DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application No. 18/507,298 filed on August 04, 2026.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
4. The title of the invention has been amended as “Display Device Comprising Pixel Circuit Layer and Growth Substrate and Method for Manufacturing the Same”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-5, 11, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0352277 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim et al. teaches a display device comprising (Fig. 14A):
a pixel circuit layer (PCL, para [0254] lower part- see the annotated figure below) including a transistor (T, para [0140], see figure below);
a growth substrate (PSV, para [0140] made of aluminum oxide/AlO.sub.x, para [0155]) disposed on the pixel circuit layer (PCL- lower part);
a light emitting element (11/12/13, para [0114]) disposed on the growth substrate (PSV); and
an electrode (BDE2, para [0255]) disposed on the light emitting element (11/12/13) and electrically connecting the light emitting element (11/12/13) and the transistor (T).
wherein the growth substrate (PSV) is a base layer for epitaxial growth of the light emitting element (11/12/13, para [0114]) (the underline limitation is a functional limitation/an intended use).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 14A), the growth substrate is a sapphire substrate (PSV, para [0155], made of aluminum oxide/AlO.sub.x which is Sapphire and well known to the industry, and the substrate refers to a carrier or support).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 14A), the light emitting element (11/12/13, para [0114]) is an inorganic light emitting element, the light emitting element (11/12/13) includes:
a first semiconductor layer (11, para [0114]) disposed on the growth substrate (PSV);
a light emitting layer (12 active layer, para [0114]) disposed on the first semiconductor layer (11);
a second semiconductor layer (13, para [0114]) disposed on the light emitting layer (12);
an electrode layer (BDE1) disposed on the second semiconductor layer (13); and
an insulating layer (CTL) disposed on the electrode layer (BDE1), covering the light emitting layer (12) and the second semiconductor layer (13), and partially exposing the electrode layer (BDE1), and
the electrode (BDE2) electrically connects the electrode layer (BDE1) and the transistor (T).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 14A):
sub-pixels (PXL1, PXL2, PXL3) each including the light emitting element (12),
wherein the growth substrate (PSV) is provided in an island shape in each of the sub-pixels (PXL1, PXL2, PXL3).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 14A), the growth substrate (PSV) is disposed on an entire area of the pixel circuit layer (PCL- lower part).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 14A), at least one of the first semiconductor layer (11), the light emitting layer (12), the second semiconductor layer (13), and the electrode layer (BDE1) includes a curved surface in a cross-sectional view (Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 14A), further comprising:
a color conversion layer (CCL1, para [0258]) disposed on the light emitting element (11/12/13) and converting a wavelength of light emitted from the light emitting element (this is a functional limitation/an intended use).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 6 (claims 7-10 depend on claim 6), 12 (claim 13 depends on claim 12), 14 (claim 15 depends on claim 14) are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. Claim 6: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious of a display device comprising:
Claim 6 recites …. the first semiconductor layer, the light emitting layer, the second semiconductor layer, and the electrode layer are sequentially stacked on an upper surface of the growth substrate in a direction inclined with respect to the upper surface of the growth substrate, and
lower surfaces of the first semiconductor layer, the light emitting layer, the second semiconductor layer, and the electrode layer are positioned on a same plane.
Claim 12 recites …. the light emitting layer and the second semiconductor layer are spaced apart from the growth substrate, and
a portion of the electrode layer contacts the growth substrate.
Claim 14 recites …. the first semiconductor layer has an inclined surface inclined with respect to an upper surface of the growth substrate, and
each of the light emitting layer, the second semiconductor layer, and the electrode layer has a substantially constant thickness in a direction perpendicular to the inclined surface and is stacked on the inclined surface.
The prior art, Kim et al. (US 2022/0352277 A1) does not disclose the lower surfaces of the light-emitting element comprising the first semiconductor layer, the light emitting layer, the second semiconductor layer, and the electrode layer are positioned on a same plane, therefore, either by itself or in combination with other arts fail to disclose the above quoted limitations in the section 12.
Response to Arguments
10. It has been acknowledged that the applicant amended claims 1, 2, per the response dated on 08/04/2026. In the claim 1 amendment, the applicant has crossed-out the limitation from claim 2, and added to claim 1. No new limitation (s) has been added.
Applicant’s remarks in pages 8-10 have been considered, but they are not found persuasive, because the applicant made argument on ‘growth substrate’ and the prior art, Kim et al. discloses PSV layer, considered as growth substrate or layer, which is made of aluminum oxide (means sapphire or corundum, well known in the semiconductor arena). This is to remind that these are device claims, and rejected how they were constructed.
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812