DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 have been presented for examination.
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention “ELECTRIC-POWER CONVERSION DEVICE, ELECTRICITY RECEIVING SYSTEM, AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING THE SAME” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The term “abnormality detection portion” is not present or described in the written description in the specification, which leads to doubt about what this component is and how it functions.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “propelling device” and “driving device” in claims 1-2, 8, and 12. See specification (Pages 14-15, Lines 19-15.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oqab (US 20250141270 A1), in view of Perlman (US 20100044123 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Oqab discloses an electric-power conversion device for receiving an electromagnetic wave transmitted from space and converting the electromagnetic wave into electric power [0160] “The aerial craft 522 include arrays of EM radiation transmitters and receivers (including rectennas). The aerial craft 522 receive the radiation 526 beamed down from the satellite 521 and retransmit the radiation 526 downward toward the earth. The system 520 includes ground-based parabolic receivers 525 to collect the EM radiation 526 beamed down from the aerial craft 522. The parabolic receivers 525 may include rectenna arrays to convert the received radiation 526 to electricity for use on the ground.”, the electric-power conversion device comprising: an electric-power conversion portion for receiving an electromagnetic wave transmitted from space and converting the electromagnetic wave into electric power [0117] “The multi-copter 322 includes rectennas for receiving the electromagnetic radiation 326 and converting it to electrical current to power the multi-copter 322 systems.”
a propelling device or driving device for moving the electric-power conversion device [0072] “The UAV 100 includes a hybrid propulsion system including at least one rotor/propeller 104”
a positioning device for determining a position of the electric-power conversion device [0075] “The UAV 100 includes one or more sensors/cameras/probes 108. The sensors 108 may be for navigation/control of the UAV 100 (e.g., cameras, radar, lidar sensors)” [0076] “The UAV 100 may be automated for remote operations wherein upon deployment the UAV 100 positions itself at a pre-determine aerial position to relay RF signals.”
a control device for controlling the propelling device or the driving device based on information about the position and electric power received by the electric-power conversion portion [0077] The UAV 100 includes a controller configured for executing a movement process and a communication process. The movement process includes deflating the balloon 104 and exerting propulsion and buoyancy through the propeller 102 and/or balloon 104 to position the drone.” [0117] “The multi-copter 322 includes rectennas for receiving the electromagnetic radiation 326 and converting it to electrical current to power the multi-copter 322 systems. The multi-copter 322 and the transmitter 324 must be positioned and oriented appropriately for the radiation 326 to be received by the multi-copter 322.” [0125] “The drone 366 is used for wildlife management applications in the vicinity of an area of interest, such as an airport to keep birds away from aircraft flight paths. When the drone 366 is low on power, it may fly into the beam riding highway 365a, for example, at point A to recharge the power source 368. As the drone 366 travels between the aerial craft 362a, 362b along the beam riding highway 365a, the power source 368 is recharged. When the power source 368 is sufficiently charged, the drone 366 exits the beam riding highway 365a, for example, at point B and may then return to its operational mode of keeping birds away.”
Oqab does not appear to teach the full claim limitation regarding “an electric-power supply device for supplying electric power received by the electric-power conversion portion to an electric system”
However, Perlman teaches equivalent teachings an electric-power supply device for supplying electric power received by the electric-power conversion portion to an electric system [0067] “a rectenna 160 is coupled to the underside of a vehicle and is positioned to receive the RF signals transmitted from the RF generator 171. The rectenna 160 converts the RF signals into DC electrical power. Specifically, the rectenna 160 provides current to a charger unit 127 via electrical connection 161. Using the power from the rectenna 160, the charger unit 127 charges a set of batteries 122.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art before the effective filling date to combine Oqab and Perlman to make the system to include an electric-power supply device for supplying electric power received by the electric-power conversion portion to an electric system.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Oqab and Perlman to improve overall system efficiency [Perlman 0038] “For example, a method according to one embodiment of the invention comprises: positioning an antenna array beneath or on the road surface of a roadway, the antenna array configured to transmit RF signals responsive to RF processing logic and/or circuitry; coupling a rectenna array to a vehicle, the rectenna array configured to receive the RF signals transmitted from the antenna array and to generate power from the RF signals; providing feedback signals from the vehicle to the RF processing logic and/or circuitry, the feedback signals including channel state information (CSI) defining a current state of the channels between the antenna array and the rectenna array, the RF processing logic and/or circuitry using the channel state information to adjust the RF signal transmissions from the antenna array to improve the efficiency of the power generated by the rectenna array; and using the power generated by the rectenna array to power the vehicle.”
