DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first acquisition unit configured to acquire”, “a second acquisition unit configured to acquire”, “a third acquisition unit configured to acquire” in claims 1 and 6; “a detection unit configured to detect” and “a moving part configured to move” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Watanabe et al. (JP-2018171778-A -hereinafter Watanabe -As the machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe teaches an information processing system comprising:
one or more information processing devices configured to control one or more three-dimensional shaping devices configured to shape a three-dimensional shaped object; (see Abstract; Watanabe: “a modeling device for producing a three-dimensional object by laminating a modeling material based on three-dimensional shape data of a three-dimensional model on a plate provided detachably from a modeling device main body.”)
a first acquisition unit configured to acquire first shaping plate identification information for identifying a first shaping plate (see Abstract; Watanabe: “Unique identification information associated with the information including the three-dimensional shape data is added to the reading means for reading the identification information on the plate,”), the first shaping plate having an upper surface on which the three-dimensional shaped object is to be shaped (see page 6, paragraph 3; Watanabe: “The plate 20 is a substrate (modeling table) having a layered surface 20 a that holds the modeled object 2 that is produced by stacking the material layers 1, and is detachably held on the stage 30.”) and being attachable to a stage of a first three-dimensional shaping device among the one or more three-dimensional shaping devices; (see page 3, second paragraph; Watanabe: “the stacking of the modeling material is performed on a plate detachably provided on the modeling apparatus main body.”)
a second acquisition unit configured to acquire first three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying the first three-dimensional shaping device; (see page 2, paragraph 5; Watanabe: “Unique identification information associated with information including the three-dimensional shape data is added to the plate, Reading means for reading the identification information on the plate;” See page 7, paragraph 5: “When the confirmation of the modeling preparation is completed in S507, the modeling apparatus 100 requests data from each ordered terminal 203 (S508)”)
a third acquisition unit configured to acquire first-underlayer-related information related to a first underlayer to be shaped on the upper surface of the first shaping plate; and (see page 2, paragraph 5; Watanabe: “Control means for stacking a modeling material on the plate based on the three-dimensional shape data associated with the identification information on the plate read by the reading means;”)
a control unit, wherein the control unit stores, in a storage device, the first shaping plate identification information, the first three-dimensional shaping device identification information, and the first-underlayer-related information in association with one another. (see page 6, first paragraph; Watanabe: “The modeling apparatus 100 according to the present embodiment includes a system control unit 101 (see FIG. 2) as a control unit configured by a CPU (processor), a ROM, a RAM, a user interface unit, a communication unit, and the like. In the system control unit 101, the CPU controls the operation of the modeling apparatus 100 by executing a program stored in a ROM or the like.” See page 5, last paragraph: “FIG. 1 is an external perspective view showing a modeling apparatus 100 of the present embodiment. In the figure, there is shown a modeling chamber 50 that houses the modeling unit 10, the plate 20, the stage 30, the camera unit 40, and a code writing unit (not shown). Further, a modeling chamber door 51, an operation display unit 60, a cartridge housing unit 70, and a work chamber 80 are shown.”)
Regarding Claim 9, Watanabe teaches a storage device provided in an information processing system including one or more information processing devices that control one or more three-dimensional shaping devices configured to shape a three-dimensional shaped object (see Abstract; Watanabe: “a modeling device for producing a three-dimensional object by laminating a modeling material based on three-dimensional shape data of a three-dimensional model on a plate provided detachably from a modeling device main body.”), wherein
the storage device stores first shaping plate identification information for identifying a first shaping plate and first-underlayer-related information in associated with each other (see Abstract; Watanabe: “Unique identification information associated with the information including the three-dimensional shape data is added to the reading means for reading the identification information on the plate,”), the first shaping plate having an upper surface on which the three-dimensional shaped object is to be shaped (see page 6, paragraph 3; Watanabe: “The plate 20 is a substrate (modeling table) having a layered surface 20 a that holds the modeled object 2 that is produced by stacking the material layers 1, and is detachably held on the stage 30.”) and being attachable to a stage of a first three-dimensional shaping device among the one or more three-dimensional shaping devices, and (see page 3, second paragraph; Watanabe: “the stacking of the modeling material is performed on a plate detachably provided on the modeling apparatus main body.”)
