DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 16, 21, 23, 24, 29, 30, 34-35, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627), and further in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046).
Regarding claim 1, Miao teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a configuration associated with transmission of a plurality of wideband signal on a high frequency (HF) interface of the apparatus (Paragraph 0003…. mmWave (wideband signal) communications occur in an extremely high-frequency (EHF) band that includes frequencies from 30 to 300 gigahertz (GHz). Paragraph 0019….. The eNB 104 and the relay nodes may be equipped with mmWave radio access technology (RAT) interfaces (high frequency interface) to communicate over mmWave communication links. Paragraph 0046….the eNB 104 may transmit a discovery signal message to the RN-5 128. The discovery signal message may include configuration information of mmWave (wide band) discovery signals that may be transmitted by other relay nodes in the coverage area 108. The eNB 104 may have knowledge of the discovery signal configurations of the other relay nodes in coverage area 108 due to respective PCell connections with each of the other relay nodes); and
transmit, based at least in part on the configuration, the plurality of wideband signals via the HF interface (Paragraphs [0028-0030, 0059-0062], especially [0030], ….. Upon receiving the configuration message, the RN-5 128 may start to transmit one or more discovery signals based on the discovery signal configuration information. Paragraphs [0061-0062], …… At 412, the RN-5 128 may transmit a discovery signal confirmation response to the eNB 104. The discovery signal confirmation response may indicate that the RN-5 128 had successfully received the configuration information transmitted at 408. At 416, the RN-5 128 may start to transmit the discovery signal), but does not specifically teach wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the plurality of wideband signals via the HF interface, and wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Ryu teaches wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the plurality of wideband signals via the HF interface (Paragraphs [0053-0055], especially paragraph [0053]…… while the disclosure herein refers to mmW base stations, it should be understood that the disclosure also applies to near mmW base stations. The millimeter wavelength RF (wideband signal which transmits via High Frequency interface) channel has extremely high path loss and a short range. In order to build a useful communication network in the millimeter wavelength spectrum, a beamforming technique may be used to compensate for the extreme high path loss. The beamforming technique focuses the RF energy into a narrow direction to allow the RF beam to propagate farther in that direction. Using the beamforming technique, non-line of sight (NLOS) RF communication in the millimeter wavelength spectrum may rely on reflection and/or diffraction of the beams to reach the UE. Paragraph [0055] ………. The UE 702 may also obtain configuration information associated with mmW base stations in the vicinity of the UE. The configuration information (also referred to herein as millimeter wavelength (wideband signal) access network configuration information) may include positions of the mmW base stations……. The eNB 714 may receive 712 the beamforming type and configuration information associated with the mmW base station 704 from the mmW base station 704. The eNB 714 may transmit the received information with its timing information to the UE 702 in the signal 716. Accordingly, the signal 716 may include information indicating the beamforming type of the mmW base station 704. The beamforming type may indicate whether the mmW base station 704 is equipped to perform digital beamforming or analog beamforming….. The UE 702 may receive the beamforming type, the timing information, the configuration information, and/or additional information in the signal 716 from the eNB 714. Based on the received information in the signal 716, the UE 702 performs an initialization process (transmission beam) with the mmW base station 704). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Rye’s teaching about wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the wideband signal via the HF interface with Miao’s in order to optimize overall network performance so that information can readily be extracted from the modular carrier wave.
The combination of Miao and Ryo fail to teach wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each signal of the plurality of signals with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Karjalainen teaches wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals (Col 1, lines 30-31….mmWave bands) with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations (Claim 1…….. identifying, by an electronic device including a third antenna array different from the first antenna array and the second antenna array, a first beamforming configuration subset from a plurality of first beamforming configurations configurable in the first antenna array based on information comprising global positioning system (GPS) data associated with a location of the first antenna array, wherein the first antenna array is included in a first device, the second antenna array is included in a second device, and each of the plurality of first beamforming configurations is associated with a different data value; selecting, by the electronic device, a data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the first beamforming configuration subset; transmitting, to the first device by the electronic device, instructions to perform beam discovery with the second antenna array based on the data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the first beamforming configuration subset; transmitting, to the second device by the electronic device, a signal based on the first beamforming configuration subset; identifying, by the electronic device, a second beamforming configuration subset from the plurality of second beamforming configurations based on information comprising the GPS data associated with a location of the first antenna array, wherein each of the plurality of second beamforming configurations is associated with a different data value; and selecting, by the electronic device, a data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the second beamforming configuration subset based on the first beamforming configuration subset, wherein the second antenna array is capable of being configured in a plurality of second beamforming configurations, and wherein the transmitting of the signal based on the first beamforming configuration subset comprises transmitting, to the second device by the electronic device, instructions to perform beam discovery with the first antenna array based on the data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the second beamforming configuration subset). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Karjalaimen’s teaching about wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations with Miao’s and Rye’s in order to transmit signal with higher data rates.