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches the electric-power conversion device according to claim 1, Oqab teach wherein the control device controls the propelling device or the driving device based on information … about the position [0077] The UAV 100 includes a controller configured for executing a movement process and a communication process. The movement process includes deflating the balloon 104 and exerting propulsion and buoyancy through the propeller 102 and/or balloon 104 to position the drone.” [0117] “The multi-copter 322 includes rectennas for receiving the electromagnetic radiation 326 and converting it to electrical current to power the multi-copter 322 systems. The multi-copter 322 and the transmitter 324 must be positioned and oriented appropriately for the radiation 326 to be received by the multi-copter 322.”
Oqab does not teach the full claim limitation regarding “wherein the control device controls the propelling device or the driving device based on information about an electromagnetic-wave energy intensity distribution.”
However, Perlman teaches equivalent teachings wherein the control device controls the propelling device or the driving device based on information about an electromagnetic-wave energy intensity distribution [0100] “FIG. 17 shows one example where the BW.sub.-3 dB of the antenna radiation pattern is dynamically adjusted to the height (h.sub.1, h.sub.2) and geometry of the rectenna arrays 1 (1650a), 2 (1650b) to provide uniform power distribution to the rectenna for different types of vehicles.” [0101] “To enable this adaptation mechanism, the vehicle must provide information regarding the rectenna array (i.e., geometry, height from the ground, etc.) to the RF processing circuitry 1602” [0102] “The RF processing circuitry 1602 under the road surface processes the feedback information to reconfigure the antenna array 1601 as shown in FIG. 18. For example, based on the feedback information, an antenna configurator unit 1802 selects the optimal radiation pattern that satisfies certain performance criteria (e.g., to maximize the received power). The RF generator 1801 then generates the optimal radiation pattern.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art before the effective filling date to combine Oqab and Perlman to make the system wherein the control device controls the propelling device or the driving device based on information about an electromagnetic-wave energy intensity distribution and about the position.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Oqab and Perlman to improve overall system efficiency [Perlman 0038] “For example, a method according to one embodiment of the invention comprises: positioning an antenna array beneath or on the road surface of a roadway, the antenna array configured to transmit RF signals responsive to RF processing logic and/or circuitry; coupling a rectenna array to a vehicle, the rectenna array configured to receive the RF signals transmitted from the antenna array and to generate power from the RF signals; providing feedback signals from the vehicle to the RF processing logic and/or circuitry, the feedback signals including channel state information (CSI) defining a current state of the channels between the antenna array and the rectenna array, the RF processing logic and/or circuitry using the channel state information to adjust the RF signal transmissions from the antenna array to improve the efficiency of the power generated by the rectenna array; and using the power generated by the rectenna array to power the vehicle.”
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches the electric-power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising: Oqab does not appear to teach “an abnormality detection portion for detecting an abnormality based on information about electric power received by the electric-power conversion portion.”
However, Perlman teaches equivalent teachings wherein an abnormality detection portion for detecting an abnormality based on information about electric power received by the electric-power conversion portion [0091] “ the pilot signals (also referred to as "training" signals) received by the multi-element antenna array 1650 on the vehicle are used to calculate channel state information which characterizes the current state of the communication channels between each of the transmit/receive antenna elements 1601, 1650. In particular, RF processing logic and circuitry 1600 on the vehicle determines the channel state information (e.g., using techniques described below) and transmits the channel state information to the RF processing logic and circuitry 1602 under the road surface.” [0094] “When the energy distribution across the rectennas of an array 1650 is not uniform (i.e., detecting an abnormality), the system in FIG. 16 may experience loss in "collection efficiency". Two reasons why this unequal power distribution may occur are: [0095] The radiation pattern of the transmit antenna 173 is not uniform over the range of angles that span the surface of the rectenna array. This power distribution depends on the geometry of the rectenna array, height of the array from the ground, and width of the radiation pattern of the antenna 173 (typically measured in terms of -3 dB beamwidth or BW.sub.-3 dB).”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art before the effective filling date to combine Oqab and Perlman to make the system wherein an abnormality detection portion for detecting an abnormality based on information about electric power received by the electric-power conversion portion.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Oqab and Perlman to improve overall system efficiency [Perlman 0038] “For example, a method according to one embodiment of the invention comprises: positioning an antenna array beneath or on the road surface of a roadway, the antenna array configured to transmit RF signals responsive to RF processing logic and/or circuitry; coupling a rectenna array to a vehicle, the rectenna array configured to receive the RF signals transmitted from the antenna array and to generate power from the RF signals; providing feedback signals from the vehicle to the RF processing logic and/or circuitry, the feedback signals including channel state information (CSI) defining a current state of the channels between the antenna array and the rectenna array, the RF processing logic and/or circuitry using the channel state information to adjust the RF signal transmissions from the antenna array to improve the efficiency of the power generated by the rectenna array; and using the power generated by the rectenna array to power the vehicle.”