the first-underlayer-related information being related to a first underlayer to be shaped on the upper surface of the first shaping plate (see page 6, paragraph 3; Watanabe: “The plate 20 is a substrate (modeling table) having a layered surface 20 a that holds the modeled object 2 that is produced by stacking the material layers 1, and is detachably held on the stage 30.”), and the first-underlayer-related information includes three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the first underlayer among the one or more three-dimensional shaping devices. (see page 3, second paragraph; Watanabe: “the stacking of the modeling material is performed on a plate detachably provided on the modeling apparatus main body.”)
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Kobayashi (JP-2017217792-A -hereinafter Kobayashi -Note: As the machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 16, Kobayashi teaches a three-dimensional shaping device, comprising:
a stage; (see Fig. 5; Kobayashi: “stage 4”)
a discharge head configured to discharge a shaping material on a shaping plate attached to the stage; (see page 5, paragraph 2; Kobayashi: “an apparatus that discharges liquid, such as an ink jet recording apparatus that forms a modeled object by discharging liquid toward the mounting surface by a liquid discharge head (modeling unit) disposed at a position facing the mounting surface of the mounting table.”)
a detection unit configured to detect shaping plate identification information of the shaping plate when the shaping plate is attached to the stage; (see page 15, paragraph 3; Kobayashi: “A modeling use distance detection unit that detects a modeling usage distance L with respect to the modeling reference unit of the model and a modeling usage distance L detected by the modeling usage distance detection unit to model a modeled object on the placement surface by the modeling unit.”)
a moving part configured to move the stage (see page 6, second paragraph; Kobayashi: “The stage 4 can move in the vertical direction of the apparatus (Z-axis direction) by the driving force of the Z-axis drive mechanism 23.”) and the discharge head relative to each other; and (see page 6, first paragraph; Kobayashi: “Both ends of the X-axis drive mechanism 21 are respectively in the longitudinal direction (Y of the Y-axis drive mechanism 22 with respect to the Y-axis drive mechanism 22 extending in the apparatus front-rear direction (front-rear direction in FIGS. 2 and 3 = Y-axis direction).”)
a control unit, wherein (see Fig. 1: “control unit 100.”)
the shaping plate identification information is information for identifying the shaping plate, and (see page 9, second paragraph; Kobayashi: “Three-dimensional shape data of a three-dimensional structure to be modeled by the three-dimensional modeling apparatus 1 of the present embodiment is input from an external device such as a personal computer connected to the three-dimensional modeling apparatus 1 so as to be able to perform data communication.”)
the control unit acquires, from a storage device that stores the shaping plate identification information and underlayer-related information related to an underlayer to be shaped on an upper surface of the shaping plate in association with each other (see page 9, second paragraph; Kobayashi: “The control unit 100 generates data (slice data for modeling) of a large number of layered structures decomposed in the vertical direction based on the input three-dimensional shape data. Each slice data corresponds to each layered structure formed by the filaments ejected from the injection nozzle 11 of the modeling head 10 of the three-dimensional modeling apparatus 1, and the thickness of the layered structure is determined by the three-dimensional modeling apparatus.”), the underlayer-related information associated with the shaping plate identification information detected by the detection unit (see page 9, third paragraph; Kobayashi: “In the modeling execution process, first, the control unit 100 creates a lowermost layered structure on the stage 4 according to the slice data of the lowermost layer (first layer) (S6).”), and determines whether to perform a calibration for each of a height of a nozzle of the discharge head and a height of the stage, based on the acquired underlayer-related information. (see page 9, third paragraph; Kobayashi: “Specifically, the control unit 100 controls the X-axis drive mechanism 21 and the Y-axis drive mechanism 22 based on the slice data of the lowermost layer (first layer) to target the tip of the injection nozzle 11 of the modeling head 10. The filament is ejected from the ejection nozzle 11 while sequentially moving to a position (target position on the XY plane). Thereby, on the stage 4, the layered structure according to the slice data of the lowest layer (1st layer) is modeled.” See page 9, third paragraph: “When the calibration process is finished and each temperature reaches the target temperature (Yes in S5), the control unit 100 proceeds to the modeling execution process.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP-2018171778-A -hereinafter Watanabe -As the machine translation attached) in view of Tang et al. (US 20210103268 A1 -hereinafter Tang).