Regarding claims 6 and 21, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalaimen teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Ryo teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each transmission beam beamforming configuration, of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration, includes information that indicate one or more of a respective transmit (TX) beam or a respective antenna to be used for transmission of the wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals (Paragraph 0055…… The eNB 714 may receive 712 the beamforming type and configuration information associated with the mmW base station 704 from the mmW base station 704. The eNB 714 may transmit the received information with its timing information to the UE 702 in the signal 716. Accordingly, the signal 716 may include information indicating the beamforming type of the mmW base station 704. The beamforming type may indicate whether the mmW base station 704 is equipped to perform digital beamforming or analog beamforming. The signal 716 may further indicate additional details in association with digital beamforming capabilities at the mmW base station 704. The UE 702 may receive the beamforming type, the timing information, the configuration information, and/or additional information in the signal 716 from the eNB 714. Based on the received information in the signal 716, the UE 702 performs an initialization process with the mmW base station 704).
Regarding claims 8, 23, 34, and 39, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalaimen teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration further includes information that identifies time-domain resources on which the plurality of wideband signal is to be transmitted (Paragraph 0046, ….. the eNB 104 may transmit a discovery signal message to the RN-5 128. The discovery signal message may include configuration information of mmWave (wideband signal) discovery signals that may be transmitted by other relay nodes in the coverage area 108. The eNB 104 may have knowledge of the discovery signal configurations of the other relay nodes in coverage area 108 due to respective PCell connections with each of the other relay nodes. The configuration information may include, for example, the starting time position of each discovery cluster, a number of discovery occasions in each discovery cluster, and a periodicity of the discovery cluster for mmWave discovery signals transmitted by each of the other relay nodes in the coverage area 108).
Regarding claims 9, 24, 35, and 40, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalaimen teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signal on a periodic basis (Paragraph [0091]…. an eNB to: establish a primary cell (PCell) in a mobile broadband spectrum to communicate with a first relay node; transmit, via the PCell, a discovery signal message that includes configuration information of millimeter wave (mmWave) discovery signals that are to be transmitted by one or more additional relay nodes and a request for measurement information corresponding to the mmWave discovery signals. Paragraph 0036, ….as shown in FIG. 2, each of these discovery signals may include a discovery cluster transmitted periodically with the same period of ND frames, for example, 80 ms, 160 ms, or longer).
