DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 03/29/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 03/29/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the claims change the scope of the claims. Amendments to the claims in part recite: “a first signaling, the first signaling being a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling; and receiving a first signal, the first signal being a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)… one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate”. These limitations are taught by cited prior art. Please see the claim rejections section below for more details.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 line 1 recites: “The A method”. Examiner believes this is a typographical error and should be replaced with either ‘The method’ or ‘A method’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan (Pub. No.: US 2022/0361219 A1) in view of Wu (Pub. No.: US 2023/0308246 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan teaches
A first node for wireless communications (Khoshnevisan [0003]: wireless system comprising one or more network access nodes), comprising: a first receiver (Khoshnevisan [0186] and fig. 5: receiver), …receiving a first signaling, the first signaling being a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling (Khoshnevisan [0061]: DCI signaling); and receiving a first signal, the first signal being a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (Khoshnevisan [0061]: PDSCH; Khoshnevisan [0006] and [0086]: receiving signaling with CORESET); wherein the first information block is used for indicating S search space sets, S being a positive integer greater than 1 (Khoshnevisan [0082]: CORESET with multiple search space sets); the first signaling comprises a first field, the first field in the first signaling indicating a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state of the first signal in a target TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0005-0010]: identifying (indicating) TCI state; Khoshnevisan [0061]: TCI state determined to be used for PDSCH based on DCI); the first signaling occupies a first control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0006-0007]: “first control channel candidate”), the first control channel candidate belonging to a first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0082]: search space set including control channel candidate), the first search space set being one of the S search space sets (Khoshnevisan [0082]: plurality of search space sets (one of S search space sets)); a first condition set comprises that there exists a search space set other than the first search space set among the S search space sets, one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0082]: search space set amongst a plurality of search space sets, this shows there existing a search space set other than the first search spaces set; Khoshnevisan [0131]: “a first control channel candidate…within a first search space set may be linked [being associated with]… to a second control channel candidate…within a second search space set”); whether the first condition set is satisfied is used to determine the target TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0006]: TCI state identified from the set of TCI states); the target TCI state set comprises at least one TCI state (Khoshnevisan [0006]: first set of TCI states containing the identified TCI state); the first field comprises at least one bit (Khoshnevisan [0077] and [0332]: comprising bits, this is explicitly taught in the cited art but is also well known in the field of wireless communication that a field would comprise bits of information).
Khoshnevisan does disclose receiving signaling information including CORESET. Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose “first information block”.
However, Wu, in the analogous art of wireless communication signaling, discloses
receiving a first information block (Wu [0011]: receiving a first information block).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to incorporate the teachings of Wu and have a first information block. Doing so would allow for indication of the first resource set (Wu [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The first node according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), characterized in that when the first condition set is not satisfied, the target TCI state set is a first TCI state set or a second TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0132]: TCI state 1 or TCI state 2; [0100] and [0106]: search space set associated with one CORESET which comprises the 2 TCI states (TCI state 1 or TCI state 2)); when the first condition set is satisfied, the target TCI state set is a third TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0132]: when there is another search space set there exists another CORESET which contains TCI state 3); the first TCI state set is specific to a first control resource set pool, while the second TCI state set is specific to a second control resource set pool (Khoshnevisan [0132] and [0150]: TCI state sets tied to the first CORESET and second TCI state sets tied to a second CORESET).
Regarding claim 3, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The first node according to claim 2 (the limitations of parent claim 2 as indicated above), characterized in that the first condition set is not satisfied (Khoshnevisan [0106]: not a plurality of search space sets, just the one search space set as defined in claim 1 as being the condition); when a control resource set associated with the first search space set belongs to the first control resource set pool, the target TCI state set is the first TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0131-0132], [0146], and [0150]: TCI state set selected tied to the first search space of a first CORESET; only one of the listed limitations needs to be met per the claim language reciting “or”); when a control resource set associated with the first search space set belongs to the second control resource set pool, the target TCI state set is the second TCI state set; or, the first receiver receives a second information block, receives a third information block and receives a fourth information block; the second information block indicates the first TCI state set, the third information block indicates the second TCI state set, while the fourth information block indicates the third TCI state set; each of the second information block, the third information block and the fourth information block comprises a second field, the second field indicating a bandwidth part, where the second field in the second information block, the second field in the third information block and the second field in the fourth information block all indicate a first bandwidth part; the S search space sets belong to the first bandwidth part; among the second information block, the third information block and the fourth information block only each of the second information block and the third information block comprises a third field, the third field indicating a control resource set pool; the third field in the second information block indicates the first control resource set pool, while the third field in the third information block indicates the second control resource set pool.