Regarding Claim 2, Watanabe teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer number-of-use information indicating the number of uses of the first underlayer, and the control unit determines whether the number of uses of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined first threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit.
Tang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer number-of-use information indicating the number of uses of the first underlayer (see [0048]; Tang: “the processor may be configured to select the number of layers (NL) below the new (current) layer (Lc), to be retained for the simulation of the deposit of the current layer.”), and the control unit determines whether the number of uses of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined first threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit. (see [0052]; Tang: “the processor may be configured to compute a representative value of the gradient f(∇T), such as the L2 norm over the layer and may compute the number of layers NL with f(∇T) larger than a chosen threshold below the current printing point (on layer Lc), to be retained in the next simulations.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Watanabe to include Tang’s features of the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer number-of-use information indicating the number of uses of the first underlayer, and the control unit determines whether the number of uses of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined first threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit. Doing so would identify and select which set of tool paths produces optimal thermal, structural, and/or stress characteristics. (Tang, [0059])
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Watanabe and Tang teaches all the limitations of claim 2 above, Tang further teaches wherein the control unit causes an output unit to output information corresponding to a determination result. (see [0076]; Tang: “the methodology may include causing a display device to output a visual animation that depicts each element being sequentially deposited to build up the part.”)
The same motivation to combine Watanabe and Tang a set forth for Claim 2 equally applies to Claim 5.
Claim 10 contains similar limitations to those in claims 2 are rejected using the same rationale.
Claim 12 contains similar limitations to those in claims 5 are rejected using the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Watanabe and Tang teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above, Watanabe further teaches wherein the first underlayer thermal history information includes any one of or both of underlayer heating time information indicating a heating time in which the first underlayer is heated and underlayer heating temperature information indicating a heating temperature at which the first underlayer is heated. (see page 6, paragraph 3; Watanabe: “The heating member 6 is arranged on the inner peripheral side of the intermediate transfer body 4, is movable in the Z direction (height direction), and is temperature-controlled to heat and melt the material layer 1 on the intermediate transfer body 4. It is. The heating member 6 has a heating surface (pressure surface) 6 a that can contact the inner peripheral surface of the intermediate transfer body 4 at the stacking position 8.”)
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP-2018171778-A -hereinafter Watanabe -As the machine translation attached) in view of Yamamoto (US20200269514 -hereinafter Yamamoto).
Regarding Claim 3, Watanabe teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer elapsed time information indicating an elapsed time from shaping of the first underlayer, and the control unit determines whether the elapsed time from shaping of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined second threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit.
Yamamoto from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer elapsed time information indicating an elapsed time from shaping of the first underlayer (see [0080]; Yamamoto: “the FF correction data generating unit 361 may determine whether the shape error has converged on the basis of the number of times that the same correction algorithm is continuously applied.”), and the control unit determines whether the elapsed time from shaping of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined second threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit. (see [0080]; Yamamoto: “the FF correction data generating unit 361 may determine that the shape error has converged if the number of times that the same correction algorithm is applied exceeds a threshold.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Watanabe to include Yamamoto’s features of the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer elapsed time information indicating an elapsed time from shaping of the first underlayer, and the control unit determines whether the elapsed time from shaping of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined second threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit. Doing so would improve accuracy of the shaping layer. (Yamamoto, [0045])
Claim 11 contains similar limitations to those in claims 3 are rejected using the same rationale.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP-2018171778-A -hereinafter Watanabe -As the machine translation attached) in view of Roychowdhury et al. (US20190232428A1 -hereinafter Roychowdhury).