Regarding claim 16, Miao teaches a method of wireless communication performed at an apparatus, comprising: receiving a configuration associated with transmission of a plurality of wideband signals on an high frequency (HF) interface of the apparatus (Paragraph 0003…. mmWave (wideband signal) communications occur in an extremely high-frequency (EHF) band that includes frequencies from 30 to 300 gigahertz (GHz). Paragraph 0019….. The eNB 104 and the relay nodes may be equipped with mmWave radio access technology (RAT) interfaces (high frequency interface) to communicate over mmWave communication links
Paragraph 0046….the eNB 104 may transmit a discovery signal message to the RN-5 128. The discovery signal message may include configuration information of mmWave (wide band) discovery signals that may be transmitted by other relay nodes in the coverage area 108. The eNB 104 may have knowledge of the discovery signal configurations of the other relay nodes in coverage area 108 due to respective PCell connections with each of the other relay nodes); and
transmitting, based at least in part on the configuration, the plurality of wideband signal via the HF interface (Paragraphs [0028-0030, 0059-0062], especially [0030], ….. Upon receiving the configuration message, the RN-5 128 may start to transmit one or more discovery signals based on the discovery signal configuration information. Paragraphs [0061-0062], …… At 412, the RN-5 128 may transmit a discovery signal confirmation response to the eNB 104. The discovery signal confirmation response may indicate that the RN-5 128 had successfully received the configuration information transmitted at 408. At 416, the RN-5 128 may start to transmit the discovery signal), but does not specifically teach wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the plurality of wideband signal via the HF interface, and wherein the configuration includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal, of the plurality of wideband signals, with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Ryu teaches wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the plurality of wideband signal via the HF interface (Paragraphs [0053-0055], especially paragraph [0053]…… while the disclosure herein refers to mmW base stations, it should be understood that the disclosure also applies to near mmW base stations. The millimeter wavelength RF (wideband signal which transmits via High Frequency interface) channel has extremely high path loss and a short range. In order to build a useful communication network in the millimeter wavelength spectrum, a beamforming technique may be used to compensate for the extreme high path loss. The beamforming technique focuses the RF energy into a narrow direction to allow the RF beam to propagate farther in that direction. Using the beamforming technique, non-line of sight (NLOS) RF communication in the millimeter wavelength spectrum may rely on reflection and/or diffraction of the beams to reach the UE. Paragraph [0055] ………. The UE 702 may also obtain configuration information associated with mmW base stations in the vicinity of the UE. The configuration information (also referred to herein as millimeter wavelength (wideband signal) access network configuration information) may include positions of the mmW base stations……. The eNB 714 may receive 712 the beamforming type and configuration information associated with the mmW base station 704 from the mmW base station 704. The eNB 714 may transmit the received information with its timing information to the UE 702 in the signal 716. Accordingly, the signal 716 may include information indicating the beamforming type of the mmW base station 704. The beamforming type may indicate whether the mmW base station 704 is equipped to perform digital beamforming or analog beamforming….. The UE 702 may receive the beamforming type, the timing information, the configuration information, and/or additional information in the signal 716 from the eNB 714. Based on the received information in the signal 716, the UE 702 performs an initialization process (transmission beam) with the mmW base station 704). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Rye’s teaching about the configuration including information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the wideband signal via the HF interface with Miao’s in order to optimize overall network performance so that information can readily be extracted from the modular carrier wave.
The combination of Miao and Ryo fail to teach wherein the configuration includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal, of the plurality of wideband signals, with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Karjalainen teaches wherein the configuration includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals (Col 1, lines 30-31….mmWave bands), with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations. (Claim 1…….. identifying, by an electronic device including a third antenna array different from the first antenna array and the second antenna array, a first beamforming configuration subset from a plurality of first beamforming configurations configurable in the first antenna array based on information comprising global positioning system (GPS) data associated with a location of the first antenna array, wherein the first antenna array is included in a first device, the second antenna array is included in a second device, and each of the plurality of first beamforming configurations is associated with a different data value; selecting, by the electronic device, a data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the first beamforming configuration subset; transmitting, to the first device by the electronic device, instructions to perform beam discovery with the second antenna array based on the data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the first beamforming configuration subset; transmitting, to the second device by the electronic device, a signal based on the first beamforming configuration subset; identifying, by the electronic device, a second beamforming configuration subset from the plurality of second beamforming configurations based on information comprising the GPS data associated with a location of the first antenna array, wherein each of the plurality of second beamforming configurations is associated with a different data value; and selecting, by the electronic device, a data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the second beamforming configuration subset based on the first beamforming configuration subset, wherein the second antenna array is capable of being configured in a plurality of second beamforming configurations, and wherein the transmitting of the signal based on the first beamforming configuration subset comprises transmitting, to the second device by the electronic device, instructions to perform beam discovery with the first antenna array based on the data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the second beamforming configuration subset). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Karjalaimen’s teaching about wherein the configuration includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal, of the plurality of wideband signals, with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations with Miao’s and Rye’s in order to transmit signal with higher data rates.
