DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “wherein the interfacial film and the active area each include an oxide of a same material” fails to comply with the written description requirement because in view of applicant’s disclosure, it is not clear how an interfacial film and an active area can be an oxide of a same material because that makes an active area (silicon, [0018]) a silicon oxide.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “wherein the interfacial film and the active area includes an oxide of a same material” fails to comply with the written description requirement because in view of applicant’s disclosure, it is not clear how an interfacial film and an active area can be an oxide of a same material because that makes an active area (silicon, [0018]) a silicon oxide.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “wherein the interfacial film and the active area include an oxide of a same material” fails to comply with the written description requirement because in view of applicant’s disclosure, it is not clear how an interfacial film and an active area can be an oxide of a same material because that makes an active area (silicon, [0018]) a silicon oxide.
Clear explanation or claim modification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4, 6-11, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US publication 2022/0077154 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim154.
Regarding claim 1, Kim154 teaches a semiconductor memory device (fig. 1-3 and related text) comprising: a substrate (101, [0017]); an element isolation pattern (110, [0017]) defining an active area (ACT, [0017]) in the substrate; a first conductive pattern (BL/DC, [0017]) on the substrate and the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a-2b), and extending in a first direction (Y direction, fig. 1), wherein the first conductive pattern is connected to a first portion (portion of ACT near DC, fig. 2a) of the active area; a capacitor structure (CAP, [0017]) on the substrate and the element isolation pattern and connected to a second portion (portion of ACT near BC, fig. 2a) of the active area; a gate trench (trenches for WL and GE, [0022-0025], fig. 2a) defined in the substrate and the element isolation pattern and extending in a second direction (X direction) that intersects the first direction (fig. 1), the gate trench extending across the active area in an area between the first portion and the second portion thereof (fig. 2a); and a second conductive pattern (GE/WL) in the gate trench and extending in the second direction, wherein a first trench width (trench width at top portion in ACT area) of a portion of the gate trench in the active area is greater than a second trench width (trench width at bottom portion in 110 area) of a portion of the gate trench in the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 2, Kim154 teaches wherein the area between the first portion and the second portion of the active area includes a lower pattern (120, [0022]) covered with the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a), and an upper pattern (115, [0034]) on the lower pattern and free from coverage by the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a), wherein a first pattern width of the upper pattern is smaller than a second pattern width of the lower pattern (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 3, Kim154 teaches wherein a portion of the upper pattern adjacent to the first portion and the second portion overlaps the element isolation pattern in the second direction (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 4, Kim154 teaches further comprising: an interfacial film (125, [0025]) in the gate trench and extending along a side surface of the first portion and a side surface of the second portion (fig. 2a); and a gate dielectric film (120, [0022]) between the interfacial film and the second conductive pattern and extending along the interfacial film and the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 6, Kim154 teaches further comprising a capping pattern (128, [0022]) in the gate trench and extending along an upper surface of the second conductive pattern (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 7, Kim154 teaches wherein the element isolation pattern defines a plurality of active areas in the substrate, wherein the plurality of active areas are arranged in a lattice structure in the first direction and the second direction (fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Kim154 teaches wherein a first gate width of a portion of the second conductive pattern (upper portion) in the active area is greater than a second gate width of a portion of the second conductive pattern (lower portion) in the element isolation pattern.
Regarding claim 9, Kim154 teaches wherein a first gate width of a portion of the second conductive pattern (lower portion) in the active area is smaller than a second gate width of a portion of the second conductive pattern (upper portion) in the element isolation pattern.