Regarding Claim 4, Watanabe teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer thermal history information indicating a thermal history of the first underlayer, the first underlayer thermal history information includes first thermal history integrated value information indicating an integrated value of the thermal history of the first underlayer, and the control unit determines whether the integrated value of the thermal history of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined third threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit.
Roychowdhury from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer thermal history information indicating a thermal history of the first underlayer, the first underlayer thermal history information includes first thermal history integrated value information indicating an integrated value of the thermal history of the first underlayer (see [0042]; Roychowdhury: “controlling the cooling rate of melt pool 22 includes maintaining the temperature of melt pool 22 at a constant temperature for a predetermined length of time, varying the thermal history of melt pool 22 along a predefined curve”), and the control unit determines whether the integrated value of the thermal history of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined third threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit. (see [0042]; Roychowdhury: “maintaining the temperature of melt pool 22 above a predetermined temperature for a predetermined length of time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Watanabe to include Roychowdhury’s features of the first-underlayer-related information includes first underlayer thermal history information indicating a thermal history of the first underlayer, the first underlayer thermal history information includes first thermal history integrated value information indicating an integrated value of the thermal history of the first underlayer, and the control unit determines whether the integrated value of the thermal history of the first underlayer exceeds a predetermined third threshold, based on the first-underlayer-related information acquired by the third acquisition unit. Doing so would avoid cracking of the component and improve component quality. (Roychowdhury, [0002])
Claim(s) 6-7, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP-2018171778-A -hereinafter Watanabe -As the machine translation attached) in view of Kobayashi (JP-2017217792-A -hereinafter Kobayashi -Note: As the machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 6, Watanabe teaches an information processing system comprising:
one or more information processing devices configured to control one or more three-dimensional shaping devices configured to shape a three-dimensional shaped object; (see Abstract; Watanabe: “a modeling device for producing a three-dimensional object by laminating a modeling material based on three-dimensional shape data of a three-dimensional model on a plate provided detachably from a modeling device main body.”)
a first acquisition unit configured to acquire first shaping plate identification information for identifying a first shaping plate (see Abstract; Watanabe: “Unique identification information associated with the information including the three-dimensional shape data is added to the reading means for reading the identification information on the plate,”), the first shaping plate having an upper surface on which the three-dimensional shaped object is to be shaped (see page 6, paragraph 3; Watanabe: “The plate 20 is a substrate (modeling table) having a layered surface 20 a that holds the modeled object 2 that is produced by stacking the material layers 1, and is detachably held on the stage 30.”) and being attachable to a stage of a first three-dimensional shaping device among the one or more three-dimensional shaping devices; (see page 3, second paragraph; Watanabe: “the stacking of the modeling material is performed on a plate detachably provided on the modeling apparatus main body.”)
a second acquisition unit configured to acquire first three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying the first three-dimensional shaping device; and (see page 2, paragraph 5; Watanabe: “Unique identification information associated with information including the three-dimensional shape data is added to the plate, Reading means for reading the identification information on the plate;” See page 7, paragraph 5: “When the confirmation of the modeling preparation is completed in S507, the modeling apparatus 100 requests data from each ordered terminal 203 (S508)”)
a control unit, wherein the control unit acquires, from a storage device that stores the first shaping plate identification information and first-underlayer-related information related to a first underlayer to be shaped on the upper surface of the first shaping plate in association with each other (see page 6, first paragraph; Watanabe: “The modeling apparatus 100 according to the present embodiment includes a system control unit 101 (see FIG. 2) as a control unit configured by a CPU (processor), a ROM, a RAM, a user interface unit, a communication unit, and the like. In the system control unit 101, the CPU controls the operation of the modeling apparatus 100 by executing a program stored in a ROM or the like.” See page 7, paragraph 5: “each layer is laminated on the plate 20 having the plate ID 21 associated with the modeling job based on the slice data for each layer received from the orderer terminal 203 related to the request.”), the first-underlayer-related information associated with the first shaping plate identification information acquired by the first acquisition unit (see page 2, paragraph 5; Watanabe: “Control means for stacking a modeling material on the plate based on the three-dimensional shape data associated with the identification information on the plate read by the reading means;”),
However, Watanabe does not explicitly teach: and determines whether to perform a calibration for each of a height of a nozzle from which the first three-dimensional shaping device discharges a shaping material and a height of the stage of the first three-dimensional shaping device, based on the acquired first-underlayer-related information and the first three-dimensional shaping device identification information acquired by the second acquisition unit.
