DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 11/13/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 1-38 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, recites “whether the actual variable of the door is acceptable… upon the actual variable of the door being unacceptable”. These features are not positive defined limitations. It is unclear and vague what must be interpreted as acceptable or unacceptable. For purposes of office action, these limitation will be interpreted as being controlled under best options or correction values.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mullet et al. (US 20090115366 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) a method comprising:
operating a motor (180) of a movable barrier (100) operator to turn a drum and pay out a cable (i.e. shaft or a cable drum 120) from the drum to permit a door connected to the cable to move from an open position toward a closed position (par 64);
using a sensor (see sensors at 858, Fig. 31A) to estimate an actual variable of the door as the motor turns the drum to pay out the cable (par 80);
determining, via a processor circuit (i.e. 142, 800, 802) of the movable barrier operator, whether the actual variable of the door is acceptable based at least in part on operation of the motor and an expected variable of the door, the expected variable associated with acceptable movement of the door from the open position toward the closed position (see Figs, 31A/31Band 36, pars. 80, 138-139, 144, 154, 151); and
the processor circuit (i.e. 142, 800, 802) changing operation of the motor upon the actual variable of the door being unacceptable (pars. 5-6, 81, 119-124, 144, 153-154, i.e. the control circuit 142 may then update the threshold range such that it is substantially centered about the most recently detected current speed value. This allows for the control circuit to adjust and compensate for deterioration of motor performance, mechanical wear, speed and/or other environmental factors).
In regards to claim 2, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein the actual variable of the door includes a speed of the door and the expected variable of the door is a threshold speed; and wherein determining whether the actual variable of the door is acceptable includes determining whether the speed of the door is less than the threshold speed (see Figs. 31A and 39, pars. 146-155, sections 858, 860, 862, steps 960, 962).
In regards to claim 3, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein estimating the actual variable of the door using the sensor includes: sensing, using the sensor, a portion of the door as the door moves between the open position and the closed position (pars. 2, 15-16, 79-80, 135, 137-139, 142, 151).
In regards to claim 4, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein using the sensor to estimate the actual variable of the door includes detecting a change in position of a portion of the door relative to the sensor (pars. 21, 30, 84-86).
In regards to claim 7, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses further comprising determining the expected variable of the door based at least in part upon one or more variables associated with operation of the motor (M), (pars. 79-85).
In regards to claim 8, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein the actual variable of the door is at least one of: a speed of the door; an acceleration of the door; and a direction of movement of the door (pars. 79-85, 136-145).
In regards to claim 9, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) wherein using the sensor to estimate the actual variable of the door includes: detecting, via the sensor, a machine-readable indicium of the door (pars. 83, 91, 136-148).
In regards to claim 10, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein changing the operation of the motor includes at least one of stopping operation of the motor, slowing operation of the motor, and reversing operation of the motor (pars. 15, 19, 67, 80-85, 144, 152-154).
In regards to claims 11, 19 and 27, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) method and non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor circuit of a movable barrier operator system (100, Fig. 1) comprising:
causing a variable speed drive of the movable barrier operator to turn a rotatable member at a pre-calibration speed (i.e. interpreted as profile speed/velocity) to move a door connected to the rotatable member between an open position and a closed position (see abstract, pars. 9, 18-196, 61, 65, 70, 77, 79, 80), the pre-calibration speed corresponding to a target variable of the door (see pars. 2, 151, 154-155, steps 862, 960, 962, 964, 966, Figs. 321, 36);
receiving, at a processor circuit (142, 800, 802) of the movable barrier operator, a time-of-flight measurement from a time-of-flight sensor (i.e. 290, 302, 820, 818, pars. 65, 80, 133), the time-of-flight measurement indicative of an actual variable of the door (pars. 136-145); and in response to a difference between the target variable and the actual variable of the door, causing the variable speed drive to adjust a speed of turning the rotatable member (pars. 78-80, 83-, 85, 149-156).
In regards to claims 12 and 20, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses comprising: storing an adjusted speed of turning the rotatable member in a memory (812); and during a subsequent operation of the door, causing the variable speed drive (i.e. Velocity) to turn the rotatable member at the adjusted speed
In regards to claims 13 and 21, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses comprising: storing a plurality of speeds (i.e. velocity) for the rotatable member and a plurality of target variables corresponding to the speeds for the rotatable member in a memory (see memory 812 and door profiles and comparison, Fig. 30-31A).
In regards to claims 14, 22 and 28, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses 11 wherein the target variable includes a target position of the door and the actual variable includes an actual position of the door (see memory 812 and door profiles such position and stall condition from encoder and comparison, pars. 2, 151, 154, 155; Fig. 30-31A, 36).
