Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements filed November 13, 2023 (3) and December 2, 2025 have been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (claims 7-15) in the reply filed on January 5, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-6 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 5, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second plurality of wires comprising a plurality of exposed portions (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Paragraph 0088 does not describe the second plurality of wires comprising a plurality of exposed portions (claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MacAdam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0281391).
In regard to claims 7, 10, 11 and 14, MacAdam et al. teach an electrophysiology system comprised of a catheter 10 with a braided conductive member 28 at the distal end (see Fig. 1). Braided conductive member 28 is formed from a plurality of interlaced, electrically conductive filaments 34 (wires) and can be formed in a teardrop shape with a blunt distal end and a tapered proximal end (see para. 0057 and Figs. 4 and 5). Figure 1 shows that the braided conductive member 28 has a first plurality of filaments 34 that are interwoven or interlaced with a second plurality of filaments 34. Each of the filaments 34 (which includes the first plurality and the second plurality) may be electrically isolated from each other by an insulation coating and a portion of the insulation on the filaments can be removed, thus forming an electrode gap with the electrode disposed therein and allowing each of the filaments 34 to form an isolated electrode or sensor (see para. 0058). In regard to claim 8, Figure 12 shows that the first plurality of filaments 34 is non-overlapping with each other and the second plurality of filaments 34 is non-overlapping with each other and at least a portion of the first plurality of filaments 34 overlap with at least a portion of the second plurality of filaments 34. In regard to claim 9, MacAdam et al. teach that a wire may run from each of the filaments 34 to a connector portion 16 that communicates with controller 8 via cable 6 (which is inherently insulated) to provide for mapping and ablation (see para. 0060). In regard to claim 12, Figures 4 and 5 show that each of the filaments 34 has a gathered first end and a second end gathered proximate the tapered proximal end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacAdam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0281391).
In regard to claim 13, MacAdam et al. teach that a number of filaments 34 may be grouped together for mapping and ablation and discloses the use of a switch box or multiplexer to configure the signals being received by filaments 34 or ablation energy send to filaments 34 (see para. 0060). In such a scenario, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to group the first plurality of filaments 34 to a first main wire and the second plurality of filaments 34 to a second main wire as a means to differentiate the two pluralities based on their grouping or configuration. In regard to claim 15, MacAdam et al. teach that the insulation may be removed in a preferential manner so that a particular portion of the circumferential surface of a filament 34 is exposed (see para. 0058). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention that this broad disclosure includes scenarios where the filaments 34 overlap each other such that they are over or under the electrode area on one or more of the other filaments 34.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794