Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kwon (Korean Patent Publication KR20210141870, in applicant’s IDS; citations from equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/ 0354247).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a wafer processing apparatus comprising:
a laser source (fig. 2, laser source 120) configured to generate and output a laser beam, the laser beam including a plurality of pulses (Abstract, wherein the laser beam includes a plurality of pulses);
a wafer support (160) configured to support a wafer (W); and
a beam transmission optical system (kwon, 130, beam transmission optical system) configured to transfer the laser beam output from the laser source to the wafer (Kwon, fig. 2),
wherein parameters of the laser source are set such that the laser beam is collected inside the wafer by a self-condensing phenomenon while inside of the wafer (¶0005, “stealth dicing technology of focusing the laser beam on an inside of the workpiece and inducing an internal breakage is used; ¶0058; ¶0040, describing the parameters of the laser beam coming from the source.).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a wafer processing apparatus wherein the parameters include a pulse width of a plurality of pulses included in the laser beam (Kwon, Abstract, plurality of pulses, ;¶0040, pulse width), a diameter of the laser beam (inherent, that the laser has a diameter, see fig. 2, where LB has a width/diameter) , and a power of the laser beam (at least ¶0028, power).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a wafer processing apparatus wherein the laser source comprises: a master oscillator (Fig. 1, 121) configured to output a first laser beam; a pre-amplifier (123) configured to amplify the first laser beam to output a second laser beam; and a main amplifier (125) configured to amplify the second laser beam and output the laser beam.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Zeng (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/ 0074585).
Regarding claim 12, Zeng discloses a wafer processing apparatus configured to perform a stealth dicing process on a wafer (6, object to be diced, ¶0019), the wafer processing apparatus comprising:
a laser source (1) configured to output a laser beam, the laser beam including a plurality of pulses (¶0007); and
beam transmission optical system (12 light beam controller) configured to transmit the laser beam output from the laser source to the wafer,
wherein the laser beam transmitted to the wafer is configured to be concentrated in the wafer by a self-condensing phenomenon (Abstract, ¶0013, stealth dicing with self- focusing) while passing through the inside of the wafer, and the wafer processing apparatus does not include a focusing lens optical system focusing the laser beam inside a wafer or a height sensor measuring a height from the wafer to the focusing lens optical system (Zeng, ¶0034, focusing element may be a lens, a mirror, an off-axis parabolic mirror, a phase plate or other optical elements having a focusing functionality, i.e. discloses that it works without lens; no height sensor is required).
Regarding claim 14, Zeng discloses al the limitations of claim 12, as above, and further discloses a wafer processing apparatus wherein a wafer processing apparatus wherein a diameter of the laser beam is in a range of 10 micrometers (µm) to 30 µm (Zeng, ¶0009).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (Korean Patent Publication KR20210141870, in applicant’s IDS; citations from equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/ 0354247) in view of Rekow (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/ 0129958).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon discloses al the limitations of claim 2, as above, but does not further disclose a wafer processing apparatus wherein the pulse width of the plurality of pulses included in the laser beam is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns). However, Rekow, in his wafer scribing process, teaches wherein the pulse width of the plurality of pulses included in the laser beam is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns) (Rekow,¶0070, “5 nanoseconds). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon with the teachings of Rekow, to use a conventional range of parameter to affect the laser processing, in order to affect a crack or scribe line in a wafer to affect dicing of the wafer in a conventional way achieve only the expected result of scribing or dicing the wafer.
Regarding claim 4, Kwon discloses al the limitations of claim 2, as above, but does not further disclose a wafer processing apparatus wherein the diameter of the laser beam is in a range of 10 micrometers (µm) to 30 µm. However, Rekow, in his wafer scribing process, teaches wherein the diameter of the laser beam is in a range of 10 micrometers (µm) to 30 µm (Rekow, ¶0048, laser spot size was reduced to 20 µm diameter). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon with the teachings of Rekow, to use a conventional range of parameter to affect the laser processing, in order to affect a crack or scribe line in a wafer to affect dicing of the wafer in a conventional way achieve only the expected result of scribing or dicing the wafer.