Regarding claim 4, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The first node according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), characterized in that the first control channel candidate is associated with a second control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0131]: first control channel candidate associated with second control channel candidate), the second control channel candidate belonging to a second search space set (Khoshnevisan [0131]: second control channel candidate within a second search space), the second search space set being a search space set among the S search space sets other than the first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0131]: second search space set and first search space set); for each aggregation level (AL), a number of control channel candidates comprised by the first search space set is identical to a number of control channel candidates comprised by the second search space set (Khoshnevisan [0105] and [0109]: “related/linked PDCCH candidates may have the same aggregation level (e.g., same number of CCEs)”); a first TCI state is used to determine antenna port QCL parameter(s) of a control channel in a control resource set associated with the first search space set ([0004], [0028], and [0063]: first TCI state is used for QCL assumption), while a second TCI state is used to determine antenna port QCL parameter(s) of a control channel in a control resource set associated with the second search space set ([0004], [0028], and [0063]: second TCI state is used for QCL assumption).
Regarding claim 5, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The first node according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), characterized in that the phrase that “one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate” includes that the first node assumes that a DCI in the control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set is identical to a DCI in the first control channel candidate. (Khoshnevisan [0131]: “a first control channel candidate…within a first search space set may be linked [being associated with]… to a second control channel candidate…within a second search space set”, with same downlink control message (DCI); Khoshnevisan [0105] and [0125]: identical downlink messaging (DCI), repetitions of DCI of same control channel transmission; further, the term “associated” can be to any degree, so if they are part of the same process, they are by definition associated)
Regarding claim 6, Khoshnevisan teaches
A second node for wireless communications (Khoshnevisan [0003]: wireless system comprising one or more network access nodes), comprising: a second transmitter (Khoshnevisan [0222] and fig. 9: transmitter), …transmitting a first signaling, the first signaling being a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling (Khoshnevisan [0061]: DCI signaling); and transmitting a first signal, the first signal being a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (Khoshnevisan [0061]: PDSCH; Khoshnevisan [0006] and [0086]: receiving signaling with CORESET); wherein the first information block is used for indicating S search space sets, S being a positive integer greater than 1 (Khoshnevisan [0082]: CORESET with multiple search space sets); the first signaling comprises a first field, the first field in the first signaling indicating a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state of the first signal in a target TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0005-0010]: identifying (indicating) TCI state; Khoshnevisan [0061]: TCI state determined to be used for PDSCH based on DCI); the first signaling occupies a first control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0006-0007]: “first control channel candidate”), the first control channel candidate belonging to a first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0082]: search space set including control channel candidate), the first search space set being one of the S search space sets (Khoshnevisan [0082]: plurality of search space sets (one of S search space sets)); a first condition set comprises that there exists a search space set other than the first search space set among the S search space sets, one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0082]: search space set amongst a plurality of search space sets, this shows there existing a search space set other than the first search spaces set; Khoshnevisan [0131]: “a first control channel candidate…within a first search space set may be linked [being associated with]… to a second control channel candidate…within a second search space set”); whether the first condition set is satisfied is used to determine the target TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0006]: TCI state identified from the set of TCI states); the target TCI state set comprises at least one TCI state (Khoshnevisan [0006]: first set of TCI states containing the identified TCI state); the first field comprises at least one bit (Khoshnevisan [0077] and [0332]: comprising bits, this is explicitly taught in the cited art but is also well known in the field of wireless communication that a field would comprise bits of information).