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches the electric-power conversion device according to claim 1, Oqab teaches wherein the control device includes a movement command receiving device for receiving a movement command from outside [0099] “The sandwich satellite module 260 may receive a pilot signal 274 from a ground-based antenna 272. The pilot signal 274 may be a command or navigation signal to cause the sandwich satellite module 260 to, change orientation/position” [0115] “The ground control station 312 sends command and control signals to a plurality of satellites 314 and drones 316, 318. The satellite 314 and drones 316, 318 may be positioned at variable altitudes to enable relaying of command-and-control signals beyond line of sight.”
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches the electricity receiving system according to claim 5, wherein among the plurality of electric-power conversion devices, a first electric-power conversion device has a shape different from that of a second electric-power conversion device [0002] “For example, rotor-based aircraft, such as multirotor aircraft or helicopters, may allow for hovering and high maneuverability, while airships may allow for hovering with minimal energy expenditure.” [0078] “The UAV 120 is a multi-rotor system. The UAV 130 is an inflatable system (e.g., a balloon or airship). The UAV 140 is a fixed-wing system (e.g., a jet or propeller aircraft). Each high-altitude platform UAV relay station 120, 130, 140 includes a plurality of RF antennas 122, 132, 142 for relaying RF communications over a wide area. The UAV 130, being inflatable may be particularly well suited to high altitude operations, as it has no propellers which lose efficiency and may not be operable at high altitudes where air is thin. Referring to FIGS. 2B-2C, the wing 141 of the fixed wing UAV 140 includes antennas 142 within the wing 141 for reduced drag.”
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches the electricity receiving system according to claim 5, Oqab does not teach “further comprising: a storage battery for storing electric power received by the electric-power conversion portions”
However, Perlman teaches equivalent teachings wherein a storage battery for storing electric power received by the electric-power conversion portions [0067] “Specifically, the rectenna 160 provides current to a charger unit 127 via electrical connection 161. Using the power from the rectenna 160, the charger unit 127 charges a set of batteries 122. The charger 127, batteries 122, generator 120, electric motor 124 and power split device 118 may be the same (or similar) types as those used in prior electric vehicles. In addition, as illustrated, the vehicle may also be equipped with an IC engine 116 (coupled to the power split device 118 as in prior vehicles).”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art before the effective filling date to combine Oqab and Perlman to make the system to have a storage battery for storing electric power received by the electric-power conversion portions.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Oqab and Perlman to improve overall system efficiency [Perlman 0038] “For example, a method according to one embodiment of the invention comprises: positioning an antenna array beneath or on the road surface of a roadway, the antenna array configured to transmit RF signals responsive to RF processing logic and/or circuitry; coupling a rectenna array to a vehicle, the rectenna array configured to receive the RF signals transmitted from the antenna array and to generate power from the RF signals; providing feedback signals from the vehicle to the RF processing logic and/or circuitry, the feedback signals including channel state information (CSI) defining a current state of the channels between the antenna array and the rectenna array, the RF processing logic and/or circuitry using the channel state information to adjust the RF signal transmissions from the antenna array to improve the efficiency of the power generated by the rectenna array; and using the power generated by the rectenna array to power the vehicle.”
