DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The Drawings filed 13 November 2023 are approved by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner and an initialed copy is attached.
Citation Notation
The following citations are made for the convenience of the reader:
Citations to PG publications are made to paragraph number under the ¶ format. Citations to other publications made under the format “ col 1/2” or pp 1 are directed to column and line number or to a page - whichever is appropriate. It is noted that any reference to a figure or a table is also directed to any accompanying text in the specification or the document. Notwithstanding those citations, the reference(s) is (are) relied upon for the teachings as a whole.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 13-16 in the reply filed on 22 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “the temperature of the substrate and the temperature of perovskite precursor solution are 100° C. to 120° C. respectively” is ambiguous. It is unclear as to the metes and bounds of the claimed limitation (what is the respective values or ranges being claimed?).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US-20210066635-A1) in view of Liao NPL (cited in the IDS).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 13: Kim discloses a process of preparing a perovskite with the steps of coating a precursor solution onto a substrate, adding an anti-solvent such as toluene to the coated precursor solution and annealing (abs, ¶113-149 and examples). Further, Kim discloses a heating range of 80 to 200 degrees C (¶113-125). The Kim reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the feature of precursor solution and the substrate being heated within 20 degrees of the BP of the anti-solvent. At the onset, it is noted that toluene has a BP of around 110 degrees C – thus the taught temperature falls within the claimed range. In an analogous art, the Liao reference discloses that heating the substrate is a REV well known in the art (abs and pg. 1-6). Further, Liao discloses a heating range of 100 to 180 degrees C – which again falls within the claimed range (pg. 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Liao to the teachings of Kim would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems, methods and compositions for the benefit gain of achieving the desired nuclear growth of a uniform film. See MPEP 2143. Further, it is noted that obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the substitution and/or optimization would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Claims 2, 4, 14 and 15: Kim and Liao disclose toluene, the spin-coating application and the claimed precursor (Kim: ¶113-149 and examples & Liao: pg. 1-6).
Claims 6 and 16: Regarding the claimed achieved crystallization, if prior art references teach the substantially process to make a similar product, it would be reasonable that the same function and/or property would be imparted or exhibited such as the crystallization. See MPEP 2112.01. Applicant is welcomed to provide any evidence that the disclosed material is exceedingly different from the claimed material - thus the claimed properties would inevitably not be present.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US-20200090876-A1) in view of Liao NPL (cited in the IDS).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 13: Zhu discloses a process of preparing a perovskite with the steps of coating a precursor solution onto a substrate, adding an anti-solvent such as toluene to the coated precursor solution and annealing (abs, ¶93, 100-109 and examples). Further, Zhu discloses a heating range of 65 to 100 degrees C (¶93 and examples). The Zhu reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the feature of precursor solution and the substrate being heated within 20 degrees of the BP of the anti-solvent. At the onset, it is noted that toluene has a BP of around 110 degrees C – thus the taught temperature falls within the claimed range. In an analogous art, the Liao reference discloses that heating the substrate is a REV that is well known in the art (abs and pg. 1-6). Further, Liao discloses a heating range of 100 to 180 degrees C – which again falls within the claimed range (pg. 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Liao to the teachings of Zhu would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems, methods and compositions for the benefit gain of achieving the desired nuclear growth of a uniform film. See MPEP 2143. Further, it is noted that obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the substitution and/or optimization would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Claims 2, 4, 14 and 15: Zhu and Liao disclose toluene, the spin-coating application and the claimed precursor (Zhu: ¶93, 100-109 and examples & Liao: pg. 1-6).
Claims 6 and 16: Regarding the claimed achieved crystallization, if prior art references teach the substantially process to make a similar product, it would be reasonable that the same function and/or property would be imparted or exhibited such as the crystallization. See MPEP 2112.01. Applicant is welcomed to provide any evidence that the disclosed material is exceedingly different from the claimed material - thus the claimed properties would inevitably not be present.
Claim(s) 6 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim/Zhu and Liao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Snaith (US-20160380125-A1) or Xiao (CN-111364101-A, a translation is provided).
Remark: this rejection is provided for compact prosecution purposes and is directed to the quasi-2D limitation not flowing from the claimed process.
The Kim/Zhu and Liao references disclose the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the quasi-2D feature. In an analogous art, the Snaith or Xiao reference discloses similar processes with coating precursors, adding an anti-solvent, heating and annealing (Snaith: ¶325-356 & pg. 2, 4-6). In particular, Snaith or Xiao discloses achieving the quasi-2D perovskite is a well-known to gain the benefit of enhanced purity and controlled optical/quantum behavior (Snaith: abs, ¶346 and Xiao: pg. 1-6). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Snaith or Xiao to the teachings of Kim/Zhu and Liao would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems, methods and compositions for the benefit gain of enhanced purity and controlled optical/quantum behavior. See MPEP 2143. Further, it is noted that obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the substitution and/or optimization would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Conclusion
/TRI V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764