DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/08/2025 is accepted and entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous 112 rejections and the previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Rane/Bianchi is now cited to disclose the limitations of Claims 1 and 15, as set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
It is the Office's position that the testing method for a material or structural property does not impart a patentable weight. The property is attributed to the material and structure, not to the testing method.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 recites the limitation “wherein the first discontinuous line comprises at least two elements, and wherein the at least one element comprises a different size, shape, and/or dimension than at least one other element”. This should be revised to indicate the first discontinuous line comprises at least two elements and wherein at least one of the at least two elements comprises a different size, shape, and/or dimension than at least one other element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a first discontinuous line” which has already been recited in Claim 15. It is unclear if these recitation of “a first discontinuous line” are intended to refer to the same first discontinuous line or different discontinuous lines. For the purpose of compact prosecution, these recitations of “first discontinuous line” are interpreted as referring to the same discontinuous line.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “at least some of the first, second, third, and fourth discontinuous lines comprise two elements.” It is unclear if these two elements can be or are the same as the “at least two elements” recited in Claim 15. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the at least two elements from Claim 15 are interpreted as the claimed “two elements” of the first discontinuous line.
The term “about” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “generally the same pattern” and “slightly different sizes, scales, and/or shapes” in claim 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” and “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 13, and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rane et al (US 2014/0000784) in view of Bianchi (US 2017/0151103).
Regarding Claim 1, Rane discloses an absorbent article (600, Figs. 1A-B) comprising:
a lateral axis (680, Figs. 1A-B);
a front waist region (636, Figs. 1A-B) on a first side of the lateral axis (680, Figs. 1A-B);
a back waist region (638, Figs. 1A-B) on a second side of the lateral axis (680, Figs. 1A-B);
a liquid permeable topsheet (622, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0046]);
a liquid impermeable backsheet (624, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0046]);
an absorbent core (646, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0046]) positioned at least partially intermediate the topsheet (622, Figs. 1A-B) and the backsheet (624, Figs. 1A-B);
an outer cover nonwoven material in a facing relationship with the backsheet (624, Figs. 1A-B), wherein the outer cover forms a first portion of a garment-facing surface of the absorbent article (600, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0220] indicates the patterned material for the discrete landing zone can be used to make the outer nonwoven layer of a multilayer backsheet); and
a discrete landing zone (644, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0167, 0220] indicates the landing zone can be a discrete structure joined to the backsheet) joined to the front waist region (636, Figs. 1A-B) proximate to a waist edge (650, Figs. 1A-B) of the absorbent article (600, Figs. 1A-B), wherein the discrete landing zone (644, Figs. 1A-B) forms a second portion of the garment-facing surface of the absorbent article (600, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0167, 0220]; since the discrete landing zone is placed on the outer cover nonwoven material, it will form a second portion of the garment-facing surface of the article as seen in Fig. 1A);
wherein the outer cover nonwoven material comprises a first pattern on the first portion of the garment-facing surface (¶ [0220] indicates both the discrete landing zone and the outer cover nonwoven layer can be made of the same, patterned material; ¶ [0084] describes the nonwoven web as patterned and ¶ [0097-0099] describe the pattern seen in Figs. 2B and 3), the first pattern comprising:
a repeating pattern of bonds comprising a plurality of first repeat units (¶ [0084] indicates the pattern is a pattern of bonds; ¶ [0097] describes the unit pattern as the repeating triangle shape seen in Figs. 2B and 3);
wherein a portion of the first pattern within each of the first repeat units is substantially the same (as seen in Figs. 2B and 3, the repeat units repeat and are substantially the same each repeat);
wherein at least some of the first repeat units have a first repeat unit area in the range of 25 mm2 to 100 mm2 (¶ [0099] indicates W1 can be in the range of 5-20mm and that the ratio of W1/W2 can be in the range of 0.1-10; using 20 mm as W1 and 10 as the ratio, W2 is calculated as 2 mm; 20 mm x 2 mm = 40 mm2 which is within the claimed range); and
wherein the discrete landing zone comprises a second pattern on the second portion of the garment-facing surface (¶ [0220] indicates both the discrete landing zone and the outer cover nonwoven layer can be made of the same, patterned material; ¶ [0084] describes the nonwoven web as patterned and ¶ [0097-0099] describe the pattern seen in Figs. 2B and 3), the second pattern comprising:
a repeating pattern of bonds comprising a plurality of second repeat units (¶ [0084] indicates the pattern is a pattern of bonds; ¶ [0097] describes the unit pattern as the repeating triangle shape seen in Figs. 2B and 3);
wherein a portion of the second pattern within each of the second repeat units is substantially the same (as seen in Figs. 2B and 3, the repeat units repeat and are substantially the same each repeat);
wherein at least some of the second repeat units have a second repeat unit area in the range of 25 mm2 to 100 mm2 (¶ [0099] indicates W1 can be in the range of 5-20mm and that the ratio of W1/W2 can be in the range of 0.1-10; using 20 mm as W1 and 10 as the ratio, W2 is calculated as 2 mm; 20 mm x 2 mm = 40 mm2 which is within the claimed range).