Regarding claim 5, Kwon discloses al the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further disclose a wafer processing apparatus wherein a pulse width of the plurality of pulses is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns) and a diameter of the laser beam is in a range of 10 micrometer (µm) to 30 µm. However, in his dicing apparatus, Rekow teaches wherein a pulse width of the plurality of pulses is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns) and a diameter of the laser beam is in a range of 10 micrometer (µm) to 30 µm (Rekow, ¶0070, pulsewidth of 5 nanoseconds, ¶0048, laser spot size was reduced to 20 µm diameter). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon with the teachings of Rekow, to use a conventional range of parameter to affect the laser processing, in order to affect a crack or scribe line in a wafer to affect dicing of the wafer in a conventional way achieve only the expected result of scribing or dicing the wafer.
Regarding claim 6, Kwon discloses al the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further disclose a wafer processing apparatus wherein a peak power of the laser beam provided from the laser source has stability within 3 %. However, Rekow teaches a wherein the pulsed laser source includes a stabilizing source adapted to generate stabilizing radiation (¶¶0015, 0074). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon in view of Rekow, to have the laser source emit a stabilizing beam, in order to keep the power consistent and recreate consistent cracks, and having the laser power keep the stability within 3% is within a small margin of error to keep the laser and the cracks consistent.
Regarding claim 10, Kwon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further disclose a wafer processing apparatus wherein the parameters include a diameter of the laser beam, and the beam transmission optical system is configured to adjust the diameter of the laser beam transmitted from the laser source. However, Rekow teaches wherein the parameters include a diameter of the laser beam, and the beam transmission optical system is configured to adjust the diameter of the laser beam transmitted from the laser source (Rekow, adjust diameter ¶0040, 0048, the energy density changes with the diameter, and the diameter should be about the same as the width of the scribe line). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon with the teachings of Rekow, to be able to adjust the diameter, and also the energy density and width, in order to affect laser scribing according to the desired width of the scribe line and according to the material being scribed, as desired by the operator, and these are conventional adjustable parameters in laser dicing.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon in view of Rekow teaches all the limitations of claim 10, as above, but does not further teach a wafer processing apparatus wherein the beam transmission optical system adjusts the diameter of the laser beam to be in a range of 10 micrometers (µm) to 30 µm. However, Rekow, in his wafer scribing process, also further teaches wherein the diameter of the laser beam is in a range of 10 micrometers (µm) to 30 µm (Rekow, ¶0048, laser spot size was reduced to 20 µm diameter). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon with the teachings of Rekow, to use a conventional range of parameter to affect the laser processing, in order to affect a crack or scribe line in a wafer to affect dicing of the wafer in a conventional way achieve only the expected result of scribing or dicing the wafer.
Regarding claim 18, Kwon discloses a wafer dicing method comprising:
preparing the wafer such that the wafer includes a plurality of device formation regions (¶0080) and a scribe lane (SL) region defining the plurality of device formation regions;
repeatedly irradiating a laser beam (¶0028) along the scribe lane region such that a plurality of internal cracks form in the wafer, cracks (¶0011, separating the semiconductor devices along the formed internal breakage).
However, Kwon does not disclose wherein the laser beam having a pulse width in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns) and a diameter in a range of 10 micrometers (µm) to 30 µm. However, in his spicing apparatus, Rekow teaches wherein a pulse width of the plurality of pulses is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns) and a diameter of the laser beam is in a range of 10 micrometer (µm) to 30 µm (Rekow, ¶0070, pulsewidth of 5 nanoseconds, ¶0048, laser spot size was reduced to 20 µm diameter). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon with the teachings of Rekow, to use a conventional range of parameter to affect the laser processing, in order to affect a crack or scribe line in a wafer to affect dicing of the wafer in a conventional way achieve only the expected result of scribing or dicing the wafer.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (Korean Patent Publication KR20210141870, in applicant’s IDS; citations from equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/ 0354247) in view of Rekow (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/ 0129958) and further in view of Yokoi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/ 0226359).
Regarding claim 19, Kwon in view of Rekow teach all the limitations of claim 18, as above, but do not further teach a dicing method wherein a power of the laser beam is in a range of 30 Watts to 70 Watts. However, Yokoi, in his dicing method of semiconductors, teaches wherein a power of the laser beam is in a range of 30 Watts to 70 Watts “(Yokoi, ¶105, it is possible to obtain a large power of several to tens of watts”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon in view of Rekow with the teaching of Yokoi, to have a high power for the laser beam, as claimed, in order to effect the laser scribing as desired, and depending on the process and the thickness or material, the power of the laser may be modified to handle the dicing of the wafer.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (Korean Patent Publication KR20210141870, in applicant’s IDS; citations from equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/ 0354247) in view of Rekow (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/ 0129958) and further in view of Hosseini (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/ 0016257)
Regarding claim 20, Kwon in view of Rekow teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as above and further teaches a wafer dicing method further comprising: grinding a back surface of the wafer before the plurality of internal cracks form in the wafer (Kwon, ¶143); but does not further teach grinding the back surface of the wafer after the plurality of internal cracks form in the wafer. However, Hosseini teaches that, after dicing, additional steps may be formed, including grinding, to achieve specific cuts or shapes (Hosseini, ¶0017). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon in view of Rekow with the teachings of Hosseini, to have a griding method after the internal cracks are made, in order to achieve further shapes with the wafer as desired.