Kobayashi from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determines whether to perform a calibration for each of a height of a nozzle from which the first three-dimensional shaping device discharges a shaping material and a height of the stage of the first three-dimensional shaping device, based on the acquired first-underlayer-related information and the first three-dimensional shaping device identification information acquired by the second acquisition unit. (see page 11, paragraph 6; Kobayashi: “an inter-sensor calibration process between the stage sensor 31 and the nozzle sensor 32 may be performed before the calibration process. In the inter-sensor calibration process, for example, the stage sensor 31 on the modeling head 10 is moved to a position facing the nozzle sensor 32, and the distance L4 between the stage sensor 31 and the nozzle sensor 32 is determined by both the stage sensor 31 and the nozzle sensor 32.” See page 8, paragraph 5: “the calibration process of the position of the stage 4 in the Z-axis direction, that is, the process of detecting the modeling use distance L, which is a reference for the amount of stage movement by the Z-axis drive mechanism 23, is performed by modeling with a filament.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Watanabe to include Kobayashi’s features of determining whether to perform a calibration for each of a height of a nozzle from which the first three-dimensional shaping device discharges a shaping material and a height of the stage of the first three-dimensional shaping device, based on the acquired first-underlayer-related information and the first three-dimensional shaping device identification information acquired by the second acquisition unit. Doing so would reduce a processing error due to the orientation of the placement surface deviating from the target. (Kobayashi, page 15, second paragraph)
Claim 7 contains similar limitations to those in claims 5 are rejected using the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 14, Watanabe teaches all the limitations of claim 9 above; however, Watanabe does not teach: wherein the first-underlayer-related information and first-nozzle-related information related to a nozzle of the first three-dimensional shaping device are stored in association with each other, and the first-nozzle-related information includes nozzle identification information for identifying a nozzle attached to the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the first underlayer.
Kobayashi further teaches wherein the first-underlayer-related information and first-nozzle-related information related to a nozzle of the first three-dimensional shaping device are stored in association with each other (see page 2, last paragraph; Kobayashi: “A mounting surface distance detection unit such as a stage sensor 31 that detects the distance L1 to the surface, and a reference such as a nozzle sensor 32 and a movable sensor 33 that acquire the distance L2 between the mounting surface distance detection unit and the modeling reference unit.”), and the first-nozzle-related information includes nozzle identification information for identifying a nozzle attached to the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the first underlayer. (see page 5, paragraph 6; Kobayashi: “the filament supplied by the filament supply unit 6 is heated and melted by the head heating unit 12, and the molten filament is ejected by being pushed out from a predetermined injection nozzle 11 to form a layer on the stage 4. The three-dimensional structure is formed by sequentially stacking the three-dimensional structure.”)
The same motivation to combine Watanabe and Kobayashi a set forth for Claim 6 equally applies to Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 20, Watanabe teaches an information processing system comprising:
one or more information processing devices configured to control one or more three-dimensional shaping devices configured to shape a three-dimensional shaped object (see Abstract; Watanabe: “a modeling device for producing a three-dimensional object by laminating a modeling material based on three-dimensional shape data of a three-dimensional model on a plate provided detachably from a modeling device main body.”), wherein
the information processing system determines, according to a use history of a first shaping plate… the first shaping plate having an upper surface on which the three-dimensional shaped object is to be shaped (see page 6, paragraph 3; Watanabe: “The plate 20 is a substrate (modeling table) having a layered surface 20 a that holds the modeled object 2 that is produced by stacking the material layers 1, and is detachably held on the stage 30.”) and being attachable to the stage of the first three-dimensional shaping device among the one or more three-dimensional shaping devices. (see page 3, second paragraph; Watanabe: “the stacking of the modeling material is performed on a plate detachably provided on the modeling apparatus main body.”)