Regarding claim 29, Miao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus, cause the apparatus to: receive a configuration associated with transmission of a plurality of wideband signals on an interface of the apparatus (Paragraph 0003…. mmWave (wideband signal) communications occur in an extremely high-frequency (EHF) band that includes frequencies from 30 to 300 gigahertz (GHz). Paragraph 0019….. The eNB 104 and the relay nodes may be equipped with mmWave radio access technology (RAT) interfaces (high frequency interface) to communicate over mmWave communication links. Paragraph 0046….the eNB 104 may transmit a discovery signal message to the RN-5 128. The discovery signal message may include configuration information of mmWave (wide band) discovery signals that may be transmitted by other relay nodes in the coverage area 108. The eNB 104 may have knowledge of the discovery signal configurations of the other relay nodes in coverage area 108 due to respective PCell connections with each of the other relay nodes); and
transmit, based at least in part on the configuration, the plurality of wideband signal on the HF interface (Paragraphs [0028-0030, 0059-0062], especially [0030], ….. Upon receiving the configuration message, the RN-5 128 may start to transmit one or more discovery signals based on the discovery signal configuration information. Paragraphs [0061-0062], …… At 412, the RN-5 128 may transmit a discovery signal confirmation response to the eNB 104. The discovery signal confirmation response may indicate that the RN-5 128 had successfully received the configuration information transmitted at 408. At 416, the RN-5 128 may start to transmit the discovery signal), but does not specifically teach wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations associated with transmission of the plurality of wideband signal via the HF interface, and wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal, of the plurality of wideband signals, with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Ryu teaches wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations associated with transmission of the plurality of wideband signal via the HF interface (Paragraphs [0053-0055], especially paragraph [0053]…… while the disclosure herein refers to mmW base stations, it should be understood that the disclosure also applies to near mmW base stations. The millimeter wavelength RF (wideband signal which transmits via High Frequency interface) channel has extremely high path loss and a short range. In order to build a useful communication network in the millimeter wavelength spectrum, a beamforming technique may be used to compensate for the extreme high path loss. The beamforming technique focuses the RF energy into a narrow direction to allow the RF beam to propagate farther in that direction. Using the beamforming technique, non-line of sight (NLOS) RF communication in the millimeter wavelength spectrum may rely on reflection and/or diffraction of the beams to reach the UE. Paragraph [0055] ………. The UE 702 may also obtain configuration information associated with mmW base stations in the vicinity of the UE. The configuration information (also referred to herein as millimeter wavelength (wideband signal) access network configuration information) may include positions of the mmW base stations……. The eNB 714 may receive 712 the beamforming type and configuration information associated with the mmW base station 704 from the mmW base station 704. The eNB 714 may transmit the received information with its timing information to the UE 702 in the signal 716. Accordingly, the signal 716 may include information indicating the beamforming type of the mmW base station 704. The beamforming type may indicate whether the mmW base station 704 is equipped to perform digital beamforming or analog beamforming….. The UE 702 may receive the beamforming type, the timing information, the configuration information, and/or additional information in the signal 716 from the eNB 714. Based on the received information in the signal 716, the UE 702 performs an initialization process (transmission beam) with the mmW base station 704). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Rye’s teaching about wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration of the wideband signal via the HF interface with Miao’s in order to optimize overall network performance so that information can readily be extracted from the modular carrier wave.
The combination of Miao and Ryo fail to teach wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal, of the plurality of wideband signals, with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Karjalainen teaches wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals (Col 1, lines 30-31….mmWave bands), with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations (Claim 1…….. identifying, by an electronic device including a third antenna array different from the first antenna array and the second antenna array, a first beamforming configuration subset from a plurality of first beamforming configurations configurable in the first antenna array based on information comprising global positioning system (GPS) data associated with a location of the first antenna array, wherein the first antenna array is included in a first device, the second antenna array is included in a second device, and each of the plurality of first beamforming configurations is associated with a different data value; selecting, by the electronic device, a data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the first beamforming configuration subset; transmitting, to the first device by the electronic device, instructions to perform beam discovery with the second antenna array based on the data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the first beamforming configuration subset; transmitting, to the second device by the electronic device, a signal based on the first beamforming configuration subset; identifying, by the electronic device, a second beamforming configuration subset from the plurality of second beamforming configurations based on information comprising the GPS data associated with a location of the first antenna array, wherein each of the plurality of second beamforming configurations is associated with a different data value; and selecting, by the electronic device, a data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the second beamforming configuration subset based on the first beamforming configuration subset, wherein the second antenna array is capable of being configured in a plurality of second beamforming configurations, and wherein the transmitting of the signal based on the first beamforming configuration subset comprises transmitting, to the second device by the electronic device, instructions to perform beam discovery with the first antenna array based on the data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the second beamforming configuration subset). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Karjalaimen’s teaching about wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal, of the plurality of wideband signals, with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations with Miao’s and Rye’s in order to transmit signal with higher data rates.
