides in a direction towards the third groove 123 upon an external force until the limiting block 1421 abuts against the boss 124, the stand 300 can be released from the first groove 121 and rotatably unfolded); a diameter of the shaft turntable is precisely matched with an inner ring of the rotating member axially (Figure 12 and Paragraph 0055; when the limiting block 1421 slides in a direction towards the third groove 123 upon an external force until the limiting block 1421 abuts against the boss 124, the stand 300 can be released from the first groove 121 and rotatably unfolded); and an anti-falling edge is also arranged at an upper end of the rotating slot (Figure 12 and Paragraph 0056; Figure 12 and Paragraph 0056; an inner periphery of the second groove 122 is provided with an annular flange 1240. a cover 1245 is mounted to the second groove 122 by the annular flange 1240. A peripheral edge of the cover 1245 abuts against the annular flange 1240, and the cover 1245 covers the second groove 122, such that the sliding block and the second elastic member 150 are retained within the second groove 122. The peripheral edge of the cover 1245 may be fixed on the annular flange 1240 by bonding or snap-fitting).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koreeda et al. (EP 3813346) discloses a portable communication terminal equipment case enabling changing an orientation of portable communication terminal as desired by a simple structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Further, claims 4-9 would be allowable by virtue of their dependency from would-be allowable base claim 3.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Applicant's invention is drawn to a protective case capable of being flipped to achieve supporting and capable of adjusting flipping and rotating angles.
The prior arts of record, Weng, Koreeda, and a thorough search discloses various aspects and features of applicant's claimed invention but fail to explicitly or implicitly teach or disclose wherein the supporting component further comprises a rotating connecting member; and one end of the rotating connecting member is fixedly connected to the fixed seat, and the other end is rotatably hinged with the supporting connecting member, so that the flippable supporting member performs a flipping action relative to the rotating mechanism and performs the horizontal rotating action with the linkage of the rotating mechanism after being flipped, to change a supporting angle of the flippable supporting member relative to the back plate, as disclosed in dependent claim 3. These functions, in combination of remaining functions are neither taught nor disclosed by the prior art. Accordingly, claim 3 would be allowed. Further, claims 4-9 would be allowable by virtue of their dependency from would-be allowable base claim 3.
Conclusion
/Jing Gao/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647