Rane is silent whether at least one of the first pattern and the second pattern comprise a first discontinuous line and a second discontinuous line, wherein the first discontinuous line comprises at least two elements comprising a different size, shape, and/or dimension, wherein the second discontinuous line comprises at least two elements comprising a different size, shape, and/or dimension, and wherein the first discontinuous line comprises at least one element comprising a different size, shape, and/or dimension than at least one element in the second discontinuous line.
Bianchi teaches an absorbent article, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with a bonding pattern (Figs. 5 and 6, ¶ [0018-0019, 0064]) with first and second discontinuous lines (each column of large bonds 310 can be considered a discontinuous line, Fig. 6) that comprise two elements (bonds 310 and 330, Fig. 6), wherein the two elements (310, 330, Fig. 6) have a different size (¶ [0064], Fig. 6). The large bonds in the first discontinuous line differ in size from the small bonds in the second discontinuous line. This bonding pattern reduces fuzz on the surface of the nonwoven (¶ [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bonding elements of either one pattern or both patterns of Rane, wherein the two elements have a different size as taught by Bianchi (Fig. 6). The bonding pattern of Bianchi reduces fuzz on the surface of the nonwoven (¶ [0061]) which in turn provides a better visual effect of the nonwoven.
Regarding Claim 2, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 1.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses the first pattern and the second pattern are different when only one of the patterns has been modified to have the two differing elements of Bianchi, as set forth above for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 1.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses at least some of the first repeat units comprising the portion of the first pattern comprises a first design, wherein at least some of the second repeat units comprising the portion of the second pattern comprise a second design, and wherein the first design is substantially similar to the second design, when both of the patterns have been modified to have the two different elements of Bianchi, as set forth above for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 1.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses the first repeat unit area is different than the second repeat unit area when only one of the patterns has been modified to have the two differing elements of Bianchi, as set forth above for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Rane further discloses the back waist region (638, Figs. 1A-B) comprises a waistband (second waist member 604, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0170]).
Regarding Claim 7, Rane further discloses the at least some of the first repeat units have a width in the range of 5 mm to 30 mm (¶ [0099] indicates W1 can be in the range of 5-20mm) and wherein the at least some of the first repeat units have a first length in the range of 1 mm to 10 mm (¶ [0099] indicates W1 can be in the range of 5-20mm and that the ratio of W1/W2 can be in the range of 0.1-10; using 20 mm as W1 and 10 as the ratio, W2 is calculated as 2 mm which is within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 8, Rane further discloses the at least some of the second repeat units have a second width in the range of 5 mm to 30 mm (¶ [0099] indicates W1 can be in the range of 5-20mm) and wherein the at least some of the second repeat units have a second length in the range of 1 mm to 10 mm (¶ [0099] indicates W1 can be in the range of 5-20mm and that the ratio of W1/W2 can be in the range of 0.1-10; using 20 mm as W1 and 10 as the ratio, W2 is calculated as 2 mm which is within the claimed range).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 1.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses the repeating pattern of apertures or bonds comprising the plurality of first repeat units forms a herringbone pattern and the repeating pattern of apertures or bonds comprising the plurality of second repeat units forms a herringbone pattern, when both of the patterns have been modified to have the two different elements of Bianchi, as set forth above for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 1.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses a third discontinuous line, and a fourth discontinuous line (Bianchi, each column of large bonds 310 can be considered a discontinuous line, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 15, Rane discloses an absorbent article (600, Figs. 1A-B) comprising:
a liquid permeable topsheet (622, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0046]);