While Khoshnevisan does disclose transmitting signals and information such as packets, user data, control information, or any combination thereof, Khoshnevisan appears to be silent on explicitly transmitting a first information block.
However, Wu, in the analogous art of wireless communication signaling, discloses
transmitting a first information block (Wu [0029]: “transmitting a first information block”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to incorporate the teachings of Wu and have a first information block. Doing so would allow for indication of the first resource set (Wu [0011]).
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The second node according to claim 6 (the limitations of parent claim 6 as indicated above), characterized in that when the first condition set is not satisfied, the target TCI state set is a first TCI state set or a second TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0132]: TCI state 1 or TCI state 2; [0100] and [0106]: search space set associated with one CORESET which comprises the 2 TCI states (TCI state 1 or TCI state 2)); when the first condition set is satisfied, the target TCI state set is a third TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0132]: when there is another search space set there exists another CORESET which contains TCI state 3); the first TCI state set is specific to a first control resource set, while the second TCI state set is specific to a second control resource set (Khoshnevisan [0132] and [0150]: TCI state sets tied to the first CORESET and second TCI state sets tied to a second CORESET).
Regarding claim 8, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The second node according to claim 7 (the limitations of parent claim 7 as indicated above), characterized in that the first condition set is not satisfied (Khoshnevisan [0106]: not a plurality of search space sets, just the one search space set as defined in claim 1 as being the condition); when a control resource set associated with the first search space set belongs to the first control resource set pool, the target TCI state set is the first TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0131-0132], [0146], and [0150]: TCI state set selected tied to the first search space of a first CORESET; only one of the listed limitations needs to be met per the claim language reciting “or”); when a control resource set associated with the first search space set belongs to the second control resource set pool, the target TCI state set is the second TCI state set; or, the second transmitter transmits a second information block, receives a third information block and receives a fourth information block; the second information block indicates the first TCI state set, the third information block indicates the second TCI state set, while the fourth information block indicates the third TCI state set; each of the second information block, the third information block and the fourth information block comprises a second field, the second field indicating a bandwidth part, where the second field in the second information block, the second field in the third information block and the second field in the fourth information block all indicate a first bandwidth part; the S search space sets belong to the first bandwidth part; among the second information block, the third information block and the fourth information block only each of the second information block and the third information block comprises a third field, the third field indicating a control resource set pool; the third field in the second information block indicates the first control resource set pool, while the third field in the third information block indicates the second control resource set pool.
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The second node according to claim 6 (the limitations of parent claim 6 as indicated above), characterized in that the first control channel candidate is associated with a second control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0131]: first control channel candidate associated with second control channel candidate), the second control channel candidate belonging to a second search space set (Khoshnevisan [0131]: second control channel candidate within a second search space), the second search space set being a search space set among the S search space sets other than the first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0131]: second search space set and first search space set); for each aggregation level (AL), a number of control channel candidates comprised by the first search space set is identical to a number of control channel candidates comprised by the second search space set (Khoshnevisan [0105] and [0109]: “related/linked PDCCH candidates may have the same aggregation level (e.g., same number of CCEs)”); a first TCI state is used to determine antenna port QCL parameter(s) of a control channel in a control resource set associated with the first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0004], [0028], and [0063]: first TCI state is used for QCL assumption), while a second TCI state is used to determine antenna port QCL parameter(s) of a control channel in a control resource set associated with the second search space set (Khoshnevisan ([0004], [0028], and [0063]: second TCI state is used for QCL assumption).
