DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 15th 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1-13E are in poor quality and contain gray and black shading in Figures 3-4 rendering them ineligible and insufficient quality so that all details in the drawings are reproducible in the printed patent.
applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office
action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giordano et al. US 9788931 B2, herein referred to as Giordano.
Regarding claim 1, Giordano discloses a cuff management device (Fig 2, holder 1) for use when loading a prosthetic heart valve (Col 1, lines 61-63), the cuff management device comprising: a body (6) extending between a first end (Fig 2, proximal end) and a second end (Fig 2, distal end); a plurality of legs disposed at the first end (Fig 2, fingers 5); and one or more segments (Fig 2, 5c) disposed at the second end (Fig 2), the one or more segments having one or more protrusions on an interior surface thereof (Fig 2, 5b inward indent).
Regarding claim 2, Giordano discloses wherein the plurality of legs comprises three legs spaced apart from one another (Fig 2, Col 4 lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 3, Giordano discloses wherein the one or more segments comprises three segments separated by longitudinal slits (Annotated Fig 1 below).
Regarding claim 4, Giordano discloses wherein the plurality of legs defines a first quantity (Fig 2, Col 4 lines 35-40), and the one or more segments defines a second quantity (Fig 2, Col 4 lines 35-40), the first quantity and the second quantity being equal (Fig 2, Col 4 lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 5, Giordano discloses wherein compressing the plurality of legs radially inward causes the one or more segments to extend radially outward (Col 5, lines 54-60).
Regarding claim 6, Giordano discloses wherein each of the one or more segments (5c) includes a single one of the one or more protrusions (5b).
Regarding claim 7, Giordano discloses wherein the one or more protrusions comprises a plurality of protrusions (Fig 2b), and each of the one or more segments (Fig 2, 9) includes multiple protrusions (9a and 9b).
Regarding claim 8, Giordano discloses wherein the one or more protrusions comprises nine protrusions (Col 5, lines 54-60).
Regarding claim 9, Giordano discloses wherein the prosthetic heart valve includes a number of cells at a proximal-most row at an inflow end (Fully capable of being commensurate with recited heart valve cells; claim directed at intended use), and the one or more protrusions comprises an equal number of protrusions commensurate with the number of cells (Fully capable of being commensurate with recited).
Regarding claim 10, Giordano discloses further comprising a recessed channel defined at the second end (Fig 1, 9c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giordano in view of Skemp et al. US 20140277428 A1, here in referred to as Skemp.
Regarding claim 11, Giordano discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 10, an element (High Fig 6G, 248) disposed within1 the recessed channel (Fig 6G), but does not explicitly disclose comprising an elastic band.
Skemp teaches further comprising an elastic band (Fig 3E, foam 330, [0039] foam is inherently elastic) disposed within the recessed channel (Fig 3E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Giordano to incorporate further comprising an elastic band (Fig 3E, foam 330, [0039] foam is inherently elastic) disposed within the recessed channel, as taught and suggested by Skemp in order to impart shape memory (Skemp [0039]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giordano in view of High et al. US 20190021856 A1, herein referred to as High.
Regarding claim 12, Giordano discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising an elastic band disposed within the recessed channel.
High teaches wherein the one or more segments includes a plurality of braces (High Fig 6G, 234) coupled to portions of a terminal ring (Annotated Fig 6G below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Giordano to incorporate
segments having one or more protrusions on an interior surface thereof, as taught and
suggested in order to allow locking with other components (High [0045]).
Conclusion
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799