DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karpowicz et al. (US 20100022990 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Karpowicz discloses a negative pressure drainage system ("wound therapy system" [0008]; FIG. 4), comprising:
a dressing ("dressing" [0008]) for being applied to a wound surface of a patient ("applied to a wound of a patient" [0008]);
a collecting device ("wound sensor array 3" [0038]), buried in the dressing ("placed into the wound space" [0038]) for collecting a pressure at the dressing in real time to obtain pressure data ("real time monitoring" [0017]); and
a receiving device ("wound therapy controller 5" [0038]), wirelessly connected with the collecting device, wherein the collecting device wirelessly is configured for transmitting the pressure data to the receiving device ("wound sensor array 3 is a disc shaped device that has internal power source, select sensor technologies and is wired or has a wireless transmitter for communication capability for conveying key information back to the wound therapy controller 5" [0038]).
Regarding Claim 2, Karpowicz discloses the collecting device comprises a first wireless module ("sensor wireless transmitter 415" [0049]; FIG. 4), the receiving device comprises a second wireless module ("therapy unit local antenna 424" [0049]), the first wireless module is wirelessly connected with the second wireless module for realizing wireless communication between the collecting device and the receiving device ("sensor array 3 communicates with the wound therapy controller 5 either via sensor wireless transmitter 415 facilitating sensor array wireless communications 434" [0049]).
Regarding Claim 3, Karpowicz discloses the negative pressure drainage system further comprises a terminal ("server 427" [0054]; FIG. 4), the receiving device is wirelessly connected with the terminal ("wound therapy controller 5 communicates with a server 427 via therapy unit wireless communications 437" [0054]), the receiving device wirelessly transmits the pressure data to the terminal, and the terminal is configured for processing the pressure data ([0024-0025]).
Regarding Claim 4, Karpowicz discloses the negative pressure drainage system further comprises a negative pressure device (comprising at least of "pump 35 and motor 36" [0047], "suction delivery tube 432" [0051], and "packing 2" [0037]; FIGs. 3-4), the negative pressure device is at least partially buried in the dressing ("Suction created from this pump is applied to the patient wound bed W via suction delivery tube 432 which penetrates the wound cover 4 through tube attachment device 431" [0051]; FIG. 4), the negative pressure device is configured for providing a negative pressure at the dressing ("Pump 35 is preferably a positive displacement type of pump employing a diaphragm and inlet and outlet valves to reliably supply negative pressure to the collection circuit" [0047]), the negative pressure device is electrically connected with the terminal ([0047-0049]; FIG. 3), and the terminal is configured for adjusting a pressure provided by the negative pressure device according to the pressure data ([0014-0015] & [0024-0025]).
Regarding Claim 5, Karpowicz discloses the negative pressure device comprises a conduction pipe ("suction delivery tube 432" [0051]; FIG. 4), the conduction pipe extends into the dressing ("penetrates the wound cover 4" [0051]), the conduction pipe is configured for conveying waste liquid at the dressing ("exudate removed from patient wound bed W through suction delivery tube 432" [0051]), and the collecting device is configured for collecting a pressure of the conduction pipe in the dressing ([0049]; FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Karpowicz discloses the terminal is configured for adjusting the negative pressure device to enable the pressure data to be within a preset pressure range ("controller may include a receiver to receive downloaded information from the central server, wherein the information is information such as updated operating software, clinical operating protocols, and user defined settings" [0014]; "downloading information from a central server to the controller, such as updated operating software, clinical operating protocols, and user defined settings" [0024]; "control algorithm maintains this pressure within prescribed limits" [0044]).
Regarding Claim 10, Karpowicz discloses receiving device further comprises a storage ("memory card" [0047]; FIG. 3), the storage is configured for storing the pressure data ("data record can be downloaded to an external memory drive" [0076]), the storage is electrically connected with the terminal ([0056]; FIG. 3), and the terminal is configured for reading the pressure data of the storage ([0047]; FIG. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karpowicz in view of Pratt et al. (US 20220001100 A1).
Regarding Claims 7-8, Karpowicz fails to specify the negative pressure drainage system further comprises an alarm apparatus, the alarm apparatus is electrically connected with the terminal, and the terminal controls the alarm apparatus to give an alarm when a time duration for which the pressure data deviates from the preset pressure range exceeds a preset alarm time; the receiving device further comprises a display, and the display is configured for displaying the pressure data in real time. However, Pratt teaches a negative pressure wound therapy system ([0005]) wherein the negative pressure drainage system further comprises an alarm apparatus ("alert generator 156" [0059]; FIG. 4), the alarm apparatus is electrically connected with the terminal ([0058-0059]), and the terminal controls the alarm apparatus to give an alarm when a time duration for which the pressure data deviates from the preset pressure range exceeds a preset alarm time ("generate an alert in response to detecting that a difference between the second pressure decay curve and the baseline pressure decay curve exceeds a predetermined first variance threshold" [0005]); wherein the receiving device further comprises a display, and the display is configured for displaying the pressure data in real time ("User interface 148 may also include one or more display devices (e.g., LEDs. LCD displays, etc.), speakers, tactile feedback devices, or other output devices configured to provide information to a user. In some embodiments, the pressure measurements recorded by pressure sensor 130 are presented to a user via user interface 148" [0059]; FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Karpowicz to incorporate the teachings of Pratt to suitably “apply and maintain the wound site at a predetermined negative pressure” ([0003]), “provide the therapy system blockage detection functionality” ([0004]), and “alert a user to such anomalous operation of the wound therapy system and/or identify and alert a user to an underlying cause (e.g, blockage and/or leak, etc.) that is responsible for the anomalous readings” (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, Karpowicz discloses the negative pressure drainage system comprises a plurality of collecting devices and a plurality of receiving devices, the collecting devices correspond to the receiving devices one by one, the terminal is electrically connected with the plurality of receiving devices ([0024]-[0025]; NOTE: it is implied by the term "central server" that a plurality of collecting devices & receiving devices may be electrically connected with the terminal), and the display is further configured for displaying attribute information of each of the receiving devices ("displayed as a colored indicator to the patient" [0079]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781