Regarding claim 10, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The second node according to claim 6 (the limitations of parent claim 6 as indicated above), characterized in that the phrase that “one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate” includes that a receiver of the first signaling assumes that a DCI in the control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set is identical to a DCI in the first control channel candidate. (Khoshnevisan [0131]: “a first control channel candidate…within a first search space set may be linked [being associated with]… to a second control channel candidate…within a second search space set”, with same downlink control message (DCI); Khoshnevisan [0105] and [0125]: identical downlink messaging (DCI), repetitions of DCI of same control channel transmission; further, the term “associated” can be to any degree, so if they are part of the same process, they are by definition associated)
Regarding claim 11, Khoshnevisan teaches
A method in a first node for wireless communications (Khoshnevisan [0005-0006]: method for wireless communication comprising one or more network access nodes), comprising: …receiving a first signaling, the first signaling being a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling (Khoshnevisan [0061]: DCI signaling); and receiving a first signal, the first signal being a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (Khoshnevisan [0061]: PDSCH; Khoshnevisan [0006] and [0086]: receiving signaling with CORESET); wherein the first information block is used for indicating S search space sets, S being a positive integer greater than 1 (Khoshnevisan [0082]: CORESET with multiple search space sets); the first signaling comprises a first field, the first field in the first signaling indicating a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state of the first signal in a target TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0005-0010]: identifying (indicating) TCI state; Khoshnevisan [0061]: TCI state determined to be used for PDSCH based on DCI); the first signaling occupies a first control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0006-0007]: “first control channel candidate”), the first control channel candidate belonging to a first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0082]: search space set including control channel candidate), the first search space set being one of the S search space sets (Khoshnevisan [0082]: plurality of search space sets (one of S search space sets)); a first condition set comprises that there exists a search space set other than the first search space set among the S search space sets, one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0082]: search space set amongst a plurality of search space sets, this shows there existing a search space set other than the first search spaces set; Khoshnevisan [0131]: “a first control channel candidate…within a first search space set may be linked [being associated with]… to a second control channel candidate…within a second search space set”); whether the first condition set is satisfied is used to determine the target TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0006]: TCI state identified from the set of TCI states); the target TCI state set comprises at least one TCI state (Khoshnevisan [0006]: first set of TCI states containing the identified TCI state); the first field comprises at least one bit (Khoshnevisan [0077] and [0332]: comprising bits, this is explicitly taught in the cited art but is also well known in the field of wireless communication that a field would comprise bits of information).
Khoshnevisan does disclose receiving signaling information including CORESET.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose “first information block”.
However, Wu, in the analogous art of wireless communication signaling, discloses
receiving a first information block (Wu [0011]: receiving a first information block).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to incorporate the teachings of Wu and have a first information block. Doing so would allow for indication of the first resource set (Wu [0011]).
Regarding claim 12, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The method according to claim 11 (the limitations of parent claim 11 as indicated above), characterized in that when the first condition set is not satisfied, the target TCI state set is a first TCI state set or a second TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0132]: TCI state 1 or TCI state 2; [0100] and [0106]: search space set associated with one CORESET which comprises the 2 TCI states (TCI state 1 or TCI state 2)); when the first condition set is satisfied, the target TCI state set is a third TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0132]: when there is another search space set there exists another CORESET which contains TCI state 3); the first TCI state set is specific to a first control resource set, while the second TCI state set is specific to a second control resource set (Khoshnevisan [0132] and [0150]: TCI state sets tied to the first CORESET and second TCI state sets tied to a second CORESET).
Regarding claim 13, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The method according to claim 12 (the limitations of parent claim 12 as indicated above), characterized in that the first condition set is not satisfied (Khoshnevisan [0106]: not a plurality of search space sets, just the one search space set as defined in claim 1 as being the condition); when a control resource set associated with the first search space set belongs to the first control resource set pool, the target TCI state set is the first TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0131-0132], [0146], and [0150]: TCI state set selected tied to the first search space of a first CORESET; only one of the listed limitations needs to be met per the claim language reciting “or”); when a control resource set associated with the first search space set belongs to the second control resource set pool, the target TCI state set is the second TCI state set; or, comprising: receiving a second information block, receiving a third information block and receiving a fourth information block; the second information block indicates the first TCI state set, the third information block indicates the second TCI state set, while the fourth information block indicates the third TCI state set; each of the second information block, the third information block and the fourth information block comprises a second field, the second field indicating a bandwidth part, where the second field in the second information block, the second field in the third information block and the second field in the fourth information block all indicate a first bandwidth part; the S search space sets belong to the first bandwidth part; among the second information block, the third information block and the fourth information block only each of the second information block and the third information block comprises a third field, the third field indicating a control resource set pool; the third field in the second information block indicates the first control resource set pool, while the third field in the third information block indicates the second control resource set pool.