a liquid impermeable backsheet (624, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0046]);
an absorbent core (646, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0046]) positioned at least partially intermediate the topsheet (622, Figs. 1A-B) and the backsheet (624, Figs. 1A-B);
a first nonwoven component (outer nonwoven layer of multi-layer backsheet; ¶ [0220]) forming a first portion of a surface of the absorbent article (600, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0220] indicates the patterned material for the discrete landing zone can be used to make the outer nonwoven layer of a multilayer backsheet); and
a second nonwoven component (discrete landing zone 644, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0167, 0220] indicates the landing zone can be a discrete structure joined to the backsheet) forming a second portion of a surface of the absorbent article (600, Figs. 1A-B; ¶ [0167, 0220]; since the discrete landing zone is placed on the outer cover nonwoven material, it will form a second portion of the garment-facing surface of the article as seen in Fig. 1A);
wherein the first nonwoven component comprises a first pattern (¶ [0220] indicates both the discrete landing zone and the outer cover nonwoven layer can be made of the same, patterned material; ¶ [0084] describes the nonwoven web as patterned and ¶ [0097-0099] describe the pattern seen in Figs. 2B and 3) comprising:
a repeating pattern of bonds comprising a plurality of first repeat units (¶ [0084] indicates the pattern is a pattern of bonds; ¶ [0097] describes the unit pattern as the repeating triangle shape seen in Figs. 2B and 3);
wherein a portion of the first pattern within each of the first repeat units is substantially the same (as seen in Figs. 2B and 3, the repeat units repeat and are substantially the same each repeat);
wherein at least some of the first repeat units have a first repeat unit area in the range of 25 mm2 to 100 mm2 (¶ [0099] indicates W1 can be in the range of 5-20mm and that the ratio of W1/W2 can be in the range of 0.1-10; using 20 mm as W1 and 5 as the ratio, W2 is calculated as 4 mm; 20 mm x 4 mm = 80 mm2 which is within the claimed range); and
wherein the second nonwoven component comprises a second pattern (¶ [0220] indicates both the discrete landing zone and the outer cover nonwoven layer can be made of the same, patterned material; ¶ [0084] describes the nonwoven web as patterned and ¶ [0097-0099] describe the pattern seen in Figs. 2B and 3) comprising:
a repeating pattern of bonds comprising a plurality of second repeat units (¶ [0084] indicates the pattern is a pattern of bonds; ¶ [0097] describes the unit pattern as the repeating triangle shape seen in Figs. 2B and 3);
wherein a portion of the second pattern within each of the second repeat units is substantially the same (as seen in Figs. 2B and 3, the repeat units repeat and are substantially the same each repeat);
wherein at least some of the second repeat units have a second repeat unit area in the range of 25 mm2 to 75 mm2 (¶ [0099] indicates W1 can be in the range of 5-20mm and that the ratio of W1/W2 can be in the range of 0.1-10; using 20 mm as W1 and 10 as the ratio, W2 is calculated as 2 mm; 20 mm x 2 mm = 40 mm2 which is within the claimed range).
Rane does not specifically indicate the second repeat unit area is different than the first repeat unit area, and wherein at least one of the first pattern and the second pattern comprises at least a first discontinuous line generally parallel to a central longitudinal axis, wherein the first discontinuous line comprises at least two elements, and wherein the at least one element comprises a different size, shape, and/or dimension than at least one other element.
Bianchi teaches an absorbent article, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with a bonding pattern (Figs. 5 and 6, ¶ [0018-0019, 0064]) with a first discontinuous line (each column of large bonds 310 can be considered a discontinuous line, Fig. 6) generally parallel to a central longitudinal axis (MD, Fig. 5), wherein the first discontinuous line comprises at least two elements (bonds 310 and 330, Fig. 6), wherein the two elements (310, 330, Fig. 6) have a different size (¶ [0064], Fig. 6). The repeat unit area of Bianchi is 35.3 mm2 (¶ [0067]). This bonding pattern reduces fuzz on the surface of the nonwoven (¶ [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bonding elements of one of the patterns of Rane, wherein the two elements have a different size as taught by Bianchi (Fig. 6). This results in the first and second repeat unit area being different, as the repeat unit area of Rane is 40 mm2 and the repeat unit area of Bianchi is 35.3 mm2. The bonding pattern of Bianchi reduces fuzz on the surface of the nonwoven (¶ [0061]) which in turn provides a better visual effect of the nonwoven.