Regarding claim 30, Miao teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for receiving a configuration associated with transmission of a plurality of wideband signals on an high frequency (HF) interface of the apparatus (Paragraph 0003…. mmWave (wideband signal) communications occur in an extremely high-frequency (EHF) band that includes frequencies from 30 to 300 gigahertz (GHz). Paragraph 0019….. The eNB 104 and the relay nodes may be equipped with mmWave radio access technology (RAT) interfaces (high frequency interface) to communicate over mmWave communication links. Paragraph 0046….the eNB 104 may transmit a discovery signal message to the RN-5 128. The discovery signal message may include configuration information of mmWave (wide band) discovery signals that may be transmitted by other relay nodes in the coverage area 108. The eNB 104 may have knowledge of the discovery signal configurations of the other relay nodes in coverage area 108 due to respective PCell connections with each of the other relay nodes); and
means for transmitting, based at least in part on the configuration, the plurality of wideband signal on the HF interface (Paragraphs [0028-0030, 0059-0062], especially [0030], ….. Upon receiving the configuration message, the RN-5 128 may start to transmit one or more discovery signals based on the discovery signal configuration information. Paragraphs [0061-0062], …… At 412, the RN-5 128 may transmit a discovery signal confirmation response to the eNB 104. The discovery signal confirmation response may indicate that the RN-5 128 had successfully received the configuration information transmitted at 408. At 416, the RN-5 128 may start to transmit the discovery signal), but does not specifically teach wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the plurality of wideband signal via the HF interface, and wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal, of the plurality of wideband signals, with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Ryu teaches wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the plurality of wideband signal via the HF interface (Paragraphs [0053-0055], especially paragraph [0053]…… while the disclosure herein refers to mmW base stations, it should be understood that the disclosure also applies to near mmW base stations. The millimeter wavelength RF (wideband signal which transmits via High Frequency interface) channel has extremely high path loss and a short range. In order to build a useful communication network in the millimeter wavelength spectrum, a beamforming technique may be used to compensate for the extreme high path loss. The beamforming technique focuses the RF energy into a narrow direction to allow the RF beam to propagate farther in that direction. Using the beamforming technique, non-line of sight (NLOS) RF communication in the millimeter wavelength spectrum may rely on reflection and/or diffraction of the beams to reach the UE. Paragraph [0055] ………. The UE 702 may also obtain configuration information associated with mmW base stations in the vicinity of the UE. The configuration information (also referred to herein as millimeter wavelength (wideband signal) access network configuration information) may include positions of the mmW base stations……. The eNB 714 may receive 712 the beamforming type and configuration information associated with the mmW base station 704 from the mmW base station 704. The eNB 714 may transmit the received information with its timing information to the UE 702 in the signal 716. Accordingly, the signal 716 may include information indicating the beamforming type of the mmW base station 704. The beamforming type may indicate whether the mmW base station 704 is equipped to perform digital beamforming or analog beamforming….. The UE 702 may receive the beamforming type, the timing information, the configuration information, and/or additional information in the signal 716 from the eNB 714. Based on the received information in the signal 716, the UE 702 performs an initialization process (transmission beam) with the mmW base station 704). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Rye’s teaching about wherein the configuration includes information that identifies a plurality of transmission beam beamforming configuration associated with transmission of the wideband signal via the HF interface with Miao’s in order to optimize overall network performance so that information can readily be extracted from the modular carrier wave.