Regarding claim 14, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The method according to claim 11 (the limitations of parent claim 11 as indicated above), characterized in that the first control channel candidate is associated with a second control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0131]: first control channel candidate associated with second control channel candidate), the second control channel candidate belonging to a second search space set (Khoshnevisan [0131]: second control channel candidate within a second search space), the second search space set being a search space set among the S search space sets other than the first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0131]: second search space set and first search space set); for each aggregation level (AL), a number of control channel candidates comprised by the first search space set is identical to a number of control channel candidates comprised by the second search space set (Khoshnevisan [0105] and [0109]: “related/linked PDCCH candidates may have the same aggregation level (e.g., same number of CCEs)”); a first TCI state is used to determine antenna port QCL parameter(s) of a control channel in a control resource set associated with the first search space set ([0004], [0028], and [0063]: first TCI state is used for QCL assumption), while a second TCI state is used to determine antenna port QCL parameter(s) of a control channel in a control resource set associated with the second search space set ([0004], [0028], and [0063]: second TCI state is used for QCL assumption).
Regarding claim 15, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The method according to claim 11 (the limitations of parent claim 11 as indicated above), characterized in that the phrase that “one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate” includes that the first node assumes that a DCI in the control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set is identical to a DCI in the first control channel candidate. (Khoshnevisan [0131]: “a first control channel candidate…within a first search space set may be linked [being associated with]… to a second control channel candidate…within a second search space set”, with same downlink control message (DCI); Khoshnevisan [0105] and [0125]: identical downlink messaging (DCI), repetitions of DCI of same control channel transmission; further, the term “associated” can be to any degree, so if they are part of the same process they are by definition associated)
Regarding claim 16, Khoshnevisan teaches
A method in a second node for wireless communications (Khoshnevisan [0003], [0006], and [0029]: method for wireless communication comprising one or more network access nodes), comprising: …; transmitting a first signaling, the first signaling being a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling (Khoshnevisan [0061]: DCI signaling); and transmitting a first signal, the first signal being a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (Khoshnevisan [0061]: PDSCH; Khoshnevisan [0006] and [0086]: receiving signaling with CORESET); wherein the first information block is used for indicating S search space sets, S being a positive integer greater than 1 (Khoshnevisan [0082]: CORESET with multiple search space sets); the first signaling comprises a first field, the first field in the first signaling indicating a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state of the first signal in a target TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0005-0010]: identifying (indicating) TCI state; Khoshnevisan [0061]: TCI state determined to be used for PDSCH based on DCI); the first signaling occupies a first control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0006-0007]: “first control channel candidate”), the first control channel candidate belonging to a first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0082]: search space set including control channel candidate), the first search space set being one of the S search space sets (Khoshnevisan [0082]: plurality of search space sets (one of S search space sets)); a first condition set comprises that there exists a search space set other than the first search space set among the S search space sets, one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0082]: search space set amongst a plurality of search space sets, this shows there existing a search space set other than the first search spaces set; Khoshnevisan [0131]: “a first control channel candidate…within a first search space set may be linked [being associated with]… to a second control channel candidate…within a second search space set”); whether the first condition set is satisfied is used to determine the target TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0006]: TCI state identified from the set of TCI states); the target TCI state set comprises at least one TCI state (Khoshnevisan [0006]: first set of TCI states containing the identified TCI state); the first field comprises at least one bit (Khoshnevisan [0077] and [0332]: comprising bits, this is explicitly taught in the cited art but is also well known in the field of wireless communication that a field would comprise bits of information).
While Khoshnevisan does disclose transmitting signals and information such as packets, user data, control information, or any combination thereof, Khoshnevisan appears to be silent on explicitly transmitting a first information block.