In regards to claims 15-16, 23-24, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses, further comprising: increasing the speed of turning the rotatable member in response to the actual variable being less than the target variable, AND decreasing the speed of turning the rotatable member in response to the actual variable exceeding the target variable. (pars. 80-83, steps 874, 964, 966, also, door profile is established with various parameters that are monitored operational components of the operator system 100, steps 858, pars. 137-145).
In regards to claims 17, 25 and 37, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses, further comprising: effecting an error condition annunciation when the actual variable is not the target variable (pars. 148, 152, corrective action ; steps 964, 966).
In regards to claims 18, 26 and 38, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses further comprising: deactivating an auxiliary device in response to determining the door is in the closed position (pars. 14-15, 78, 83, 85, 135-137, i.e. activating the locking mechanism).
In regards to claims 29-30, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses 29. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 27, the operations further comprising changing the pre-calibration speed stored in a memory of the movable barrier operator system based at least in part on the causing of the variable speed drive to adjust the speed of turning the rotatable member, and wherein the target variable includes a plurality of target variables corresponding to a plurality of speeds for the rotatable member; AND the operations further comprising: determining a plurality of actual variables of the door at different positions of the door; and causing the variable speed drive to adjust the speed of turning of the rotatable member upon differences between the target variables and the actual variables for at least two positions of the different positions; AND the operations further comprising: causing the variable speed drive to increase the speed of turning the rotatable member in response to the actual variable being less than the target variable; or causing the variable speed drive to decrease the speed of turning the rotatable member in response to the actual variable exceeding the target variable (i.e. implement enhanced corrective action, pars. 80-83, steps 874, 964, 966. In addition, door profile is established with various parameters that are monitored operational components of the operator system 100, step 858, Figs. 30-31A, pars. 137-152, i.e. e motor assembly 136, 136' can be controlled in a precise manner to match a predetermined position and/or velocity curve… to ascertain the speed and position as the motor assembly 136 pivots in order to determine whether and what type of corrective action should be taken).
In regards to claims 32, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein emitting the signal via the time-of-flight sensor comprises causing emission of a light signal via the time-of-flight sensor (Such enhanced corrective action may include halting or reversing the movement of the barrier, and issuing a warning, such as a blinking light or audible alarm, that the operator system 100,100' or one of its components has failed or is in need of immediate maintenance, par. 154).
In regards to claim 33, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein determining the actual variable of the door comprises using time-of-flight information from the time-of-flight sensor to determine a distance of the door from at least one of the open position and the closed position of the door (i.e. moving a barrier between limit positions, pars. 83, 137, Fig. 31A).
In regards to claim 34, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein determining the actual variable of the door comprises using time-of-flight information from the time-of-flight sensor to determine a distance between the time-of-flight sensor and either the door or a floor (i.e. the number of pulses generated by rotation of the encoder wheel may also be used to determine position of the barrier relative to the position limits of the barrier. And, if desired, the pulse or non-pulse associated with the directional slot may also be used to determine or further confirm a relative position of the barrier with respect to the limits, pars. 78-83, 109, 135, 137-138, 141, 148, 152).
In regards to claim 35, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses the operations further comprising: causing turning of the rotatable member in a first direction to wind the door onto a shaft coupled to the rotatable member of the variable speed drive; causing turning of the rotatable member in an opposite, second direction to pay out the door from the shaft; and wherein determining the actual variable of the door comprises using time-of-flight information from the time-of-flight sensor to determine a distance between the time-of-flight sensor and a portion of the door wound onto the shaft (i.e. the number of pulses generated by rotation of the encoder wheel may also be used to determine position of the barrier relative to the position limits of the barrier. And, if desired, the pulse or non-pulse associated with the directional slot may also be used to determine or further confirm a relative position of the barrier with respect to the limits, pars. 78-83, 109, 135, 137-138, 141, 148, 152).
In regards to claim 36, Mullet shows (Figs. 1, 10, 30-31 and 36) and discloses wherein controlling the variable speed drive to turn the rotatable member comprises either winding a flexible, elongate member about a drum that is connected to the rotatable member or paying out the elongate member from the drum, the elongate member connecting the door and the drum, wherein the drum includes a frustoconical portion having a variable radius windup surface about which the elongate member is configured to be wound up onto or payed out from to at least support corresponding movement of the door connected to the elongate member shaft (i.e. the number of pulses generated by rotation of the encoder wheel may also be used to determine position of the barrier relative to the position limits of the barrier. And, if desired, the pulse or non-pulse associated with the directional slot may also be used to determine or further confirm a relative position of the barrier with respect to the limits, pars. 78-83, 109, 135, 137-138, 141, 148, 152).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullet et al. (US 20090115366 A1) in view of LAN (CN 108266086 A).