The combination of Miao and Ryo fail to teach wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each signal of the plurality of signals with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Karjalainen teaches wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals (Col 1, lines 30-31….mmWave bands) with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations (Claim 1…….. identifying, by an electronic device including a third antenna array different from the first antenna array and the second antenna array, a first beamforming configuration subset from a plurality of first beamforming configurations configurable in the first antenna array based on information comprising global positioning system (GPS) data associated with a location of the first antenna array, wherein the first antenna array is included in a first device, the second antenna array is included in a second device, and each of the plurality of first beamforming configurations is associated with a different data value; selecting, by the electronic device, a data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the first beamforming configuration subset; transmitting, to the first device by the electronic device, instructions to perform beam discovery with the second antenna array based on the data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the first beamforming configuration subset; transmitting, to the second device by the electronic device, a signal based on the first beamforming configuration subset; identifying, by the electronic device, a second beamforming configuration subset from the plurality of second beamforming configurations based on information comprising the GPS data associated with a location of the first antenna array, wherein each of the plurality of second beamforming configurations is associated with a different data value; and selecting, by the electronic device, a data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the second beamforming configuration subset based on the first beamforming configuration subset, wherein the second antenna array is capable of being configured in a plurality of second beamforming configurations, and wherein the transmitting of the signal based on the first beamforming configuration subset comprises transmitting, to the second device by the electronic device, instructions to perform beam discovery with the first antenna array based on the data value associated with each beamforming configuration included in the second beamforming configuration subset). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Karjalaimen’s teaching about wherein the configuration further includes instructions to transmit each wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals with a respective different transmission beam beamforming configuration of the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations with Miao’s and Rye’s in order to transmit signal with higher data rates.
Claims 2, 4, 17, and 19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046), and further in view of Stephenne et al. (US 2016/0353271).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the combination of Miao, Rye, and Karjalainen fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the HF interface is a millimeter wave (mmW) interface.
However, in related art, Stephenne teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the HF interface is a millimeter wave (mmW) interface (Paragraph 0039; claims 9 and 18).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Stephenne’s teaching about wherein the HF interface is a millimeter wave (mmW) interface with Miao’s, Ryo’s, and Karjalainenj’s invention in order to transmit a huge data in faster rate.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalainen fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the configuration, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the configuration from a network entity via one or more low frequency (LF) interfaces of the apparatus.
However, in related art, Stephenne teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to identify the configuration, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the configuration from a network entity via one or more low frequency (LF) interfaces of the apparatus (Paragraphs 0004, 0031, 0040; claims 10 and 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Stephenne’s teaching about wherein, to identify the configuration, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the configuration from a network entity via one or more low frequency (LF) interfaces of the apparatus with Miao’s and Ryo’s so that more efficient and highly reliable communication can be realized.
Claims 3, 18, 33, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046), and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0145094).
Regarding claims 3, 18, 33, and 38, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalainen fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is a millimeter wave (mmW) repeater.
However, in related art, Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is a millimeter wave (mmW) repeater (Paragraphs 0037-0080). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Huang’s teaching about wherein the apparatus is a millimeter wave (mmW) repeater with Miao’s, Ryo’s, and Karjalainen’s invention in order to transmit data in faster rate.
Claims 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046), and further in view of Gallhauser et al. (US 2019/0391194).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, the combination of Miao and Ryo fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration further includes information associated with a transmit (TX) beam power setting associated with transmission of the wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals.
However, in related art, Gallhauser teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration further includes information associated with a transmit (TX) beam power setting associated with transmission of the wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals (Paragraph 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Gallhauser’s teaching about wherein the configuration further includes information associated with a transmit (TX) beam power setting associated with transmission of the wideband signal of the plurality of wideband signals with Miao’s, Ryo’s, and Karjalainen’s invention in order to increase link robustness and/or achieve high throughput.
Claims 10, 25, 36, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046), and further in view of Wisherd et al. (US 2015/0097716).
Regarding claims 10, 25, 36, and 41, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalainen fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signals on a semi-persistent basis.
However, in related art, Wisherd teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signals on a semi-persistent basis (Claim 24….wherein the one or more wideband RF signal is transmitted using continuous (semi-persistent basis) wideband RF signaling). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Wisherd’s teaching about wherein the configuration indicates that the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signals on a semi-persistent basis with Miao’s, Ryo’s, and Karjalainen’s invention in order to maximize efficiency of a limited radio resource in a mobile communication system, methods for more effectively transmitting data in time, space, and frequency domains.