However, Wu, in the analogous art of wireless communication signaling, discloses
transmitting a first information block (Wu [0029]: “transmitting a first information block”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to incorporate the teachings of Wu and have a first information block. Doing so would allow for indication of the first resource set (Wu [0011]).
Regarding claim 17, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The method according to claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), characterized in that when the first condition set is not satisfied, the target TCI state set is a first TCI state set or a second TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0132]: TCI state 1 or TCI state 2; [0100] and [0106]: search space set associated with one CORESET which comprises the 2 TCI states (TCI state 1 or TCI state 2)); when the first condition set is satisfied, the target TCI state set is a third TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0132]: when there is another search space set there exists another CORESET which contains TCI state 3); the first TCI state set is specific to a first control resource set, while the second TCI state set is specific to a second control resource set (Khoshnevisan [0132] and [0150]: TCI state sets tied to the first CORESET and second TCI state sets tied to a second CORESET).
Regarding claim 18, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The method according to claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above), characterized in that the first condition set is not satisfied (Khoshnevisan [0106]: not a plurality of search space sets, just the one search space set as defined in claim 1 as being the condition); when a control resource set associated with the first search space set belongs to the first control resource set pool, the target TCI state set is the first TCI state set (Khoshnevisan [0131-0132], [0146], and [0150]: TCI state set selected tied to the first search space of a first CORESET; only one of the listed limitations needs to be met per the claim language reciting “or”); when a control resource set associated with the first search space set belongs to the second control resource set pool, the target TCI state set is the second TCI state set; or, comprising: transmitting a second information block, transmitting a third information block and transmitting a fourth information block; the second information block indicates the first TCI state set, the third information block indicates the second TCI state set, while the fourth information block indicates the third TCI state set; each of the second information block, the third information block and the fourth information block comprises a second field, the second field indicating a bandwidth part, where the second field in the second information block, the second field in the third information block and the second field in the fourth information block all indicate a first bandwidth part; the S search space sets belong to the first bandwidth part; among the second information block, the third information block and the fourth information block only each of the second information block and the third information block comprises a third field, the third field indicating a control resource set pool; the third field in the second information block indicates the first control resource set pool, while the third field in the third information block indicates the second control resource set pool.
Regarding claim 19, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The method according to claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), characterized in that the first control channel candidate is associated with a second control channel candidate (Khoshnevisan [0131]: first control channel candidate associated with second control channel candidate), the second control channel candidate belonging to a second search space set (Khoshnevisan [0131]: second control channel candidate within a second search space), the second search space set being a search space set among the S search space sets other than the first search space set (Khoshnevisan [0131]: second search space set and first search space set); for each aggregation level (AL), a number of control channel candidates comprised by the first search space set is identical to a number of control channel candidates comprised by the second search space set (Khoshnevisan [0105] and [0109]: “related/linked PDCCH candidates may have the same aggregation level (e.g., same number of CCEs)”); a first TCI state is used to determine antenna port QCL parameter(s) of a control channel in a control resource set associated with the first search space set ([0004], [0028], and [0063]: first TCI state is used for QCL assumption), while a second TCI state is used to determine antenna port QCL parameter(s) of a control channel in a control resource set associated with the second search space set ([0004], [0028], and [0063]: second TCI state is used for QCL assumption).
Regarding claim 20, Khoshnevisan modified by Wu teaches
The method according to claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), characterized in that the phrase that “one control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set being associated with the first control channel candidate” includes that a receiver of the first signaling assumes that a DCI in the control channel candidate in the search space set other than the first search space set is identical to a DCI in the first control channel candidate.
(Khoshnevisan [0131]: “a first control channel candidate…within a first search space set may be linked [being associated with]… to a second control channel candidate…within a second search space set”, with same downlink control message (DCI); Khoshnevisan [0105] and [0125]: identical downlink messaging (DCI), repetitions of DCI of same control channel transmission; further, the term “associated” can be to any degree, so if they are part of the same process, they are by definition associated)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412