In regards to claims 5-6 and 24, Mullet does not explicitly discloses wherein the sensor includes a camera configured to capture images of at least a portion of the door; wherein the sensor includes a camera and the processor circuit is configured to estimate the actual variable of the door by obtaining images of a portion of the door from the camera and comparing a position of the door portion in the images; wherein the sensor includes a camera and using the sensor to estimate the actual variable of the door includes operating the camera to capture images of the door; wherein the time-of- flight sensor is configured to emit a light signal; and wherein the processor circuit is further configured to deactivate an auxiliary device in response to determining the door is in the closed position.
However, LAN further shows and discloses a blocking door control system and door control method through a monitoring camera for shooting stop door to generate a plurality of monitoring image, continuously monitoring image identification in the plurality of blocking door feature on the door and determining characteristic of the shielding state, wherein the sensor includes a camera configured to capture images of at least a portion of the door (a baffle door control system 1 further comprises a photodetector 116 electrically connected to controller 100 (e.g., passive infrared (PIR) sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a heat sensor, a light sensor, a sound sensor can detect personnel intrusion or environmental change sensor); wherein the sensor includes a camera (104) and the processor circuit (1) is configured to estimate the actual variable of the door (i.e. 20) by obtaining images of a portion of the door from the camera and comparing a position of the door portion in the images; wherein the sensor includes a camera and using the sensor to estimate the actual variable of the door includes operating the camera to capture images of the door (the monitoring camera 104 to shoot the image shown according to FIG. 4C. the several retaining door 30-34 is shaded (in this example, a baffle door feature 30 is completely shielded, shielding door feature 32-34 is partially masked), license plate 42 position is changed and move door 20 towards the blocking direction (in this example, license 42 in the monitoring image is upward movement), the controller 100 can judge the user wants, and controls the driving device 102 to open door 20 (shown in FIG. 4D). Then, after leaving the user driving, monitoring camera 104 to shoot the image shown according to FIG. 4E. the several retaining door 30-34 because the retaining door 20 opened to change position in the monitoring image, the area and/or the shape of the monitoring image and the controller 100 cannot identify a license plate 42, thereby determining that the user is leaving, and controls the driving device 102 the closed door 20 (shown in FIG. 4F). Then, when the user come back and manually opening door 20, the monitoring camera 104 to shoot the image shown according to FIG. 4G. the several retaining door 30-34 because the retaining door 20 opened to change position in the monitoring image, the area and/or shape, license plate 42 can be recognized and is towards the retaining door 20 in the direction (i.e., the image).
Thus, given the teaching of LAN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Mullet to incorporate the features of a camera as part of the sensor arrangement to further capture images that can be employed to accurately compared in life streaming the door position towards the environment or surroundings, consequently improving the system reliability.
Related Prior Arts
9. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
JENKINS et al. (CA 2731562 C) discloses movable barrier operator controls access to a secured area which houses vehicles. The movable barrier operator is operable to move a movable barrier from an open to a closed position. A sensor controls the operation of a service-providing device through the controller of a movable barrier operator or by direct communication to a controller for the service-providing device. The sensing device senses whether a vehicle is present in the secured area. The sensor is operatively connected to the moveable barrier operator and is used to control the operation of at least one service-providing device without necessarily effecting movement of a barrier by the movable barrier operator. Operation of the service-providing device is effected upon sensing whether a vehicle is present in the secured area to effect an operation of the service-providing device.
Mullet et al. (US 6326751 B1) discloses An internal entrapment system for a garage door operator (30), comprising a motor (48) for transferring a garage door (12) between first and second positions; a pulse counter (62) for detecting a speed of the garage door (12) during transfer between first and second positions; a potentiometer (56) for determining a plurality of positional locations of the garage door (12) during transfer between first and second positions separate from said pulse counter (62); and a control circuit (50) for calculating a motor torque value from the speed for each of said plurality of positional locations to compare with a plurality of door profile data points, wherein said control circuit (50) takes corrective action if the difference between the motor torque value for each of said plurality of positional locations and said plurality of door profile data points exceeds a predetermined threshold, and wherein said control circuit (50) updates said plurality of door profile data points to the motor torque values for each respective said plurality of positional locations if the predetermined threshold is not exceeded. In another embodiment both speed and position are detected by a slider element (58) which is connected to the control circuit (50). A closed loop lift cable system (100) may be employed for use with the internal entrapment system. The system (100) utilizes a lift cable (164) connected between a bottom section of the door and a drum mechanism (150) and an upper cable connected between a top section of the door and the drum mechanism (150). A tension device (180, 200) ensures that the door and cables act as one and thus allow closed loop control of the door.
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2837