However, Watanabe does not explicitly teach: whether to perform a calibration for each of a height of a nozzle from which a first three-dimensional shaping device discharges a shaping material and a height of a stage of the first three-dimensional shaping device,
Kobayashi from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches whether to perform a calibration for each of a height of a nozzle from which a first three-dimensional shaping device discharges a shaping material and a height of a stage of the first three-dimensional shaping device, (see page 11, paragraph 6; Kobayashi: “an inter-sensor calibration process between the stage sensor 31 and the nozzle sensor 32 may be performed before the calibration process. In the inter-sensor calibration process, for example, the stage sensor 31 on the modeling head 10 is moved to a position facing the nozzle sensor 32, and the distance L4 between the stage sensor 31 and the nozzle sensor 32 is determined by both the stage sensor 31 and the nozzle sensor 32.” See page 8, paragraph 5: “the calibration process of the position of the stage 4 in the Z-axis direction, that is, the process of detecting the modeling use distance L, which is a reference for the amount of stage movement by the Z-axis drive mechanism 23, is performed by modeling with a filament.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Watanabe to include Kobayashi’s features of whether to perform a calibration for each of a height of a nozzle from which a first three-dimensional shaping device discharges a shaping material and a height of a stage of the first three-dimensional shaping device. Doing so would reduce a processing error due to the orientation of the placement surface deviating from the target. (Kobayashi, page 15, second paragraph)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP-2018171778-A -hereinafter Watanabe -As the machine translation attached) in view of Kobayashi (JP-2017217792-A -hereinafter Kobayashi -Note: As the machine translation attached) in view of Buller (US20170304894A1 -hereinafter Buller).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Watanabe and Kobayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 6 above; however, Watanabe does not explicitly teach: wherein the first shaping plate identification information acquired by the first acquisition unit is information detected from any one of a two-dimensional code, a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag, and an integrated circuit (IC) tag.
Buller from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first shaping plate identification information acquired by the first acquisition unit is information detected from any one of a two-dimensional code, a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (see [0066]; Buller: “The devices may include sensor, actuator, antenna (e.g., radio frequency identification (RFID))”), and an integrated circuit (IC) tag.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Watanabe and Kobayashi to include Buller’s features of the first shaping plate identification information acquired by the first acquisition unit is information detected from any one of a two-dimensional code, a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag. Doing so would reduce time consuming, meticulous, and/or costly manufacturing processes. (Buller, [0006])
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP-2018171778-A -hereinafter Watanabe -As the machine translation attached) in view of Kobayashi (JP-2017217792-A -hereinafter Kobayashi -Note: As the machine translation attached) in view of Poursillie et al. (US20250345986A1 -hereinafter Poursillie).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Watanabe and Kobayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 14 above; however, Watanabe does not explicitly teach: wherein the first-nozzle-related information includes information indicating a replacement history of the nozzle attached to the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the first underlayer.
Poursillie from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first-nozzle-related information includes information indicating a replacement history of the nozzle attached to the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the first underlayer. (see [0101]; Poursillie: “With two separate deposition nozzles, the changeover time is several seconds (usually between 3 and 5), resulting in a dead time of between 3.3 h and 5.5 h to change the deposition nozzle for each layer.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Watanabe and Kobayashi to include Poursillie’s features of the first-nozzle-related information includes information indicating a replacement history of the nozzle attached to the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the first underlayer. Doing so would manufacture highly complex parts, inaccessible to standard manufacturing methods such as material removal (machining, cutting, etc.) or forming (molding, bending, thermoforming, etc.), at no extra cost. (Poursillie, [0002])
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP-2017217792-A -hereinafter Kobayashi -Note: As the machine translation attached) in view of Watanabe et al. (JP-2018171778-A -hereinafter Watanabe -As the machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 17, Kobayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above; however, Kobayashi does not explicitly teach: wherein the underlayer-related information includes three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying a three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the underlayer indicated by the underlayer-related information, and the control unit determines whether to perform the calibration, based on three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying an own three-dimensional shaping device and three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the underlayer indicated by the underlayer-related information.