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches a method for controlling an electric-power conversion device for receiving an electromagnetic wave transmitted from space and converting the electromagnetic wave into electric power, the method comprising: receiving an electromagnetic wave transmitted from space using an electric-power conversion portion [0160] “The aerial craft 522 include arrays of EM radiation transmitters and receivers (including rectennas). The aerial craft 522 receive the radiation 526 beamed down from the satellite 521 and retransmit the radiation 526 downward toward the earth. The system 520 includes ground-based parabolic receivers 525 to collect the EM radiation 526 beamed down from the aerial craft 522. The parabolic receivers 525 may include rectenna arrays to convert the received radiation 526 to electricity for use on the ground.”; converting the electromagnetic wave into electric power [0117] “The multi-copter 322 includes rectennas for receiving the electromagnetic radiation 326 and converting it to electrical current to power the multi-copter 322 systems.”; moving the electric-power conversion device using a propelling device or a driving device [0072] “The UAV 100 includes a hybrid propulsion system including at least one rotor/propeller 104”; determining a position of the electric-power conversion device using a positioning device; controlling the propelling device or the driving device based on information about the position and electric power received by the electric-power conversion portion [0075] “The UAV 100 includes one or more sensors/cameras/probes 108. The sensors 108 may be for navigation/control of the UAV 100 (e.g., cameras, radar, lidar sensors)” [0076] “The UAV 100 may be automated for remote operations wherein upon deployment the UAV 100 positions itself at a pre-determine aerial position to relay RF signals.”;
Oqab does not appear to teach the full claim limitation regarding “supplying electric power received by the electric-power portion to an electric system; and analyzing information obtained from the electric-power conversion device and the positioning device and changing the position of the electric-power conversion device based on the information.”
However, Perlman teaches equivalent teachings supplying electric power received by the electric-power portion to an electric system [0067] “a rectenna 160 is coupled to the underside of a vehicle and is positioned to receive the RF signals transmitted from the RF generator 171. The rectenna 160 converts the RF signals into DC electrical power. Specifically, the rectenna 160 provides current to a charger unit 127 via electrical connection 161. Using the power from the rectenna 160, the charger unit 127 charges a set of batteries 122.”
and analyzing information obtained from the electric-power conversion device and the positioning device and changing the position of the electric-power conversion device based on the information [0101] “To enable this adaptation mechanism, the vehicle must provide information regarding the rectenna array (i.e., geometry, height from the ground, etc.) to the RF processing circuitry 1602” [0102] “The RF processing circuitry 1602 under the road surface processes the feedback information to reconfigure the antenna array 1601 as shown in FIG. 18. For example, based on the feedback information, an antenna configurator unit 1802 selects the optimal radiation pattern that satisfies certain performance criteria (e.g., to maximize the received power). The RF generator 1801 then generates the optimal radiation pattern.” [0115] “Another solution to track the location of the rectenna array as the vehicle moves on the road is to use arrays 2110-2112 distributed along the surface of the road as shown in FIG. 21.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art before the effective filling date to combine Oqab and Perlman to make the system wherein supplying electric power received by the electric-power portion to an electric system; and analyzing information obtained from the electric-power conversion device and the positioning device and changing the position of the electric-power conversion device based on the information.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine Oqab and Perlman to improve overall system efficiency [Perlman 0038] “For example, a method according to one embodiment of the invention comprises: positioning an antenna array beneath or on the road surface of a roadway, the antenna array configured to transmit RF signals responsive to RF processing logic and/or circuitry; coupling a rectenna array to a vehicle, the rectenna array configured to receive the RF signals transmitted from the antenna array and to generate power from the RF signals; providing feedback signals from the vehicle to the RF processing logic and/or circuitry, the feedback signals including channel state information (CSI) defining a current state of the channels between the antenna array and the rectenna array, the RF processing logic and/or circuitry using the channel state information to adjust the RF signal transmissions from the antenna array to improve the efficiency of the power generated by the rectenna array; and using the power generated by the rectenna array to power the vehicle.”
Regarding Claim 9, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 3, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 10, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 2, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches the method for controlling an electric-power conversion device according to claim 8, further comprising: Oqab does not teach “analyzing an intensity distribution of the electromagnetic wave and an electricity receiving time period and changing the position of the electric-power conversion device based on result of the analysis.”