Claims 11 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046) in view of Wisherd et al. (US 2015/0097716), and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2019/0090227).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, the combination of Miao, Ryo, Karjalainen, and Wisherd teach all the claimed elements in claim 10. In addition, Wisherd teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the configuration indicates that the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signals on the semi-persistent basis (Claim 24….wherein the one or more wideband RF signal is transmitted using continuous (semi-persistent basis) wideband RF signaling), but does not teach ……in a configured set of time-domain resources.
However, in related art, Tsai teaches …….in a configured set of time-domain resources (Paragraphs 0207-0214). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Tsai’s teaching about in a configured set of time-domain resources with Miao’s, Ryo’s, Karjalainen’s, and Wisherd’s invention in order to effectively utilize the resource assignment.
Claims 12, 27, 37, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046), and further in view of Mollenkopt et al. (US Patent #6,252,915).
Regarding claims 12, 27, 37, and 42, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalainen fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signals based on an occurrence of an event.
However, in related art, Mollenkopf teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signals based on an occurrence of an event (Col 10, lines 1-7…..The gain adjustment performed by transmit power tracking loop 216 is based on the gain calculated from the sum of the estimated powers of the narrowband channels and a measurement of the power (occurrence of an event) of the wideband signal immediately prior to transmission via antenna 112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Mollenkopf’s teaching about wherein the configuration indicates that the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signals based on an occurrence of an event with Miao’s, Ryo’s, and Karjalainen’s invention in order to maintain a desired power level.
Claims 13 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461 in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046) in view of Mollenkopt et al. (US Patent #6,252,915) in view of Wisherd et al. (US 2015/0097716), and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2019/0090227).
Regarding claims 13 and 28, the combination of Miao, Ryo, Karjalainen, and Mollenkopt fail to teach the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the configuration further indicates that, upon the occurrence of the event, the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signal on a configured set of time-domain resources.
However, in related art, Wisherd teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the configuration further indicates that, upon the occurrence of the event, the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signal on a configured set of time-domain resources (Claim 24….wherein the one or more wideband RF signal is transmitted using continuous (semi-persistent basis) wideband RF signaling). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Wisherd’s teaching about wherein the configuration further indicates that, upon the occurrence of the event, the apparatus is to transmit the plurality of wideband signal on a configured set of time-domain resources with Miao’s, Ryo’s, Karjalainen’s, and Mollenkopt’s invention in order to maximize efficiency of a limited radio resource in a mobile communication system, methods for more effectively transmitting data in time, space, and frequency domains.
The combination of Miao, Ryo, Karjalainen, Mollenkopt, and Wisherd fail to teach the underlying part of transmit the wideband signal on a configured set of time-domain resources.
However, in related art, Tsai teaches the underlying part of transmit the wideband signal on a configured set of time-domain resources (Paragraphs 0207-0214). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Tsai’s teaching about transmit the wideband signal on a configured set of time-domain resources with Miao’s, Ryo’s, Karjalainen’s, Mollenkopt’s, and Wisherd’s invention in order to effectively utilize the resource assignment.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046), and further in view of Dahlman et al. (US 2011/0176480).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalainen fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: generate the plurality of wideband signal based at least in part on the configuration.
However, in related art, Dahlman teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: generate the plurality of wideband signal based at least in part on the configuration (Claims 26, 32, 39, and 45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Dahlman’s teaching about wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: generate the plurality of wideband signal based at least in part on the configuration with Miao’s, Ryo’s, and Karjalainen’s invention in order to achieve a high data transfer rate.
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 2018/0249461) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2015/0373627) in view of Karjalainen (US Patent #11,083,046), and further in view of Islam et al. (US 2019/0199405).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, the combination of Miao, Ryo, and Karjalainen fail to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration includes information that indicates whether the plurality of wideband signal is to be swept in accordance with the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations.
However, in related art, Islam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration includes information that indicates whether the plurality of wideband signal is to be swept in accordance with the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations (See abstract; Paragraphs 0012-0013, 0035; claims 1, 7, and 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Islam’s teaching about wherein the configuration includes information that indicates whether the plurality of wideband signal is to be swept in accordance with the plurality of transmission beam beamforming configurations with Miao’s, Ryo’s, and Karjalainen’s invention in order to have higher directive gains over single antenna or diversity antenna configurations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-19, and 21-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132