Regarding Claim 16, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 15.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses the repeating pattern of apertures or bonds comprising the plurality of first repeat units forms a herringbone pattern, and wherein the repeating pattern of apertures or bonds comprising the plurality of second repeat units forms a herringbone pattern, as both the patterns of Rane and Bianchi can be interpreted as a herringbone pattern (Rane Figs 2B and 3, Bianchi Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 16.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses the at least some of the first repeat units comprise discontinuous bonds, and wherein the at least some of the second repeat units comprise discontinuous bonds, as both the patterns of Rane and Bianchi comprise discontinuous bonds (Rane ¶ [0130], Bianchi ¶ [0059-0063]).
Regarding Claims 18 and 19, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 17.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses the discontinuous bonds in the at least some of the first repeat units comprise a first discontinuous line, a second discontinuous line, a third discontinuous line, and a fourth discontinuous line, wherein at least some of the first, second, third, and fourth discontinuous lines comprise two elements, and wherein the two elements have a different size, shape, and/or dimension, when the first pattern of Bianchi has been utilized in place of the first pattern of Rane, as set forth above for Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 20, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 15.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses at least one of the first pattern and the second pattern comprises a second line (Bianchi, each column of large bonds 310 can be considered a discontinuous line, Fig. 6, and one of the lateral lines of bonds 330 and 340 can be considered a second line). Rane/Bianchi is silent whether the second line extends in a direction of from about 15 degrees to about 75 degrees relative to the first discontinuous line.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Rane/Bianchi to have the second line extend in a direction of from about 15 degrees to about 75 degrees relative to the first discontinuous line since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Rane/Bianchi would not operate differently with a second line as claimed and the device would function appropriately with the claimed line angle. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the line’s extension “may” be within the claimed ranges (¶ [0073] of Applicant’s published application).
Regarding Claim 21, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 15.
Rane/Bianchi further discloses the first discontinuous line comprises at least three elements, and wherein each of the at least three elements comprise a different size, shape, and/or dimension (Bianchi ¶ [0065] indicates bonds 330 and 340 may have different areas, which would result in bonds 310, 330, and 340 being part of the first discontinuous line and all comprising a different size from one another).
Regarding Claim 22, Rane/Bianchi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above for Claim 15.
Rane/Bianchi is silent whether the first pattern and the second pattern are generally the same pattern with slightly different sizes, scales, and/or shapes.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify both the first pattern and second pattern of Rane to comprise the bonding pattern of Bianchi, as set forth above for Claims 1 and 15. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the repeat unit area of either the first or second pattern to be different than the other repeat unit area, as this would allow the second nonwoven component to stand out against the first nonwoven component as the patterns would not be the same size and would not be able to blend into each other as easily. This would be beneficial for forming a discrete landing zone, which is intended to be easily recognizable by a caregiver when they are applying a diaper on a newborn or toddler so they can quickly apply the diaper without having to look for the correct location to attach the waist to the landing zone.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rane et al (US 2014/0000784) in view of Bianchi (US 2017/0151103) further in view of Schmitz (US 5797896).
Regarding Claim 6, Rane/Bianchi is silent whether the discrete landing zone comprises a first piece and a second piece, wherein the first piece is positioned a distance from the second piece, and wherein the first piece does not overlap or contact the second piece.
Schmitz teaches an absorbent article, thus being in the same field of endeavor, where the discrete landing zone comprises a first piece (99, Fig. 8) and a second piece (102, Fig. 8), wherein the first piece (99, Fig. 8) is positioned a distance from the second piece (102, Fig. 8), and wherein the first piece (99, Fig. 8) does not overlap or contact the second piece (102, Fig. 8). Having multiple separate landing zones allows the liquid impermeable properties of the backsheet to be maintained to the largest possible extent when the diaper is repositioned (Col. 14 lines 23-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the discrete landing zone of Rane/Bianchi to comprise a first piece and a second piece, wherein the first piece is positioned a distance from the second piece, and wherein the first piece does not overlap or contact the second piece, as taught by Schmitz (Fig. 8). Having multiple separate landing zones allows the liquid impermeable properties of the backsheet to be maintained to the largest possible extent when the diaper is repositioned (Col. 14 lines 23-29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mecl et al (US 2019/0161897)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781