However, Perlman teaches equivalent teachings analyzing an intensity distribution of the electromagnetic wave and an electricity receiving time period and changing the position of the electric-power conversion device based on result of the analysis [0100] “FIG. 17 shows one example where the BW.sub.-3 dB of the antenna radiation pattern is dynamically adjusted to the height (h.sub.1, h.sub.2) and geometry of the rectenna arrays 1 (1650a), 2 (1650b) to provide uniform power distribution to the rectenna for different types of vehicles.” [0101] “To enable this adaptation mechanism, the vehicle must provide information regarding the rectenna array (i.e., geometry, height from the ground, etc.) to the RF processing circuitry 1602” [0102] “The RF processing circuitry 1602 under the road surface processes the feedback information to reconfigure the antenna array 1601 as shown in FIG. 18. For example, based on the feedback information, an antenna configurator unit 1802 selects the optimal radiation pattern that satisfies certain performance criteria (e.g., to maximize the received power). The RF generator 1801 then generates the optimal radiation pattern.” “[0090] FIG. 16 illustrates one embodiment of the invention which employs spatial multiplexing and/or space-time coding to power a vehicle.” [0116] "The adaptation rate of the array depends on the speed of the vehicle. For example, if power is transmitted at 2.45 GHz and the vehicle is driving at v=70 mph, the Doppler shift is about f.sub.d=v/.lamda.=255 Hz, corresponding to channel coherence time of approximately T.sub.c=2 msec. Hence, the adaptation rate must be approximately less than T.sub.c/10=200 microsec.”
Regarding Claim 12, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 1 and 8, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches the method for controlling an electricity receiving system according to claim 12, Oqab teaches comprising: performing rotation for changing the positions of the plurality of the electric-power conversion devices using a control device in each said electric-power conversion device [0077] “The UAV 100 includes a controller configured for executing a movement process to position the drone.”
[0099] “pilot signal may be a command to cause the sandwich satellite module 260 to change orientation/position” Oqab teaches that an external command causes the module to change orientation (i.e., rotate) and position, and that a UAV controller executes a movement process to position the drone. Thus, Oqab teaches performing rotation under control of the onboard controller as part of changing the device’s position.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oqab (US 20250141270 A1), in view of Perlman (US 20100044123 A1), and further in view of Kobayashi (US 20130032673 A1) as cited on the IDS.
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Oqab with Perlman teaches an electricity receiving system comprising: a plurality of the electric-power conversion devices according to claim 1, Oqab teaches wherein the plurality of the electric-power conversion devices are connected to an electric-power system through an electricity receiving station [0083] “The system 160 includes a plurality of modular deployable UAVs 150a, 150b, 150c, 150d. The system 160 may be formed by individually raising and deploying each UAV 150a, 150b, 150c, 150d separately, and then connecting the UAVs by the docking interfaces in-flight.” [0148] “Referring to FIG. 12B, shown therein is a diagram of a rapidly deployable power hub system 450 for use in point-to-point wireless power transmission, according to an embodiment. The system 450 includes a constellation of satellites 451, a fleet of aerial craft 452 and deployable ground stations 453.” [0149] “The deployable ground stations 453 may be additively manufactured, deployable structures to house personnel, and other materials. The deployable ground stations 453 include arrays of rectennas to collect the radiation beamed downward from the aerial craft 452.”
The combination of Oqab with Perlman does not appear to teach the full claim limitation regarding “connection through an electricity receiving station”
However, Kobayashi teaches equivalent teachings connection through an electricity receiving station [0049] “With reference to FIGS. 1, 2 and 3, a conventional rectenna 320 is disposed at predetermined surface area 30 on the earth 40 for receiving microwave energy 20 and for converting microwave energy 20 into direct current electricity. The direct current electricity produced by rectenna 320 is passed to a conventional direct current-to-alternating current converter 330, such as by means of electrical conducting cable 335, for converting the direct current electricity to alternating current electricity. The alternating current electricity is then delivered over an electrical transmission grid 340 to an end user facility 350 in a manner well understood in the art.”
It would have been obvious to a person that is skilled in the art before the effective filling date to combine Oqab, Perlman, and Kobayashi to make the system wherein the plurality of the electric-power conversion devices are connected to an electric-power system through an electricity receiving station.
A person that is skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine, Oqab, Perlman, and Kobayashi to improve and reduce overall system cost [Kobayashi 0014] “Also, surface area of the solar panel on the space-based power generation unit that is arranged in planetary orbit can be much less than the surface area required of a ground-based solar panel or a solar panel positioned in satellite orbit. This may result in a cost savings because fewer solar photovoltaic cells are required.”
Conclusion
/HUSSAM ALDEEN ALZATEEMEH/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662