Watanabe from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein
the underlayer-related information includes three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying a three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the underlayer indicated by the underlayer-related information, and (see Abstract; Watanabe: “Unique identification information associated with the information including the three-dimensional shape data is added to the reading means for reading the identification information on the plate,”)
the control unit determines whether to perform the calibration, based on three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying an own three-dimensional shaping device and three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the underlayer indicated by the underlayer-related information. (see page 2, paragraph 3; Watanabe: “It is characterized in that a marker serving as a reference for alignment is arranged in a two-dimensional distribution on the surface of a cover glass and / or a glass substrate, and a micro stereolithography focus point is positioned based on that position.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kobayashi to include Watanabe’s features of the underlayer-related information includes three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying a three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the underlayer indicated by the underlayer-related information, and the control unit determines whether to perform the calibration, based on three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying an own three-dimensional shaping device and three-dimensional shaping device identification information for identifying the three-dimensional shaping device that has shaped the underlayer indicated by the underlayer-related information. Doing so would prevent a modeled object from being produced on a plate that does not meet the conditions such as the size and causing a modeling defect. (Watanabe, page 7, paragraph 6)
Regarding Claim 18, Kobayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above; however, Kobayashi does not explicitly teach further comprising: a storage unit, wherein the control unit causes the storage unit or the storage device to store the shaping plate identification information and calibration history information indicating a history of calibration in association with each other.
Watanabe from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprising: a storage unit, wherein the control unit causes the storage unit or the storage device to store the shaping plate identification information and calibration history information indicating a history of calibration in association with each other. (see page 6, first paragraph; Watanabe: “The modeling apparatus 100 according to the present embodiment includes a system control unit 101 (see FIG. 2) as a control unit configured by a CPU (processor), a ROM, a RAM, a user interface unit, a communication unit, and the like. In the system control unit 101, the CPU controls the operation of the modeling apparatus 100 by executing a program stored in a ROM or the like.” See page 5, last paragraph: “FIG. 1 is an external perspective view showing a modeling apparatus 100 of the present embodiment. In the figure, there is shown a modeling chamber 50 that houses the modeling unit 10, the plate 20, the stage 30, the camera unit 40, and a code writing unit (not shown). Further, a modeling chamber door 51, an operation display unit 60, a cartridge housing unit 70, and a work chamber 80 are shown.”)
The same motivation to combine Kobayashi and Watanabe a set forth for Claim 17 equally applies to Claim 18.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP-2017217792-A -hereinafter Kobayashi -Note: As the machine translation attached) in view of Buller (US20170304894A1 -hereinafter Buller).
Regarding Claim 19, Kobayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above; however, Kobayashi does not explicitly teach: wherein the shaping plate identification information of the shaping plate is information of any one of information encoded as a two-dimensional code, information stored in a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag, or information stored in an integrated circuit (IC) tag.
Buller from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the shaping plate identification information of the shaping plate is information of any one of information encoded as a two-dimensional code, information stored in a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (see [0066]; Buller: “The devices may include sensor, actuator, antenna (e.g., radio frequency identification (RFID))”), or information stored in an integrated circuit (IC) tag.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kobayashi to include Buller’s features of the shaping plate identification information of the shaping plate is information of any one of information encoded as a two-dimensional code, information stored in a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag, or information stored in an integrated circuit (IC) tag. Doing so would reduce time consuming, meticulous, and/or costly manufacturing processes. (Buller, [0006])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osawa (US20190105845A1) discloses performing shaping by sequentially stacking a shaping material on a stage on the basis of slice data.
/V.N.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117