Claims 7, 8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (Korean Patent Publication KR20210141870, in applicant’s IDS; citations from equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/ 0354247) in view of Rekow (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/ 0129958) and further in view of Nishiwaki (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/ 0226935).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon in view of Rekow teaches all the limitations of claim 6, as above, but does not further teach a wafer processing apparatus comprising: a controller configured to control the laser source, wherein the controller is configured to stabilize the laser beam by controlling numerical values of the parameters of the laser beam generated by the laser source. However, Nishiwaki teaches a laser device comprising: a controller configured to control the laser source, wherein the controller is configured to stabilize the laser beam by controlling numerical values of the parameters of the laser beam generated by the laser source (Nishiwaki, ¶0081, “numerical value” may be used to adjust “stability of the oscillator”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kwon in view of Rekow with the teaching of Nishiwaki, to be able to adjust the laser source to achieve stability, and
Regarding claim 8, Kwon in view of Rekow and Nishiwaki teaches all the limitations of claim 6, as above, and further teaches a wafer processing apparatus wherein the laser source further comprises a pulse width adjusting device configured to adjust a pulse width of the laser beam, and the controller is configured to control the pulse width adjustment device of the laser source based on a measured pulse width of the laser beam generated by the laser source (Kwon, ¶0052, 0061, controlling the pulse width).
Claims 13, 15, 16 are 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/ 0074585) in view of Rekow (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/ 0129958).
Regarding claim 13, Zeng discloses al the limitations of claim 12, as above, but does not further disclose a wafer processing apparatus wherein the pulse width of the plurality of pulses included in the laser beam is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns). However, Rekow, in his wafer scribing process, teaches wherein the pulse width of the plurality of pulses included in the laser beam is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns) (Rekow,¶0070, “5 nanoseconds” and adjustable, gives other example). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zeng with the teachings of Rekow, to use a conventional range of parameter to affect the laser processing, in order to affect a crack or scribe line in a wafer to affect dicing of the wafer in a conventional way achieve only the expected result of scribing or dicing the wafer and varying parameters according to the desired result.
Regarding claim 15, Zeng discloses al the limitations of claim 12, as above, and further discloses a wafer processing apparatus wherein a diameter of the laser beam is in a range of 10 micro (µm) to about 30 µm (Zeng, ¶0009) but does not further teach a pulse width of the plurality of pulses included in the laser beam is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 ns. However, However, Rekow, in his wafer scribing process, teaches wherein the pulse width of the plurality of pulses included in the laser beam is in a range of 100 picoseconds (ps) to 100 nanoseconds (ns) (Rekow,¶0070, “5 nanoseconds” and adjustable, gives other example). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zeng with the teachings of Rekow, to use a conventional range of parameter to affect the laser processing, in order to affect a crack or scribe line in a wafer to affect dicing of the wafer in a conventional way achieve only the expected result of scribing or dicing the wafer and varying parameters according to the desired result.
Regarding claim 16, Zeng discloses al the limitations of claim 12, as above, but does not further disclose a wafer processing apparatus comprising: a controller configured to control the laser source, wherein the controller is configured to control at least one parameter of the laser beam generated by the laser source such that a peak power of the laser beam has stability within 3 %. However, Rekow teaches a wherein the pulsed laser source includes a stabilizing source adapted to generate stabilizing radiation (¶¶0015, 0074). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zeng in view of Rekow, to have the laser source emit a stabilizing beam, in order to keep the power consistent and recreate consistent cracks, and having the laser power keep the stability within 3% is within a small margin of error to keep the laser and the cracks consistent.
Regarding claim 17, Zeng in view of Rekow teaches all the limitations of claim 16, as above, and further teaches a wafer processing apparatus wherein the at least one parameter controlled by the controller includes a pulse width of the laser beam generated by the laser source (Zeng, ¶0020, control system controls laser source which controls pulse width).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761