Regarding claim 10, Kim154 teaches a semiconductor memory device (fig. 1-3 and related text) comprising: a substrate 101, [0017]); an element isolation pattern (110, [0017]) defining an active area (ACT, [0017]) in the substrate; a first conductive pattern (BL/DC, [0017]) on the substrate and the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a-2b), wherein the first conductive pattern extends in a first direction (Y direction, fig. 1), and wherein the first conductive pattern is connected to a first portion (portion of ACT near DC, fig. 2a) of the active area; a capacitor structure (CAP, [0017]) on the substrate and the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a-2b), the capacitor structure connected to a second portion (portion of ACT near BC, fig. 2a) of the active area; a gate trench (trenches for WL and GE, [0022-0025], fig. 2a) defined in the substrate and the element isolation pattern and extending in a second direction (X direction) that intersects the first direction (fig. 1), wherein the gate trench extends across the active area in an area between the first portion and the second portion thereof (fig. 2a); and a second conductive pattern (GE/WL) in the gate trench and extending in the second direction, wherein the area between the first portion and the second portion of the active area includes a lower pattern (120, [0022]) covered with the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a), and an upper pattern (115, [0034]) disposed on the lower pattern and free from coverage by the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a), wherein a first pattern width of the upper pattern is smaller than a second pattern width of the lower pattern (fig. 2a), wherein a portion of the upper pattern adjacent to the first portion and the second portion overlaps the element isolation pattern in the second direction (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 11, Kim154 teaches wherein a first trench width (trench width at top portion in ACT area) of a portion of the gate trench in the active area is greater than a second trench width (trench width at bottom portion in 110 area) of a portion of the gate trench in the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 15, Kim154 teaches wherein the element isolation pattern defines each of a plurality of active areas in the substrate, wherein the plurality of active areas are arranged in a lattice structure in the first direction and the second direction (fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Kim154 teaches a semiconductor memory device (fig. 1-3 and related text) comprising: a substrate (101, [0017]); an element isolation pattern (110, [0017]) defining an active area (ACT, [0017]) in the substrate; a first conductive pattern (BL, [0017]) on the substrate and the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a-2b) and extending in a first direction (Y direction, fig. 1); a direct contact (DC, [0017]) connecting the active area and the first conductive pattern to each other (fig. 2a); a spacer structure (140, [0017]) extending along a side surface of the first conductive pattern (fig. 2a); a buried contact (BC, [0017]) on a side surface of the spacer structure and connected to the active area (fig. 2a); a capacitor structure CAP, [0017]) on the buried contact and connected to the buried contact (fig. 2a); a gate trench (trenches for WL and GE, [0022-0025], fig. 2a) defined in the substrate and the element isolation pattern and extending in a second direction (X direction) that intersects the first direction (fig. 1-2), wherein the gate trench extends across the active area in an area between the direct contact and the buried contact (fig. 2a); and a second conductive pattern (GE/WL) in the gate trench and extending in the second direction, wherein a first width of a portion of the gate trench (trench width at top portion in ACT area) in the active area is greater than a second width of a portion of the gate trench (trench width at bottom portion in 110 area) in the element isolation pattern (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 17, Kim154 teaches further comprising a gate dielectric film (120, [0022]) interposed between the active area and the second conductive pattern (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 19, Kim154 teaches wherein the element isolation pattern defines each of a plurality of active areas in the substrate, wherein the plurality of active areas are arranged in a lattice structure in the first direction and the second direction (fig. 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 14, and 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12 and 14, the claim contains the following limitations: “further comprising: an interfacial film in the gate trench and extending along a side surface of the first portion, a side surface of the second portion, and a side surface and an upper surface of the upper pattern; and a gate dielectric film in the gate trench and extending along an upper surface of the element isolation pattern, and a side surface and an upper surface of the interfacial film” and none of the prior art of record discloses, teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combinations when taken in combination with all other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 20, the claim contains the following limitations: “further comprising: a base metal film between the substrate and the first conductive pattern; a base semiconductor film between the substrate and the base metal film, and including a semiconductor material doped with impurities; and a base silicide film between the base semiconductor film and the base metal film, and including a metal silicide material, wherein the direct contact directly contacts the base metal film” and none of the prior art of record discloses, teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combinations when taken in combination with all other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent cited art.
Kim et al. (US publication 2022/0115377 A1) teaches (a bitline structure and a bitline contact of a memory cell, fig. 1-2).
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897